• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Picola District football league

Re: Piccola District football league

Of those clubs who are given the choice as to where they would like to go in 2008. Is there any that are tempted to go north? Waaia, Picola, Katunga, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Katamatite.

I can see the southern comp being very strong.

It does seem like every minor league is in up in the air at the moment. Benalla District is on the brink, Coreen is joining PDFL, KDFL is full and probably the first choice of many BDFL clubs. Lots will be happening on the league front I guess.

Of those clubs who are given the choice as to where they would like to go in 2008. Is there any that are tempted to go north? Waaia, Picola, Katunga, Strathy, Yarroweyah, Katamatite.

It does seem like every minor league is in up in the air at the moment. Benalla District is on the brink, Coreen is joining PDFL, KDFL is full and probably the first choice of many BDFL clubs. Lots will be happening on the league front I guess.

I couldnt see any of the vic clubs wanting to go north, to much travel, plus it could see the end of a few clubs due to numbers. (I might be wrong thou)

I think BDFL teams, the bat's and devinish and tatong will all have to merge so they can be competitive in our league, plus thay dont have 4ths

I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!

Who do you reckon are the people that play in the murray league are a joke? the league is gettin pretty competive lately and its not that bad of standard either.

I think BDFL teams, the bat's and devinish and tatong will all have to merge so they can be competitive in our league, plus thay dont have 4ths
Couple of big statements there Big Wheel, any other leagues u want to rubbish while you're at it. Surely u can find a few jokers running around in the GV or O&M.

I think you'll find Cordy has trouble getting to training because of work commitments. Also I believe he wont be staying the whole season as he will be moving to SA later in the year with his job.
If he was to play Murray football league he would fit in quite well considering some of the people playing in that league are a joke !!
Hey big wheel, think you might be best to sit back on the couch and dream about how good you are or how good you were, your comments above are a big thumbs down. Ever played murray league. If not do not comment, if so you must be frustrated, because I do not know any decent footballer who would call a fellow opponent a joke, it's called respect !!!;) ;) ;)

Yeah good one champ, i've played in the murray league and i have also played in the GV, so don't try and talk down to me boy.
Sounds like a couple of you boys need tissues.
Why dont you go blow wind up there arse on the MFL blog digs.

Yeah good one champ, i've played in the murray league and i have also played in the GV, so don't try and talk down to me boy.
Sounds like a couple of you boys need tissues.
Why dont you go blow wind up there arse on the MFL blog digs.

Where do u play know Big Wheel??

Reading todays Shepp news can anyone tell me about this Nick McKinley who is out of the dookie side i see he hasn't signed a clearence yet

Why go to the half way house of the Murray League. Either play major league (GVFL) of play minor league (PDFL) dont get stuck in the middle and kid yourself that you are playing with the big boys!

Hey guys have a look in the dictionary under L and you will find a word called LOYALTY. As your really good clubs about it... thats how they stay up for so long... not through a fat cheque book that comes out every 5 years!

As for Cordy being soft... well he may not swing many punches but he will sit on your head and steal the footy out of your hands!!

Was a bit off the hip when I quoted this, but was trying to defend the calibre of our great league. Extremely sick of people thinking that we play Auskick footy! Sure the Murray League is a better standard than ours, but I still see the MFL as a league where local boys play for their local teams. For Cordy to go to Congupna wouldn't be the move up in standard that everyone seems to think he should take. Why aren't people getting up Brunt and Waasdorp for staying in the PDFL. I know that if I were to win a couple of Pearce medals I might try out at a higher level.... like Tyson Sidebottom and Daryl Harrison (KDL).

Brunt has played GVL won a Morrison Medal, suppose he is putting back into his local club!

Any of you folks interested in taking the cyber-field in a pretend team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

Brunt has played GVL won a Morrison Medal, suppose he is putting back into his local club!

Little info for you Karjam, Adam Brunt is born and bred Tongala, not Picola. Did win a Morrison, but I am sure he could be doing a great job if he were putting back into his local (Tongala) club.

I am always one to think that you should be playing at the highest level possible... many guys do not share this same opinion. I hear all to often about guys who just want to play twos. What a cop out! Play where you are selected... where the selectors think you will be required.

Live in Melb champ. But I like to hear all the goss thats happening up at the home club, wont be playing this year as I'm about to head to the UK.
What about yourself digs?

Played in the PDFL last year, and have previously played in the murray league as well. Currently not playing:thumbsu:

Hey big wheels you wouldnt by any chance played for katandra a few years back and was number 6 mate were ya.

My tips for this weekend:

Katamatite V Katunga by 60
Strathmerton V Yarroweyah by 4
Wunghnu V Waaia by 120
Picola Utd V Deni Rovers by 100
Shepp East V Tungamah by 18
Blighty V Mathoura by 5
Katandra V Dookie Utd by 11

Selections in bold

My tips for this weekend:

Katamatite V Katunga by 60
Strathmerton V Yarroweyah by 4
Wunghnu V Waaia by 120
Picola Utd V Deni Rovers by 100
Shepp East V Tungamah by 18
Blighty V Mathoura by 5
Katandra V Dookie Utd by 11

Selections in bold

1. Your being kind to Wunghnu
2. Will Dookie get that close
Magic

Little info for you Karjam, Adam Brunt is born and bred Tongala, not Picola. Did win a Morrison, but I am sure he could be doing a great job if he were putting back into his local (Tongala) club.

I am always one to think that you should be playing at the highest level possible... many guys do not share this same opinion. I hear all to often about guys who just want to play twos. What a cop out! Play where you are selected... where the selectors think you will be required.
Could not agree more and juniors should be released to play at the highest possible standard, with an agreement in place that they remain there founding clubs player. Not the current situation where they leave disgruntled , sometimes under appeal, and after playing 2-3 years as fringe players they hit their home club up for $$$ to return.
Have a real feeling A.Brunt is using his current situation as a learning curve before returning to Tongala.