Players you have met...

Only player i've known reasonably well was Chad Rintoul before he was drafted. Spent a summer working on the same remote building site as him (he was an apprentice sparky) and had girlfriends that were friends with each other. Was a cool bloke. Had a kick or two in the local park with him.
Other than that only sporadic sightings - like someone above I would never approach them unless there was a reason to.
Have seen Harry Taylor in town about 3 or 4 times over the last 2 months. Funnily enough he was playing social basketball last night in the game before mine and someone has thrown a long pass, and he has jumped up and spoiled the guy trying to catch it like he was defending Riewold on the lead!

Met Trent Cotchin, Ben Nason and Nick Westhoff. Was on my way to the 20twenty Big Bash at the G and The Tiger Trio had just finished a preseason session and had a 4 day break, according to Cotch anyway. He saw me with my tigers cap on and said G’day, how are ya? We exchanged pleasantries and we talked for about 25 minutes. He explained that he was a mentor to Nick Westhoff and Nason and that he was going to show them around Melbourne etc. He asked me if I lived in Melbourne and I said that I lived in Perth and that I hardly ever attend games either due to where I live and work commitments etc. Nason talked a bit, asked him how he compared Adelaide to Melbourne. He said Adelaide is ok for a holiday, but is a ****hole to live in. Westhoff didn’t say much, just yes or no if Cotch or Nas asked him a question or nodded his head.
Cotch is a really nice bloke, Nason seems like one and was a bit hard to determine with Nick.

Ben Holland =Toss. Gave my friend a bin for her birthday. Like a desk bin. Spend big buddy.

Dippa =Rat's Tossbag. Very arrogant.

Gary Jnr =Champion, good with a drinking me.

Aaron Davey =Met a couple times, seems like a good bloke, maybe a little shy.

Neita =Genuine Nice guy.

Graeme Wright =Long time ago but good dude.

Not football, but . . .

Met Michael Clarke in a pub in tasmania couple years ago when i was at a hawthorn game.

The guy's a legend, not sure why so many Australians are against him. Chatted with a bunch of different fans/bystanders for quite a while and really seemed to enjoy everyone's company. Very talkative, funny guy.

Work in Restaurants and have served a few over the years most recently Benny Cousins, Didak, Sam Gilbert and Kane Johnson. Was shocked to see Kane Johnson smoking but he wasn't very engaging. Gilbert was polite and his mates seemed from a more alternative crowd you wouldn't normally associate with footy players which was refreshing. Didak was polite but pretty quiet. Cousins was the most engaging of the lot. Most well known people are pretty aloof towards their waiter and cant be bothered even saying thank you let alone making eye contact so I was thoroughly impressed with Benny. Served Sam Lane the other day which doesn't really count but she was good value too. Had lunch with Corey McKernan a couple of times quite a few years back as my cousin was good mates with him. Good bloke and some of the stories he had about a certain ex Roos captain were rippers.

brad miller - one of the nices guys you can ever meet. i have been following his career since the start and got to know him over the years

barry hall - deep voice, but really nice

shaun higgens- something about him i dont like.

steven armstrong - very nice guy and isnt shy

neville jetta - very talkitive.

Met Libba & Angelo Lekas after a game when they played for Sunbury.

Libba just shook ya hannd and moved on..wasnt really interested.

Lekas was a top bloke. Chated about footy and his brief soccer playing days. Really good guy.

A few years back. Walked into a card shop in North Melbourne...and a few Brisbane players were in their. Copeland, Ash Mcgrath, Brennan and a couple i didnt know.

Being a bit of a card collector myself. I bought McGraths and Brennans cards and got them to sign them. McGrath signed it without saying a word, didnt look to happy. Brennan on the other hand was a terrific nice bloke.

Most recently at a nightclub in Adelaide last night I saw Ben Nason and also Daniel Motlop - I left at 5am and he was still there.

barry hall - deep voice, but really nice

steven armstrong - very nice guy and isnt shy

I had a chuckle at the Barry bit; I'm under the assumption that you think most blokes with deep voices aren't nice? Not completely true, I can assure you.

With Steve Armstrong, I played junior footy with one of his younger brothers from Auskick 'til under 17's and his brother(s) are exactly the same as him. VERY assured of themselves and confident in their abilities. But yeah, they are nice guys in general.

Met David Hale, Al Clarkson and Don Scott at Kenny's on Lonsdale St, Melbourne. Clarkson was angry about something, DS was aloof but Hales was a top bloke.

Had a pot with Richo at The Elms on Spring St - great bloke. :thumbsu:

Chatted with Brad and Chris Scott at Spice Market, entertaining blokes who were swamped by chicks.

Drank with Mike Sheahan at Precinct, nice guy who was getting hassled by some Essendon muppet, took it in his stride.

Harry O.

Humble guy and very friendly, has a lot of potential beyond football.

I've also worked with Tony Jewell and Ray Jenke, and have met Tony Liberatore through work.

Libba is an absolute tosser, on the field and off the field.

Jewell's a great man.

Can't remember much about Jenke.

GAVIN GROSISCA(Not sure on spelling-played him in street fighter 2 at timezone knox, i was 12 kicked his ass... we won premiership that year.....

Rhys and Heath Shaw-Heath was a top bloke, rhys is a fn tool,used to date a chick i know, cant stand him and thinks his fully sick....w***er..

Barry Hall-Top bloke lived across road from him the year he got drafted,nice bloke just doesnt take any shit.....

Have met quite a few along the way, mostly Essendon lads though I suppose.

Both Jobe and Tim Watson are terrific blokes; I see them around a fair bit and they've always been very friendly, polite and happy to have a chat. Also, my mate works with Jobe's sister, who is apparently a ripper chick. Top family that one.

Have been lucky enough to meet Hirdy a few times; it's such a relief when your favourite player is a class act off the field as well as on it. Champion bloke.

Rama and Scotty Lucas are both really nice guys, plus Andrew Welsh and Dean Solomon are fun, approachable blokes.

Grant Thomas seems a pretty funny, easy-going fella on the occasions I've met him, and Luke Ball comes across as a really decent, intelligent guy.

I bumped into Mike Sheahan and his wife in England a few years ago and had a great chat; he's not quite as well-spoken in "real life" but was a really nice guy who clearly lives and breathes the game.

Brodie Holland is a fair knob; he got shitty when a girl mate of mine didn't know who he was and when she commented that he looked a bit like Harry Kewell, he lifted up his shirt, flexed his abs and said "pfft, does Harry Kewell have THESE?" lol Pretty funny now, but at the time there were a lot of cringes from everyone in an earshot.

Met Tom Hawkins at the golf this year, he was following around Tiger woods, had a bit of a chat, absolute top bloke.... will talk your ears off!

Peter Matera Tried to chat my mum up at the airport when we were kids, but yeh, decent guy along with most of the west coast boys that night, they all signed my goosebumps book on the plane back to perth!... after losing a final to essendon...this would be probably mid to late 90s!

Michael Christians a pretty rough blokey bloke in person but decent enough!

Dale Thomas was decent to me

Walked past Stephen Milne outside of stokehouse early sunday morning following the GF replay.... bloke wouldnt stop staring at me in my collingwood jumper, I stopped, stared back and asked him what his problem was and he just kept staring!... then one of his mates came over and did the same thing, i told him he should know better and walked off, absolute tosser!

He was clearly pissed off his head!

Jason Gram Greased me off as i walked past him aswell.. i wasnt the slightest bit interested in antogonising these blokes but they just about brought it on themselves.. clap clap!

Grammys misses is f**** top shelf though lol!

I go back a fair bit.

First met Peter Bradbury (84 premiership player) at the Herald and Weekly Times loading dock (Dad worked upstairs). Have met him a few times since.

Met Paul Salmon and Billy Brownless at the State Bank Galleria - and yes, Billy was ordering a chocolate mousse.

Went to an Essendon pre-season training session at Latrobe one particular summer and had fun with Sheeds, who was jokingly displeased about the fans pinching the player's water.

Quinten Lynch: isn't the beast he looks, nice guy
Chris Masten: absolutely full of himself
Rhys Palmer: is actually not too bad, seems ok
Ashley Smith: quiet type of guy
Adam Selwood: all round nice guy
Brett Peake: helpful guy
Mark Nicoski: good guy, too bad he sucks at football
David Wirrpanda: only said a quick hi to him after catching him coming out of dancing practice (for dancing with the stars), he said hi back to me so he seems ok
Will Schofield: very friendly
Dean Solomon: i met him a week after he killed Ling and I desperately wanted to mention it to him but i held it in. he didn't seem too bad
Garrick Ibbotson: was a bit shy, typical of young players

most football players i've met are actually friendly, good guys,

Brodie Holland is a fair knob; he got shitty when a girl mate of mine didn't know who he was and when she commented that he looked a bit like Harry Kewell, he lifted up his shirt, flexed his abs and said "pfft, does Harry Kewell have THESE?" lol Pretty funny now, but at the time there were a lot of cringes from everyone in an earshot.

Haha, what a douche.

If he could clone and marry himself, he would. I'm pretty sure he's looking into it as we speak. :p

Matthew Armstrong lived scross the road when I was a kid and he was at the end of his career at North. Wayne Schwass lived with him for a while too. Armstrong was a deadset legend, often came out when we were having a kick on the road, took us to the park a couple of times and gave us a couple of old sherrins.

Nick Stevens, Simon Minton-Connell, Steve Wallis, Chris Grant and Danny Southern are all very friendly

Peter Matera in 2002- my hero until that point. me and my mate went to go see him at an autograph session, my mates dad grew up with him in Wagin, so during the autograph session he said to and my mate 'you boys want to have kick around this arvo', and later on that day he came over to my mates place and had a kick of the footy with us and brought us over some KFC for lunch aswell.

****ing legend :thumbsu:

Daniel Chick- was nice to me, but I could see underlining he was a bit of a prat
Alistair Lynch- had lunch with him for some rep. footy thing, great guy
David Wirrpanda- great bloke, so friendly to everyone
Chris Lewis- off the footy field I defend that he is a good guy
Peter Mann- made me laugfh lots, although i was young(about 10)
Chris Masten- Tw@
Jarrord Brennan- bit of tw@ also

Rhys Magin- well i'm mates with him, although he doesnt play AFL anymore, but he got a few games for the dons
Alik Magin- also mates with him, just a great bloke(he's on GC rookie list)

Players you have met...