Player X vs Player Y Thread

Re: Player X vs Y thread

Goddard in the defense for sure, unless you're really needing him for MPP and it's part of your strategy (using midfield bench cover instead of defense bench cover). Being in the defense gives you an extra spot in the midfield to upgrade later on.

Pendlebury vs Selwood vs M. Murphy?

They're already premiums, yet they're still so young, so there's that potential to improve even further. We'll probably want them all by season's end, but i reckon there'll only be room in my starting team for one, maybe two, and i can't decide.

Tough choice, and I don't think you can really go wrong with picking any 2 of those 3. Maybe choose based on byes and other players from the same team?

I know Pendles started last year slowly because he was played out of position with O'Bree and Ball both played on the ball. When O'Bree got dropped Pendles was played on the ball and his scores went up.

Selwood started slowly also, but then when Ablett came out of favour Selwood took over. There's going to be question marks over how he'll play without Ablett (positive - more of the ball to win, or negative - opposition focus on him), how a new coach will effect their game plan and also if Geelong will win as many games as they did last year.

Murphy is solid. He doesn't always score hugely but he nearly always gets 100+, meaning he should hover around the same price all year.

I think Selwood and Pendles are both more risky than Murphy, but could easily average more than him as well. Tough choice.

Pendlebury vs Selwood vs M. Murphy?

I've been struggling over choosing two out of Pendlebury, Selwood, Murphy and Dal Santo. At the moment have Selwood and Dal Santo, as I already have Swan and am not too keen on a second Coll midfielder, and Murphy's bye in round 23 is offputting, as in the finals you'd need to find cover for him.

M.Murphy vs Dal Santo???

I like the little intros they give on the DT board in the xvy thread, so i'ma use that format here.

Dal Santo, 27 years old (when the season starts)
2009 ave - 115.7 (21)
2010 ave - 112.4 (21)

M. Murphy, 23
2009 ave - 112.8 (22)
2010 ave - 111.8 (21)

This is a tough one because, as those numbers above show, they're both pretty similar - both durable, consistent high scorers.

NDS has been one of the top scorers for more than 5 years. He has a greater scoring range than Murphy (higher highs and lower lows). The lows are probably because he suffers more from tags. He often gets the #1 tag, where Murphy tends to get the #2 tag behind Judd.

Murphy's only 23, and has only had 2 100+ seasons, so obviously he's not as proven a performer as NDS. But he's shown in the last two seasons that he's one of the most consistent in the league. In '09 he only scored under 100 twice (98 and 76). He doesn't get many of the big 140+ scores, but he's pretty much a guaranteed 100 every week.

I prefer Murphy here because i feel like he's got more upside. NDS is a gun, but we've probably seen his best already. You'll get the 110-115 ave you're paying for, but he's unlikely to bump his average up by 10 outta nowhere. Murphy's more likely to improve IMO, given his age and gamestyle. He's got the game type - good tackler-evasion, speed, skills - as well as ball magnetism, that makes me reckon he's one of the very few players who could become Ablettish and get up to a 120-130 average. Murphy, and Carlton, have more room to improve than NDS and the Saints.

Grimes vs. Broughton?

Hartlett, younger with more potential and in such a weak team.

On Hartlett - he is been very injury prone so far in his career. Missed large chunks of both his seasons. He looks like a potential gun to me and I would like to start him as a cheap option but he's just too injury prone for mine.

I think Murphy's preseason will be HUGE in determining how he goes this season (as for everyone I guess). What most people overlook is he had a VERY interupted PS last year, with talks he was actually carrying OP for much of it and the opening rd's of the season. IF he can pull together a big preseason, or even just one where he doesn't have any setbacks, I can see him increasing his average by +10 points from last year and being great in SC.

I reckon he can improve heaps too, but the bye in round 23 means that one of my star midfielders will be missing in the second most important round of the supercoach season, whereas i could choose someone else who i don't have to worry about that with.

It's a big turn off for me too. I don't want to hold a trade all the way to round 23 just so I can trade out/cover a premium.

Grimes vs. Broughton?

I have The same dilemma, Grimes on extra midfield time and higher potential.

Conca vs Polac for last mid?

It's a big turn off for me too. I don't want to hold a trade all the way to round 23 just so I can trade out/cover a premium.

At the same time, you don't want to miss a heavy scoring player for 22 rounds just because he'll miss round 23. Anything can happen in that time and you may need to trade him before round 22 anyway. That's the sort of thing we have the 4 extra trades for IMO. If you think he's only going to score to his price and you have a bye friendlier player at the same price with the same expected scoring then fine don't pick him.

But if you think he's about to step up to super-elite status and you don't have him you will be disadvantaged for those 22 rounds just so you can edge the competition out in round 23. These are issues I will be looking at anyway.

Or you could look at it this way. By round 23 you will have had to cover (with a dodgy bench score) your other mid premos twice, whereas with Murph you get a full season with only one bye and then trade him out, with the aforementioned extra trades.

That's true, although I reckon during the season I'll have more bench cover and trades to do upgrades etc to cover byes, whereas in the last 4 rounds I'll be on a knife edge unless I plan to keep an extra trade up my sleeve. There's a lot to think about this year!

Otten vs Suban

Andy Otten 230K for me (Pre-Season final hurdle)

Otten has had a full season and more to recover from his knee injury, hopefully allowing for a complete repair to the knee with no worries about returning to footy too soon. Rumoured to be training well and with the midfield group. Takes a lot more marks and reads the play well resulting in a lot of disposals from opposition kicks SC gold! Watch pre-season but at the lower price and need for genuine runners and good users of the ball at Adelaide, he's safe in the team.

Suban 307K i'm not sure will be a lock this year, his role is a little uncertain and with some quality guys being picked up at Freo this year i think he's too big a risk. Better options IMO. The fact that he's playing for freo and the awkward Bye rounds they possess compound the issue.

Andrew Swallow V Kieran Jack

These 2 guys have the ability to be top 10 SC players for years to come. I want both but will have to settle for 1 me thinks.

Views

Andy Otten 230K for me (Pre-Season final hurdle)

Otten has had a full season and more to recover from his knee injury, hopefully allowing for a complete repair to the knee with no worries about returning to footy too soon. Rumoured to be training well and with the midfield group. Takes a lot more marks and reads the play well resulting in a lot of disposals from opposition kicks SC gold! Watch pre-season but at the lower price and need for genuine runners and good users of the ball at Adelaide, he's safe in the team.

Suban 307K i'm not sure will be a lock this year, his role is a little uncertain and with some quality guys being picked up at Freo this year i think he's too big a risk. Better options IMO. The fact that he's playing for freo and the awkward Bye rounds they possess compound the issue.

Andrew Swallow V Kieran Jack

These 2 guys have the ability to be top 10 SC players for years to come. I want both but will have to settle for 1 me thinks.

Views

I wont have either player but it is a matter of personal choice on premiums. Jack will come under more attention in 2011 plus I think Sydney can slide further. More losses equals less goals/possessions as a club and less points to distribute. On the other hand, Jack is a quality player though and should improve a bit more.

Andrew Swallow got a lot of points that might be challenged this year by the return of their injured midfielders (Ziebell/Anthony). Puts him at risk if he goes from number 1 to number 2/3. Offsetting that slightly is North should rise a bit.

I think there are safer premiums in Pendles/Selwood/Murphy that have less risk associated.

Bower vs Higgins (I will take one risk on a bargain but injury prone player)
Both could end up premiums or both could have me crying like a baby. I know, defender/midfielder but they are the two players who have the quality to pull off a great season at a cheap price!

Both around the 390k mark. The savings give 110k to spend elsewhere if you are rating them a premium.

Bower is always injured so maybe not but his scoring can be very high for a defender. Flying on the track and injury free. Also, last year a quad injury removed all pace/leg strength. Carlton were so deplted defensively that they played him anyway due to finals being on the agenda. Killed his scores/average.

Pre-season will tell all.

Bower vs Higgins (I will take one risk on a bargain but injury prone player)
Both could end up premiums or both could have me crying like a baby. I know, defender/midfielder but they are the two players who have the quality to pull off a great season at a cheap price!

Both around the 390k mark. The savings give 110k to spend elsewhere if you are rating them a premium.

Bower is always injured so maybe not but his scoring can be very high for a defender. Flying on the track and injury free. Also, last year a quad injury removed all pace/leg strength. Carlton were so deplted defensively that they played him anyway due to finals being on the agenda. Killed his scores/average.

Pre-season will tell all.
I won't have either of these two, and at this stage don't have any 300-400k players, Higgins is too frustrating and too injury prone. Bower, just doesn't score that well. But I would put higgins ahead of Bower, because he will get some time in the middle and has more scoring potential IMO.

D Swallow vs B Mclean vs D Harris?

Andrew Swallow got a lot of points that might be challenged this year by the return of their injured midfielders (Ziebell/Anthony). Puts him at risk if he goes from number 1 to number 2/3.
Pretty confident he'll spend more time in the guts than either of those.

I think there are safer premiums in Pendles/Selwood/Murphy that have less risk associated.
Coupled with less potential reward of course.