Review Port vs Brisbane QF @ The Gabba - It's OK Guys, Finals are a Bit Scary

There was a lion's supporter near me and there was some friendly banter going on between him and the young lads in the row in front of me.

Then in the third quarter as the game got ugly this Lions supporter told the guy in front he should go for an umpires license (because he thought he was an expert on everything). The young lad turned around and called him a "fücking campaigner" at which point the lion's supporter pushed him in the shoulder.

It was much ado about nothing. Complete escalation for nothing. The young lads mate called security who came over, listened to the people in the section as to what happened and deemed there was no more action to take place.

Things were calm. Then at 3/4 this young lad goes to his dad who was one section over who then got another security guard to investigate. This security guard pulled the lion's supporter out to talk to him at which point the dad said the lion's supporter punched his son (he did nothing of the sort) and security agreed with this version of events and asked the lion's supporter to leave.

The initial security guard came up to me because I was confused AF with what was going on, and she apologised profusely saying "it wasn't me" (who kicked the Lion's supporter out).

Total shitshow. Completely unnecessary and quite frankly a dog act.
Yeah, but the bloke shouldn't have pushed the kid. You get physical, even pushes, you pay the price.

There was a lion's supporter near me and there was some friendly banter going on between him and the young lads in the row in front of me.

Then in the third quarter as the game got ugly this Lions supporter told the guy in front he should go for an umpires license (because he thought he was an expert on everything). The young lad turned around and called him a "fücking campaigner" at which point the lion's supporter pushed him in the shoulder.

It was much ado about nothing. Complete escalation for nothing. The young lads mate called security who came over, listened to the people in the section as to what happened and deemed there was no more action to take place.

Things were calm. Then at 3/4 this young lad goes to his dad who was one section over who then got another security guard to investigate. This security guard pulled the lion's supporter out to talk to him at which point the dad said the lion's supporter punched his son (he did nothing of the sort) and security agreed with this version of events and asked the lion's supporter to leave.

The initial security guard came up to me because I was confused AF with what was going on, and she apologised profusely saying "it wasn't me" (who kicked the Lion's supporter out).

Total shitshow. Completely unnecessary and quite frankly a dog act.
A weak dog Tnuc I think is what it’s known as

Journalists need to grow a set of balls. What bunch of weak questions. And they just let him get away with bullshit answers

Sent from my motorola edge 30 pro using Tapatalk

As much as I want to blame Hinkley, Bassett, Cornes, Koch, Davies and Richardson for tonight
Can you refresh me on who’s responsible to build the list, prepare the players, define strategies and tactics, and pick the match lineup, please?

Yeah, but the bloke shouldn't have pushed the kid. You get physical, even pushes, you pay the price.

The only reason the Lion's fan pushed him was because the young lad raised his arm and inadvertently pushed him. At least from my perspective thats how it went down. Was completely unnecessary to get security involved.

I was always hopeful rather than optimistic for this game , we needed everything to go right really and with the goal kicking in the first half especially we couldn’t make a significant scoreboard impact . Once we were cracked we did seem to accept it abt too easy and think oh well we’ve got next week at home .
Lord was great , Rozee and Butters but Houston was a bit below normal . Drew was good apart from one costly mistake but we couldnt get enough out of Duursma, Byrne Jones, Rioli , Wines ,the extra mids , Finlayson was disappointing and Marshall outdoor hit a barn door there for a while , should’ve had at least 4 and possibly 5 , all shots were in his normal repertoire, reckon he might’ve had an injection in his hip and he had no feeling in his leg or something. Lycett was ok , Allir , McKenzie , Williams , Burton , Farrell , Jones were all ok without starring ,
We’re struggling a bit for fitness , hopefully we’ll win at least next week , I can’t really see us winning a prelim in Melbourne , we need Dixon back although Lord was good , could almost put Finlayson back and leave Lord in if Mckenzies out .

Jezza was mentally fragile in finals at the giants too, was just about worst on ground tonight.

We’ve got too many chokers in our team. Rozee and butters can’t win it themselves they need help and got * all tonight.

Not true. In the 3 finals leading up to the GF in 2019 he averaged 14 disposals, 2.33 goals and 2.33 clearances.

Yes, he did go missing completely in the GF with only 1 possession but wasn't alone playing as a forward in a team that got beaten by 89 points. Yeah his performance was insipid tonight as well. His form has been on the slide for the last third of the season for whatever reason we may never truly know. It is frustrating to watch though for a guy who was almost AA for the first two thirds of the season.

Was at the game, first game I have seen the boys, live in the flesh this year, just a couple of notes….

I was astounded to find out that Blind Freddy is not only an actual human being, but he is currently on the books at Alberton as a ‘goal kicking coach.’ His second cousin Mo’ Mentum Killah can vouch for this.

We had so many passengers tonight we are soon to announce Qantas as our major partner for the next 2 years. According to the press release they are; “Looking to tap into that ‘downhill skiing’ market.”

Our LORD and saviour is not only available for wine tasting but he now also delivers.

The myth about hollering for a Marshall is a complete misnomer. I am currently drafting correspondence alerting the ACCC and Office of Fair Trading to said fabrications. My hoarse throat and raspy voice will be cc’d on this.

I’m available for birthdays, bar mitzvahs and barbies.

On tonight's performance, and the cumulative evidence of the season, there is no way that Ollie Wines can wear the #1 next year.

Lacks any inspirational qualities. Does not influence games when they are in the balance. Has a major kicking deficiency. Doesn't stand up in the big moments. Cannot stick a tackle.
And therefore it's a certainty.

Agree 100% though.

7ykpzn.jpg

I've said for a while I think our easier path to a flag is losing this game... but honestly its just hard to care. We've seen the same show on repeat 10 years in a row. Would take something really special for me to think this year would change things.

We just have to pray like hell that we don't have yet another good h&a record in 2025 leading to another extension, and can finally get a decent head coach for 2026. Rozee/Butters etc will be 26 so their careers will still have a few years at peak.

That result simply verified what most of us suspected. We are well short of Premiership stuff. Too many gaps in our line up and we rely on Butters, Rozee and Houston with the likes of Powell- Pepper, Drew and a couple of others chipping in. The falling away of Bergmann, Finlayson and others in the second half of the season has also been significant factor in our fall from grace.

We badly need that second tall defender as we actually had more of the ball but Brisbane out marked us 104-78 and many of those were contested marks inside of their 50.

To be fair I did not mind the superspud's game last night as he actually laid a few good tackles and had a share of the footy, it was one of his better games but once again he booted 0.1 which is not enough for a guy who is in the side as a small forward.

One other plus was the 4 goals from Ollie Lord, it shows that he does have the capacity to hurt the opposition. Would have liked a few more marks but I will take 4 goals a game. Of course kicking 4 goals does not guarantee Olllie a place in next week's side.

Our shocking finals record under Hinkley remains in tact and we stand a good chance of beating GWS in Adelaide next week but I do not see us winning a Prelim in Melbourne.

Review Port vs Brisbane QF @ The Gabba - It's OK Guys, Finals are a Bit Scary