Player loyalty

This is a good ?

I still think Ball is taking time to get "used" to Collingwood. He is still deeply hurt by his treatment at St. Kilda, he bleed for the club & has some lifelong friends there. His family were also stung by his treatment as he loved the Saints until Ross cut him dry. He still has a chip on his shoulder, which could be be a hinderance.

He is also adapting to the generational dynamic there. Good Xavier boy, head switched on, educated. It's no surprise his best mate at the club is Medhurst & Dawes, both from the same type of background. As the stakes increase, he'll embrace the club more

This is a good ?

I still think Ball is taking time to get "used" to Collingwood. He is still deeply hurt by his treatment at St. Kilda, he bleed for the club & has some lifelong friends there. His family were also stung by his treatment as he loved the Saints until Ross cut him dry. He still has a chip on his shoulder, which could be be a hinderance.

He is also adapting to the generational dynamic there. Good Xavier boy, head switched on, educated. It's no surprise his best mate at the club is Medhurst & Dawes, both from the same type of background. As the stakes increase, he'll embrace the club more

Fair Enough - Was Madders a Private School Kid?

Glad to hear he is getting Use to the Club

For me whenever a player is drafted to Collingwood I immediately visualise them in the black and white and not in their old jumper. But whenever we get rid of a player to another team it feels extremely weird seeing them in the other teams jumper.

Chris Tarrant is like that for me. I know that he is a Fremantle player now, but whenever I think about him I picture him wearing a Collingwood jumper.

Surely I'm not the only one like this...

You are not alone! I watched lots of Sydney games to see Williams, Shauble and now Shaw play and secretly wish them well and enjoy their success. Nick Davis was the one exception - I wanted to see him fail everytime I watched him play. I loved him at Collingwood and hated the way he left.

It really depends on why they left the club. I even like to see Tarrant playing good football. You get to know quite a bit about players and it sticks when they go to other clubs. Tarrant didn't like the cold, and I also don't revel in cold weather. He wanted to go back to Mildura early in his career. I worked a couple of years in Mildura and could see where he was coming from. To move to WA can't have been an easy decision for him.

Ball and Jolly are both very much Collingwood players to me. Jolly has long been a favourite and I was wrapped when he chose Collingwood. Ball is a gun!!

I think of Luke Ball as being the "Collingwoodest" of the three. He came to our club because he was getting the shaft by St. Kilda, and after getting shafted by them at trade week he again put his future on the line by risking the National Draft to get to us.

Jolly on the other hand came to Collingwood because we're a Melbourne-based club, we were prepared to offer the money he wanted and we needed someone with his skillset. I'm very pleased to have him at Collingwood, but I can't say I feel particularly passionate about him as far as Pies players go.

Simon Buckley hasn't run out in a seniors jumper yet, so I guess in my mind he's not quite one of "the team" at this stage. He was misdiagnosed by Melbourne which must have been enormously frustrating, and he's been given a chance by Colllingwood to pick up his career and start again. I admire his commitment, but until I see him play and gauge his style it's hard for me to feel a whole lot about him one way or another. Certainly I wish him all the best and I hope he'll be a great acquisition for us.

Excellent summation on Ball and Jolly.
I am waiting for Jolly to have a game which locks him in as a Pie, which I know will come sooner or later, but Ball I really thought took a large risk to get to us.

I am glad I am not the only one with a question mark over some or all of our new recruits. I am so used to blindly believing each and every player bleeds black and white but now I just sort of hope that one day all of them will.

Medhurst was obviously the last big name to come to us but I don't think he was such a big name at the time. IIRC he was steak knives in the trade.

Can't help but agree with most that Ball is already more black and white than Jolly but having won a premiership at Sydney will forever be there with him. I'd be interested to know how long it took other club supporters to call big trade names their own. Particularly those players that won a premiership at heir previous clubs. I suppose I wont get too much of that info here... :)

I am glad I am not the only one with a question mark over some or all of our new recruits. I am so used to blindly believing each and every player bleeds black and white but now I just sort of hope that one day all of them will.

Medhurst was obviously the last big name to come to us but I don't think he was such a big name at the time. IIRC he was steak knives in the trade.

Can't help but agree with most that Ball is already more black and white than Jolly but having won a premiership at Sydney will forever be there with him. I'd be interested to know how long it took other club supporters to call big trade names their own. Particularly those players that won a premiership at heir previous clubs. I suppose I wont get too much of that info here... :)

I hated it when Micky McGuane went to ****en Carlton but after he belted a few of them in the locker rooms I was alright with it. Mick just wanted one more shot at the filthy dogs...lol:D

Just like Medders before them where we pumped that purple shit out of him, Jolly and Bally are now Collingwood players and one of our own.

No splashes of red anymore!!

TRS summed it up really well. I think Ball will and similarly Medhurst has really endeared himself to the Collingwood suppourt group by really wanting to be there. The passion and pride on field as part of the group etc. Ball took a huge risk in only wanting to go to Collingwood.

A lot of how players a remembered club wise does depend on what they achieve prior to the switch and how they leave and how long they spend at each club. Medhurst for example will always be remembered as a Collingwood player because that is where he made his mark.

Ball could go either way, but I think if he keeps up the standard he has set for himself he will certainly be remembered as a Collingwood player.

As mentioned early Jolly is the modern day professional footballer and won't be particularly associated with any club.

TRS summed it up really well. I think Ball will and similarly Medhurst has really endeared himself to the Collingwood suppourt group by really wanting to be there. The passion and pride on field as part of the group etc. Ball took a huge risk in only wanting to go to Collingwood.

True Since Medders got Traded he seems to love it here at Collingwood but I heard Pre-Trade he did not want to come and had to get Talked into it by Mick

I think that is true Dave.

Also, at the time, we had to be convinced by Freo to actually take him because we had doubts over him.

All I can say is, thank god for Freo's persuasion skills.

I think that is true Dave.

Also, at the time, we had to be convinced by Freo to actually take him because we had doubts over him.

All I can say is, thank god for Freo's persuasion skills.

Well if that's True - Shows how Stupid Freo was Back Then:eek:

I miss Tarrant and Shaw, Tarrant will always be a Collingwood man and so will Shaw. I was abit young to remember the reasons for Nick Davis leaving us and why it was so bad, i was in grade 4 at the time and relied on my teacher who was a mad pies fan to tell me all the news. Can someone tell me what was so bad about Nick Davis leaving us? I know he wanted to go home but surely that isnt that bad.

Had a Sook and Went Home - Mumma's Boy:mad:

Ball - He's a professional and nothing less. Can play football and will have his bad games, but its his work with the kids like Wellingham, Thomas ect. that means no matter what happens on field with Ball, it's a winner. Has been playing great BTW.

Jolly - Leader, good in the middle and we needed a number 1 ruckman, works with Wood and other young ruckmen. On field he has given us first use a fair bit more than we had last year, so again winner.

Buckley - I don't watch the VFL so I haven't seen what he's been doing there but we have a very good back 6 IMO the best back 6 in the AFL. He'll need a break to get in and when he does I'm sure he'll fit in.

BUMP

Interesting Thread here espically with Jolly and Ball being Premiership Players. Does that Change what you think?

Now with Krakouer Joining and Tarrant Returning, What do you think of that?

Also what you think of JA going to Freo? will you still see Black and White when he plays?

If Jolly and Ball weren't seen as full Collingwood men, I reckon the premiership left no doubt. Next year I won't have any thoughts of either of them pre-collingwood, just images of Jolly standing tall in those Grand Finals and Bally throwing his body on the line all last year. With Krak, I reckon I'll see him as a Collingwood player pretty much immeidately. The time away from footy helped make a bit of a mental disconection from his Richmond days. I can barely picture him wearing the Richmond jumper.

For me whenever a player is drafted to Collingwood I immediately visualise them in the black and white and not in their old jumper. But whenever we get rid of a player to another team it feels extremely weird seeing them in the other teams jumper.

Chris Tarrant is like that for me. I know that he is a Fremantle player now, but whenever I think about him I picture him wearing a Collingwood jumper.

Surely I'm not the only one like this...

375612-chris-tarrant.jpg

are you a wizard?

I think of Medders as a Collingwood player now. Last week a mate asked me who was the ex-Collingwood player who is with Freo now and it took me a good minute to come up with Taz. The role change has probably helped, but i see him as a Freo player now.

I view both Taz and Medders as Freo players. That's really weird now that I think about it...

jolly - as pointed out earlier, he epitomises the modern professional footballer. he will go where he is needed (collingwood) do as he is instructed (be no.1 ruck and help develop the others) and play his heart out every game (mid year onwards he clearly did). he likely wants to leave the game a great player, rather than a great magpie.

ball - takes great pride in his ability, and the 09 season issues with the saints, plus the fact that judd & hodge had left him behind in standings meant he had much to prove. had been on a long slow decline for several years at stkilda and a change was needed before it was too late. made the right move is an understatement. i can see him staying at the club for the next 20 years. he likely wants & needs to be a club man.

The player missing from this discussion is Leigh Brown, whose recruitment angered many at first, and probably right through his first year with us copped more flak than flowers, but now, well, it's almost like he was always destined to be one of ours and now he's finally come home!!! I'm sure we'll feel the same about the others in time.

Player loyalty