Toast Presidency and The Board

Thank you 76woodenspooners

One of BigFooty’s all-time-favourite posters, Reykjavik , was all across the board level stuff. He once posted a list of the responsibilities of a Not-For-Profit board like that of Collingwood …

abcdef.....ijklmnop

NFP board responsibilities
Specific responsibilities of a not-for-profit (NFP) board include:

• Driving the strategic direction of the organisation
  • Working with the CEO to enable the organisation to obtain the resources, funds and personnel necessary to implement the organisation's strategic objectives
  • Implementing, maintaining and (as necessary) refining a system of good governance that is appropriate for the organisation
  • Reviewing reports and monitoring the performance of the organisation
  • Regularly reviewing the board's structure and composition, so that these are appropriate for the organisation
  • Appointing – and managing the performance of – a suitable CEO
  • Succession planning for the CEO
While the above points are also applicable to for-profit boards, NFP boards also face a unique range of issues, such as:

• Difficulties in defining and measuring organisational effectiveness
  • Transgression of role boundaries
  • The negative impact of the structural compositions of some NFP boards, including those arising from representative models
  • Funding dependencies and constraints

In practice, the role of the board is to supervise an organisation's business in two broad areas:

1. Overall business performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements strategies and supporting policies to enable it to fulfill the objectives set out in the organisation's constitution. The board delegates the day to day management of the organisation but remains accountable to the shareholders for the organisation's performance. The board monitors and supports management in an on-going way.
  2. Overall compliance performance - ensuring the organisation develops and implements systems to enable it to comply with its legal and policy obligations (complying with statutes such as the Corporations Act 2001, adhering to accounting standards) and ensure the organisation's assets are protected through appropriate risk management.

http://www.companydirectors.com.au/...ctor/NFP-governance/The-role-of-the-NFP-board

Link to original post …

It doesn’t look like Browne is holding any cards? What am I missing?

He doesn’t even have a full ticket. None of the existing board members clearly have any intention whatsoever of serving with him - if they did, he’d already have one of the two recently vacated seats. And the directors would not have all signed the letter to members that went out earlier today.

If it goes to an EGM, the membership have a choice between a united incumbent ticket, or Jeff Browne, three yet-to-be-named people, and three vacant seats, who do you reckon they’ll go for? If it’s a standard AGM crowd then the incumbent board would waltz it in very easily. An EGM wouldn’t be a normal AGM crowd but.
Which is why an EGM is a very bad idea. The lunatics will rule the asylum.

You can't answer my question can you? What do you mean when you say diversity?

I’ll take a crack at that ...

... and that it means what ‘diversity’ has always meant in this context ...

... “somebody from an accounting background, somebody from a footy background, somebody from a legal background, somebody from a business background, etc, etc”

Which is why an EGM is a very bad idea. The lunatics will rule the asylum.

Do you think so JMac?

You’re a voting member. Do you go to AGM’s? The folks there don’t strike me as the ‘lunatics’ type? I guess an EGM will probably be a different crowd.

I’m no expert, but I believe an EGM would force a spill in which members would vote. I suspect Browne will get the support of enough of the board for Korda to stand down without the need for an EGM, or the involvement of members.

Current board are putting on a united front.

No reason to doubt the sincerity of that - they had the opportunity to put him on the board recently and clearly chose not to.

To say Browne is not suitable to lead us out of this mess, that Korda is partly responsible for putting us in, because he is mates with Eddie is nothing but Naive.

Browne is an astute inclusive operator with great business acumen, with a law degree, that the AFL commission used in their time of need, in fact so competent that a lot of Melbourne clubs where pushing for him to become a commissioner.

He is exactly what we need right now, and we will be very lucky to have him to lead us in this time of need, and I very much look forward to have him leading us back to where we belong, the greatest sporting franchise in Australia.
I don’t disagree. But I suspect the voting intentions will come down to who supports the reappointing of Buckley. If Browne supports Buckley and Korda doesn’t, then Korda may win.

Serve what or who? - they deserve a giant serve because we have fallen way behind any sort of reasonable standard on and off the field.

How are we below standard off the field?

I've got a paywall bypass extension on my web browser.
I have a bit of an issue with:

Browne’s ticket will demand four of the club’s seven board seats and allow three current directors to stay.
“Collingwood is a great club and strong and united leadership is critical if we are to move beyond our current malaise,” Browne said.
“There is a growing wave of support from members for change and this change must begin with a refresh at board level.”
“The four new positions would include myself and three other high-quality candidates chosen specifically to provide the best overall mix and blend of skills and diversity. I would seek the endorsement of the new board to become the chairman and president.”

I hope that are not his actual words as where does supporters having a vote/say come in?

Swap one form of dictatorship for another, meanwhile further disrupting the club.

Where we are is not a result of Ed leaving, it's a result of years of incompetence from the club at governance level. You'd be either naive or ignorant to believe this all of a sudden happened coz Ed left.
Things were not ideal during Eddies tenure, he had two major blunders. Some of the pub deals, which you can excuse. The evident meddling in player recruitment (Beams deal) is inexcusable. The lack of due diligence set us back a decade. This is coupled with the decision to back end contracts to retain a successful list, the latter was a calculated gamble that didn’t pay off....success is built on taking risks as is failure unfortunately. The only real out and out mistake there is meddling in recruitment. The rest of the time he’s been incredibly good and great and passionate leader of the club.

The disaster you speak of is partly of Eddies making but also partly because he was not permitted to stay the course and remediate the issues. We have an incredibly destabilising coup on our hands, which back to my original comment, is a direct reflection on Eddie being forced to leave.

Eddie was a very successful and great administrator. If you are doubting that you have no clue.

Things were not ideal during Eddies tenure, he had two major blunders. Some of the pub deals, which you can excuse. The evident meddling in player recruitment (Beams deal) is inexcusable. The lack of due diligence set us back a decade. This is coupled with the decision to back end contracts to retain a successful list, the latter was a calculated gamble that didn’t pay off....success is built on taking risks as is failure unfortunately. The only real out and out mistake there is meddling in recruitment. The rest of the time he’s been incredibly good and great and passionate leader of the club.

The disaster you speak of is partly of Eddies making but also partly because he was not permitted to stay the course and remediate the issues. We have an incredibly destabilising coup on our hands, which back to my original comment, is a direct reflection on Eddie being forced to leave.

Eddie was a very successful and great administrator. If you are doubting that you have no clue.

All of which you stated here I agree with, particularly the meddling in footy matters like the Beams deal - the collective fk ups by the club has likely cost us flags, speculation but fair speculation none the less. I never stated that all of that was wholly and solely Ed nor did I state he wasn't a good administrator of which you allude I have. I have not.

Ed being run out was mainly of his own doing, whether or not him leaving is the cause of the current demise is moot because he aint there now. What we have now is in part the doing of Korda himself with conflicting and less that confidence inspiring language to the fans and members - not just coz ed aint there anymore.

Ed here or not doesn't change the past and it's likely whether Ed or Mark or whoever, us fans aren't turning up to games, we're turning on the club because of what the club has done to itself.

So again I maintain the current situation is a result of incompetence by the club over many years not coz Ed left - seems you agree.

If a new Board is elected, will they allow Graham Wright to run the Football Department?
Will they allow him to recommend the senior coaching positions for 2022 onwards?
Or will they make “campaign promises” & override Wright? Effectively cutting him out of the process?
Will Wright be comfortable with that, will he stay or decide to move on?

He signed up to be footy boss under Eddie, the ultimate interference boss.

Craig Kelly is backing Browne, Kelly is Bucks manager, Browne is Eddie’s mate, Eddie loves Bucks.

Browne very unlikely to push sacking Bucks.

He signed up to be footy boss under Eddie, the ultimate interference boss.

Craig Kelly is backing Browne, Kelly is Bucks manager, Browne is Eddie’s mate, Eddie loves Bucks.

Browne very unlikely to push sacking Bucks.
You’re probably right.
I don’t fully comprehend what will be the point of difference between the 2 options?
Change for change sake?
My vote remains with Korda, unless Browne can dazzle me with something (which I doubt he can).

How are we below standard off the field?
We are 2-9 and our list needs major surgery.
There's an attempted board takeover going on.
The board just appointed someone unqualified to sit, in contempt of the constitution they are tasked with upholding
The board appointed an insider president when they needed to bring in a fresh and untainted one.
Degoey confrontation being leaked to media.
Coach mishandled Treloar exit badly.
You did see our last trade period didn't you?
The do better report.

Do you think we've been setting high standards offield??

It would be hard to argue that Browne in part at least isn't doing Ed's bidding if surprise surprise the board members he looks to oust are exactly the ones deemed to have pushed McGuire out.

The worst possible outcome for me would be to see Browne installed as President, Buckley re-signed on his orders and the likes of Murphy and Licuria deposed.

If that happened we would be back to square one IMO.

The only way I could reconcile losing someone like Murphy would be if Browne was adamant a change of coach needs to happen. I would treat that as a regrettable outcome but one for the greater good of the club.

Ultimately Browne as President, Buckley dismissed and Murphy/Licuria retained is my preferred outcome.

It would be hard to argue that Browne in part at least isn't doing Ed's bidding if surprise surprise the board members he looks to oust are exactly the ones deemed to have pushed McGuire out.

The worst possible outcome for me would be to see Browne installed as President, Buckley re-signed on his orders and the likes of Murphy and Licuria deposed.

If that happened we would be back to square one IMO.

The only way I could reconcile losing someone like Murphy would be if Browne was adamant a change of coach needs to happen. I would treat that as a regrettable outcome but one for the greater good of the club.

Ultimately Browne as President, Buckley dismissed and Murphy/Licuria retained is my preferred outcome.
Your preference seems to be based heavily on the coaching decision. Korda may want Bucks gone too.
What of the rest of the board? At present we have stability. If Browne challengers we have the opposite.

1622635176343.png

Declaration of Intent

Hi Chris,

The board of the Collingwood Football Club stands as one. It stands united and strong.

It stands in support of our athletes and staff, our members and all who believe in the idea that Collingwood has an important role to play in Australian life.

The board of the Collingwood Football Club stands for unity, not division, and will therefore stand against coups driven by personal ambition.

Not one, let alone four, of the current board is prepared to step aside to allow a boardroom coup as proposed by Jeff Browne to proceed.

A coup is not warranted, it has not been justified and cannot be justified. Nor is it in step with good governance or the will of members to agree to the demands of an individual member wanting only to be president.

In any case, there is no vision, no ticket, no compelling strategy for you to consider or for us to step aside for. How could any board entertain a request to step aside without first knowing these things?

Notwithstanding this position we are available to meet Jeff to establish whether, in the best interests of the club, a divisive and distracting campaign can be avoided.

We have heard the call for change and yet it was only months ago that Eddie McGuire resigned and even more recently that Alex Waislitz retired from the board. Two new directors have been appointed to fill those vacancies and six of the seven current directors have been seated at the board table for less than five years.

The appointed board represents the outcome of a rigorous selection process, conducted with independent advisors, to secure the skills and diversity required of a modern sports organization; this includes technical football expertise, knowledge of women’s sport, business acumen, values based leadership, infrastructure development, fundraising, government relations, social impact and diversity.

Three directors are up for re-election at the next annual general meeting, making orderly change possible and the need for an extraordinary general meeting effectively redundant.

Collingwood is financially independent. It is at the forefront of female sport in Australia and playing a significant role as a community partner. The work being put into the Do Better report is necessary and enriching.

The AFL program is working through a difficult time but steps have already been taken to address this. The tough football decisions taken in the last 12 months would not have been taken if we were not prepared to ask questions, learn and act. The work on our on-field return has already begun.

As such, your board today gives you an undertaking to stand firm.

Signed,
60b72cf2183ec.JPG

We are 2-9 and our list needs major surgery.

That’s onfield.

There's an attempted board takeover going on.

That’s outside of the club’s control.

The board just appointed someone unqualified to sit, in contempt of the constitution they are tasked with upholding

No different to the person she replaced? There are precidents.

The board appointed an insider president when they needed to bring in a fresh and untainted one.

How is that below standard though?

Degoey confrontation being leaked to media.

Thta stuff gets leaked out of all clubs all the time.

Coach mishandled Treloar exit badly.

Agree, and it wasn’t just the coach.

You did see our last trade period didn't you?

It was a PR disaster. But the club ran out of salary cap chasing Premierships, what was it to do?

The do better report.

Poorly handled at the time. Our President was made to stand down over that. We’re since handling it as well as could be expected. Not sure that there’s any point bashing the club any more over that?

Do you think we've been setting high standards offield??

We’re one of the better clubs. We’re financially strong, well resourced, we have a good women’s program which IMO is something to be proud of.

You’re probably right.
I don’t fully comprehend what will be the point of difference between the 2 options?
Change for change sake?
My vote remains with Korda, unless Browne can dazzle me with something (which I doubt he can).

Change for angers sake. None of the current board have been voted in, that’s reason enough to spill every position. There’s a few that should def go.

Christine Holgate has lost her mind from the Aus Post sacking debacle, Korda has been part of the problems that have got us where we are today, Bridie O’Donnell shouldn’t even be there.

View attachment 1144742

Declaration of Intent

Hi Chris,

The board of the Collingwood Football Club stands as one. It stands united and strong.

It stands in support of our athletes and staff, our members and all who believe in the idea that Collingwood has an important role to play in Australian life.

The board of the Collingwood Football Club stands for unity, not division, and will therefore stand against coups driven by personal ambition.

Not one, let alone four, of the current board is prepared to step aside to allow a boardroom coup as proposed by Jeff Browne to proceed.

A coup is not warranted, it has not been justified and cannot be justified. Nor is it in step with good governance or the will of members to agree to the demands of an individual member wanting only to be president.

In any case, there is no vision, no ticket, no compelling strategy for you to consider or for us to step aside for. How could any board entertain a request to step aside without first knowing these things?

Notwithstanding this position we are available to meet Jeff to establish whether, in the best interests of the club, a divisive and distracting campaign can be avoided.

We have heard the call for change and yet it was only months ago that Eddie McGuire resigned and even more recently that Alex Waislitz retired from the board. Two new directors have been appointed to fill those vacancies and six of the seven current directors have been seated at the board table for less than five years.

The appointed board represents the outcome of a rigorous selection process, conducted with independent advisors, to secure the skills and diversity required of a modern sports organization; this includes technical football expertise, knowledge of women’s sport, business acumen, values based leadership, infrastructure development, fundraising, government relations, social impact and diversity.

Three directors are up for re-election at the next annual general meeting, making orderly change possible and the need for an extraordinary general meeting effectively redundant.

Collingwood is financially independent. It is at the forefront of female sport in Australia and playing a significant role as a community partner. The work being put into the Do Better report is necessary and enriching.

The AFL program is working through a difficult time but steps have already been taken to address this. The tough football decisions taken in the last 12 months would not have been taken if we were not prepared to ask questions, learn and act. The work on our on-field return has already begun.

As such, your board today gives you an undertaking to stand firm.

Signed,

60b72cf2183ec.JPG
See you later. Lord, I find Korda as inspiring as a jellyfish. You've been there long enough. Next please.

Toast Presidency and The Board