PKF Tasmanian Tigers 2009-10 thread

SA squad for this game, there is some talent there but it's also very inconsistent. A good score on the board should see us be too strong.

Daniel Harris, James Smith, Michael Klinger, Tom Cooper, Mark Cosgrove, Graham Manou (capt, wk), Aaron O'Brien, Dan Christian, Mark Cleary, Jake Haberfield, Peter George, Chris Duval, Cullen Bailey.

Their batting is solid(under-rated), its their bowling that is very weak. Hopefully Tas bat first and make 350+, effectively ending any chance of an SA victory, and nullifying their spinners by not batting last at Adelaide Oval...

I hope the great man Al Doolan can cement that spot at first drop with a few tasty scores early. Plenty of pressure on for spots this year should relate to success in all 3 forms.

Not often these days that you would see the keeper bat as low as 9, but that will probably be the case looking at the squad. How many games will Paine miss due to the Indian tour?

South Australia showed some improvement last year, but its a massive relief not having to face QLD at the GABBA on a seaming green top. Would definately expect some points for us from this match.

Echo your sentiments hotdish on the apparent amnesia of selectors when it comes to the selection of X for one-day duties. I hope Krejza gets more of a run for Aus this summer allowing X to play a few 4-dayers.

Must admit that until perusing the season opener in the paper on the wkd, that I didn't realise Irvine was looking to be used toward the top of the order. I know very little about him, but thought he was more a #4 or #5.

Finally, this year belongs to George Bailey. 1,000+ runs written all over it I feel after his fine pre-season form and twin tons on the back of last season.

SA squad for this game, there is some talent there but it's also very inconsistent. A good score on the board should see us be too strong.

Daniel Harris, James Smith, Michael Klinger, Tom Cooper, Mark Cosgrove, Graham Manou (capt, wk), Aaron O'Brien, Dan Christian, Mark Cleary, Jake Haberfield, Peter George, Chris Duval, Cullen Bailey.

There is talent for SA, but most of it is as you say inconsistent. Cullen bailey could be their trump card but he doesn't get too many chances, Mark cosgrove could be as well is he is fit and firing.

For me I suspect that its another poor year for the "Deadbacks" as they are known here in SA.

There is talent for SA, but most of it is as you say inconsistent. Cullen bailey could be their trump card but he doesn't get too many chances, Mark cosgrove could be as well is he is fit and firing.

For me I suspect that its another poor year for the "Deadbacks" as they are known here in SA.

hahahaha.

Just how good are Tasmania at having top line keepers.

Some of the keepers there abouts over the past couple of years

Clingliffer - pure keeper
Dawson - great keeper just didn't finish the job with the bat
Paine - Has got a game for Australia - enough said
Jones - comes in from no where and top scores on debut
Wade - Killing it now for the Vics

Just how good are Tasmania at having top line keepers.

Some of the keepers there abouts over the past couple of years

Clingliffer - pure keeper
Dawson - great keeper just didn't finish the job with the bat
Paine - Has got a game for Australia - enough said
Jones - comes in from no where and top scores on debut

Probably add Matthew Wade to that list too anti dukes.

Well that 1st game of the year followed last season a little too closely. A lot of small starts but nothing substantive in the first innings and the same story in the second with one guy chiming in for a decent score.

Far few runs were scored last year but we looked all right with Geeves and Hilf bowling very well.

But we need bigger scores this year and I'm looking at our recruit in Ed Cowan to deliver next game to get the innings flowing for our middle order.

Good Ford Ranger win yesterday. My gosh, Birt is so consitent in the one-day format of the game - moving him down to the number 5 spot has been a revelation - I wonder what his stats are since he moved there. I would dare say that he averages 35-40 easily...He should be pushing for a spot in the Aus side this summer - he is such a clean hitter of the ball.

Any info on how big Griffith is travelling? When fit he is an auto-select in our bowling line-up. Cant wait to see a bowling lineup of Hilfenhaus, Geeves and Griffith terrorising batsmen.

He played a 2nd XI game recently - hows he going in club cricket?

Can anyone tell me much about the new keeper? How strong is his batting?
!

Former team mate of the great BJ. Lots of potential to be a very solid keeper batsman. One game i played with him he killed 134 of about 100 balls without really trying. Handy with the bat been playing with Kingborough under 15's when he was 10 then when he was 13 he started playing 17's then progressed very well to the seniors in the next few seasons. I expect his batting while not up to Tim Paines level to be marginally less say probably average 30-35 in the long term.

From the sounds of things, he can play his shots, which is important for a keeper. As long as his batting is better than Clingleffer's was...(no offence to him, he was a gun keeper, but his strike rate was painful)

FR: Dighton, +Paine, Cowan, Bailey, Birt, Butterworth, Krejza, Drew, Geeves, Doherty, Hilfenhaus.

SS: Cowan, Wells, Doolan, Bailey, Marsh, Butterworth, Krejza, Geeves, +Jones, Denton, Macdonald.

Paine and Hilfenhaus make a difference obviously but how much better does the one day team look compared to the shield side that got touched up.

It's like we've decided that Butterworth, Geeves, Krejza can all bat a bit so we'll go in a batsman short, when it is our batting that is the problem!!!!!!!!!! Makes no sense that.

I know his form in the fc stuff ended up pretty bad but surely Birt has to get another shot at four day cricket some time this year? In form he makes that batting look a hell of a lot stronger than it is and we need 6 bats more than we need 5 bowlers. I think Butterworth wrecks the balance in the four day side, even with Paine I don't think we can afford to have Wells and Doolan in the side and then have the bowlers that can bat a bit coming in at 7.

FR: Dighton, +Paine, Cowan, Bailey, Birt, Butterworth, Krejza, Drew, Geeves, Doherty, Hilfenhaus.

SS: Cowan, Wells, Doolan, Bailey, Marsh, Butterworth, Krejza, Geeves, +Jones, Denton, Macdonald.

Paine and Hilfenhaus make a difference obviously but how much better does the one day team look compared to the shield side that got touched up.

It's like we've decided that Butterworth, Geeves, Krejza can all bat a bit so we'll go in a batsman short, when it is our batting that is the problem!!!!!!!!!! Makes no sense that.

I know his form in the fc stuff ended up pretty bad but surely Birt has to get another shot at four day cricket some time this year? In form he makes that batting look a hell of a lot stronger than it is and we need 6 bats more than we need 5 bowlers. I think Butterworth wrecks the balance in the four day side, even with Paine I don't think we can afford to have Wells and Doolan in the side and then have the bowlers that can bat a bit coming in at 7.
Agree totally. Birt and Drew in the SS side for Butters and TMac. This is big Trav's year (I have been saying that for some time but I truly believe he will be playing for Aus one day).

If Doolan can get some consistency going it would be a huge help for the SS side, we have struggled in that spot since Diva departed (he could still get a game for us if he wanted to).

Whats happened to Rhett Lockyer? Seems to have been forgotten, a more than handy 1 day player - will probably get a gig in the KFC bash.

Agree totally. Birt and Drew in the SS side for Butters and TMac. This is big Trav's year (I have been saying that for some time but I truly believe he will be playing for Aus one day).

If Doolan can get some consistency going it would be a huge help for the SS side, we have struggled in that spot since Diva departed (he could still get a game for us if he wanted to).

Whats happened to Rhett Lockyer? Seems to have been forgotten, a more than handy 1 day player - will probably get a gig in the KFC bash.

Lockyer is the first picked in our T20 team - he is a gun!

Re batting problems, the problem over the last few years has been our top order and balancing the rest of the team.

Re all-rounders and going in with 1 less batter, thats correct. Krejza could average 30 in first class cricket and the selectors are picking Geeves, him and Butters as all-rounders.

The problem with Birt is his position. He needs to bat at 5/6 it seems - he never played well at first drop. Tassie has been lacking a good #3 batsman since Diva got promoted to open. Bailey it seems doesn't want the gig, so thats why they are putting time into Doolan.

I'm suprised they haven't tried to bat butters at 3 - not because he will smash centuries, but because he plays a slow, accumulation type game. Someone who can bat for a few hours and anchor the innings.

I think we should get back Diva, after he dominated the english this county seasoN!:thumbsu:

I definitely disagree with playing 3 semi all-rounders and hoping together they make 1 batsman. no point in having extra bowling options if we can't make a big enough total for then to defend.

i reckon we are one gun batsman away from a being a top shield side again. agree hotdish why did diva have to retire? what a legend he was. would make our batting that much stronger!

I definitely disagree with playing 3 semi all-rounders and hoping together they make 1 batsman. no point in having extra bowling options if we can't make a big enough total for then to defend.

i reckon we are one gun batsman away from a being a top shield side again. agree hotdish why did diva have to retire? what a legend he was. would make our batting that much stronger!

I agree with the sentiment hower outside of the current group who are getting games who should we be playing. The only one I see putting his hand up is another all rounder in Faulkner.

Next Shield XI

Wells
Cowan
Birt
Bailey
Marsh
Butterworth
Geeves
Jones
Kreja
Denton
McDonald

12th Doolan

Harsh on Doolan and granted Birts form has not been great but he is capable of hitting big scores in domestic cricket and I'm going to give him the new season to show what he can do for two games and say make a score, we struggled with the bat last year badly and while his form was not great we know when he gets on top of a bowling attack they will feel intimidated by it.

But here's the concern now, how many outside of the side are showing genuine form to be picked at the next level.

What are Jeremy Smith's chances of a game or will it be a token one at the end of the season like the one gone?

Well it appears Birt isn't even in the XII for the shield game, which is very disappointing.. I hope Drew comes in for McDondald, he doesn't really seem to be offering us much.

Are you serious? McDonald has been pretty consitent ever since he came into the side late last season. Drew on the other hand, leaks runs and rarely takes wickets.

FYI everyone - Denton (thumb) and Griffith (Bicep) both injured - put for 3-4 weeks each.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/tigers-pacemen-out-of-clash-with-bulls-20091029-hn1z.html

geez... Diva would be more then handy at the moment... i mean he did fail quite a bit...but when he was going he could destroy attacks like few can... plus he just got back from scoring mountains of runs in England... I know he retired... but it did seem at the time like he was pushed...had been dropped from the frc comp despite tearing up the sheild... BRING HIM BACK...

also would like to see Birt and Dighton back in the side...

PKF Tasmanian Tigers 2009-10 thread