Port AFL is not Port SANFL

Are you a simpleton too?

Is it really that hard to understand that the SANFL wanted to keep a 'Port Adelaide' team in the SANFL. They literally made up 50% of the SANFL history. ie rivalries, flags & largest fan base. Thus they created the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club when Port Adelaide FC moved to the AFL.

So stop dribbling this bullshit, its embarrassing.

Read my posts ...carefully ...before you sprout off.:eek:

It is NOT the Port Adelaide Football Club angle I take. It is the flogging of the heritage of a team THAT STILL EXISTS IN THE SANFL. Do you want to cough up your SANFL flags and give them to the Crows, because the Crows were amalgamated from the SANFL ...stupid argument ...same thing applies. SANFL is NOT AFL.

Jesus....sigh. And from one of our own!

sigh

If you read my post I explained it. Port Adelaide Magpies FC is a new SANFL team, created after the promotion of Port Adelaide FC.

Port Adelaide transfered from the SANFL to the AFL. Why cant they claim their SANFL heritage and therefore the flags.

The Crows cant claim all the other SANFL flags because we dont have a direct connection to any of the clubs. We were a newly created team with no origin. Nothing wrong with that, teams have to start from some point dont they.

I am sure youve been told this a million times before anyway, but yeah just going along with b/s that you make up.

This is the view I take too. I never used too, but changed through reading this website. I just dont like the way Port got into the AFL. Would of preferred them to be independent of the SANFL. Dont like the monoply they (SANFL) have on footy now in this state which the club I used to follow gave to them. It is a comprismise that probably had to happen though due to the SANFL's legal action from the 1990 challenge.

sigh

If you read my post I explained it. Port Adelaide Magpies FC is a new SANFL team, created after the promotion of Port Adelaide FC.

Port Adelaide transfered from the SANFL to the AFL. Why cant they claim their SANFL heritage and therefore the flags.

The Crows cant claim all the other SANFL flags because we dont have a direct connection to any of the clubs. We were a newly created team with no origin. Nothing wrong with that, teams have to start from some point dont they.

I am sure youve been told this a million times before anyway, but yeah just going along with b/s that you make up.

So, the team that wears the prison bars, trains and has its home games at Alberton, plays in the same competition that those flags were earned in, is called Port Adelaide MAGPIES is only 13 years old and has a couple of flags. The team that began in a new competition, has 1 AFL flag, has a home ground at AAMI and wears variations of the colour teal, are entitiled to 34 flags which their supporters sprout as being in the same class as say, Hawthorns many premierships. Kiddin' me...right?

I am sure the technicalities cover your argument......but read my post again....and agin until you get it ...perception, baby....it's all about perception, and my latter agument regarding Power is how people view it.:rolleyes:

This may have already been mentioned, but do the Port Power's reserves play in the SANFL for the Port Adelaide Magpies?
Coz I reckon if they do, they're still the same club and if they don't, they aren't.

When the opportunity arose that they could move into a bigger league (the expanded Victorian Football League) they entered it. But obviously there was another club with black and white and a magpie eblem. So they changed their name, they changed their logo.

That's the problem with Port fans talking about their 34 premierships.

When Port left the SANFL they basically said the SANFL flags were no longer worth competing for. Why brag about something your team no longer values?

holy hell

And there we have it. A marvellous response to a valid point. Here's another one to mull over....if the Port Magpies are the new club, why are they the Magpies? When , if they are new, they have no tradition or heritage anyhow?

Can North Melbourne claim their Un18 flags as "flags"? No...same club, different comp.....but it's OK for Port ????

That's the problem with Port fans talking about their 34 premierships.

When Port left the SANFL they basically said the SANFL flags were no longer worth competing for. Why brag about something your team no longer values?

They f***** up in the first place...they should have got rid of the Magpies and started a totally new club....but they couldn't coz all their fans would crack the shits..."Oh but we got 34 flags". They are in a hole with all this and the idiots just keep digging!

This may have already been mentioned, but do the Port Power's reserves play in the SANFL for the Port Adelaide Magpies?
Coz I reckon if they do, they're still the same club and if they don't, they aren't.

No ...they don't! And even their players when sent back to the SANFL play for all 9 teams ! It is nothing even remotely like a reserves comp for Powa.

Well that's that then! They obviously no longer share any tangible relationship to each other.

They do still share the same history I suppose, but it's a whole lot more relevant to the Magpies than it is to the Power.

I met another Port Adelaide Magpie supporter last night , and he was off the same view as my other mate. The Teal Version is a blight on their history and in no way does he think they should be associated with the SANFL version. It seems the insecure AFL supporters who want to hide behind another clubs history ( mostly post 119 ) are truley pathetic.

My business partner is a red hot Port Magpies girl. Her father was in Dad's Army (kind of a working bee group at Alberton) for years and she has connections going back 40 years...she doesn't regard Power as Port. She went to the GF, came home absolutley disgusted, and has not been to a Power game since, preferring the Port Magpies...that was the team she grew up following and that is the team she mainly supports now...thats where she puts her cash ...Magpies memberships , not Powa. She still will support Power in the AFL as a team to follow, simply because she hates the Crows and Victorians!

Port Adelaide Football Club moved from the SANFL to the AFL.
So when they moved into the AFL, Port kept the same personnel? Players and admin? Did the PAMFC take up exactly where PAFC left off? Was there a splitting of personnel between these 2 seperate organizations?

Ok, ill go over it again for you for the last time.

Port Adelaide Football Club moved from the SANFL to the AFL. Obviously in a new national competition they are going to need a bigger ground then Alberton.

Collingwood Football Club already had the black and white. They also had the magpie emblem. So Port Adelaide changed a whole heap of shit, they are now in the AFL. An expanded competition of the Victorian Football League.

The SANFL, a South Australian state based football league lost its biggest club. Its biggest rival and its biggest draw card.

Logically what do you replace it with? The Port Adelaide Magpies, a team that has achieved little sucess and its only a shadow of the PAFC. Hell its not even the most hated team in the SANFL.

Now its almost impossible to compare VFL flags to SANFL flags, but honestly its not as if the gap were as big as the AFL-SANFL divide of today.

And I think it is totally ridiculous that you suggest they forget or should not be proud of those flags. Or i guess you just more so want to discredit those flags.

Your last point on u18 flags is just stupid.

No it's not...it is exactly the same as the argument you are proposing.
I'm not discrediting the flags ..on the contrary, I have said repeatedly it is a great effort..what I am saying is different comp...different team....same as if North supporters tried claiming U18 - A lesser comp but success by the same club. No way would anyone we ever accept that as being correct...it is stupid..but we are meant to believe it from Port Adelaide.

They do not belong to Power. This is AFL ...began around about 1990 IMO FROM the VFL, that is why I have no problem with Vic teams counting all their premierships. What happened in the SANFL prior to that has NO relevance when it comes to how many flags they have.

This is AFL ...began around about 1990 IMO FROM the VFL, that is why I have no problem with Vic teams counting all their premierships.

Yes, but that opinion is patently ridiculous and universally mocked. Nothing changed the year the VFL became the AFL except that the "VFL" changed it's name to the "AFL".
If we weren't the 'national' comp the year before that happened, then we weren't the after either. And if that's the case, we're probably still a "State Competition"...just with broader standards of the term.

Again I'll state again.

SANFL was a state based competition.

The VFL was a state based competition

The VFL expanded into a national competition. Logically you would think if your a sucessful club you would want to be in the premier competition...

The VFL is the same league as the AFL. As stated already there was no difference whatsoever between 1990 and 1989. Port Adelaide left the SANFL to join the VFL (which had just changed it's name).

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about West Coast.

Page 290
Club Formed: December, 1986
Joined AFL: 1987

No it's not...it is exactly the same as the argument you are proposing.
I'm not discrediting the flags ..on the contrary, I have said repeatedly it is a great effort..what I am saying is different comp...different team....same as if North supporters tried claiming U18 - A lesser comp but success by the same club. No way would anyone we ever accept that as being correct...it is stupid..but we are meant to believe it from Port Adelaide.

They do not belong to Power. This is AFL ...began around about 1990 IMO FROM the VFL, that is why I have no problem with Vic teams counting all their premierships. What happened in the SANFL prior to that has NO relevance when it comes to how many flags they have.

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Adelaide.

Page 28
Club Formed: October, 1990
Joined AFL: 1991

Yes, but that opinion is patently ridiculous and universally mocked. Nothing changed the year the VFL became the AFL except that the "VFL" changed it's name to the "AFL".
If we weren't the 'national' comp the year before that happened, then we weren't the after either. And if that's the case, we're probably still a "State Competition"...just with broader standards of the term.

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Hawthorn.

Page 158
Club Formed: April, 1902
Joined AFL: 1925

The VFL is the same league as the AFL. As stated already there was no difference whatsoever between 1990 and 1989. Port Adelaide left the SANFL to join the VFL (which had just changed it's name).

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Richmond.

Page 232
Club Formed: Febuary 20, 1885
Joined AFL: 1908

And what does the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 say about Port Adelaide

Page 216
Club Formed: Port Adelaide FC
formed May 13, 1870; joined SANFL
1877; AFL club incorporated 1996
Joined AFL: 1997

while your talking about tradition lets talk about your hot pink guersey. Or perhaps the pale blue and white horizontal stripes.

1888: The Medindie Football Club (known as the "Dingoes") join the South Australian Football Association (now more commonly known as the South Australian National Football League).

1893 : The Medindie Football Club changes its name to the North Adelaide Football Club and known as 'Red n Whites'.

1922: North Adelaide played its home matches at Prospect Oval.

1968: The nickname 'Roosters' increasingly usurped the previously used 'Red n Whites' or '**** o' the North'.

1989: Finished Minor Premiers but failed dismally in the GF kicking only 1.8 to Port Adelaide’s 15.18. This is the catalyst to Port Adelaide realising that it is wasting its time in the SANFL and the following year Port Adelaide apply to join the AFL.

1997: When Port Adelaide moved to the AFL, North Adelaide begins its slow and painful demise towards inevitable death in the obscurity of the SANFL.

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about West Coast.

Page 290
Club Formed: December, 1986
Joined AFL: 1987

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Adelaide.

Page 28
Club Formed: October, 1990
Joined AFL: 1991

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Hawthorn.

Page 158
Club Formed: April, 1902
Joined AFL: 1925

Lets see what the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 says about Richmond.

Page 232
Club Formed: Febuary 20, 1885
Joined AFL: 1908

And what does the official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 say about Port Adelaide

Page 216

Exactly right.

Hawthorn joined in 1925 and Richmond in 1908. Port in 1997.

That's why we don't include our premierships before 1908, they are irrelevant to the AFL and nobody cares.

Regarding the OP, in summary.

In 1994 the Port Adelaide Football Club was selected for the second AFL Licence by the SANFL and subsequently joined the AFL competition in 1997 after 127 successful years in the SANFL. Their entry into the national arena has assured the South Australian football public of an AFL minor round game being played at Football Park every week.
http://www.sanfl.com.au/the_sanfl/history_of_the_sanfl/

From its foundation in 1870 to 1996, the club representing Port Adelaide competed in the SANFL as the "Port Adelaide Football Club" over the years from 1870 it had many nicknames. They were known as the Cockledivers, Seaside Men, Seasiders, Mudholians, Dustholians, Magentas before finally settling on Magpies in 1902. In 1997 The Port Adelaide Football Club joined the Australian Football League (AFL). On entry, Port Adelaide adopted a new nickname, Port Power, which was changed to just 'Power' shortly thereafter, and added two more colours (silver and teal) in a requirement to differentiate itself from an existing AFL club, the Collingwood Football Club. During its time in the SANFL, Port Adelaide established itself as the most dominant club in the competition by winning 34 senior premierships. Since joining the AFL Port have added to their Premiership haul by adding another premiership, thereby bringing the total premierships attained by the PAFC to 35 , 1 AFL and 34 SANFL. As well as a 4 time Champion of Australia. Making the Port Adelaide Football Club the most successful club in Australia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_Adelaide_Football_Club

The Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club was established in 1997 after the original Port Adelaide Football Club won a license to enter the AFL (Australian Football League). From that decision, two clubs were established, allowing one entity (PAFC Power) to play in the AFL competition, and another (PAMFC) to continue the Magpies presence in the SANFL. The PAMFC has added on 2 premierships in that time, to take the club's overall tally to 36.
The Port Adelaide Football Club, in effect, was a reverse-merger. From one club were created two entities. One to join the AFL, and another to retain and continue in the SANFL. The AFL entity was renamed "Power", wearing black, teal, white, and silver colours. The SANFL entity was re-named as the "Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_Adelaide_Magpies

In 1996 therefore, Port Adelaide supporters enjoyed one last season devoting their exclusive attention to an SANFL competition in which their heroes performed with the now familiar authority, conviction and, ultimately, courtesy of a 36 point grand final win over Central District, success. David Brown, who won the Jack Oatey Medal for best afield, was one of a dozen members of the Magpies' 1996 senior squad who would be plying their trade with the club's AFL incarnation, the Power, in 1997.
http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/port_adelaide_(3).htm

The official AFL Record Season Guide 2009 say about Port Adelaide
Page 216

Greg has been a supporter of Port Adelaide and attended games with family from the age of 7 (except as a kid when he was selling Football Budgets at other games). He commenced in a official position as Vice President in 1982 and served on the Business Committee in 1986. A Director since 1988 in the portfolio’s of Finance and Membership culminated in the appointment as President of the Port Adelaide Football Club and President/Chairman of the Licensed Club since 1992. Greg has also represented the Club as SANFL League Director since 1990 and on the Odyssey Sub-Committee for the past 10 years. Greg led the bid to obtain the licence for Port Adelaide to enter the AFL competition. Greg was appointed President/Chairman of Port Adelaide Football Club Ltd in March 1995 to prepare for entry into the AFL. He resigned as President of Port Adelaide Magpies at the end of July 1996, to enable him to concentrate his efforts in preparing the Club for the AFL in 1997.
http://www.companydirectors.com.au/About/Speakers/B/Greg+Boulton+FAICD.htm

The Port Adelaide Football Club was founded on April 20, 1870, and played its first match on May 24 that year at Glanville. The club went on to win 34 SANFL premierships before entering the AFL in 1997.
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,24802803-5014673,00.html

Port Adelaide Football Club is the most successful club in South Australia, boasting 34 SANFL premierships and four Championships of Australia, since its first game in 1970. In 1997 Port Adelaide entered the AFL as Port Power, a crowning achievement after over a century of success beyond the Victorian boundaries. John Cahill a favourite son of Port, who had previously coached Collingwood, was the inaugural coach with Gavin Wanganeen the captain.
http://www.abc.net.au/nt/stories/s1058971.htm

IAN HENSCHKE: While the past week has seen many South Australians become converts to the Port cause, the club's entry into the AFL was deeply controversial. In 1990 Port decided to break ranks with the traditional 10-team competition and go alone into the national league. They were described as traitors in an enormously bitter fight that leaves scars to this day. Now, on grand final eve, some of those involved in the controversial bid reflect on those times.
MIKE SEXTON: For Port Adelaide and its army of fans, the moment has arrived -- after 134 years as a club, and just 8 seasons in the AFL, they are in a grand final.
FAN: Go the Power!
MIKE SEXTON: But Port Adelaide's journey to this point hasn't always been smooth.
Their original foray into the national competition was the most divisive time in SA football history. In 1990 the AFL had expanded into Brisbane, Sydney and Perth. They badly wanted a side from Adelaide.
ASHLEY PORTER, JOURNALIST: The SANFL controlled the game, but it was under tremendous pressure to go into the AFL.
MIKE SEXTON: The South Australian league resisted the Victorian advance, deciding not to commit a side for at least another three years.
This was agreed to unanimously by the 10 club delegates, including the Magpies. But only weeks after the moratorium, a mixture of ambition and frustration boiled over at Alberton, and Port Adelaide secretly decided to break ranks and try to join the AFL on its own.
ASHLEY PORTER: Treacherous is the right word. It underhandedly went behind everyone's back, and tried to get through the back door into the VFL.
MIKE SEXTON: It was from the unlikely location of the mid-north town of Quorn that negotiations began. Former Port Adelaide general manager Ian McKenzie had left Alberton to run a store there, and he kept in contact with old footy mates from Victoria, including AFL powerbroker Alan Schwab.
IAN MCKENZIE: I had a long association in working with Alan from my time at Geelong, and Alan had known for some time of our interest, going back, as I said, in 1984, '85, and from then on.
MIKE SEXTON: Port Adelaide now asked Ian McKenzie to contact his mate and arrange a meeting with Magpie president Bruce Webber.
ASHLEY PORTER: Port held its own talks and made the famous phone call, the famous phone call by Ian McKenzie on American Independence Day in 1990, and then all hell broke loose.
BRUCE WEBBER, FORMER PORT ADELAIDE PRESIDENT (FILE TAPE): We believe we have done the right thing for SA football. We have grabbed the ball and run with it where other people haven't. We negotiated a deal with the AFL in -- over a month period, and the SANFL as a league have been looking at it for five years.
IAN MCKENZIE: They had a substantial deal that was probably better than any of the deals that had been offered for other clubs currently in the AFL.
ASHLEY PORTER: To me it was the greatest display of arrogance in SANFL sporting history. So arrogant that they thought the establishment would come on board, its other nine clubs would support the move, its supporters would support the move.
MIKE SEXTON: Far from supporting the move, the other nine clubs struck back -- threatening not only to block Port's bid for an AFL licence, but also boot the Magpies out of the SANFL competition.
ASHLEY PORTER: It got very, very personal.
MIKE SEXTON: There was resentment across the border, too, because of Port's refusal to give up their traditional magpie emblem and colours.
GREG BOULTON, PORT ADELAIDE PRESIDENT: We wanted to be black and white, even though we modified later. and said we'd modify it, particularly Collingwood were pretty upset about that, and it had some negative impact in the traditional Victorian hierarchy over in the VFL at that time.
MIKE SEXTON: Court action from the other clubs stopped Port negotiating further with the AFL. The SANFL then came back to the negotiating table, and nutted out a deal to enter a team in the AFL that would be known as the Adelaide Crows.
ASHLEY PORTER: The clubs in Melbourne backed the establishment here -- that's what always happens, whether it is politics, industry, business, sport. The establishment has always got that hardcore support.
MIKE SEXTON: Although the Magpies won the 1990 SANFL premiership, they were deeply hurt by the hysterical attention now being paid to the Crows.
JOHN CAHILL, FORMER COACH: Instead of being number-one cookie boy in town, we were down the ladder, we weren't the top dog, and everyone didn't look up to us as much, and so that really hurt, emotionally, it hurt, and on the ground it didn't matter what I did as a coach -- I couldn't get that heart and soul out of the players.
MIKE SEXTON: Port Adelaide legend John Cahill remembers the club went into one of its darkest periods in the wake of the failed AFL bid, during which Bruce Webber was deposed as president by Greg Boulton, who steered the club toward its successful entry into the AFL in 1997. Any regrets about the way you went about it?
GREG BOULTON: None whatsoever. I think if we probably didn't lay that foundation for the first licence, there would've never been a way Port Adelaide would've got the second. There would have been two totally composite sides. So at least this way, by getting the second licence, we ensured that the Port Adelaide name, the Port Adelaide culture, and that Alberton's our base, remain forever.
MIKE SEXTON: The wounds from 1990 have not all healed, but most football people agree however arrogant or crude the initial move by Port Adelaide was, it's changed the sport in this State for the better. As the Port Power song boasts, "There's history here in the making!" But as they march to a premiership, most of those involved in 1990 are now just onlookers. Ian McKenzie runs a TAB agency, and Saturday is his busiest day, so he'll only keep an eye on the match on TV. John Cahill will be at the MCG, but the man who forced the issue, Bruce Webber, works in Indonesia, so will watch the game on TV in Jakarta.
ASHLEY PORTER: I think the loneliest man on Saturday will be Bruce Webber. I really hope that Port Adelaide would think of him on the day.
Like him or not, he had a lot of heart in Port Adelaide Football Club, and he did force the issue, and I wish Bruce well.
GREG BOULTON: He was the leader, he took the hammering as the leader, but at the end of the day the whole board and the club made the decision and look where we are now because we made that decision.
http://www.abc.net.au/stateline/sa/content/2003/s1206851.htm

No Tassie tack for Port: Demetriou
"Graham, Graham, I actually think it's an insult to Port supporters. I mean they are one of the great football clubs that's ever been in existence in this country, they've won more premierships than anyone we know, they've got a great history and tradition and for anyone to be talking about them going to Tasmania - with respect to Tasmania - is an insult to their tradition and supporters".
(Andrew Demetriou on the 5AA Sports Show 3/3/2009)
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=72819
http://podcast.fiveaa.com.au/drive090303.mp3

Page 216

Looking at that again I noticed something very interesting:

Here's a definition of the word incorporated

Incorporate \In*cor"po*rate\, v. t. [imp. & p. p. Incorporated; p. pr. & vb. n. Incorporating.]

1. To form into a body; to combine, as different ingredients. into one consistent mass.

By your leaves, you shall not stay alone, Till holy church incorporate two in one. --Shak.
2. To unite with a material body; to give a material form to; to embody.
The idolaters, who worshiped their images as golds, supposed some spirit to be incorporated therein. --Bp. Stillingfleet.
3. To unite with, or introduce into, a mass already formed; as, to incorporate copper with silver; -- used with with and into.
4. To unite intimately; to blend; to assimilate; to combine into a structure or organization, whether material or mental; as, to incorporate provinces into the realm; to incorporate another's ideas into one's work.
The Romans did not subdue a country to put the inhabitants to fire and sword, but to incorporate them into their own community. --Addison.
5. To form into a legal body, or body politic; to constitute into a corporation recognized by law, with special functions, rights, duties and liabilities; as, to incorporate a bank, a railroad company, a city or town, etc.
Source: Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary (1913)

Up until now I was under the impression that SANFL port (pre 97) were the same as Port Power. I was just arguing that their flags were irrelevant to the AFL. But having read an AFL printed statement, I have found proof that the Port Adelaide Power were created in 1996.

So when they moved into the AFL, Port kept the same personnel? Players and admin?

Same key admin - President, CEO, Senior Coach, the majority of the existing board.

Same club - Port Adelaide Football Club based at Alberton Oval.

Regarding the playing list, Port Adelaide players from 1996 and prior who were selected on the 1997 inaugural AFL list:

BOND, Shane
BROWN, David
BURGOYNE, Peter
CARR, Tom
CARTER, Stephen
DYLAN, Jason
EVANS, Paul
FIEGERT, Nigel
FRANCIS, Fabian
HODGES, Scott
LYLE, Brayden
MEAD, Darren
POOLE, Darryl
TREDREA, Warren
WANGANEEN, Gavin
WILSON, Michael

16 players - well over 30% of the list - is a fair enough whack from the one existing state league club for an initial AFL entry I'd have thought.

And it would've been even more if the club had got the greenlight a year or two earlier. Chuck in the likes of Clive Waterhouse, Tim Ginever, Roger Delaney, Darryl Borlase, Robbie West, Andrew Obst, Anthony Darcy, et al.

Did the PAMFC take up exactly where PAFC left off? Was there a splitting of personnel between these 2 seperate organizations?

Port Magpies were based out at Ethelton but played their home games at Alberton Oval.

New President, new CEO, new coach* (Assistant coach Stephen Williams took over the PAFC reins from John Cahill during the 1996 season so Jack could concentrate on preparations for 1997 and was handed the reins of the PAMFC with a premiership under his belt), new homebase.

Regarding players, Port Magpies inherited the remainder of the 1996 list.

Port AFL is not Port SANFL