Picola & District North West 2010 Thread

With the obvious rumours of some clubs picking up a few players and the constant boasting of some of home grown talent.
How many players, of the clubs that played finals last year, have been at their respective clubs consistantly for the past 5 years, since 2004 ?
Base it upon the last finals game played perhaps, include players who where in the junior ranks obviously, it was recently suggested that no club would have more than 10 ?
To the best of my knowledge and off the top of the head, so to speak, Mathoura would have had at least 6 definates and two I'm not sure of when they joined the club ?

Herb or CM would be able to confirm this but i reakon the Rovers would have had 9 in the last finals game of 09. Could be 8, not sure if one of the blokes i am counting played.

what i know about backish he knows how to recruit players! and the club where he coach last 2 years wanted to sighn him on for another year!
60goals + 3 years in a row!

With the obvious rumours of some clubs picking up a few players and the constant boasting of some of home grown talent.
How many players, of the clubs that played finals last year, have been at their respective clubs consistantly for the past 5 years, since 2004 ?
Base it upon the last finals game played perhaps, include players who where in the junior ranks obviously, it was recently suggested that no club would have more than 10 ?
To the best of my knowledge and off the top of the head, so to speak, Mathoura would have had at least 6 definates and two I'm not sure of when they joined the club ?

[Herb or CM would be able to confirm this but i reakon the Rovers would have had 9 in the last finals game of 09. Could be 8, not sure if one of the blokes i am counting played.]

from last finals games I would have a guess and say.

5yrs+ or played juniors (16 players)
Fleming
Hardman
Lumbar
Leetham
O'Connor
Lumber
Bond
Jenkin
Lewis
Mison
McNamara
Robinson
Germano
Jones
McCulloch
Hope

Less than 5yrs (5 players)
Bode
Todd
May
Braybon
Fitzpatrick

[Herb or CM would be able to confirm this but i reakon the Rovers would have had 9 in the last finals game of 09. Could be 8, not sure if one of the blokes i am counting played.]

Fleming
Hardman
Lumbar
Leetham
O'Connor
Lumber
Bond
Jenkin
Lewis
Mison
McNamara
Robinson
Germano
Jones
McCulloch
Hope

Bode
Todd
May
Braybon
Fitzpatrick

All local boys but i think the question was "consistantly for the past 5 years".

O'Connor - Did he play for a year in Wagga with the Bush pigs or Coolamon?
Hardman had a stint at Nully
Leetham had a stint at Rams or Mathoura, one of them.
Germano started with the Rovers in 2005
Jones had a stint with Rams
McCulloch, did he have a spell away with school?

Still looks like the Rovers have more than 10 - you have left out the human cannonball - Gav Lieper, he would have shifted to town and started playing 2002-2003.

All local boys but i think the question was "consistantly for the past 5 years".

O'Connor - Did he play for a year in Wagga with the Bush pigs or Coolamon?
Hardman had a stint at Nully
Leetham had a stint at Rams or Mathoura, one of them.
Germano started with the Rovers in 2005
Jones had a stint with Rams
McCulloch, did he have a spell away with school?

Still looks like the Rovers have more than 10 - you have left out the human cannonball - Gav Lieper, he would have shifted to town and started playing 2002-2003.

I believe "junior ranks" were to be included.

O'Connor, Hardman, Leetham, Jones and McCulloch all played juniors.

2005 - 2009 is also 5 seasons.

I don't think too many other clubs would boast those sort of numbers.

I believe "junior ranks" were to be included.

O'Connor, Hardman, Leetham, Jones and McCulloch all played juniors.

2005 - 2009 is also 5 seasons.

I don't think too many other clubs would boast those sort of numbers.

Dollar Back, i was not nit picking mate, so on your count that would be 16, i think you are right i could not see many other clubs boasting the same.

Did Gav play? not sure if he did his hammy the week before or the last final game.

Fleming
Hardman
Lumbar
Leetham
O'Connor
Lumber
Bond
Jenkin
Lewis
Mison
McNamara
Robinson
Germano
Jones
McCulloch
Hope

Bode
Todd
May
Braybon
Fitzpatrick

The coach played juniors at the club..

berrigans granfinal side
Tim Cooper 2003 -
James Ware local junior
Dennis Hickey local junior (played bendigo league ) uni studies
Andrew Ednie local junior (Played o m ) work
Andrew Plye local junior (Played uni footy mel)
Jamie Bond local junior
Brendan Spence local junior
Mathew Eales local Junior(played o m ) work
Daniel Hickey local junior (hadnt played for 5 years)
Brady Lewis local junior
Craig Thonrton local junior
Mathew Gorman local junior
Kyle Hawker local junior (played bendigo league) uni
John Thomson local LEGEND
Then we had Ben Way ex local junior(CRICKET MEL) Adam Way Ex local Back playing living on farm
Adam Fox brought a farm in Berrigan ,
A lot to like about home grown talent and plenty more juniors to come

Was just about to do the same for Berrigan, thinking that they would also have a strong local brigade.

Both have very impressive lists of juniors & long serving players.

Will make for an interesting day when both teams clash in Round 1.

Appreciate that's lots of guys go away and then come back but when returning are deemed recruits ie. Platfuss at blighty or baesk/kilmartin picola, which is why the question was consistantly since 2004 , sometimes when those players return they also come at a cost $ Is there a finals side that had 10, do not know much of jerilderie would they have gone close, at a guess reckon strathy may not of had 10 ??

Whilst the question was playing consistent for 5 years the topic was home grown talent. I would argue that a player returning to your club that you developed through your junior ranks is your home grown talent. So Rovers and Berrigan you should be able to boast your 16 or so not drop back to 10. Congrats to both of you as that is a great stat. As for former players returning as recruits in my experience even if there are dollars they are often far less than that players perceived "market value" again home grown talent component. I am not sure on Jerilderie but I think they may have alot that were players returning even if their players playing consistently for 5 years may be low.

How many players would clubs have playing elsewhere, that have played at the club within the last 5 years an therefore are a chance of improving their side in the next season or two ?

2 B&F winners Aaron Magner( Picola ) and Justin Hartshorn ( WA ? ) would be Mathouras players of note , I would have thought.

Wungnu family day on this weekend should be a great day all welcome there will be about 15-20 new faces down there sunday BBQ and a few cold ones going around...

Davey Leetham, Brayden Jones and Brody Lumber all looking for a new home club next year. Anyone know why? Anything to do with the coach and an alleged altercation with a couple of these guys.

Cant wait PTF, bring on round 1.

Will be good to see where everyone ends up and who is actually playing with who.

Not sure about pre season though - 42 for the first week back.

Started training anywhere PTF?

No but apparently have signed at Blighty this week , well so the bride got told today, I think that makes about 10 clubs I've signed with, thinking about playing with a different club every week , pretty popular 2nds player ??
At times avatars are there for a reason !!

How many players would clubs have playing elsewhere, that have played at the club within the last 5 years an therefore are a chance of improving their side in the next season or two ?

2 B&F winners Aaron Magner( Picola ) and Justin Hartshorn ( WA ? ) would be Mathouras players of note , I would have thought.

there two pretty handy players to be getting back i believe magna plays his best footy with the cutters, although he did rise to the occasion first round against picola last yr:) if all stay and them players we are speaking to sign its going to be a very good yr above last yrs stint. now all our boys know what we can do and believe in each other etc, we should be fairly competetive again.

going to be hard for me to get a game this yr:) but im happy to stand aside for the new comers, finish my career in magoo's along with a few others:thumbsu:

No but apparently have signed at Blighty this week , well so the bride got told today, I think that makes about 10 clubs I've signed with, thinking about playing with a different club every week , pretty popular 2nds player ??

whos started this rumour ptf. package deal hehe, worth your wieght in gold ptf all these clubs wanting your signature so which one do you think would best suit you what is it now mathoura, locky, gig, stanhope, blighty, or richmond?:thumbsu:

Everyone who asks whether they are true, tells us that the same person has told them , do you reckon its possible that person might just be a sh!t stirrer !;)
The tiges were extremely keen but I only just missed out on the age criteria for the ND.:D
Oh and a couple of those I hadn't heard, so I reckon its quite possible I've been linked to more clubs than Tiger Woods has had women !

Davey Leetham, Brayden Jones and Brody Lumber all looking for a new home club next year. Anyone know why? Anything to do with the coach and an alleged altercation with a couple of these guys.
Plenty of clubs operate quite sucessfully with people who don't get along within it, if people can't do whats best for the club they are a part of despite personal differences then they shouldn't be involved with clubs.
There has been plenty of people involved with clubs who do a fantastic job for their clubs yet may have personal differences with others, and the clubs would be worse off it those peoples contribution didn't remain because they didn't like someone else at the club.
Its called acting like adult and in the best interest of the club !!

So PTF, are you one of the 15? or do you make 16?

Maybe you should come and have a run with the Rovers. With the amount of people leaving you would be straight in the ones, if you can handle the prick of a coach we have.:D

Something must be going on cause they are dropping like flies. Although only Andrew May has officially told the club he is not playing, a few others havent committed yet. Chris Oconnor, aiden jenkins and brad todd considering big offers from wakool. Brodie lumbar the same with mathoura. Brayden Jones indicated he may not play. Davey Leetham confirmed a few weeks ago he will be playing at rovers. Trent McNamara talking with the rams.

It is the silly season as they say. It is good to see that the boys at training are still hurting from last years finals performances, including ash germano who hasnt missed a training. Also bit of a different sight for January with big Fitzy out on a few road runs.
Sides that finish near the top of the ladder always have clubs trying to poach their players. Look at the rams over the last 10 years. Every club in the district including us have tried to lure some of their players away. All you can hope for from a clubs point of view is that the players make their decisions, what ever that is, for the right reasons.
I would of thought rectifying last year disgusting finals performace would be the top priority. Who ever stays, who ever goes, there will still be a club and there will still be some good juniors with the fire in their belly coming through the ranks.
It is the silly season.

Something must be going on cause they are dropping like flies. Although only Andrew May has officially told the club he is not playing, a few others havent committed yet. Chris Oconnor, aiden jenkins and brad todd considering big offers from wakool. Brodie lumbar the same with mathoura. Brayden Jones indicated he may not play. Davey Leetham confirmed a few weeks ago he will be playing at rovers. Trent McNamara talking with the rams.

It is the silly season as they say. It is good to see that the boys at training are still hurting from last years finals performances, including ash germano who hasnt missed a training. Also bit of a different sight for January with big Fitzy out on a few road runs.
Sides that finish near the top of the ladder always have clubs trying to poach their players. Look at the rams over the last 10 years. Every club in the district including us have tried to lure some of their players away. All you can hope for from a clubs point of view is that the players make their decisions, what ever that is, for the right reasons.
I would of thought rectifying last year disgusting finals performace would be the top priority. Who ever stays, who ever goes, there will still be a club and there will still be some good juniors with the fire in their belly coming through the ranks.
It is the silly season.

Should be.

Don't worry Never too Old you have young Bondy and the human canonball Gav Leiper to hold it all together.