Review Port Vs Brisbane

Since and including the Collingwood game. Was flavour of the first month of the year. Mr Reliable. Now he’s Mr Nowhere.
I still remember the heat I copped for questioning his 5(!) year contract at the start of the year. I wonder how everyone feels about that contract now.

Ouch. Watching Tom Clurey today at SANFL was a reminder at how poor the club is when it comes to overrating its players and given undeserved contracts.

Do all players only use moulded soles these days?

Time to bring back the 1 inch steel sprigs!
Many players seem to use short stops for comfort rather than longs stops which makes it less likely they slip over.

Unfortunately steel studs are banned.

AFL Regulation 4.6 (Other Apparel) states:

4.6 Other Apparel

(j) Metal stops on boots are not permitted to be worn during a Match.

AFL Clubs and Players therefore have an obligation to ensure that all boots worn during AFL matches do not constitute a danger or increase the risk of injury to other Players competing in the Match, which includes, but is not limited to a strict obligation:

Not to wear boots that have exposed metal stops (i.e. stops may internally contain metal or be metal at the end which screws into the boot, but no exposed surface of the stop that may potentially come into contact with the turf or other player may be metal);
Not to wear boots with stops that are plastic or any other material that have sharp or pointed edges.

Many players seem to use short stops for comfort rather than longs stops which makes it less likely they slip over.

Unfortunately steel studs are banned.

AFL Regulation 4.6 (Other Apparel) states:

4.6 Other Apparel

(j) Metal stops on boots are not permitted to be worn during a Match.

AFL Clubs and Players therefore have an obligation to ensure that all boots worn during AFL matches do not constitute a danger or increase the risk of injury to other Players competing in the Match, which includes, but is not limited to a strict obligation:

Not to wear boots that have exposed metal stops (i.e. stops may internally contain metal or be metal at the end which screws into the boot, but no exposed surface of the stop that may potentially come into contact with the turf or other player may be metal);
Not to wear boots with stops that are plastic or any other material that have sharp or pointed edges.

Surely there is some sort of composite material these days they could use

Congrats Koch, you narcissistic, woke campaigner, this is all on you.
Dropped my daughter and her youngsters off at the airport to return to Sydney this morning.

Koch walked by a couple of metres away. Felt like yelling "embarrassing" at him, but always feel that their privacy should be respected, especially since he had an oldie couple with him.

My point: - he was looking straight ahead, avoiding eyes, and wasn't his usual Kochy self. Looked very uncomfortable.

Maybe he is for once not feeling quite so arrogant!

AFL journalism gives me the shits. (Re: "Port's star midfielders need to lift"

Assuming "star midfielders" refers to Butters, Rozee, JHF, Wines.
Respectively:
  • 35, 28, 21, 17 disposals
  • 12, 8, 10, 5 contested possies (next best Houston on 8)
  • 8, 1, 6, 2 clearances (Finlayson had 3)
  • 13, 9, 8, 4 score involvements (top 3 on team)
  • 6, 7, 7, 7 tackles, most on team
Outside of Wines, what are they basing this on? Even ignoring the stats it was clear that these guys were the few making anything happen. Target Ken ffs

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240623_153647_Brave.jpg
    Screenshot_20240623_153647_Brave.jpg
    299.6 KB · Views: 18
The mids play with a different ruckman every week. It's not hard to see why they might be reactive to what's happening in the middle rather than having any kind of cohesive plan.

The players were obviously awe struck at being in the vicinity of so many premiership players when they ran out onto the field. I guess it's a scary thing being in the presence of winners when deep down you know you aren't one.

Honestly the "replica 2004" guernsey produced by Macron looked horrible.
There is no black side panels like the one with original 04 Nike guernsey and the teal to black ratio on the front is more and off colour. They can't even get the right colour teal.
Horrible performance maybe its a curse from a messed up attempt to replicate the guernsey and cut corners.
Bullshit Macron!

Honestly the "replica 2004" guernsey produced by Macron looked horrible.
There is no black side panels like the one with original 04 Nike guernsey and the teal to black ratio on the front is more and off colour. They can't even get the right colour teal.
Horrible performance maybe its a curse from a messed up attempt to replicate the guernsey and cut corners.
Bullshit Macron!
Original was made by Nike? Perhaps they own the design reproduction and therefore there Macron had to design it X% differently to avoid copyright? Dont know just guessing

Rozee all aus forward (bench) playing as inside mid
Rozee earned his All Australian jackets as a midfielder.
He played in the midfield for 2022 after round 5, and all of 2023.

The only reason he was named as a forward is because the AFL likes picking too many midfielders and putting them in as half forwards.

AFL journalism gives me the shits. (Re: "Port's star midfielders need to lift"

Assuming "star midfielders" refers to Butters, Rozee, JHF, Wines.
Respectively:
  • 35, 28, 21, 17 disposals
  • 12, 8, 10, 5 contested possies (next best Houston on 8)
  • 8, 1, 6, 2 clearances (Finlayson had 3)
  • 13, 9, 8, 4 score involvements (top 3 on team)
  • 6, 7, 7, 7 tackles, most on team
Outside of Wines, what are they basing this on? Even ignoring the stats it was clear that these guys were the few making anything happen. Target Ken ffs
Outside of butters they were shit. And butters was also sort of shit, but at least was trying to make things happen. Collectively they were destroyed as a group.

Classic case of looking at some very superficial statistics without proper context.

I got up from my seat at 3Q time and good mate of mine asked if I have had had enough. We have been going to the football together since high school (40 years) so we have watched a lot of football. The answer was yes and a few other things were said about our poor skill level and the lack of depth down in the B grade.

Leaving my seat a 3Q time is nothing new and I usually end up down the South end standing behind the goals so its a quicker retreat going across the footbridge to the railway station. I saw plenty of people leaving the ground and thought about joining them but guilt about leaving early got the better of me. That guilt lasted 10 minutes and I decided to join them. Train was standing room only.

Like many of you here we lived for the game and could not wait for the season to start. Now it's we cannot wait for the season to end.

Brisbane are a premier contender. We are not. Lack of energy and impact all over ground. Probably cannot be turned around in just next game.
Brisbane are still outside of the 8.

We actually ruined our perfect Saturday arvo at Adelaide Oval against bottom 10 sides record with this game.

The club is in shambles with holes in all facets of the game.

- Forwards can't kick straight. This has been an issue for a long time and who is the forwards coach? A guy played his footy predominately down back and looking at the stats, has kicked 179 Goals and 165 behinds. For all that talk about that "goal kicking program", it really has done wonders with Port ranking 18th in goal kicking accuracy. I think we should give an applause for how "great" this program is.

Can we stop persisting with these "defensive forwards" because the scoring has dried up considerably and actually look to play small forwards who can RUN and kick goals. The "pressure acts" will take care of itself assuming of course the small forwards have the speed and pace to pressure the defenders and cause chaos.

- Midfield: For all that rave talk about how "dynamic" the midfield has become, they keep losing the contested ball; (-40) this week and getting smashed in that area. It is evidently clear that the midfield balance is not right. What annoys me so much is that these players keep talking about "connection", but I have never seen such a disconnect between midfield and forward. All that talk about doubling down on its ball movement and nothing to show for it.

- Defence: Oh boy, where do I start with this? This defensive setup is much worse than it was last year when we didn't have the tall timbre to play against the bigger and taller forwards. The club brought in BZT and Ratugolea as tall defenders and now the issue is the team keeps losing at the ground ball in their defensive 50 and the leakage of goals has become even worse. BZT has been okay but I still reckon he has been average at best and Ratugolea's footy IQ is awful. He does not know when to come to the ball or stick to his man. His skills are very average and gave away a few easy goals because of his lack of awareness of the opposition intercepting his kick.

Aliir's main weapon of reading the ball and intercepting it has withered away and there was a moment in the first quarter where he would normally mark the ball but instead when for the fist which tells me he does not have the confidence to mark and intercept the ball. Let's not get started with his one-on-one contest because he gets exposed too easily and gives away frees.

Our small to medium defenders just doesn't defend and all the defenders don't seem to play man-on-man and would rather play zone defence instead.

This high-press gameplan has been used for 3-4 years and does not stack up anymore. Port often gets exposed too easily once the high-press has been pierced through.

I actually think our set shot goal kicking HAS improved over the last few games, starting from around the Kangaroos game. Now the scoreboard may not completely reflect it, but MG and Todd have both kicked straighter than they have in the past, and their misses are only by a small margin (previous misses have been far worse)

Totally agree that we simply cannot persist with pure defensive forwards that have no attacking ability. McEntee did look promising in pre-season, but he has now played 12 matches, averaging 7.3disposals and 0.4 goals a game. 2.7 tackles per game for a pressure forward (2.7 is rated average for players in his position)

People like to pot DBJ, but he's going at 1.2 goals per game (Kossie Pickett averages 1.5), along with 11.5 disposals and 2.9 tackles (above average) - Happy to keep him in.

I don't know what's wrong with the midfield, it stems from the ruck, but that doesn't explain everything else. Apart from being utterly unaccountable to each other when it comes to defensive running, nothing else really stands out as a glaring problem. (i'm not at all suggesting there isn't problems, I just can't see what they are)
I suspect it's a result of the high press, leaving absolutely no room for error, and once the opposition are goal side of us, it's all over.

Defensively, the entire set up is a shambles. From the way the team defends as a whole (trading up position and then not impacting the play and leaving an open man behind), all the way to our defenders having no faith in each other and multiple players contesting the one ball, leaving the opposition free at ground level.

The Rat on Bergman one is a classic example, where it was clear as day that Bergman had this covered, but Rat came flying through (as he has done on many occasions) and cleaned up Bergman and resulted in a soft drop that Brissie collected and scored from.

We consistently double up or triple up on the aerial ball and get beaten when the ball spills to the deck. We also consistently take out our own team mates when we go up for the ball. Just zero awareness. Zero defensive smarts.

BZT appears to be a natural defender, mostly knows what to do in each situation etc. Rat is the problem in my eyes, he is Mr Chaos, and it's impacting Aliir badly.

For whatever reason, Hinkley has subbed BZT and used him as a sub this season, which suggests he sees him as the third in line - however in my eyes, Rat should be sent back to work on his defensive IQ. His actual defensive work (ie. bodywork, spoiling etc.) is pretty good, just needs to improve on IQ.

I don’t think we got into good spots for our high press. Our entries weren’t deep and Brisbane killed is on the rebound from the 50m onwards. Which is the hardest to defend as it’s the widest section of the ground.

Outside of butters they were shit. And butters was also sort of shit, but at least was trying to make things happen. Collectively they were destroyed as a group.

Classic case of looking at some very superficial statistics without proper context.
I watched the game. Who played better than those three?

I'm not saying these guys were infallible, but they weren't the problem

I watched the game. Who played better than those three?

I'm not saying these guys were infallible, but they weren't the problem
Their three Brisbane opponents all played better than them. When collectively your entire starting midfield gets whacked then you are going to lose the game.

I dont care that much if McEntee or Farrell lose their position. They are periphery players who have minimal bearing on the outcome of the game.

If a Rozee or JHF lose their position, especially to the extent that happened on the weekend, it's essentially lights out.

Lose clearances 42 - 27 and contested possession by 50 odd it is game over

Review Port Vs Brisbane