Picola & District South East 2010 Thread

i think that to keep local players you have to fork out some coin because loyalty can go only so far when other clubs are offering good coin. With alot of younger people going to uni fuel money has to be paid other wise players are lost such as katandra

I suppose there is no perfect model out there...

Just a couple of my observations of how clubs have done it...

1. Recruit a coach with big pulling power to bring 10+ players to your club (Dale Osborne & Hayden Best have done this well). Most of Ossy's mates have now moved on since the 2007 flag. Besty's group is still at the East and are looking the goods ATM.

2. Build a very strong local base and top up with 5-10. We did this from 03-06. With Mark Nolen, Aaron Plant, Chris Pohlner, Mark Lambourn, Ramon Bramley, Mark Collins, Jake Sprunt, Brad Cordy. Tungamah looks like they have also followed this with Te Jones, Betson, Payne, Kennedy, Buckley, Putamorsi, Hearn, etc.

3. The one I'd like to employ is building a strong local base, getting back all kids that have played 3rds and 1 or 2 others to fill any holes. For us that would be the likes of Jarrod Maskell, Phil Carroll, Shannon Emmett, Mitch Sidebottom, Andrew Riordan, Matt Riordan, Brent Riordan, Adam Hickey, Braden Pullen, Heath Barton, Alister Barton, Nathan White, Kade Kendall. Add a Jason Eagle and a Paul Schoullar.... Yep that'd do it! :D :eek:

WJ has obviously recruited quality at rennie and it is showing in there results and i can see them finishing top 3 and if the group sticks together they will have success??? :footy:[/quote]

Hold your horses there Wash!!! Top 3 is a big call. I would think that Katandra, Dookie and Katty might have something to say about that. That said, you would think shepp east & tunga will be in the top 3.
It will be interesting how Bruzzy & Chris Turner go this week against their premiership winning team mates from the East!:rolleyes: In saying that, I don't know how many of those blokes are left at the eagles nest from that year. I think they had about 12 or 13 retire after 06.

rennie would be very disappointed if they didnt make top 3 ramnuts dont think you give the old green and white enough credit but i dont expect you to either so i spose we will have to wait and see

Rennie would be very happy with 5th place. We last played finals in about 2005/06. There's 13 rounds to go and a lot can happen good and bad between now and then. We have an absolute pr#ck of a draw this year in that we get Dookie, Shepp, Tunga and Katty 3 times. Nothing too easy there. That's what happens in a comp this size and so long as we get a rolling draw in 2011 with 3 cracks at Kats, Katunga and Waaia then we'll cop it sweet. But bearing in mind the quality of teams that we get 3 times we are aiming for 8 - 10 wins which on last year should get you in. That's our aim and anything above that is a bonus. Anyway, at least we can hopefully get off the "whose spending the most $" bandwagon.

Anyway, whose up for tipping this week's winners? I'll have a crack:

Shepp E by 22 points in a beauty against Tunga.
Katty by 35 over Waaia.
Dookie to bounce back by 15 over the Kats.
Rennie to keep rolling along over Katunga by 32 points.

Rennie would be very happy with 5th place. We last played finals in about 2005/06. There's 13 rounds to go and a lot can happen good and bad between now and then. We have an absolute pr#ck of a draw this year in that we get Dookie, Shepp, Tunga and Katty 3 times. Nothing too easy there. That's what happens in a comp this size and so long as we get a rolling draw in 2011 with 3 cracks at Kats, Katunga and Waaia then we'll cop it sweet. But bearing in mind the quality of teams that we get 3 times we are aiming for 8 - 10 wins which on last year should get you in. That's our aim and anything above that is a bonus. Anyway, at least we can hopefully get off the "whose spending the most $" bandwagon.

Anyway, whose up for tipping this week's winners? I'll have a crack:

Shepp E by 22 points in a beauty against Tunga.
Katty by 35 over Waaia.
Dookie to bounce back by 15 over the Kats.
Rennie to keep rolling along over Katunga by 32 points.

Yeh with such a small comp some teams are bound to get the rough end of the draw WJ and there in lies the challenge to you guys to build some confidence and beat a few of the top sides?? (as they say you got to beat good teams to go anywhere)

Shepp East by 9 points
Katty by 27
Dookie 4 points
Rennie 51 points
collingwood 23 over freo?????:confused:

Yeh with such a small comp some teams are bound to get the rough end of the draw WJ and there in lies the challenge to you guys to build some confidence and beat a few of the top sides?? (as they say you got to beat good teams to go anywhere)

Shepp East by 9 points
Katty by 27
Dookie 4 points
Rennie 51 points
collingwood 23 over freo?????:confused:

Eagles by a kick (1pt or 6 doesn't matter but it'll be close - hope it doesn't come down to shot after the siren and Frosty has it from 35m:D)
Katty by 15pts
Katandra by 17pts
Rennie by 35 points
Hawks & Tiges nil all draw!:(

Eagles by a kick (1pt or 6 doesn't matter but it'll be close - hope it doesn't come down to shot after the siren and Frosty has it from 35m:D)
Katty by 15pts
Katandra by 17pts
Rennie by 35 points
Hawks & Tiges nil all draw!:(

Just play your role frosty!!!! Poor old hawks if they manage to lose this one ramnuts i will line up next week???:cool:

Shepp East & Tungamah will finish 1 and 2. Then Dookie, Rennie, Katamatite & Katandra will fill up the other spots in any order. Waaia and Katunga probably bottom 2.

Great win by Katandra yesterday. Brad Cordy did play and played well. Was a shoot out 22 goals to 20 goals. Big Wheel... Cords will play at least another 3 games :D.

Not to sure how many people saw the Shepp East v Tungamah game on the w,end but those that did would have to agree one of the best HANGERS ive ever seen taken in country footy took place by Robert Osborne!! Pack of 6 or 7 players and one bloke standing upright on that pack!!!! What did you think nuts and wheel???:thumbsu:

i will agree with you on that one, i was waiting to rove it then all of a sudden osborne is on top of another shepp east player, one of there talls aswell, full stretch and perfect landing. definately the best i've seen. the boys were saying they reckon its better then gary moorcrofts mark.

He had frostbite on that big snoz of his when he came down! I've been around footy for a fair while and it is easily the highest I've seen anyone get up. He took it at full stretch too! so that is a 6' 3" bloke fully stretched on top of a 6' 4" bloke (gillespie). Clean as a whistle!!! Saved a tunga goal when they were on a roll as well. Heard a few of Frostys men in the back line not too happy that he didn't punch when in the back line:D:D:D Hopefully someone got footage of it. A sure winner on almost footy legends! If I was Oz, I'd go back into retirement on that!:thumbsu:

Shepp East over the Kats by 34,
Dookie over Katunga by 23,
Tunga over Katty by a ****teenth in the match of the round,
Rennie with a surprise inclusion to beat Waaia by 19........

Suprise inclusion WJ??? I will take a stab in the dark and say big Jarrod Sutherland could be pullin on the boots for rennie 2moro??? Good mates with the coach and swans have a bye and a one off hit out for match practice b4 he saddles up for the swans for remainder of the year???? what are the odds of that WJ:eek::eek::eek:

By 19..... goals if big sudzy pulls em on! Dunno how you go getting a permit to play down a league and I couldn't see him getting cleared for 1 game. Mind you funny things have happened.
Eagles by 10pts after overcoming the Kats who burst outta the blocks - Kats would be rapt that bullants have a bye and the blue baggers don't play till Sundee, so you would stab at Teague galloping around tomorrow.
Dooks by 5 goals
Tunga by 23pts
Rennie by 37pts
Good to see Doddy get in the initial squad for the VCFL district side - good player. Hopefully the string doesn't cost him.
Any thoughts on who else from the league would've been close. For what its worth I reckon: D.Gillespie (SE), ol mate Lewis from Rennie and probably O'Rielly from the kats would be able to mix it!:thumbsu:Someone said that Best from SE played in it a few years ago (I'm not sure whether it was Jarrod or Hayden:eek: - could've even been Daniel ha ha ha) Do ya reckon if he didn't snap his knee in half he could've been in the mix?

By 19..... goals if big sudzy pulls em on! Dunno how you go getting a permit to play down a league and I couldn't see him getting cleared for 1 game. Mind you funny things have happened.
Eagles by 10pts after overcoming the Kats who burst outta the blocks - Kats would be rapt that bullants have a bye and the blue baggers don't play till Sundee, so you would stab at Teague galloping around tomorrow.
Dooks by 5 goals
Tunga by 23pts
Rennie by 37pts
Good to see Doddy get in the initial squad for the VCFL district side - good player. Hopefully the string doesn't cost him.
Any thoughts on who else from the league would've been close. For what its worth I reckon: D.Gillespie (SE), ol mate Lewis from Rennie and probably O'Rielly from the kats would be able to mix it!:thumbsu:Someone said that Best from SE played in it a few years ago (I'm not sure whether it was Jarrod or Hayden:eek: - could've even been Daniel ha ha ha) Do ya reckon if he didn't snap his knee in half he could've been in the mix?

Yeh its an outsider suds pullin them on for rennie ramnuts but WJ hasnst replied to knock it on the head as yet so it,s still a chance?? Where are you WJ????????? Yeah great effort by dodd to be included fantastic player and bloke to!!! Woulda thought Chris Cullinan could have been half a chance to nuts but i guess not? Wouldnt have thought your comments above would be helping your chance of finally drifting forward?:thumbsdown::thumbsdown: More chance of the hawks making the 8 and u and your best mate havin an argument:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Marty Brooks from Barooga into Rennie's side tomorrow. Yeah, we'd like Sudsy but the big Moose will do (and we get him for the season, not a one off game).
And we think Josh Lewis would not be out of place in rep footy either.

Ex pdfl players Greg meyland and Charlie edmonstone have been selected in MFL rep. side at full forward and wing respectively !!

Hot Dogs would love it out there on the MFL wide open spaces! Always fancied playing out on the fence, has been even known to get some possies in the car park he runs that wide:D:D Seriously, good effort by both. Good to see PFL boys stepping up. A few people might be pleasantly suprised by the std of this league. Had some work mates head out to watch Shepp East & Tunga last week and they were fairly impressed with the quality of the game! Well done to both sides on putting on a spectacle. I suppose Ozzie's screamer only added to the fan fare! tick for the PFL:thumbsu:

footy picks:
katandra vs katamatite=kats by 40 pts
katunga vs shep east= shep by 90 pts
rennie vs dookie= dookie 17 pts
waaia vs tunga= tunga 120 pts

footy picks:
katandra vs katamatite=kats by 40 pts
katunga vs shep east= shep by 90 pts
rennie vs dookie= dookie 17 pts
waaia vs tunga= tunga 120 pts

KATTY & KATANDRA will be a DRAW
Shepp East should account for Katunga
Rennie too strong at home for Dooks
and Tunga will beat Waaia

and rumour has it Chris Burke and Mark Frost will play forward this week for Shepp East

KATTY & KATANDRA will be a DRAW
Shepp East should account for Katunga
Rennie too strong at home for Dooks
and Tunga will beat Waaia

and rumour has it Chris Burke and Mark Frost will play forward this week for Shepp East

Katandra by 3 goals to erase memories of rnd 1
the hoppers by a kick over dooks
tunga by a lot over Waaia
and the only thing Frost & Burke will be forward of, is the full back line!:D - Eagles by 6-7 majors.
The midday show should be a good one tomorrow at Katunga as well when 1st plays 2nd. From memory, they had a good tussle in rnd one.

On a side note, does anoyone else get annoyed with clubs not putting in their selected sides in the paper. Surely there are plenty of friends and family who don't have the previledge of getting to thurs nite teas to hear the sides read out. The shepp news probably charge an arm & a leg for the service. Any comment on that Karjam as you have spent decades serving your club and no doubt have had to fax through the team sheets on a thursday night?