Port v Freo

If Fremantle finish 5th, you'd hate to be the top four team that loses it's first final and has to face them next. As a Geelong supporter, I'd be very worried about a straight sets exit if Hawthorn knocked us off in week one and we had Fremantle waiting.
The loser of 1v4 plays the winner of 5v8 so if Cats finished 2 or 3 and lost the QF they would avoid Freo.

Yeah well its kind of hard when your comparing one experienced coach who has been in the system for multiple years and has experienced numerous finals to a first year coach in his first final series. St Kilda finished top 4 in 2008 in I think which was their first ross lyon coached final series lost the first final and bowed out against the hawks in the prelim. A fair comparison would be if port make top 4 this year; Both hinkley and Lyon are/were in the second year of coaching.

Not quite sure what your LOL-ing at you lost by more at home against north
We're sitting top of the ladder having beaten you twice,north has nothing to do with this

Apparently Port have been flogged on the training track for the last month and are cherry ripe for finals. I'd see Hawks n cats struggling agAinst them.

You guys realise Port's sitting 4th at the moment? If Freo loose to Lions, Port can still finish 4th if they loose to Freo next week! If on the other hand, Freo absolutely thrash the Lions, it will be very hard for Port to win by a greater margin.
Sorry but dumb post is dumb. We must win next week

I see the Lions as a bigger test; McGrath getting a send-off, Rockliff never has a night in, and Freo might be jarred by the exclusion of Barlow and Fyfe. The biggest issue there isn't the midfield, I reckon it's the goal or two Barlow can drift in and kick and the way Fyfe can play that high up.

Port are nothing intimidating. The Blues are pus, they're mentally soft and Murphy going said 'surrender.' Carlton were flat, just so bad, the closest I've seen to 'playing against cones' as I've seen. They're a very good side, or were, but I just don't think Freo should be that scared of them.

We're sitting top of the ladder having beaten you twice,north has nothing to do with this

Didn't read my reply mate? Seemed to me you were LOL-ing due to us losing by 4 goals at home whilst you got beaten by 43 points by north at home. I don't really see how that's funny

We didn't beat a Top 4 side away last year until the finals. Anyhow, Port aren't a top 4 side. Against opposition who stifle running games they have no plan b and players like Polec and Gray who thrive on uncontested footy struggle. Freo by 5 goals.

How much did the stifling Freo beat the running Port by earlier in the season?

Apparently Port have been flogged on the training track for the last month and are cherry ripe for finals. I'd see Hawks n cats struggling agAinst them.
Everyone says this. It's up there with "we lost because everyone had the flu" and "we won the premiership despite everyone playing injured" myths football fans tell themselves. Oh, and "we didn't recruit player X because he's a dickhead".

There are probably freo men in the shadows as we speak deciding if they are going to go hammer and tongs against brisbane, or if a couple of your better players will suddenly 'fall ill'. If you smack Brisbane you can raise your percentage higher than Ports, which provides a buffer in case they do actually beat you next week. On the other hand, tanking will conserve energy and prevent possible injury to you better players.

That wouldn't surprise to be honest. I had this game pencilled is a tank game at about round 11/12. Just wish we hadn't lost to North or Saints. I'd rather win against Brisbane and have it in our hands so to speak, rather than throw this and go all out against Port needing to win.

I have faith in Ross to do the right thing for the club either way

Yeah, you think you'd want to atone for the greatest shame in grand final history before cracking jokes about Ross Lyon.

Ken Hinkley knows as much about losing GFs as Lyon does anyway.

Strange game for Freo. Port are overrated. How do you manage that? Its not going to be any sort of hit out that prepares them for the next week.

Maybe the only positive freo can get is the preparation for an important game. Ports ability and style offers them nothing.

Teams that finish fourth rarely make GFs and have never won one in the current system. Neither Freo nor Port look capable of bucking that trend.
Teams that are named Fremantle rarely make GFs and have never won one in the current system or any past systems. Doesn't mean I don't feel that they can win one this year.

History over 10-15 years is far different from history over say 100 years. Freo and Port are very capable of winning one from fourth.

Going to be tough, but I can see Barlow getting up to play, and hopefully our forward line is still firing. Nobody really understands how big the Michael Walters inclusion into the team is. Was huge last week, kicked a goal and had 4 goal Assists in his first AFL hitouts for 15 weeks.

Port v Freo