Porter Delisted

Certainly never forget his first game for North. Round 1 2002 versus Port Adelaide in Adelaide,the famous "post Carey" match. Played well too. I recall the commentators saying he had to come back on urgently when Port made a charge as Primus was well on top of Spider. Often played well against the big rucks.

I feel sorry for Porter, I was one of those that gave him a hard time the last couple of years on BF, basically because he was ineffective in the ruck. His knee injuries prevented him from really getting off the ground. He did try very hard, always gave 100% and put his body on the line and for that he has a lot of respect and admiration as a player.

He could have kept playing football but playing a lot of senior football would hold back the development of Hale and McIntosh. He fitted in the side when just Hale was playing, for Hamish to come into the team then he has to make way. It is unfair to they guy but football isn't very fair. We probably wont improve in the short-term because of it, but will in the long-term.

I'd rather have kept Ports than Corey sorry.

Bad luck Ports! Thanks for all your effort at North as it was much appreciated! I wish you well and hope you get another chance elsewhere because you dererve it. St Kilda and Carlton could be options and i'm sure that you will be a success there.

Porter was not up to AFL std in my opinion!Definetly gave his best
but more of a dinosaur in current footy too slow IMO!
The time has come for Hale-BIG H-these guys are our future
i feel in 4 years time they could alternate ruck-full-forward!
Both are more athletic + can be a force in tandem!
By then Rocca-Corey will be gone with only perhaps
Thommo + Petrie left in the bigman dept!
Thoughts?
over + out
Digby

It's a pity that we didn't get Ports years ago when he was right under our noses playing for Coburg. He could really play then, as Carlton found out. For us he was a very honest and gutsy battler who could no longer do much other than fill holes and make contests around the ground for the benefit of his teammates. This in itself is a lesson that some of our more skilful players should take note of. You might not be playing that well on any given day but you can still help your team by putting your body on the line, like Ports did.

Anyway, good on you Ports. You gave us all you had.

Rooboy 96 said:
So now effort counts for zip... Porter and S.Clayton probably two of the blocks that you know will give all they have.... hope this makes B.Harvey stand up... and show just a little heart...

LOL :D

I enjoy the way you direct any topic on this board towards having a crack at Harvey!!!

Good luck Ports and Clayts, but I can't say I am surprised or shattered. Glad Jezza is staying. Go Roos!

As big a trier as Porter was, I find it hard to believe anyone could be surprised he was delisted. We have two young ruckmen with lots of potential and to have a real go they can't be held up by a guy like Porter. His effort was huge, but it needed to be because skill-wise he wasn't up to it.

As for wanting Shane Clayton to stay on the list..........???????????? :eek:

Disappointing news but not particularly surprising. I am one of those who thinks that Porter was much more effective in the ruck at AFL level than he was given credit for. Anyway he gave us everything he had and for that he deserves our best wishes.

He may not get much of a mention in the club history but as far as I am concerned Ports is a true shinboner.

Kangaroolz said:
LOL :D

I enjoy the way you direct any topic on this board towards having a crack at Harvey!!!

Good luck Ports and Clayts, but I can't say I am surprised or shattered. Glad Jezza is staying. Go Roos!

Don't blame me that he plays the way he does... for the money Harvey is I expect 400% better effort then S.Clayton or Porter not the 60% effort we have become use to... who knows maybe just maybe Harvey got that kick up the arse a couple of weeks ago... and we will see the Harvey that we saw five years ago return...

Groucho said:
Certainly never forget his first game for North. Round 1 2002 versus Port Adelaide in Adelaide,the famous "post Carey" match. Played well too. I recall the commentators saying he had to come back on urgently when Port made a charge as Primus was well on top of Spider. Often played well against the big rucks.
I was at that game (I think possibly the greatest H&A win I've ever seen) and what you have said was spot on. He and Primus had a super battle that night and Ports really held his own. When he had to go off (buggered) we were immediately in trouble in the ruck.

Unfortunately the Centre Line rule changed at the end of that season and with Ports' lack of spring that really spelt the end of him as an influential AFL ruckman.

Would guess that his knees are so bad now that he likely won't get picked up by anyone else.

Have met him a couple of times and he is really a ripper bloke. Would always find time for a chat to supporters.

I reckon with the likes of McKee and Ackland going around Mark Porter will probably easily get to another club.
I wouldn't be surprised to see the Saints take him and that is my prediciton..

Re: The Big Good Bye

Groucho said:

Yup, no doubt about it. I'm saddened for the 'ROADBLOCK' who just didn't get the kudos for the 1%ers he gave North. Thanx for the almighty efforts Ports but remember, when great games are remembered and re-lived, this one vs Port Power 2002 STANDS OUT like DOGS BALLS and you were superb.

Best of Luck for the future.

Good luck for the future Ports, you were a good honest trier and clubman.

It's good to see the Club making hard decisions in order the develop the list and mould a finals team.

We have a number of guys that can pinch hit in the ruck as well as two developing frontliners, it's time to move onto the next gen.

Porter Delisted