Picks 1 and 2 may not be a lock

Whispers you guys are also interested in Morabito no?

I think we would be interesting in all of the top 5 prospects for varying reasons, but I don't see us going with Morabito.

He just isn't as polished as the other two, and I don't think we could bare to recruit someone with questionable kicking and decision-making, given the direction our club seems to be taking in terms of gameplan.

Still, he has elite potential and athletic ability, so an interesting player no doubt.

Scully & Trengove > the rest.

If Barry P can't see this, then he fails at recruiting.

Agree.Have faith in the recruiters ,I believe they will get it right on the day.

Picks 11 and 18 and beyond are the interesting ones where the recruiters start earning their money.

I think we would be interesting in all of the top 5 prospects for varying reasons, but I don't see us going with Morabito.

He just isn't as polished as the other two, and I don't think we could bare to recruit someone with questionable kicking and decision-making, given the direction our club seems to be taking in terms of gameplan.

Still, he has elite potential and athletic ability, so an interesting player no doubt.

Fair enough. Just heard some stuff from some sauces.

Reckon its still all up for play apart from the fact that you will, quite rightly, take Scully no matter what.

God i'm looking forward to when the Dees don't have to talk about the Draft so much.
I'm with you. We're pinning our hopes on unproven kids, coached by someone with no track record of success.

And we can't attract established players to the club. That says everything to me.

I'm getting really tired of this club.

Fair enough. Just heard some stuff from some sauces.

the white crow been talking to you again?

I'm with you. We're pinning our hopes on unproven kids, coached by someone with no track record of success.

And we can't attract established players to the club. That says everything to me.

What do you want then? To go back to the yo-yo Daniher years, play with the same game plan week in week out hoping that it would work and having nothing to shift to when it didnt. I'm much happier as a Melbourne fan now than I was then; yeah we're not up every second year but the club rightfully made the decision that topping up with average older guys to keep sneaking into the finals was the wrong way to go, we just didn't have the core of a team strong enough to take the club to a flag and the way forward was to suffer a couple of years of pain for the sake of sustained success on the back of it.

Bailey has had to make some pretty tough decisions on players at Melbourne and it's been sad to see some really good clubmen leave but the payback for the last two years will start next season.

These Kids aren't "unproven". They will be picks 1 and 2 for a reason. If you've watched any junior footy you'd know how good they're going to be.

And as far as not being able to attract "established players" ? It's not part of our agenda. We're rebuilding through the draft and will have had 10 top 18 picks in the last 3 years. By comparison, some others will have had 3 - and no where near the quality. As player manager Paul Connors said to me 3 weeks ago, "You'd want to be a Melb supporter for the next 10 years".

He gets it, I get it, but seemingly some still don't.

Feel free to jump off any time you wish mate! :thumbsdown:

But what a ride you will miss.

These Kids aren't "unproven". They will be picks 1 and 2 for a reason. If you've watched any junior footy you'd know how good they're going to be.

And as far as not being able to attract "established players" ? It's not part of our agenda. We're rebuilding through the draft and will have had 10 top 18 picks in the last 3 years. By comparison, some others will have had 3 - and no where near the quality. As player manager Paul Connors said to me 3 weeks ago, "You'd want to be a Melb supporter for the next 10 years".

He gets it, I get it, but seemingly some still don't.

So in the past 3 years we've never approached Judd, Warnock, Prismall and Burgoyne? Would we be rebuilding if we managed to snag Judd in year 1? IMO, we are only rebuilding because of Bailey's inability as a coach.

And look how many top 20 picks we currently have on list prior to the upcoming crop? Where has that got us? Any pick outside the top 10 is only a 50/50 chance of being a good AFL player. Trading a good player in McLean for pick 11 doesn't excite me.

I see the potential in some of the kids currently on our list, but unless you have a capable coach, that means diddly squat.

Have a sook why don't you! If you're really tired of this club then you've got choices.

So in the past 3 years we've never approached Judd, Warnock, Prismall and Burgoyne? Would we be rebuilding if we managed to snag Judd in year 1? IMO, we are only rebuilding because of Bailey's inability as a coach.

And look how many top 20 picks we currently have on list prior to the upcoming crop? Where has that got us? Any pick outside the top 10 is only a 50/50 chance of being a good AFL player. Trading a good player in McLean for pick 11 doesn't excite me.

I see the potential in some of the kids currently on our list, but unless you have a capable coach, that means diddly squat.

Look past what is immediately in front of you, and you will see that the future is looking bright.

Geelong, Saints, Hawks are sides that hsow you how to build a club from the ground up with draft picks. I will agree you can't pin all your hopes on kids, but melbourne didnt have a choice. At the end of 2007 with daniher gone along with any chance a finals tilt we had to dump our top heavy list which had to many 28 + players and go with the kids.

What did you expect the club to turn over the list like it has and put time into its kids and expect what results? Mclean wanted out there was no way of keeping him, and why should we wen a offer like pick 11 comes along. Most footy judges will tell you we won out of this trade.

At lastly i will make my point in regards to mature age players, do you really want us to trade our picks the likes of Holland, Pickett, Read, Moorefcroft, Poyas like we did in 2002/03 to top and push for a flag? Or invest or future in the likes Watts, Grimes, Blease, Struass, Jurrah, Morton, Maric and possibly (lets hope for sure) Scully and Trengrove?

I would say 99% of followers on here would agree with i said, give the kids some time.

At lastly i will make my point in regards to mature age players, do you really want us to trade our picks the likes of Holland, Pickett, Read, Moorefcroft, Poyas like we did in 2002/03.

Picked them up via the draft or PSD in Philthy's case,NOT trades...and don't forget the drafting of Funke.

Bizzell was a good trade though, so you should not rule out any trades.

Picked them up via the draft or PSD in Philthy's case,NOT trades...and don't forget the drafting of Funke.

Bizzell was a good trade though, so you should not rule out any trades.

Patience & Timing is going to be crucial, 2010 will allow us to get games into the young guns, there is no need to waste our time picking up blokes that may have only a couple of years left to play eg Burg... In 2011 we will have a couple of guys that we will be able to trade to better position ourselves. Then we can start to look at MAYBE throwing some dollars around at established players...

There is no doubt who the best 2 picks in the draft are, so we should all just relax a little & let the days tick over until draft day.

Wattsy, I see they didn't want to trade Trent, maybe he is our FF option for next year ?????

That is without a doubt the worst quote I've ever seen on BF. And there's been some shockers! You seriously think that we are only rebuilding because Bailey is our coach? ANY sane coach that we hired would've done a rebuild as well. Absolute rubbish statement.

In 30 years of following the club i have never been this excited.

We were on the edge of great things in the early 90's but got chopped by injuries, this time i can see the list that we are building has serious depth. There is some serious young tallent on every line.

Add Scully and co this year then another Top 10 mid next year and we are well and truley away.

I really hope we give Dustin Martin serious consideration.

Best skilled kid in the draft.

Tested well above average.

Knows how to find the ball, inside and outside.

Good height.

No obvious flaws for mine, I hope we really look at this
kid, I wouldnt be dissapointed if we took him, I dont think
we can go wrong with Martin/Trengove or Skully.

Trengove is hardly un-proven. at 18 he's putting in bog performances in the second strongest competition in Australia

having watched a lot of sanfl footer over the years, trengove is a better player at his age than bryce gibbs was.
if scully is better, he's something special then.

Dont give up that easy mate - its the down times that make the good times so good!

Im actually more excited than ever right now because we're starting the list from scratch and we're landing many good young players to follow right through their careers and I would be shocked if we dont get right up into the top few sides over the next 5-10 years.

Good times ahead :thumbsu:

Geelong, Saints, Hawks are sides that hsow you how to build a club from the ground up with draft picks.

Geelong never had a priority pick, certainly didn't ahve a series of high picks. Got some quality through F/S.

Funny that they've won two flags while Hawthorn (drafters) fluked one and the Sainters, who are loaded with high picks, still haven't cracked it.

Richmond have had loads of high picks over the years and look where its got them.

There's a hell of a lot more to building a successful side than simply amassing loads of high picks.

You'll recall you guys got Luke Molan in the superdraft. I know he was cruelled by injuries but its instructive. We've certainly had our fair share of dud high picks too.

What if Scully does a Jesse Smith type ankle in his first training session? What if Watts discovers clubs and coke?

I think its telling that one of the keys to your future is the bloke you took in the PSD - Jurrah.

Yes, having plenty of high picks increases your chances of getting good players, but its not the only way to recruit good players and it certainly doesn't guarantee a flag or even finals ... ask Richmond.

Richmond have had loads of high picks over the years and look where its got them.

Adelaide have shown that teams can be competitive without going to the well, however, they're still relying on their older A graders, which isn't quite enough. But there's no doubt that some clubs develop players far better than others. I suspect that that's starting to change.

Btw, who are Richmond's "loads of high picks" ? Deledio and Tambling from 04, Cotchin from 07, ..... ? I suppose that it depends upon how one defines "early", but these 3 players are their only top 5 picks from the last 5 drafts.

i really feel sorry for melbourne supporters in this draft.

there are 5 kids & you guys have to chose the best 2 otherwise the Fwits will all start with the you missed out on butcher and took that dud scully or trengove or martin threads.

very similar to the buddy/delidio/tambling/griffin/roughead draft
scully-delidio trengove-tambling griffen-martin butcher-franklin roughead-talia-carlile-panos-insert name ?

the similarities are amazing, as with the 05 draft the standouts were 2 mids & a kpf with doubts over his kicking & aplication

if you get it right well it was expected but if you get it wrong and butcher & talia become guns...............you know the story

i personally would be very happy with trengove or martin but i must admit martin has really grown on me with his silky skills & his speed is just a bonus that wasnt expected.

good luck guys hope they all become GUNS

Picks 1 and 2 may not be a lock