Players who deserve to be premiership players

Robert Harvey (could still get one) and Chris Grant (likewise) top the list of current players for me. Pavlich has to be in there as well.
I didn't like Ablett Snr, but there have been few guys that good and he deserved one on that talent. Leowe, Lockett, Wayne Campbell all deserved one too.

How has Harvey overachieved by winning Brownlows or playing GFs? I guess you wouldn't call a knee reconstruction a major setback. Grant has had equal opportunity for time in the sun, just that the Dogs spent too much time in the shade!

Have you ever met Harvey? Well I have, he is a thorough gentleman, so don't go quoting hearsay as fact. Have you ever met Grant or is your opinion also based on hearsay!

Your sadly skewed opinion is what is bloody pathetic !
Skewed is a Saints supporter arguing with a neutral supporter over one of their own players. My point is that Harvey has, considering his ability, the side he has played in, has over achieved, and will probably be remember as a better player than he actually was. Grant has had to deal with many more footballing setbacks compartively to Harvey.

As for meeting Harvey and Grant, yes you are right I have not met Harvey, but several stories about his attitude from numerous separate sources tend to indicate some truth to what they all say. As for Grant, yes I have met Grant, and I was blown away by how much of a good bloke he was.

And blood pathetic is attacking a post suggesting Chris Grant deserves a premiership just to spout some paroachial club bull********.

So tell us all why these too club stalwarts are somehow less deserving of a flag than all the other players from all the other clubs mentioned so far.

Or is it just your superior than thou arrogance shining through again slime??
A lot of the posts are regarding champions of the game who never got the chance, these two are not champions of the game.

Skewed is a Saints supporter arguing with a neutral supporter over one of their own players. My point is that Harvey has, considering his ability, the side he has played in, has over achieved, and will probably be remember as a better player than he actually was. Grant has had to deal with many more footballing setbacks compartively to Harvey.

As for meeting Harvey and Grant, yes you are right I have not met Harvey, but several stories about his attitude from numerous separate sources tend to indicate some truth to what they all say. As for Grant, yes I have met Grant, and I was blown away by how much of a good bloke he was.

And blood pathetic is attacking a post suggesting Chris Grant deserves a premiership just to spout some paroachial club bull
********.[/QUOTE]

Please point out where I have suggested that Chris Grant does not deserve a premiership. And also indicate where I have spouted any parochial club bull ****. There are many other neutral supporters here arguing Harvey's case. My argument was based on the very simple premise that Grant does not deserve one any more than Robert Harvey, no matter how much of a good bloke he may be!

Do you recall Harvey's acceptance speech after he was awarded the 1997 Brownlow, Grant being ineligible? And you have the temerity to call Harvey arrogant!

A lot of the posts are regarding champions of the game who never got the chance, these two are not champions of the game.

And a lot of them aren't about champions of the game.
The difference is that yet another slime supporter feels the need to take a cheap shot at a couple of Dockers.
Fair dinkum....get over it...bask in your glory...and open your tiny little minds a bit!!

Dean Rioli without doubt deserves to be a premiership player. Deano's dream as a kid was to play in a flag with Michael Long and in 2000 he played superbly and was an integral part of the bombers line up. His dream was shattered through injury, and then a year later he got the chance but unfortunately we lost to the lions. I remember feeling realy mixed emotions on GF day 2000 seeing Rioli in tears after the game, and i thought "aa well he is only young so he should get a premiership." But through injury, Deano never got a premiership.

Im sure there will be the typical Rioli baggers that will reply to this and say he didnt work hard enough and hes fat and all the old lines. But let me tell you one thing, Dean Rioli worked harder and gave his heart and soul to get to the AFL and deserves a premiership far more than alot of players that get spoon fed the whole way along their junior careers, coming from privaledged backrounds.

Having met Deano quite a few times, i know first hand just how hard it was for him just to get to Essendon, let alone how hard he worked to get fit, only to have his knees fail him again. People who call Dean Rioli lazy are ill informed and have absolutely know idea what this bloke has been through to get his body right. Think of it this way, how hard do you think it is to lose weight when you have the knees of a 55 year old and every time you put weight on them they get worse?

Deano is one of the nicest guys ive ever had the privaledge of meeting, and has been a hero of mine, ever since the first time he spoke to me at windy hill training in 2000 when i was younger, and i couldnt believe how nice he was.

The night Deano retired from AFL football was one of the sadest moments ive experienced in footy, and was a black night for AFL. It signalled just about the end of guys like Deano in AFL footy, guys who play for the love, are natural footballers, and work their arses off to make it in AFL football, only to find out that its a world for spoon fed athletes, rather than hard working footballers.

Please point out where I have suggested that Chris Grant does not deserve a premiership. And also indicate where I have spouted any parochial club bull ****. There are many other neutral supporters here arguing Harvey's case. My argument was based on the very simple premise that Grant does not deserve one any more than Robert Harvey, no matter how much of a good bloke he may be!

Do you recall Harvey's acceptance speech after he was awarded the 1997 Brownlow, Grant being ineligible? And you have the temerity to call Harvey arrogant!

Please point out where you did say that about Grant. Never said anything about you saying that Grant didnt deserve a flag, but by attacking my post in the first place when there was no need to do so indicated to me that you dont think that highly of the bloke and/or you just said it because you are a biased St Kilda supporter who wants to jump down the back of anyone who suggests someone else. As for Harvey's acceptance speech, thanks for that captain dip********. WTF else is he going to say in front of all those cameras in that situation? Poor example. I judge a player on how they act in public, and on that front, from what I have heard, Harvey isnt quite the champ you'd think.

Yeah hawthorn have really worried the pies in recent years!

Talk about living in the past

I'm not living in the past simply giving a true and factional comment on the 1990 season.

FACT had we played Collingwood in a final that year we would've belted you stupid, because you're team we're scared of us.

Ill tell you what, champion, I will give Hawthorn 2 victories which add up to 82 points every year, if it meant the pies were gonna win the flag. The trouble with your theory, champion was that you werent good enough to play us in the finals.

We won, you werent there.... thats all she wrote.

So, your theory is that because the Pies beat the Eagles easily at home, this season, and lost narrowly over there, that if we played them in the granny, we would have smashed them again? Have you no brain? Do you not watch the footy?

Imbecile.

Listen Pie boy you're team in 1990 was shyte scared of us. Had we played you in the finals we would've belted you. You won't admit it here but you know I'm correct.

Collingwood 1990 what a joke, worst premiers ever

Would have to disagree with Ablett.......he had 4 chances in a very good team, and he personally only produced in one of them. In 92' particularly if he had produced an 'Ablettesque performance' I don't think the Eagles would have been able to win from beind like they did.

Agree with Johnson, West, Grant, Rohan Smith...the constant of the Bulldogs for many years, probably fair to say they have just never had the quality around them to achieve the team success those four deserve.

One worth a mention for the cruelest of cruel luck.....Tony Modra. Crows full forward for however many years and manages to miss both premierships. Shane Ellen and Darren Jarman forever remembered as GF heroes for their roles kicking goals pinch hitting, Modra would simply have been doing the job he did for several years if not for injury.

Tony Lockett......how many goals did he kick in dud sides...got to the GF once and did his bit from memory....but for the guy that's kicked the most goasl in history of the game he couldn't have done much more to deserve a winner's medal.

Ablett never deserved a premiership medal?? Ok mate

Please point out where you did say that about Grant. Never said anything about you saying that Grant didnt deserve a flag, but by attacking my post in the first place when there was no need to do so indicated to me that you dont think that highly of the bloke and/or you just said it because you are a biased St Kilda supporter who wants to jump down the back of anyone who suggests someone else. As for Harvey's acceptance speech, thanks for that captain dip********. WTF else is he going to say in front of all those cameras in that situation? Poor example. I judge a player on how they act in public, and on that front, from what I have heard, Harvey isnt quite the champ you'd think.

Boy ...talk about getting your knickers in a twist over nothing! Are you Grant's wife or something?

BTW you are the only person ever on this forum to cast aspersions on Harvey's reputation. he is a champ in every respect and repeating what you claim is hearsay anyway lends your case no credibility. I'm sure there are people out there who would claim Grant isn't all he appears to be. But know what? I wouldn't give them the time of day!

Listen Pie boy you're team in 1990 was shyte scared of us. Had we played you in the finals we would've belted you. You won't admit it here but you know I'm correct.

Coulda...Shoulda...Woulda....But didn't.

If you were good enough you would have been there, you weren't...:)

Harvey, Grant, West, Buckley for mine.

I'm not living in the past simply giving a true and factional comment on the 1990 season.

FACT had we played Collingwood in a final that year we would've belted you stupid, because you're team we're scared of us.

Factional comment on the 1990 season

Pies saved their best footy for the real contenders like Essendon & West Coast, put in one shocker against hawthorn the week after playing the H&A game of the season. Plenty of good sides have lapses of concentration when they come up against teams who are middle of the road.

All that massive loss to Hawthorn did was wake the boys up to realise that they have to come to play every week, unlike simply rocking up believing they would win.

Hawthorn were simply making up the numbers - FACT

Pies beat Sydney & West Coast this year, suppose by ur reckoning we should have won the flag!!

Players who deserve to be premiership players