Primus - how is the gloss looking

wharfie 1870 said:
If the Geelong supporters reacted the same as Port supporters there'd be some journo running a "sack Scott" campaign in Monday's Geelong Advertiser.

If Primus had won the ****ing premiership last year there wouldn't be anybody calling for him to be sacked.

Scott's coached one bad loss (injuries didn't help), Primus has coached about 15-20 out of his 28 games. Stupid, stupid, stupid comparison. And FTR, I don't think Primus' job should be under consideration until at least the end of the season.

Other than a poor performance against Richmond (who are currently leading Sydney) we are better than last season yet people have jumped on the sack Primus band wagon despite many of those same posters arguing against Rucci's claim that we have not improved at all from last season.

BTW 15 of 22 is "most" in my book.

Disagree we are better than last season at the same stage. At least last season we were competitive at stoppages and contested ball. Now we're bottom of the barrel at that as well. Apart from the heaving defence returning to their 2009 form overall and the St. Kilda game (if you ignore the congenital turnovers) we've been garbage.

On the Cats' Grand Final team, today they were only missing the previous captain, Norm Smith Medallist, one of the greatest full backs of all-time and a guy who had a Choppyesque 20 disposal/3 goal game. Chalk and cheese.

An Essendon supporting mate of mine keeps telling me Primus is our Matthew Knights.

Someone to play the kids and be tactically inept until the kids are ready, then we bring in the real coach.

I do wish he'd play the kids a bit more than he does tbh. For a developing side, we're not particularly young week to week. We need to move on a few older duds and play kids in their place.

I refer to Exhibit A: 12th and loving it. We played more exciting and more successful footy when the season was over and we played the kids. Get Moore, O'Shea, Banner and Redden out there and give them important jobs. Pittard and Wingard as soon as they're fit.

I have to agree, Primus is the coach that gets thrown into the crap, breeds the young guys, then someone else comes along and reaps the success. History shows this through most clubs.

I think we are about to see how good a coach Scott really is as the old guys from Geelong are starting to simply fall off a cliff, they want to play how they did before but they just look way too slow to do it.

I think you need to look at the lack of experience in Geelong's side right now. Guthrie, Motlop, Gillies, T hunt, Duncan, Christensen, Smedts, West. Add that to what you said here, along with the players they've lost, The poor quality and depth of rucks, (Mumford would be handy), its hard to see them being as good as they were in previous years. I think they've done well to get game time into blokes like Duncan over the last few years though. They did well to rest players and bring young guys in.

I have to agree, Primus is the coach that gets thrown into the crap, breeds the young guys, then someone else comes along and reaps the success. History shows this through most clubs.

Ross Lyon at Fremantle, for example.

The Geelong result you could see coming, they haven't been great this year. I think it shows more about what you can do with players that are well prepared and taking coaches from top clubs rather than promoting from within. Its all a confidence game.

I think you need to look at the lack of experience in Geelong's side right now. Guthrie, Motlop, Gillies, T hunt, Duncan, Christensen, Smedts, West. Add that to what you said here, along with the players they've lost, The poor quality and depth of rucks, (Mumford would be handy), its hard to see them being as good as they were in previous years. I think they've done well to get game time into blokes like Duncan over the last few years though. They did well to rest players and bring young guys in.

True, the commentators today kept talking about them as if they were the 2011 version yet it was plain to see especially the last few weeks they are going backwards. I honestly dont think Scott would have done much better last year than Primus but this year I think we'd be much different to how Primus has us.

Scott would have been worlds different in method, if not results.

With Scott we'd have had the cleanout we needed. Don't get me wrong, our player turnover has been pretty high which was and still is absolutely required, but Scott would have gotten rid of a couple of bigger names to make a statement.

The assistant coaches would probably look totally different.

Our gameplan would almost certainly be different.

Whether that adds up to better or worse in the W/L column, who knows?

With Scott we'd have had the cleanout we needed. Don't get me wrong, our player turnover has been pretty high which was and still is absolutely required, but Scott would have gotten rid of a couple of bigger names to make a statement.

We couldn't clean out, players were still contracted, and with financial problems, the club flatly refused to pay any players out.

I don't think anyone can convince me that Scott would have done better than Primus. This shit takes time unfortunately, Essendon were shit for years, now they are doing alright.

I still think we have the cattle to be top 8 primus has improved the team in the footy field sence...but as far as mentally we are still weak as piss..

We are guessing there would have been a clean out.

I liked Scott from freshness perspective, but he did take over a well oiled machine, I would argue let's see how he goes from Here because the grease may be starting to dry out :) let's face it when our clubs are flying we think this era of dominance and bucking the equalization system are possible, but it isn't!

If Primus had won the ****ing premiership last year there wouldn't be anybody calling for him to be sacked.

Scott's coached one bad loss (injuries didn't help), Primus has coached about 15-20 out of his 28 games. Stupid, stupid, stupid comparison. And FTR, I don't think Primus' job should be under consideration until at least the end of the season.

Disagree we are better than last season at the same stage. At least last season we were competitive at stoppages and contested ball. Now we're bottom of the barrel at that as well. Apart from the heaving defence returning to their 2009 form overall and the St. Kilda game (if you ignore the congenital turnovers) we've been garbage.

On the Cats' Grand Final team, today they were only missing the previous captain, Norm Smith Medallist, one of the greatest full backs of all-time and a guy who had a Choppyesque 20 disposal/3 goal game. Chalk and cheese.

Does the fact that Scott's coaching performance this season is being tested by losing the main players who were the backbone of Geelong's great success is actually supporting Wharfie's point?

I reckon that Scott is a better coach that Primus, but Scott is now being brought back to reality with a squad/team that is less that elite - as it was when he took over. This is really going to test his inate coaching ability.

OK, I may be stupid so humour me with your greater football understanding.

If Geelong is thrashed by the Cows it is not the coache's fault but due to Geelong not having the cattle to be anywhere near competitive with the Cows. On the otherhand if Port loses by a few goals to the Cows it is the coache's fault and not due to our list lacking enough players of true AFL quality.

You must rate our list very highly.

.... On the Cats' Grand Final team, today they were only missing the previous captain, Norm Smith Medallist, one of the greatest full backs of all-time and a guy who had a Choppyesque 20 disposal/3 goal game. Chalk and cheese.
So missing those very good players leaves Scott with a list much poorer than ours and therefore, unlike Primus, he can not be held responisble for the loss.

You also must rate our list very highly.

You must rate our list very highly.

You also must rate our list very highly.

The average age of last Sunday's 22 was older than Richmond's and actually has finals experience.

I don't know what to think anymore.

I was totally lost today, I saw it to an extent last week but, we have absolutely no structure. I see it here and there: where we do what Primus said he wants us to do, but we don't do it enough. We stagnate too much and we don't run and carry. When we switch the ball, we do it so slowly it looses its effect, Brett Eberts kick in the final quater was slightly back of sideways, and achieved nothing. Kane kicked the ball into the 50 two times straight to a docker, and others also did the same. Are we just stupid or what. I refuse to blame the coach, I blame the players. Kanes kicks are little lob up useless kicks that give us no chance to win the ball. Kicking and general disposal was pathetic, no awareness inside defensive 50, too many turnovers. I still think Primus is a fill in coach, but the players are the ones responsible for the lack of effort.

Is it a surprize that our best two players didn't play last year?

OK, I may be stupid so humour me with your greater football understanding.

If Geelong is thrashed by the Cows it is not the coache's fault but due to Geelong not having the cattle to be anywhere near competitive with the Cows. On the otherhand if Port loses by a few goals to the Cows it is the coache's fault and not due to our list lacking enough players of true AFL quality.

If Geelong is thrashed by the Cows it is one poor coaching performance out of 29. If Port is thrashed by the Dockers it is about 20 poor coaching performances out of 29.

The average age of last Sunday's 22 was older than Richmond's and actually has finals experience.

I'm going to go with: we aren't cutting the deadwood that pretty much only add their finals experience, and not in any visible way.

Just on this, I think our oldest players all started on the bench today.

Would be interesting to see how our starting 18 matched up against theirs.

I'm going to go with: we aren't cutting the deadwood that pretty much only add their finals experience, and not in any visible way.

I'm looking forward to the day when there is a discussion on our players aged between 25-30 years of age. With a few noted exceptions i believe most will fit into your dead wood category.

Many will be out at the end of the year. It will have taken 3 off-seasons but most of the 25+ year old players not up to standard will be gone.

It will have taken 3 off-seasons but most of the 25+ year old players not up to standard will be gone.
I just thought some of that needs highlighting

THREE YEARS to lose MOST of the 25+yo players that are NOT UP TO STANDARD...

Only most of them, not all of them. Over three years. Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck

Many will be out at the end of the year. It will have taken 3 off-seasons but most of the 25+ year old players not up to standard will be gone.

There were quite a few playing today.

We have alot of work to do.
The tragedy is that we dont have a football dept capable of the job needed and i am not talking about the coaches.