Autopsy Port v Essendon review

He's from Adelaide and is a Port Magpies/Essendon supporter. Goes out of his way to stir up trouble at all Essendon Port games
Still confuses me how people can go for Port in the SANFL and not Port in the AFL. I know people won't agree with me but I wish we just said no to keeping a existence in the SANFL and left that backwater competition in its entirety.

I cant be bothered doing a review now.
Fair enough too, what can you really say except we weren't good enough and by a long way.
They thrashed us pure and simple, the good news is we'll probably beat Brisbane this week and the wallpaper will
be pretty again. The lingering effect will be that the league will have seen how quick movement dismantles our press
and exposes out short and slow defenders. To give up the corridor to the oppo all game was mind boggling.
Really felt for those of us who went to the game. It was ugly enough on screen, who knows how bad it must have been at the game.
Still Ken says it's a wakeup call that has happened to all teams this year. Well even if he's right, the next time we're on stage
parading our wares for all the footy world to see, let's put on a better show than Saturday night, coz let's be honest,
we looked like a hobbling cane toad with **** on the catwalk at Paris fashion week.

The annoying part now is going to be selections. If Ken had lived up to his own tripe and and dropped under performing players and brought in in form players from the Magpies, our situation would not be as bad. We now have many players down on form, 5 - 6 players should be dropped but that is to many at one time and we have players pushing for spots at the Magpies that deserve to be playing AFL. Oh Ken what a mess.

waking up this morning sipping my morning coffee, thinking back to the game... im even more pissed off now. not that we lost, not even the way we lost. but by the simple fact that when we have expectation on us, even a little expectation on us we fall off a cliff and go to water badly. Its not something that can be taught, you either have the nerve or you dont. even if this squad makes the finals or hell flukes a grandfinal id be scared as shit that we would go to water and have another big game demolition.
What can be done? break the team up. gtet rid of the mentally weak players.
Boak, Hartlett, Pittard, Westhoff for a start. break the group up. start fresh.
Promote Ollie and ebert into C and VC.
Make tough calls on S Gray, Archee, Toump.

Yes we might be in for a little short term pain but in the long run itll pay off.

The annoying part now is going to be selections. If Ken had lived up to his own tripe and and dropped under performing players and brought in in form players from the Magpies, our situation would not be as bad. We now have many players down on form, 5 - 6 players should be dropped but that is to many at one time and we have players pushing for spots at the Magpies that deserve to be playing AFL. Oh Ken what a mess.
If Ken even makes just 3 changes it would be a refreshing start. Crows dropped Jenkins who just got a nice big juicy contract over yonder. Time for Ken to be brave too for once. Youngy sure responded but he played a lot more through the midfield I think.

Didn't watch the SANFL match
How did Young go?
Anyone else light the place up?

Didn't watch the SANFL match
How did Young go?
Anyone else light the place up?
West were like witches hats but Young was outstanding. Most of the team were switched on and looked good. Even Frampton's rucking looked improved. Dougie wow. Irra, I hope he gets a chance one day, so enthusiastic and switched on down back. All played well.

Ok the dust has settled, but what really struck me about the game was that our whole team was down, not just select players. Here's my take...

We can look at this game in two ways. From one perspective, it was just a once off poor performance - every team has them, Adelaide and GWS have both been pumped by 10 goals this season but that hasn't derailed their campaigns.

From the other perspective, the result goes a lot deeper. It shows that our whole outfit is not prepared to 1- take on any half decent team and 2- fight when the going gets tough. On this view, our start to the 2017 season reflects our whole 2016, masked nicely by some close contests (but still losses) against higher ranked opposition.

Problem is we won't know which one it is very soon. We will likely put Brisbane to the sword, but that won't tell us anything we don't already know.

we have players pushing for spots at the Magpies that deserve to be playing AFL.
Some of them could be forgiven if they thought what's the ****en point. Glaring weak spots v the good teams is glossed over
with 'belief' in the playing group to rebound. Saturday night was over 1/2 way thru' the 1st. and I for one didn't see Ken doing anything
when ever the camera panned to him. The only thing missing was a deck chair.

Ok the dust has settled, but what really struck me about the game was that our whole team was down, not just select players. Here's my take...

We can look at this game in two ways. From one perspective, it was just a once off poor performance - every team has them, Adelaide and GWS have both been pumped by 10 goals this season but that hasn't derailed their campaigns.

From the other perspective, the result goes a lot deeper. It shows that our whole outfit is not prepared to 1- take on any half decent team and 2- fight when the going gets tough. On this view, our start to the 2017 season reflects our whole 2016, masked nicely by some close contests (but still losses) against higher ranked opposition.

Problem is we won't know which one it is very soon. We will likely put Brisbane to the sword, but that won't tell us anything we don't already know.
Yes will be a painful second half of the season. So many clubs can still make the eight. We are nowhere near safe, nor should we be. We lost lot of our percentage last weekend. What a frigging waste. Any slight trust in this group is lost again.

. The heart rate drops, the adrenaline from the excitement and the caffeine tablets fades, and suddenly you're playing shit.

I'll say it again - biggest club of campaigners in the league.[/QUOTE]
Re the banner delay and the effects on adrenaline
Imagine playing the All blacks in Rugby Union and having to just wait and watch a the start of the game with the Haka
They are pumped and the other side is subdued

Love to see the opening 20 minute scoring stats of these games

. The heart rate drops, the adrenaline from the excitement and the caffeine tablets fades, and suddenly you're playing shit.

I'll say it again - biggest club of campaigners in the league.
Re the banner delay and the effects on adrenaline
Imagine playing the All blacks in Rugby Union and having to just wait and watch a the start of the game with the Haka
They are pumped and the other side is subdued

Love to see the opening 20 minute scoring stats of these games[/QUOTE]
Essendon always find a way to cheat.

Some of them could be forgiven if they thought what's the ****en point. Glaring weak spots v the good teams is glossed over
with 'belief' in the playing group to rebound. Saturday night was over 1/2 way thru' the 1st. and I for one didn't see Ken doing anything
when ever the camera panned to him. The only thing missing was a deck chair.
Was it me or did he seem to be away from other coaches, sorta on his own sucking on a coke.

I'll do a quickish one.

- We simply cant handle teams that handball the ball quickly. Its like watching us turn into witches hats out there. Happened against the Crows, happened a lot against Geelong and happened a lot on the weekend as well. Like a training drill, we just always seem a metre behind our opponent and they get a clear run.

- The way Essendon dominated us through the corridor was a concern. Again, using that quick handball to free people through the middle of the ground as opposed to playing down the wings tore us apart.

- Its really just sad how we can collectively turn to shit like that. 40-1. Just shouldn't ever happen. Especially giving up 4 goals in about 2 minutes of game time, silliness.

- What is it that leads us to play like that? Is it preperation? Is it arrogance? Did we go in thinking we could turn up and get the job done? We just looked completely unprepared for what Essendon had to throw at us. We had no clue for their run, for their forward set up and couldn't get past their handball.

Some player reviews:

Hartlett - I just don't know what to think anymore. It wasn't that he got turned around by AMT, that happens, though the way he just trailed him was really poor and shouldn't have put himself in that position. It wasn't the pathetic attempt at stopping that ball on the line where it looked like he didn't give a shit. It was the 25 other bad things he did on the day which really made my blood boil. I just don't understand what the point of having him across half back is. He's been alright this year, just ok, and if the best we can hope for is that he gets 20 touches when we touch up a shit team, and for him to look like he doesnt give a **** for the other 17 rounds of the season, then what a gigantic waste of money he's going to be. He played us in the ultimate game of chicken. Now he's one of our highest paid players who can't play midfield, doesn't play forward and seems to only want to try to be Luke Hodge across half back. Well sorry mate, Luke Hodge has talent and desire and composure and class and is a winner. He's more Ben Jacobs than Ben Jacobs was. I won't be happy until he's gone.

DBJ - Good on him. I said on the pod that he would be the player that would play well and go unnoticed. Well he did. I saw quite a few say he was poor on Saturday. He kept the 2nd best small forward in the league scoreless. Pretty good game if you ask me.

Jonas - Was alright. Did his job well on Daniher early then did the job on Hooker later on.

Hombsch - A great disappointment. Unfortunately he does this all too often. He's fallen way short in terms of development to what I think most of our expectations were. He just seems to have these games wear everything he does is wrong. I dont know if it gets in his head but it seems to compound pretty quickly and suddenly hes had 3 goals kicked on him in quick time, has fallen over 6 times, missed 2 tackles, missed 3 spoils and kicked it straight to the opposition 4 times in about 20 minutes. unfortunate.

Toumpas - Cooked.

Impey - Has been good lately but jeez, i've never seen a player look less prepared mentally to take on a game. As I said a couple days ago when watching the first quarter, I reckon the first 9 times he went near the ball were terrible. And again, learn how to snap. How many times a game does he snap and the ball literally goes further from the goal than where he was kicking from? Its laughable.

Wingard - Stop playing for frees. Its pathetic.

R Gray - Attack the ****ing ball and stop playing for ****ing frees every ****ing week. Its ****ing pathetic.

Dixon - Had a very good year for sure, but hey, about time he didn't let us down with a pressure kick at a crucial time when we are under the pump. He's as bad as Westhoff in that regard.

S Gray - 1.3. Par for the course.

Our midfield - Collectively, a massive massive letdown.

I should have not singled your thread. I just find it staggering we call his game in best. Essendon supporters I were with laughed at his game and lack of real influence. We are just used to a few ok floating marks and the stat sheet showing 30 touches. He is one of the core reasons we will never be a ruthless winning team...he never steps up when game on line....and we blame the fringe players.
Interesting you say that. I've had the same feedback from opposition supporters over several years

Autopsy Port v Essendon review