Review Positives and Negatives vs Saints

Yeah Lyon would have had Fyfe Walters Mundy at every centre bounce, and have everyone from Tabs down flooding into the back half
It's got to be absolutely thrilling to have been able to turn things around at quarter time like that, win AND keep Fyfe forward for structure!!!

He kept calm and didn't make knee-jerk reactions. JLO managed to cover for our ruck being injured. He's also backed players to develop their game instead of dropping them.

I'm liking Fyfe forward

Some players would make way if we had our best 22 available but for now they are learning how to play his style.

Big love for Darcy Tucker and James Aish.
Tucker is the quintessential slow burner/late bloomer. Just keeps getting better and you can practically write them in the book if he's near goals.
Aish is just all class. Cool, calm, composed and clean.
Was great to see Wilson coming good as the game wore on. Ryan was epic and Hughes & Duman competed fiercely all day. I've got a lot of time for Duman, he's really got a cool head and generally makes good decisions.
For such a makeshift backline to keep the Saints down to practically nothing after Q time was an incredible effort.

Fantastic win - shows that we have the resilience and firepower to come back from a dire situation, even though we were not at maximum strength.

negatives: Gerard thinking he’s a surgeon after a couple seconds of footage. Absolute flog.

IIRC, he is actually a fully qualified physio so when he says his favourite word 'syndesmosis' I tend to believe him. He would have seen them enough times to know.

Big love for Darcy Tucker and James Aish.
Tucker is the quintessential slow burner/late bloomer. Just keeps getting better and you can practically write them in the book if he's near goals.
Aish is just all class. Cool, calm, composed and clean.

Aish again showed what a great pickup he has been, especially for so cheap, and he clearly played a much better game than B.Hill. He's the perfect wingman - can run all day, can kick well and hit targets, and he's also good overhead. Fast becoming one of my favourite players, just goes about his business without in a cool and calm way like you said E Shed.

I can't understand the hate for Shultz and subsequent love for Matera on the game day thread. Shultz has his faults, for sure but Matera? 28 and the main thing I've noticed from him this year was coming back from the off-season 10kg overweight. Then got gifted a Rnd 2 game. Shultz did more today than Brandon did in three rounds. If you're not going to play Shultz, I'd hope they blood some of the kids.

On Pixel 2 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yep, Shultz certainly showed he can play at the level.

On RMX2001 using BigFooty.com mobile app

That last 2 minutes video begins with that Stephen Hill handball. Scores level, two St Kilda players chasing him running backward into our 50m arc and he has the skill to send it 10m back over his shoulder. Brilliant.
Been at least 3 years since he has played that well I reckon.
If we can keep him on the park it would be a huge help with such an undermanned backline.

IIRC, he is actually a fully qualified physio so when he says his favourite word 'syndesmosis' I tend to believe him. He would have seen them enough times to know.
Doesn’t make him any less of a flog.

Always thought Healy had a soft spot for us. But today was completely unprofessional for his love for certain saints players. Really needs a hard look at himself after that.

Nah I really dislike Healy when he opens his mouth on Freo outside of specific actions in a game. I think he's reasonable in many of his takes (call bullshit on the syndesmosis incidence though, previously would have been categorised as ankle or high ankle sprain under the injury lists) but he often reveals how little he watches us, and how little attention he has paid to Freo over the last few years. Regurgitates lazy talking points.

Could say the same about a lot of commentators. So many of them don't watch any of our games until they have to commentate on them.

How good was today though? Bloody hell. That's why I sit through 4 years of utter shit.

I chase that feeling watching the footy. I imagine that is what Heroin is like.

Review Positives and Negatives vs Saints