Port AFL is not Port SANFL

BTW, back in the day, Port beat the reigning Victorian premier 4 times out of 4 in Champions of Australia matches. Several times by big margins. ;)

when will vics realise that Port Adelaide are the greatest and most successful club in Australia. Again, your all jealous of our club, and we love it

Thunda sees the difference....in fact I would think he is probably as sick of this argument as I am. He too would concede (I reckon) that crapping on about being the most successful club and using SANFL stats is detrimental to your cause.

I WHAT?

No, you've completely misunderstood.

The Port Adelaide Football Club playing in the AFL today is the same football club that won 34 State level premierships in South Australian football, and was established in 1870.

I'm pretty sure I make that statement in every post I make in bay 13.

All I say about SANFL premierships is, that I don't think they are worth as much as an AFL premiership, because a state level premiership is inherently less valuable than one won at national level. However, the Port Adelaide Football Club that plays in the AFL today won all 34 of those premierships, and we are, and should be, very proud of them. You can only win the competition you're in, and doing it 34 times in 126 years is a pretty terrific effort.

As far as I know, we have won the most senior premierships out of any team playing in a football professional league. Therefore, we are the most successful footy club in Australia based on premierships won, which as everyone knows, is the only important stat when comparing the histories of teams (cue the 2>1 brigade).

Bolded parts incase you don't get it suburu. We have 1 AFL flag, and while I rate it above any flag we've won in the past, those flags are still pretty terrific.

Where , oh where did all your fans go? Bet ya keyboard was a bit sticky after you watched that, Magoo! The past...always living in the past....

If you watch the video ... the channel 7 news guy says - pitted the team with 127 years experience & only 4 afl games, against the battle hardened cows.
Crows home game dude, my keyboard sticky... hmm aren't you the one who was waffling on about a couple of port posters resorting to lewd/crude sex jokes towards you, when according to you they couldn't win the debate/argument ;)
No, it's proud of the past & confident of our future

If anything crows fan like to live in the past, as they are always talking about the 2 bradbury premierships they won last century. :)

I see you haven't mastered how to multi quote on here yet sub

Your stupid Port Power football club did not move directly from the SANFL to the AFL. If they did, there wouldn't currently be two Port Adelaide Football Clubs playing in two different leagues. If this were the case (for clarity), the Port Adelaide Magpies would be your reserves side - they are not.

And since it is they who continue in their original league, it stands to reason that Port Power, established in 1997, are merely a stem cell in the bigger scheme of the AFL, and you need to forge your own identity and create your own history.

When will you clowns finally accept the fact that your club did not undergo some bizarre form of mitosis, allowing you to lay claim to the parent clubs history. If I were a true, original Port Adelaide Magpies fan, I would be utterly insulted.

Your stupid Port Power football club did not move directly from the SANFL to the AFL. If they did, there wouldn't currently be two Port Adelaide Football Clubs playing in two different leagues. If this were the case (for clarity), the Port Adelaide Magpies would be your reserves side - they are not.

And since it is they who continue in their original league, it stands to reason that Port Power, established in 1997, are merely a stem cell in the bigger scheme of the AFL, and you need to forge your own identity and create your own history.

When will you clowns finally accept the fact that your club did not undergo some bizarre form of mitosis, allowing you to lay claim to the parent clubs history. If I were a true, original Port Adelaide Magpies fan, I would be utterly insulted.

LOL.:D This'll be good.

Go tell Andrew Demetriou, go tell the editor of the SANFL website that he/ she is wrong to write that "In 1994 the Port Adelaide Football Club was selected for the second AFL Licence by the SANFL and subsequently joined the AFL competition in 1997 after 127 successful years in the SANFL." Go tell the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club that they should remove the word Magpies from their name. Explain why the Port Magpies were forced to set up a training base and headquarters away from Alberton once the PAFC moved to the AFL. Explain why the CEO of the Port Adelaide Magpies stated in 2000 that they were set up to maintain the Port heritage in the SANFL following the PAFC's move to the AFL.

Oh and enjoy seeing 1870 on the back of our AFL sanctioned jumpers. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Edit:-

LOL.:D This'll be good.
We don't mind. stoner almost certainly doesn't believe what he's posted but some unaware person will read the response and join the multitude that understands the facts of Ports heritage back to 1870.

Port Power est. 1997.

If the Port playing today is the same club that won the 34 state level flags, then how come Port only has one AFL flag to it's name?

34 premierships in the SANFL is a wonderful achievement, one that all PAFC fans should be proud of. They have a superb record when it comes to state level. Fighting it out with the big boys in the national comp, not so good.

1 AFL premiership
34 state level premierships.

Close thread.

If I was a true Port Magpies supporter, I wouldn't want to have anything to do with the Power who have done nothing but humiliate themselves over and over and over and over again.

Must be sickening for Port Magpies supporters to have to endure this Power team repeatedly trying to use their SANFL tradition to mask their failures.

"Well we suck in the AFL ... but ... but ... 35 AFL/SANFL premierships!!!!"

If I was a true Port Magpies supporter, I wouldn't want to have anything to do with the Power who have done nothing but humiliate themselves over and over and over and over again.

Must be sickening for Port Magpies supporters to have to endure this Power team repeatedly trying to use their SANFL tradition to mask their failures.

"Well we suck in the AFL ... but ... but ... 35 AFL/SANFL premierships!!!!"
Oh cripes you're still wheeling out the same rubbish.

Here's something I just posted on the Port board:-

I was sitting with my wife at a local cafe when an old guy sat down at the table next door. He looked at my black and teal polo top and said it was good to see a Port supporter as there are too many Crows supporters in our area. His wife then sat down and I asked her if she was also a mad Port supporter. Turns out she grew up next to Alberton Oval and her dad played for the club, Laurie Hodge.

I hope I've got all the facts straight but I think she told me he played between 1922 and 1932. He was a wingman and was later on Port's selection panel and the SANFL umpires board. He died at the age of 57.

When she was a kid she used to sit on the wing and watch Port play then duck home at half time for tea and biscuits that her Mum would get ready when she heard the bell for the end of the second quarter. I asked her about players from those days and she mentioned Bull Reval and Bob Quinn. When her husband was courting her they kept up that tradition and he told me that if it was raining they used to run along a fence where the Alan Scott headquarters now is to get some shelter from the weather on the way back to her place.

After they got married they continued going to matches and took their kids along. The mound round the outer was surfaced with black cinders and the kids used to come home filthy. They still go out to the club from time to time and she told me her dad's name is on the honour roll. She thinks Choco's doing a good job and the team will go well this season. They're too old to get to Footy Park these days but they still watch the games on telly.​

A lot of Port Magpies supporters have told me that they are embarrassed and annoyed with the Power constantly disgracing their name and want nothing to do them. :thumbsu:

Go tell Andrew Demetriou

While I didn't hear the original interview, it looks like a case of Cornes pushing demetriou's (and Ports) buttons, leading Demetriou to feel as though he had to come up with something in a hurry to defend the Port Power Football Club.

go tell the editor of the SANFL website that he/ she is wrong to write that "In 1994 the Port Adelaide Football Club was selected for the second AFL Licence by the SANFL and subsequently joined the AFL competition in 1997 after 127 successful years in the SANFL."

What's their e-mail address?

Go tell the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club that they should remove the word Magpies from their name. Explain why the Port Magpies were forced to set up a training base and headquarters away from Alberton

They were clearly forced into both of these moves in an effort to make Power look the more important entity in an effort to lure across supporters.

Explain why the CEO of the Port Adelaide Magpies stated in 2000 that they were set up to maintain the Port heritage in the SANFL

So now your saying that The Port Magpies are a new club???

I wish you Port people could make up your minds. This would mean that they can't claim any of those 34 flags. You better tell them to remove that statistic from their website.

Oh and enjoy seeing 1870 on the back of our AFL sanctioned jumpers. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

This is just rubbing salt into the wounds of all true Port supporters - disgraceful!

Made the finals over 50% of the time, one of the highest winnng records in the competition since we joined in 1997, 1 premiership, 2 grand finals, 3 minor premierships. Not what I would call sucking.

1 premiership from 17 finals.

4th worst ratio of premierships from finals played in the league (and that includes Freo, who haven't won a flag to work a ratio out against).

That, my friend, SUCKS!

While I didn't hear the original interview, it looks like a case of Cornes pushing demetriou's (and Ports) buttons, leading Demetriou to feel as though he had to come up with something in a hurry to defend the Port Power Football Club.
Let me translate that for you:- "Andrew Demetriou's statement is most inconvenient for posters trying to troll Port about it's history".
What's their e-mail address?
Pffft.
They were clearly forced into both of these moves in an effort to make Power look the more important entity in an effort to lure across supporters.
Given that the PAFC members voted overwhelmingly to move to the AFL why would any effort be required to "lure" them? ;)
So now your saying that The Port Magpies are a new club???

I wish you Port people could make up your minds. This would mean that they can't claim any of those 34 flags. You better tell them to remove that statistic from their website.
The PAMFC were created to maintain the Port tradition in the SANFL following the PAFC's move to the AFL, therefore they share the Port history up to the end of 1996.
This is just rubbing salt into the wounds of all true Port supporters - disgraceful!
The true Port supporters that I, a few posts ago, described meeting love it. :thumbsu:

Look. I'm here to help you.

I have supported Hawthorn all my life. I grew up in Melbourne, had the pleasure of living in your fair city for three years from 1999 to 2001, and now reside in the magnificent state of Tasmania.

As such, you can view me as a completely impartial mediator in this decade long problematic search for the true Port Power identity.

But before we can move any further, the first thing you guys need to do is to decide which of the Port Adelaide's will rescind ownership of the 34 premierships which I believe are at the crux of delaying each side forging ahead in an endeavour to create their own history.

When you have done that, we can move on to phase II of the project: Deciding on a year of establishment for Port Power.

Why waste time? It's all sorted. We've got 1870 on the back of our jumper, Andy D reckons we've got more premierships than anyone he knows and a fantastic history, the SANFL states the PAFC gained the second SA licence and moved from the SANFL to the AFL so maybe you should just worry about the Cats. ;)

Look. I'm here to help you.

Look. We've already established you know nothing about the topic.

While your rambling nonsense clearly gives a tingle to the other strugglers in here, the bottom line is you've no business forming an opinion on the topic either way.

Just a thought but the Socceroos have won a bunch of Oceania Football Confederations Cup, might win an Asian Cup or 2 as well.

I suppose we're better than Brazil and Germany hey?

1 Oceania = 1 Asian = 1 Euro = 1 Conmebol

Anyone believe this?

Port have some Premierships from a different comp - good on em. The dogs and North have a bunch of VFA flags too... Only flags in the VFL/AFL competition count.

Can a port supporter please explain why they agree with this logic that Australia has a better record than Brazil or Germany in Soccer?

It depends.

The problem with people like you (no offence intended) is that you have a smug preconceived notion of what the issue is and then reduce this notion to a so-called 'logic' that is intended to invalidate the initial premise (well, what you think is the premise).

So, if we can backtrack a little.

You obviously believe that every Port Adelaide supporter and/or the club itself believes all 34 SAFA/SAFL/SANFL premierships are the equal of the 100+ VFL/AFL premierships. Correct?

Problem #1. Only a small minority believe this to the be the case. Myself and many other Port supporters in this thread don't claim that our South Australian premierships are the equal of Victorian/AFL premierships.

However, those that do automatically assume that every single one of the 100+ VFL/AFL premierships are superior to every single SANFL and WAFL premiership by default are ignorant and kidding themselves. Prior to WWII the three major leagues were very even - and you'd do well to do some research on Fitzroy's 1916 VFL flag. That ridiculous flag should be considered inferior to just about any premiership ever won by any club in the land.

Another example is Port's 1914 side. Undefeated for the year with end of season victories against VFL Premiers Carlton (Champions of Australia, 5 goal margin) and the SA state team (10 goal margin).

Problem #2. It proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that not only are you irretrievably biased against any position put forth by Port fans, you also miss the point entirely.

The crux of this debate is the Port Adelaide Football Club (Power)'s claim that it is the eternal club founded in 1870 - and that it has a rightful claim to any accolades, achievements and deeds performed between that date and the present.

This is why you see Port Adelaide supporters on this site proudly displaying the club's premierships in their sigs - be they South Australian or Australian - as they were won by the club.

It really isn't that hard to understand, people just refuse to.

Look. We've already established you know nothing about the topic.

While your rambling nonsense clearly gives a tingle to the other strugglers in here, the bottom line is you've no business forming an opinion on the topic either way.

What the hell do you mean I've no business forming an opinion on this topic?????

The SANFL is granted a license for a club to enter the AFL - a league I have followed since I can remember - and then your stupid club is established to take up that invitation, and instead of entering the competition with a little grace and dignity, you come in bellowing some ridiculous mantra about being the greatest football club in the history of Australian football.

Your club is an embarrassing joke!

Do you know what your '34 premierships' mean in the real world of Australian Football:

That's right. NOTHING!

And what's this Champions of Australia Bullshit??? Fair dinkum, you're the only club that I have ever come across that hang their hats on that. But it is a fair indication of just how very insecure your mob really are.

And as for winning 34 flags in the SANFL - what sort of shit competition must that be for one club to be so dominant?

Stop and think about it mate. Port Adelaide (or whoever) have obviously never played in a challenging competition, and now you're slowly starting to find out that real premierships have to be earned - and they're not quite as easy to come by as you may have been used to - and it is killing you to finally realise that your 'GLORY DAYS' have come to a screeching end.

What the hell do you mean I've no business forming an opinion on this topic?????

The SANFL is granted a license for a club to enter the AFL - a league I have followed since I can remember - and then your stupid club is established to take up that invitation, and instead of entering the competition with a little grace and dignity, you come in bellowing some ridiculous mantra about being the greatest football club in the history of Australian football.

Your club is an embarrassing joke!

Do you know what your '34 premierships' mean in the real world of Australian Football:

That's right. NOTHING!

Unless you are only 24 or a really bad memory, the AFL has NOT been the comp that you remember, it was the VFL.

And that does NOT constitute the boundaries of "the real world of Australian Football".

And hence, you are irrelevant to an adult discussion on this.
Dismissed.

I WHAT?

No, you've completely misunderstood.

The Port Adelaide Football Club playing in the AFL today is the same football club that won 34 State level premierships in South Australian football, and was established in 1870.

I'm pretty sure I make that statement in every post I make in bay 13.

All I say about SANFL premierships is, that I don't think they are worth as much as an AFL premiership, because a state level premiership is inherently less valuable than one won at national level. However, the Port Adelaide Football Club that plays in the AFL today won all 34 of those premierships, and we are, and should be, very proud of them. You can only win the competition you're in, and doing it 34 times in 126 years is a pretty terrific effort.

As far as I know, we have won the most senior premierships out of any team playing in a football professional league. Therefore, we are the most successful footy club in Australia based on premierships won, which as everyone knows, is the only important stat when comparing the histories of teams (cue the 2>1 brigade).

Bolded parts incase you don't get it suburu. We have 1 AFL flag, and while I rate it above any flag we've won in the past, those flags are still pretty terrific.

So then you agree that on an AFL forum, references to SANFL flags holds water. No , I know you don't. I have always acknowledged that 34 flags is a great achievement, but they were Magpies flags, who still exist. Perception, Thunda, perception. They stuffed it in the beginning, and they are trying to resurrect the heritage of a club that is still in the SANFL....now I understand all the technicalities etc and Vlad's comments,(quoting Vlad is not a definitive point.. he also thinks the rushed behind rule is good...mmm) but as I have said before, it changes nothing to how people view Port Power.

If you watch the video ... the channel 7 news guy says - pitted the team with 127 years experience & only 4 afl games, against the battle hardened cows.
Crows home game dude, my keyboard sticky... hmm aren't you the one who was waffling on about a couple of port posters resorting to lewd/crude sex jokes towards you, when according to you they couldn't win the debate/argument ;)
No, it's proud of the past & confident of our future

If anything crows fan like to live in the past, as they are always talking about the 2 bradbury premierships they won last century. :)

I see you haven't mastered how to multi quote on here yet sub

Why would you drag up a video from 13 years ago if you are not living in the past? I have never cracked the shits about lewd comments..(in fact I congratulated DT on his imagery regarding fallopian tubes...I thought it was a good one ) .. I just ask that if someone is going to do that they actually have some input into the argument at the same time.

There's your multi quote if thats what rocks your boat! Happy now?

Port AFL is not Port SANFL