Picks For 2011

If Andrew Gaff impresses during NAB cup he will be selected at round 1, the boy can find the pill alot... worth looking at for a sub role.

Yeh tough one

Tough one because i dont think his body is anywhere near it. He seems very skinny. Although so did S.Hill and he played almost every game if not every game in his first year. Also the eagles tend to give there young kids a go, there known for it especially during a building phase. Also tough because hes going to be priced fairly highly (4th pick).

Need to weigh up the pros and cons

Pros
Eagles give youngsters games
Known for being an accumulator, so can score DT points

Cons
Pricey
Doesn't look physically ready yet
Should be better options and he might miss out purely because of this

Scully wasnt overly sized, and he dominated - his pace and endurance meant it was ok. Jetta was skinny has, but he still did his job - his pace and ability to break the lines meant it wasnt an issue.

As said, if players know how to position themselves, theres no reason their size should be a major impediment (during their first season).

If players are undersized it can be harder to select them if there body isn't yet up to it. The best players will always find the footy in a midfield role and in the past guys like Scully have shown that this is a more important factor.

While by no means big Scully came with a hardened body because he worked his ring off as a junior. Ditto Gaff. He'll go alright.

Also i hate the fact about pickign Gaff because he probably wouldnt have been pick 4 with all the other GC players involved in the draft. Scully was a true number 1, but yeah hes worth keeping in the back of your mind.

Well lets see who Gaff is up against

Swallow - everyone will pick him.
Bennell - Gaff will probably accumulate more posi's
Day - Gaff will accumulate more posi's

Only thing stopping me to pick him if he will be picked round 1 maybe that doesnt even matter he will be in a sub role.

Maybe its just the fact you dont like Eagles you wont pick him because please show me a better option.

Well lets see who Gaff is up against

Swallow - everyone will pick him.
Bennell - Gaff will probably accumulate more posi's
Day - Gaff will accumulate more posi's

Only thing stopping me to pick him if he will be picked round 1 maybe that doesnt even matter he will be in a sub role.

Maybe its just the fact you dont like Eagles you wont pick him because please show me a better option.

I have nothing against eagle players, thanks for putting words into my mouth. In fact i already said that eagles youngsters are given plenty of opportunity. Darling could be a good option, hes from eagles. When picking DT players i couldnt care less which colours they wear when they are on the field.

Unsure why you just picked the 3 players ahead of Gaff in the draft when comparing players for the first season. There are many players that could be better options. Heaps of rookie listed players aswell. Cant be bothered mentioning all the players because there are so many good options.

As for a sub role, that isnt a good thing when your paying 180k + for a rookie or first year player. 180k is about a 45avg player, so its unlikely he would get that as a sub.

Wow if Gibbs is a back than ill be locking him in very quickly if hes fit and healthy and gets through preseason.

Uncertainty in his role - Lots of talk about a move back into the midfield which i showed could mean a 110 avg if he is there full time. If not in the midfield he plays the halfback flank quarterback type role. Doesnt get massive numbers disposal wise, but still avg 96 or 97 last year. His durability is also as good as it gets and i would rate it alot better than Deledios even though they have similar amount of games played and missed in the past 3-4 years. Basically i say this because Deledio is carrying alot of tape and has had little problems like an elbow IIRC, a finger ect. Nothing major and hes continued to play on but has shown signs of missing games in the future.

I think some people miss the point in getting a potential midfielder in the backline who has unquestionable durability and avg 97 in that role last year. I just cant seem to see how he can go too far backwards. Similar as to why people picked Enright, Goddard ect last year. Not many though they had much improvement but getting a player who you can rely on as a premium/keeper with great durability especially in the backs is hard to get.
Nit picking are we DWD? I agree with what you said, but in all honesty I would have an expectation that these injuries should be 'fixed' (to a certain extent), by the time the first bounce of '11 comes along

Yes nit picking. Showing both sides of the coin. In the sentence before and already many times in this thread i have said he has great durability history. played 66 of the past 66 games. But as mentioned by someone else, he has been carrying alot of tape in the past year and getting silly injuries like a finger, elbow ect. That elbow will be carried on in his career it was quite a bad looking injury, might have been more his shoulder. Could be easily re injured if you not what i mean.

I guess to clarify, I was stating that even if they are "smaller" bodied, if they possess other attributes (hardness, big motor, pace, agility/evasiveness, etc) they can still be great DT options, particularly now that we need to fill 3 bench options.

Bit of a shame for Morabito, but should get a 40% discount next year. Opens a spot in the freo midfield.

Fremantle’s horrific run of knee injuries has claimed another victim, with youngster Anthony Morabito set to have a reconstruction next week, ruling him out for the entire 2011 season.

Morabito damaged the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee while training at Fremantle Oval yesterday morning.

Palmer now one to watch.
Shame for Morabito, hate to see this happen to players in the pre-season, especially the youngsters.

Gaff should be behind only Swallow at the moment for first rookie mid picked.

- The kid is a running machine who is going to be playing on Subi where there is a mile of space for him to get free and rack them up.

- WC are coming off a spoon and will play the kids.

- They also have a heap of inside players but few outside receivers which Gaff is.

- WC are not a good side and the ball will be in their back half a lot and Gaff specialises in linking between the back half and the midfield.

- Gaff will be one of the better kicks in the WC team (not long but very accurate) and they will want the ball in his hands.

- He is not developed physically yet but he will not be playing at the bottom of packs.

Not a lot of negatives for me.

Gaff should be behind only Swallow at the moment for first rookie mid picked.

- The kid is a running machine who is going to be playing on Subi where there is a mile of space for him to get free and rack them up.

- WC are coming off a spoon and will play the kids.

- They also have a heap of inside players but few outside receivers which Gaff is.

- WC are not a good side and the ball will be in their back half a lot and Gaff specialises in linking between the back half and the midfield.

- Gaff will be one of the better kicks in the WC team (not long but very accurate) and they will want the ball in his hands.

- He is not developed physically yet but he will not be playing at the bottom of packs.

Not a lot of negatives for me.
I agree with all of these points. Gaff/Swallow seems like a good Scully/Trengove combo, remember Gaff will average solidly (I reckon 70+), with byes the benches are going to be super important. He's one i'd want on my bench. It's only a question of money but at the moment he's right at the forefront of my plans. Good kid too:thumbsu:

You dont think players like Caddy, Prestia at the GC are better cheaper options? Also some more mature aged players.

I think Gaff will be starting on your field not the bench if you pick him

Given the sheer volume of bench space though, I'm thinking that filling the team out with 15 rookies will be the norm. So it's not just a matter of comparing Gaff to Caddy/Prestia- It's a matter of comparing him to your 4th/5th mid.

True

Im really keen on Higgins for next year, anyone else with the same thoughts??

What attracts you to him in particular? Never played a full season. Fully priced. Don't think his upside is big enough to warrant the risk. I would prefer others around that price such as Sidebottom or maybe even Jack Voldt.

Agree with most of your points (How can you not? He is a train wreck) but how is he fully priced?

I assume we're all just going on m0ntys estimates atm. Fully priced on 2010 average on Fanfooty. No reason for a discount. You perhaps mean he's not full priced on your expectation of what he might achieve in 2011? Can say that about a lot of them but I'm referring to lack of a discount.

Happy to take the risk with him, hes in a similar situation to Chapman but a player who doesnt have as high scope of 120 avg.

IIRC he is priced at 82, avg 98 in the first 8 rounds of the year. Had a serious problem and lost about 8kg and it started at round 8 as he has stated. I think his durability struggles are overrated. The ankle problem was unlucky and due to the ground he played on. I also just rate him as a general player i think hes a super talented,quality player. Also surely the dogs will have to start to think about his move into the midfield. Cant wait to see this guy as a permanent onballer once Boyd, Cross move on.

Really keen on picking him. Not so keen on JVolt.

Happy to take the risk with him, hes in a similar situation to Chapman but a player who doesnt have as high scope of 120 avg.

IIRC he is priced at 82, avg 98 in the first 8 rounds of the year. Had a serious problem and lost about 8kg and it started at round 8 as he has stated. I think his durability struggles are overrated. The ankle problem was unlucky and due to the ground he played on. I also just rate him as a general player i think hes a super talented,quality player. Also surely the dogs will have to start to think about his move into the midfield. Cant wait to see this guy as a permanent onballer once Boyd, Cross move on.

Really keen on picking him. Not so keen on JVolt.

Fair enough. I really like him as a player too but I think he will continue to spend a fair proportion of his time up forward as Dogs need him there more so than on ball where they are pretty well placed already and have just added Wallis and Libba junior. Therefore I think 85-95 is about his range for 2011. Not quite a premium level. I remember having Cooney in the mids last year and it was very frustrating because he hovered on the edge of being keepworthy but in the end wasn't. I think Higgins will be on the border too.

Picks For 2011