Autopsy Port v Essendon review

The performance we managed to dish up on Saturday night was unacceptable. By the ten minute mark of the first qtr the fat lady had not only sung, but was already back in her trailer sipping old english tea. To concede the game the way we did was unacceptable, but unfortunately the footy club can add it to its ever growing catalogue of piss weak performances.

Yes, Essendon looked sensational, but let's face it, witches hats would have applied more pressure then some of our players. There were very few positives to come out of this one, the 70 point margin was rather flattering in the end. How does a club at near full strength, and a top 4 spot on the line capitulate so easily? I'm sick to death of trying to answer this question. But let's start with the elephant in the room, Ken.

Senior Coach

His decision to continually play players out of their normal positions is mind boggling. Boak, Hartlett, S Gray, Trengove are all victims of this. If there not able to win their normal position then drop them. At one stage we even had Charlie lining up at the centre bounce, WTF Ken? He also looks clueless, unassertive & void of passion when the teams getting touched up. Not a good look, especially for a senior coach. His persistence to play injured players isn't doing him or the team any favours.

On field Leadership

It's in times of adversity that leadership is needed most, I'm not seeing enough off it. Anyone who thinks Boak can get back to his 2014 form are kidding themselves, he's done. What's not helping his cause is being played out of position, & senior members either playing for frees, or woefully out of form.

Player Ratings

Boak:
Despite 20 odd possessions, 3 kicks says it all. Couldn't impact the game in any meaningful way and his disposal continues to let him down. 4/10.

Ebert: Having a stellar season, but was only serviceable Saturday night. Looked tired, and needed more help from his teammates as he can't be expected to do the heavy lifting every week. 6/10.

Wines: I don't know if the Etihad surface exposed him for pace, or the fact that he went into the game injured, but he just didn't look right from the first bounce. Copping a knock early didn't help his cause. 5/10.

Jonas: Its extremely hard to defend your direct opponent when your midfield allows the opposition free access through the centre of the park. Despite this, I thought Tommy he held his own. Undoubtedly, our most reliable defender on the list ATM, which is a credit to him. 6/10.

Trengrove: was our most influential player early on, but that quickly evaporated when Essendon got on a roll. Nice goal to begin the 2nd half but his best position is KPD/pinch hit ruck. The sooner Ken realises this the better. 5/10.

Hartlett: Hmmmm....is his body shot? I don't know, but in football terms he's a million miles away ATM. He's beginning to look like our own Colin Sylvia, so much promise gone to waste. Lazy, apathetic, disinterested...if Ken really cares, he will drop him this week. 1/10.

R Gray: It seems the whole world knows he's playing hurt, well everyone apart from Ken it seems. He's not right, and playing for frees instead of the ball isn't helping his cause or reputation. Kicked 3 goals, but overall ineffective. Would be a huge loss but needs to get his body right. 3/10.

Hoff: I've been one of his biggest critics, but he was one of the rare few that came out to play. Tried his heart out, but had little help. The best of a poor bunch. 7/10.

Hombsch: By far his worse game in a Port jumper. Constantly beaten in the contest and continually allowed his direct opponent way too much space to work in. Forgettable, won't play that bad again. 2/10.

Wingard: Back from a short layoff didn't do him any favours. He looked rusty, missed targets, and his normal reliable kick for goal has seemingly deserted him this season. Still think his best football awaits him as an elite midfielder. Not his best night. 4/10.

Dixon: Unlike most of this season, just couldn't impose himself in this one. Seeing him line up at the centre bounce as an on baller was just plain bizarre. 3/10.

Pittard: Poor to very poor. His dramatic drop in form is concerning. Im not sure if he has been asked to play a different role or not, but we are desperately missing his run and dash & creativeness off the back line. 2/10.

S Gray: I think he is a good footballer, but not as a forward. If he can't earn a spot in the midfield, he shouldn't be playing. Still have fond memories of his purple patch run a few seasons ago. Stop trying to put a square peg in a round hole Ken. 3/10.

DBJ: Started well, but fell away badly as the game went on. Always gives his best & I still strongly believe he has a very bright future at the club. ATM he plays much better when the team is switched on, but hopefully as he matures, so will his consistency. 4/10.

Ahchee: Didn't bother to touch it in the first, and that set the tone for the rest of his night. Frustratingly, spent almost half of the game on the pine. Not sure that does a lot for the lads confidence. I'm convinced he is a much better player then that & would like to see him be given a prolonged run at half forward where I think he's best suited. 2/10.

SPP: Barley sighted in the first half, but the patches that we witnessed in the 2nd half further convinced me that he is well on his way to elite status. Has all the tools, and unlike some of his teammates, does not take a backward step when thrown into the fire. To think he is only 18 or so, makes it even more remarkable. 4/10.

Impey: Should of remained in the change rooms as far as I'm concerned. Didn't seem to give a **** for the most of the night, and it reflected in his performance. For his own good, he needs to be sent back to the Maggies for a decent stint to discover if he really wants to make a career out of his God given abilities. I hope Jarman can turn it around soon, because he is a phenomenal talent with such a high ceiling. 1/10.

Ryder: Won his fair share of taps, but had influence on the match itself. To those who thought it was a good idea to jeer him anytime he went near it can GAGF. 4/10.

Broadbent: I thought he was okay. Couldn't knock his effort, which compared to most, was good. Having a better season then last year. 5/10.

Clurey: Apart from Jonas, he is our second best defender this season. His one on one defensive work was once again solid. Was also a victim of the teams inability to defend the centre corridor. 4/10.

Polec: Definately not our worse on the night. Tried numerous times to launch some run and carry, but had little support. Back to his best, but imagine what he could be if he had a right foot? 5/10.

Toumpas: I think the general sentiment is that he won't make it at this level. Having said that, some of his more highly fancied teammates faired worse then him on the night. To the supporters who thought it was amusing to single him out after the game can also GAGF. 3/10.

Even though the Maggies had a huge win yesterday, one of the glaring weaknesses was the number of times players under little to no pressure hand balled either behind, or too close to the running player, causing that player to slow down and/or reach back to get the ball, which often destroyed their momentum.

That scenario, plus also the times the handball was to the feet of the receiver, cost 2 or 3 goals at the members' stand end yesterday, and that was against an extremely weak opposition.
Been saying it for years but nothing seems to change at Dumbleton. Our skills at AFL and SANFL level would have to be the worst in their respective competitions, i don't know why but other teams kick, mark and handball better, with that comes better decision making because players are not under as much pressure to move the ball on.

The lads were simply giving it back to the Essendon supporters. There was one point when an Essendon supporter came into our bay but nothing came of it, he backed down pretty quick.

What troubled me the most was the way our own cheer squad turned on the guys, just because a few swear words were thrown around. Pathetic.

I know. Those Essendon supporters were bad and needed some feedback.

The security seemed pretty tolerant towards them in comparison to the Port fans.

The lads were simply giving it back to the Essendon supporters. There was one point when an Essendon supporter came into our bay but nothing came of it, he backed down pretty quick.

What troubled me the most was the way our own cheer squad turned on the guys, just because a few swear words were thrown around. Pathetic.

Remember when cheersquads were the bastion of kids, youths and young adults who'd wear dufflecoats, make streamers out of the white pages and would have to ask mum to stay up late helping to make a particularly complicated banner?

Now they're teeming with middle-aged men who excel in being offended, calling for security and kidney disease.

Remember when cheersquads were the bastion of kids, youths and young adults who'd wear dufflecoats, make streamers out of the white pages and would have to ask mum to stay up late helping to make a particularly complicated banner?

Now they're teeming with middle-aged men who excel in being offended, calling for security and kidney disease.
Remember when those kids could catch a bus for bugger all to the footy or get a lift with a mate every away game? Not so cheap for kids and youth to get to interstate games. Its all part of going national.

In the first quarter they were giving it back to these campaigner Essendon supporters ....
Some years ago, when we'd bottomed out in every way and our financial state was big news, I was over at Etihad for a game. I was with the Cheer Squad and the Bombers supporters on the next tier were dropping coins on us for a short while. Not physically dangerous, just a gesture of contempt. I've often wondered how organised that was, and by who.

Remember when those kids could catch a bus for bugger all to the footy or get a lift with a mate every away game? Not so cheap for kids and youth to get to interstate games. Its all part of going national.

imo there should be a home cheersquad consisting of passionate youths who can get to Adelaide Oval from Semaphore to Seaford on public transport for free.

the away cheersquad can be a platoon-based system consisting of local ex-pat children supplementing a hardcore of silverspoon Port private schoolchildren flying no less than business class and a handful of academy types who are being versed in away matchday custom.

Some years ago, when we'd bottomed out in every way and our financial state was big news, I was over at Etihad for a game. I was with the Cheer Squad and the Bombers supporters on the next tier were dropping coins on us for a short while. Not physically dangerous, just a gesture of contempt. I've often wondered how organised that was, and by who.

They were doing that to us at the game in 2013 too.

imo there should be a home cheersquad consisting of passionate youths who can get to Adelaide Oval from Semaphore to Seaford on public transport for free.

the away cheersquad can be a platoon-based system consisting of local ex-pat children supplementing a hardcore of silverspoon Port private schoolchildren flying no less than business class and a handful of academy types who are being versed in away matchday custom.
Take out the hyperbole and you'd not be far off. Not too long ago I'd have said take out the youth part too, but there's a significant generational change in the Cheer Squad going on over the past couple of years.

Could well have been the game. I've got nothing else to peg it to mentally.

Hombsch was tried forward and performed better than he did on Saturday night.

Which is to say, he was a footballing abortion as opposed to a full nuclear holocaust.

I wish the cheer squad showed half the passion that the guys that got kicked out did.
Why'd they get kicked out? Some old slappers in the cheer squad were giving them shit as well.. a lot of crows like fans in our cheer squad sometimes. Absolute theatregoers. I miss the 90s and 00s when you could actually stand up and tell without being looked at.

The cheer squad are pathetic. There's trying to create a family friendly environment, then there's trying to create a sterile atmosphere devoid of any real tangible passion or care factor. Well and truly in the latter column unfortunately.
Agreed. This fat Essendon campaigner was taunting the cheer squad for the first half yelling abuse all game and once a few blokes called him out for being a fat piece of shit he lost it like a 12 year old looking to start a fight " Did you call me ffaaaaat?!".. he scattered off when the security came down.. I think he ended up staying and the port blokes were kicked out when he had a sook and other politically correct people in our cheer squad.

Agreed. This fat Essendon campaigner was taunting the cheer squad for the first half yelling abuse all game and once a few blokes called him out for being a fat piece of shit he lost it like a 12 year old looking to start a fight.. he scattered off when the security came down.. I think he ended up staying and the port blokes were kicked out when he had a sook

He's well known and has caused trouble in this manner many times before. Unfortunately the retaliation by a few who got sick of his crap is what led to them being escorted out

Well known at every game?

Did you see the ice addict looking bloke down the back of the bay yelling tarp Adelaide all game and Wanganeen is shit.. lol what a tool. Freakin embarrassing supporter base. I bet they weren't there when there was 13k at Etihad for their games.

Did you see the ice addict looking bloke down the back of the bay yelling tarp Adelaide all game and Wanganeen is shit.. lol what a tool

He's from Adelaide and is a Port Magpies/Essendon supporter. Goes out of his way to stir up trouble at all Essendon Port games

Did you see the ice addict looking bloke down the back of the bay yelling tarp Adelaide all game and Wanganeen is shit.. lol what a tool. Freakin embarrassing supporter base. I bet they weren't there when there was 13k at Etihad for their games.

They're easily the least intelligent supporter base in Victoria.

Autopsy Port v Essendon review