possible trades for Tyson Stenglien?

Oh gee yes, McGregor does nothing but blanket. Never taken a step off the half-back line.

And you think I am the idiot?

Adelaide has an excellent defense. Our only highpoint. Lots of run, and a gun at CHB and a developing gun at FB.

spindoctor said:
Oh gee yes, McGregor does nothing but blanket. Never taken a step off the half-back line.

And you think I am the idiot?

Adelaide has an excellent defense. Our only highpoint. Lots of run, and a gun at CHB and a developing gun at FB.
Have you read your own posts on this thread?

spindoctor said:
Incorrect. The NUMBER ONE role of a CHB is to negate their opponent. McGregor does this week in, week out. Cornes is more of a flanker and sometimes doesnt even have an opponent, while McPharlin is very good, but still gets beaten on the rebound at times.

spindoctor said:
I said his number one role is negating, and he is close to the best at that in the competition. Cornes and McPharlin are very, very good, but they sometimes forget they're supposed to negat ttheir opponent as well as being fancy. The opposition CHF is arguably the most important player in the team if they are playing well.

and my personal highlight....
spindoctor said:
Because he was able to shut down an opposition CHF day in day out and provide rebound when necessary. We have great running backs - Torney, Begley, Hart, Reilly Bassett. Our backline is our main strength. McGregor passes off to these guys, which stops him leaving his opponent loose and open to getting done on the rebound - much as McGregor exposed Cornes as failing to do in the last Showdown. McGregor took advantage of Cornes' unaccountability and completely pantsed him, a large part of why the Crows won. McGregor as a CHB doesn't do that - he has plenty of other players he can pass off to who provide run.

larrikin said:
Have you read your own posts on this thread?

and my personal highlight....
Uh...yeh I have...and they are all consistently saying the same thing. What is there to be confused about? A bit slow are you?

spindoctor said:
Uh...yeh I have...and they are all consistently saying the same thing. What is there to be confused about? A bit slow are you?
Does he rebound, or does he not.......

Actually, I really don't care either way.

larrikin said:
Does he rebound, or does he not.......

Actually, I really don't care either way.
As I said repeatedly..yes he does, just not as much as Cornes or McPharlin do. No CHB in this competition provides no rebound, you're a friggin' idiot if you think that.

bunsen burner said:
Wakey wakey, hands of snakey. McGregor is good but you're kidding yourself if you think he has been better than Cornes and McPharlin over last two years.

ps look up the word 'delusional' in the dictionary.

Btw, you are aware of 2 things?
1. M Malthouse had Mcgregor in the AA team in 2003
2. Chad cornes has only played CHB for 1 season so cannot have been a better CHB over 2 years.

Crow-mosone said:
Btw, you are aware of 2 things?
1. M Malthouse had Mcgregor in the AA team in 2003
2. Chad cornes has only played CHB for 1 season so cannot have been a better CHB over 2 years.

So how would you rate McGregor this season?

94_Eagles said:
So how would you rate McGregor this season?

McGregor has been all over the field unfortunately, including towelling Chad Cornes as a CHF.
His season has been very good, more consistent than last year, he is giving us more. Being in the one spot last year, probably gives the illusion of the better season, but I think he has matured very well this year.
Chad is much better Forward than KennyG, but the reverse is true down back.

larrikin said:
Yep, thanks - have read the rule recently which clarrified it. I'm sure that rule must have changed with this CBA but anyway....
I didn't because we traded Finnin one year after he was drafted and that was 2-3 years ago.That rule was never in place. People confuse it with a rule that a player who is drafted cannont be delisted until they serve out their contract. Another rule that people confuse it with is that you cannot trade a player until they serve a first year of their new contract. Thats why you lot cannot trade Cox until next year, unless he asks you for a trade now.

larrikin said:
Forget your a Crows fan and tell me honestly, who would you rather have in your side - Cornes, McPharlin or McGregor?
For what its worth McPharlin is easily the best of the 3 players and that from a Crow supporter. ;)

McPharlin is the best player out of those 3, the best defender is McGregor and the best attacking flanker is Cornes.

Wayne's-World said:
For what its worth McPharlin is easily the best of the 3 players and that from a Crow supporter. ;)

He'd be my pick too - quite easily considering his aerial capabilty.

McGregors a solid stopper and Cornes is exceptional at setting up play, but McPharlin offers more in my book.

larrikin said:
He'd be my pick too - quite easily considering his aerial capabilty.

McGregors a solid stopper and Cornes is exceptional at setting up play, but McPharlin offers more in my book.
He got the ariel ability, has an attacking frame of mind, and is quite quick and skillfull.
Question mark on his fitness and aerobic capacity, but I'd have him anyday
;)

spindoctor said:
As I said repeatedly..yes he does, just not as much as Cornes or McPharlin do. No CHB in this competition provides no rebound, you're a friggin' idiot if you think that.
Spinny go easy mate as this a board for Eagle supporters, so show them some respect.

I would probably take McPharlin too if I had a choice betweem the 3 CHF, but having said that, very happy with Kenny who has had another solid year. I can't recall him being seriously beaten in any game ... & I can't say that for many of his team mates.

In answer to the topic, I reckon we will end up getting the Eagles 1st round pick for Stinger, given the unwillingless to trade any like value players.

Just heard the latest....the Crows want Kerr or Cox for Stenglien !!

Definitely not worth it !!

We've got heaps of great mid-fielders already.

Ruddiger said:
Just heard the latest....the Crows want Kerr or Cox for Stenglien !!

Definitely not worth it !!

We've got heaps of great mid-fielders already.
They won't get anything like that....

Well I suppose they have to start somewhere, and to be honest I'm a bit suprised they didn't start with Judd....

larrikin said:
They won't get anything like that....

Well I suppose they have to start somewhere, and to be honest I'm a bit suprised they didn't start with Judd....

why would we start with judd - he's going home end of 2005 - maybe stenglein can wait till 05 and a 3 way deal can be done
i think you'll find the coasters will give up something that will annoy the board but you are getting a 3 yr 700-800k (can remember which it was) player

Grolm37 said:
why would we start with judd - he's going home end of 2005 - maybe stenglein can wait till 05 and a 3 way deal can be done
i think you'll find the coasters will give up something that will annoy the board but you are getting a 3 yr 700-800k (can remember which it was) player
If you seriously think they will get a Kerr or Cox type player you are kidding yourself. Much more likely is a combination of draft picks and fringe young players....

larrikin said:
If you seriously think they will get a Kerr or Cox type player you are kidding yourself. Much more likely is a combination of draft picks and fringe young players....

didnt say anything about kerr or cox
but i am sure a few people on this board will be annoyed at what WCE do
because the crows are annoyed at losing stengein they IMO wont just take any old hack player and a pick the Eagles will have to part with talent (weather it be current or future talent i'm not sure)

you never know if something doesnt happen this year the crows could sign him for a 1 yr deal and work out something next year

Grolm37 said:

If you're not talking Kerr or Cox, what kind of deal do you think will happen which will upset us so much? Don't be coy!

I think we actually have a pretty reasonable idea of what WC realistically would or wouldn't trade..

Mead said:
If you're not talking Kerr or Cox, what kind of deal do you think will happen which will upset us so much? Don't be coy!

I think we actually have a pretty reasonable idea of what WC realistically would or wouldn't trade..

well if you have a look through the threads basically not one WCE suppoter ( ok maybe 1 or 2) have put forward a decent/realistic player - every time a Adelaide fan puts forward a name they get the same "he's our first 22 and steinglein would be in our top 6 midfield etc etc) now bearing that in mind - it seems any player that is a realistic trade for stenglein is loved muchly by the WCE fans (and rightly so) which only leads me to believe that if a player is involved then it is going to disappoint quite a few people on this board

i dont think we need to add to the rumours on this board ( or all the others) but from the mail that i have heard ( and i think quite a few Adelaide fans), WCE are going to part comany with a highish profile player as Craig is desperate to fill a gap left by Stenglien and therefore is desperate to fill it with experience (but not an old bugger :D )

all i can say is i cant wait till trade week ends so we can see how it pans out

Grolm37 said:
i dont think we need to add to the rumours on this board ( or all the others) but from the mail that i have heard ( and i think quite a few Adelaide fans), WCE are going to part comany with a highish profile player as Craig is desperate to fill a gap left by Stenglien and therefore is desperate to fill it with experience (but not an old bugger :D )

all i can say is i cant wait till trade week ends so we can see how it pans out

players that fit that description for us ie. Wirrpunda, Braun, Morrison were offered but Adelaide weren't interested. i can't think of may other is the team who are around the 24-25 age group that are regulars. There's Fletch, Embers, Gardiner, Hunter, Glass, Cuz ..... and i'm struggling to come up with anymore. I can't see any of those six being offered.

i'll be really interested to see how this trade unfolds.

possible trades for Tyson Stenglien?