Port Adelaide is a failed concept.

10% of their membership base also consists of "concessions" (compared to 5% at Port), so If anything they're gonna go backwards when all the oldies start dying off!

Nope, their kids, grandkids and future generations will finally be able to get season tickets. The people that got season tickets years ago have held onto them like gold. Future generations cant go. And we have a waiting list, but many ppl have not put themselves on it anyway.

Most people think its so impossible to get tickets for a crows game. I have worked with plenty of guys that would go but know season tickets are near impossible to get your hands on. I tell them to put their names on the waiting list and its one of them things most people dont get around to etc. There are plenty of invisibles out there that will take up the tickets.

PS thanks bout the sig, i just need a plane hooked up

We will just bring some of the waiting list

Why didn't all these "camrys in waiting" turn up to your 31,000 richmond and brisbane games? They must be quality supporters. Half of them are probably concession card holders anyway....they might die before they get tickets!

I hope they build plenty of access ramps at AO! :thumbsu:

Why didn't all these "camrys in waiting" turn up to your 31,000 richmond and brisbane games? They must be quality supporters. Half of them are probably concession card holders anyway....they might die before they get tickets!

The people on the waiting list cant get in to any random game, thats the point. Theyre on the waiting list FOR season tickets.

Are you telling me that the Richmond/Brisbane games were total sell-outs and that 20,000 people decided not to show up?

If these waiting list people are such dedicated followers surely they would snap up GA tickets to go to games when they get the chance.

Almost twice as many as you got

Anyway we will use the same excuse as you flogs wrong time,live against the gate,wrong day

Oh of course none of you flogs are on concession cards and we aint going to AO no need

Are you telling me that the Richmond/Brisbane games were total sell-outs and that 20,000 people decided not to show up?

If these waiting list people are such dedicated followers surely they would snap up GA tickets to go to games when they get the chance.

There are only a few thousand game day tickets available..

These are usually sold out..

Not 20 000 game day tickets..

Plus now you're making it sound like there are 51515 ppl at every game and 20000 were missing..

You're not D_One? :p

This was my overall point, crowds drop with performance. I didn't go and google the exact crowd figures for both years but from memory your crowds are looking a lot thinner than they were at the tail end of last year when you were flying.

The relevance of this is that Port's average of 24,000 or whatever is hardly surprising considering the size of our supporter base and the form we have displayed over the past three years. And it will get back over 30,000 when we start playing good footy again.

No need for alarm. That's all I'm saying people!

P.S. I had to laugh at your sig! ;)

Your average crowd is 22,482 for this year, helped in part to a game against Carlton. Who have a big following over here.

Last time you were playing "good footy" your average crowd (for home and away) was 27.870. Bottom of the league, and you finished second on the ladder. Doubt Port will ever average 30k again. In 2007 you guys were all about "entertaining footy". Which has been found out to be style over substance. It would seem it will take more than a change in w/l to get your crowd over the 30k you assume will come once you start winning.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/attendances?year=2007&t=R&h=H&s=T

Your drop off since 1997 (35,829) is 37.25%. Back in 1997 your club was 5th in the average home attendance of all clubs. Now it is last.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/attendances?year=1997&t=R&h=H&s=T

Our decrease is 11.61% for the same period. We were third in attendances 1997 and are 9th this year, after 6 games for this year.

You tell me which club has got the bigger problem?

10% of their membership base also consists of "concessions" (compared to 5% at Port), so If anything they're gonna go backwards when all the oldies start dying off!

Concessions also means students. Including Uni students;).

There are only a few thousand game day tickets available..

These are usually sold out..

Not 20 000 game day tickets..

Plus now you're making it sound like there are 51515 ppl at every game and 20000 were missing..

You're not D_One? :p

Each Crows game has about 2,000 match day tickets, the AFL minimum. Our season ticket holders (including SANFL members) number about 48,000. This also includes Port Cat 1 (Ultimate) members. These SANFL members are included in both club's memberships counts. The remainder being officials and oppositon members tickets.

No need for alarm. That's all I'm saying people!

This is exactly why you should be alarmed

Where is the growth going to come from? There is no natural growth in the Port supporter base..instead, it is the only club in the league with natural attrition as the old people slowly die off

Where are the new supporters going to come from???

Maybe they should increase the baby bonus to encourage the bogans to breed more.

Otherwise start handing out port power memberships with every packet of smokes.

Their current supporter base consists primarily of a subsection of SANFL Magpies supporters who believe the Power represent the pre-1997 Port Adelaide.

Note that not all SANFL Magpies supporters believe that the Power are the real Port Adelaide. Some (like Scott Hodges) still maintain that the Magpies that are still in the SANFL are the real Port Adelaide.

So basically growth is expected to come from trying to convince these remaining SANFL Magpies supporters to support the Power. Huge market there. :rolleyes:

Their current supporter base consists primarily of a subsection of SANFL Magpies supporters who believe the Power represent the pre-1997 Port Adelaide.

Note that not all SANFL Magpies supporters believe that the Power are the real Port Adelaide. Some (like Scott Hodges) still maintain that the Magpies that are still in the SANFL are the real Port Adelaide.

So basically growth is expected to come from trying to convince these remaining SANFL Magpies supporters to support the Power. Huge market there. :rolleyes:

Jack Cahill, Eaglebeak Ebert

The point is I'm not really sure how they can expect to grow their supporter base adequately when the only remaining market for potential converts come from Magpies supporters who are yet to be convinced that the Power are the real Port Adelaide.

This is exactly why you should be alarmed

Where is the growth going to come from? There is no natural growth in the Port supporter base..instead, it is the only club in the league with natural attrition as the old people slowly die off

Where you getting your information from Dennis? Why is Port different to any other traditional club?

Let's not forget your mob were only recently 1 millionaire away from bankruptcy, don't be getting too high and mighty.

As I type this AD just said on tv that Port will not be going anywhere, I think I'll take his word for it over yours mate, sorry.

I don't think you actually understand the situation. We don't give our AFL revenue to "our team in the SANFL"....the SANFL (who owns the AFL licences for the Crows and Port) takes millions of dollars generated by both AFL clubs and use it to fund the SANFL competition. So we aren't giving our money to the Port Magpies, the SANFL take it and then give it to the 9 SANFL clubs.

The equivalent would be the VFL taking millions from Collingwood and then giving it to Werribee, Frankston, Sandringham, Box Hill etc.

And we were shit against Richmond because we were shit! No excuses for that one! :thumbsu:

The VFL succeeded in strengthening their teams finances and appearances by basing the AFL on their VFL league. In so doing your equivalent is exceptionally disturbing. By converting the VAFA into the VFL they've successfully hoodwinked people into comparing sides like Box Hill as equal to Central Districts when in fact Box Hill should be considered in the same category as Rosewater.

Thanks for the info on what the SANFL is forced to do with the Crows and the Power just to survive while the ol' VFL (AFL governing body) is absolutely rolling in it.

The VFL succeeded in strengthening their teams finances and appearances by basing the AFL on their VFL league. In so doing your equivalent is exceptionally disturbing. By converting the VAFA into the VFL they've successfully hoodwinked people into comparing sides like Box Hill as equal to Central Districts when in fact Box Hill should be considered in the same category as Rosewater.

Thanks for the info on what the SANFL is forced to do with the Crows and the Power just to survive while the ol' VFL (AFL governing body) is absolutely rolling in it.

I'm pretty sure all 16 AFL clubs, including Port and Adelaide make "donations" to prop up the VFL. That was the way it was when they formed the new VFL, I presume it still is.

Where you getting your information from Dennis? Why is Port different to any other traditional club?

Let's not forget your mob were only recently 1 millionaire away from bankruptcy, don't be getting too high and mighty.

As I type this AD just said on tv that Port will not be going anywhere, I think I'll take his word for it over yours mate, sorry.

First of all you ain't a traditional club Just a 14 year old bandwagon jumper

Second of all you have had 2 millionaires bankrolling you

Maybe they should increase the baby bonus to encourage the bogans to breed more.

Otherwise start handing out port power memberships with every packet of smokes.

The Parental Payment Scheme starts on Jan 1 2011... they are all hard at it ATM hoping to snag a kid in the new year.

Apparently you only have to have worked roughly 1 day a week to be eligible .....

Is this what they mean by "growing their supporter base"?

First of all you ain't a traditional club Just a 14 year old bandwagon jumper

Second of all you have had 2 millionaires bankrolling you

First of all, ok if you say so then it must be true :rolleyes:

Second, what does it matter how many millionaires we have backing us? I'm not the one giving other clubs shit for it am I? Simply pointing out the whole glass house thing, kinda like you muppets trying to give us shit about our dismal season, a joke at best.

First of all, ok if you say so then it must be true :rolleyes:

Second, what does it matter how many millionaires we have backing us? I'm not the one giving other clubs shit for it am I? Simply pointing out the whole glass house thing, kinda like you muppets trying to give us shit about our dismal season, a joke at best.

First of all it works both ways what cause you say you are a 140 years old we all have to believe it ?????

Port Adelaide is a failed concept.