Review Port Vs Brisbane

1. Hinkley needs to go. It’s 90% game plan which is the problem.

Defence. Need to just play one on one back shoulder, and bring a 7th behind the ball.

Midfield. Besides Wines and Drew, midfield is very young. They just can’t compete atm - gameplan or not.

Butters, JHF, Rozee, Mead, Burgoyne, Sinn, Sweet

Forwards. Get awful supply. No decent small forwards besides Rioli. Game plan designed for Dixon.

You missed the part where they all guard grass and then get sucked into the contest for an easy handball over the top. Rinse and repeat, over and over.

1. Hinkley needs to go. It’s 90% game plan which is the problem.

Defence. Need to just play one on one back shoulder, and bring a 7th behind the ball.

Midfield. Besides Wines and Drew, midfield is very young. They just can’t compete atm - gameplan or not.

Butters, JHF, Rozee, Mead, Burgoyne, Sinn, Sweet

Forwards. Get awful supply. No decent small forwards besides Rioli. Game plan designed for Dixon.
With this terrible gameplan and the majority of these players we were a very good side last year.

If we play a bit more balanced and not press so high it will give our back men a chance when the ball gets out.

A new coach will move the right pieces to the right places and ditch the poor performers.

We really won't know what we have until we get a new coach who has a solid gameplan.

If only Todd was as tough and hard as hipwood

Hipwood has been an whipping boy on our board. As recently as pre bye there were fans identifing him as a spud we should upgrade on. It send back to reserves to unskilled.

The fickle nature of the footy fan hey.

You missed the part where they all guard grass and then get sucked into the contest for an easy handball over the top. Rinse and repeat, over and over.

You have to watch that grass, it has knocked out a lot of people who Scott Salisbury tackled. It's a malevolent force.

Timmy G said it felt like we fell off a cliff today, I think he is bang on we have had quite a few wins against crap sides that has flattered our position on the ladder and the premiership window was slammed shut at the end of 2022. We are just drifting aimlessly at the moment.
David King said it best when he said if a club doesn't know where it's at it's the worst place to be. That's where we are.

We sold the farm for Zerk-Thatcher and Ratugolea. Two players who are average defenders at best. Then they are pigeon holed into a system that doesn't suit them, nor does it suit the way the game is played in 2024. We now have no first round pick for this year's draft and are stuck with a lot of players that are average AFL players that try hard. Soldo and Sweet are in the same boat. Neither are elite ruckman nor will they ever be. They toil away at best. That's a common problem with this list.

Players like McEntee, DBJ, and countless others won't be a part of our next Premiership and never were going to be. They try hard but elite talent wins you flags and an elite system. We have neither. We have a list full of players that try hard but don't have any effect on a game. You look at our list and the holes are there for all to see. Problem is the people that don't see it are the ones who shape the list.

We have potential stars and stars in Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis. That's it in the midfield. Drew and Wines fall into the try very hard category. Lord, Marshall and Georgiadis could be an elite forward line but they need a system up forward that suits them. They won't get that with Hinkley. Our backline stocks are embarrassing.

Basically we have a list that tries hard and fails. Which suits the Hinkley narrative of we need to work harder. It's bullshit and now we are reaping the rewards of it. We need to hit the draft and get in proper talent not a plethora of back flanks and players that work hard. Until we do this is our reality.

Hipwood has been an whipping boy on our board. As recently as pre bye there were fans identifing him as a spud we should upgrade on. It send back to reserves to unskilled.

The fickle nature of the footy fan hey.
It's a meme on this board that he reserves his one good game a year for us, but his stats don't bear that out. We just don't match up well on him and we have a coach who is proud of the fact that he doesn't know much about opposition players. Presumably other coaches cover him better. Always strikes me as a reliable third tall.

Basically we have a list that tries hard and fails. Which suits the Hinkley narrative of we need to work harder. It's bullshit and now we are reaping the rewards of it. We need to hit the draft and get in proper talent not a plethora of back flanks and players that work hard. Until we do this is our reality.
Which has been fairly true in the past where we've tried but been restricted by poor coaching but we have now moved onto not even trying which is a fair indictment of where the club is at.

Reluctantly have to agree with this. Sad & difficult times ahead.
Well that’s it unfortunately.
The midfield is good enough but both ends are shot.
We don’t want to be like the crows and finish mid table, we need some years at the bottom to really rebuild.
We’re not going to get GWS type handouts from the AFL so it’s going to take a long time.

David King said it best when he said if a club doesn't know where it's at it's the worst place to be. That's where we are.

We sold the farm for Zerk-Thatcher and Ratugolea. Two players who are average defenders at best. Then they are pigeon holed into a system that doesn't suit them, nor does it suit the way the game is played in 2024. We now have no first round pick for this year's draft and are stuck with a lot of players that are average AFL players that try hard. Soldo and Sweet are in the same boat. Neither are elite ruckman nor will they ever be. They toil away at best. That's a common problem with this list.

Players like McEntee, DBJ, and countless others won't be a part of our next Premiership and never were going to be. They try hard but elite talent wins you flags and an elite system. We have neither. We have a list full of players that try hard but don't have any effect on a game. You look at our list and the holes are there for all to see. Problem is the people that don't see it are the ones who shape the list.

We have potential stars and stars in Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis. That's it in the midfield. Drew and Wines fall into the try very hard category. Lord, Marshall and Georgiadis could be an elite forward line but they need a system up forward that suits them. They won't get that with Hinkley. Our backline stocks are embarrassing.

Be interesting to see how many supporters hang around for the long trip back to being a real contender.

Sorry for the intrusion but if Hinkley does fall on his sword, what is the best option for a new coach going forward? Do you go with Carr who has been with Hinkley for years or do you go for someone new with a fresh set of eyes and new ideas?
Who should we go for or who will we go for?

Should is anyone who has never been associated with this loser culture and comes in with a big broom to make changes.

Will is probably Carr but you can never truly be sure that Hinkley won't be given another extension by these buffoons.

Surely Bevo and your boys want nothing more than to be able to take a win away from home and kill Kane Cornes' daddy in the process. Do us a favour

Maschall - hmmm - what about that shank right in front of goal.
We need a clean out - Poole WiLeon Treadrea Lade - for the modernists

The club is in shambles with holes in all facets of the game.

- Forwards can't kick straight. This has been an issue for a long time and who is the forwards coach? A guy played his footy predominately down back and looking at the stats, has kicked 179 Goals and 165 behinds. For all that talk about that "goal kicking program", it really has done wonders with Port ranking 18th in goal kicking accuracy. I think we should give an applause for how "great" this program is.

Can we stop persisting with these "defensive forwards" because the scoring has dried up considerably and actually look to play small forwards who can RUN and kick goals. The "pressure acts" will take care of itself assuming of course the small forwards have the speed and pace to pressure the defenders and cause chaos.

- Midfield: For all that rave talk about how "dynamic" the midfield has become, they keep losing the contested ball; (-40) this week and getting smashed in that area. It is evidently clear that the midfield balance is not right. What annoys me so much is that these players keep talking about "connection", but I have never seen such a disconnect between midfield and forward. All that talk about doubling down on its ball movement and nothing to show for it.

- Defence: Oh boy, where do I start with this? This defensive setup is much worse than it was last year when we didn't have the tall timbre to play against the bigger and taller forwards. The club brought in BZT and Ratugolea as tall defenders and now the issue is the team keeps losing at the ground ball in their defensive 50 and the leakage of goals has become even worse. BZT has been okay but I still reckon he has been average at best and Ratugolea's footy IQ is awful. He does not know when to come to the ball or stick to his man. His skills are very average and gave away a few easy goals because of his lack of awareness of the opposition intercepting his kick.

Aliir's main weapon of reading the ball and intercepting it has withered away and there was a moment in the first quarter where he would normally mark the ball but instead when for the fist which tells me he does not have the confidence to mark and intercept the ball. Let's not get started with his one-on-one contest because he gets exposed too easily and gives away frees.

Our small to medium defenders just doesn't defend and all the defenders don't seem to play man-on-man and would rather play zone defence instead.

This high-press gameplan has been used for 3-4 years and does not stack up anymore. Port often gets exposed too easily once the high-press has been pierced through.

DBJ all aus backman playing as forward
Wines all aus inside mid playing as forward/wing/inside mid
Rozee all aus forward (bench) playing as inside mid

Why have we persisted on making everyone justin westhoff and playing them in different positions to what they have exceled at. Ken found a way to make all aus ruckman ryder to play full forward at one point. DBJ reminds me of when we chucked surjan forward late in his career. A coach with half a brain would know to play these players in their best positions like geez you would never see fagan chuck andrews at full forward or goodwin chucking gawn at full back, wouldnt put it past ken to do it though.

This is why we have stunted Lachie Jones’ development as he cant settle in any position, same to bergman who is more than capable backman but we want as a wing, doing it to sinn as a wing/back pocket wont be surprised if we do it to hugh jackson aswell

Drew has completely disappeared the last 2 weeks.
Not his fault; he should have tagged Lochie Neale but Ken is more concerned about the form of Butters, I hope Butters gets suspened so he stops his little big man silly punch ups he keeps starting

DBJ all aus backman playing as forward
Wines all aus inside mid playing as forward/wing/inside mid
Rozee all aus forward (bench) playing as inside mid

Why have we persisted on making everyone justin westhoff and playing them in different positions to what they have exceled at. Ken found a way to make all aus ruckman ryder to play full forward at one point. DBJ reminds me of when we chucked surjan forward late in his career. A coach with half a brain would know to play these players in their best positions like geez you would never see fagan chuck andrews at full forward or goodwin chucking gawn at full back, wouldnt put it past ken to do it though.

This is why we have stunted Lachie Jones’ development as he cant settle in any position, same to bergman who is more than capable backman but we want as a wing, doing it to sinn as a wing/back pocket wont be surprised if we do it to hugh jackson aswell
Yep and why not make McEntee the ruckman where his only role seems to be stand on the mark.

This reminds me of when Neil Craig got belted by around 100 points a few weeks in a row.

It was obvious he’d lost the players, and then he was sacked.

There is clearly no coming back from here.
The AFL own Port where they will not approve a payout to facilatate sacking a coach. Maybe if the Saints can flog us next week their view may change.

Review Port Vs Brisbane