Primus - how is the gloss looking

"We've had one poor quarter out of 40, in the last 10 weeks...

25kie6r.jpg

... so we can jump at shadows after round six...

25kie6r.jpg

... or we can stick to what we're doing and believing in that."

25kie6r.jpg

If by 1 poor quarter he means 1 absolutely diabolical and shithouse of a quarter then he is right. We have had several poor quarters, 1 or 2 a game, if you use the dictionary definition of poor.

Poor/Absolutely Diabolical/Shithouse
  • R1 vs St. Kilda: Q2 (Laid the foundations for blowing what should've been a commanding win by conceding 7 goals almost exclusively from turnovers)
  • R2 vs Essendon: Q4 (Despite Essendon barely having a fit man on the bench just couldn't give a yelp when it mattered exacerbated by schoolboy errors when the game was begging to be taken)
  • R3 vs Sydney: Q4 (A cavalcade of diabolical goals after Ebert's narrow miss)
  • R4 vs Collingwood: Q1 (Customarily blown away and out of it in minutes against a heavily weakened Pies side)
  • R5 vs Adelaide: Q4 (Smashed when it mattered after a heroic Q3)
  • R6 vs Richmond: Q2 (As bad as anything served up since 1997)
Yeah, one a week by any measure.

Q2 vs Essendon, Sydney and the Crows were all shambolic, but we somehow didn't get hurt as much on the scoreboard as we should have.

Cant work out why Q2 and Q4 have been bad every week, except Collingwood, when it was Q1 and Q3.

In the preseason games we made it a mission to start quickly and put on the pressure from the first bounce.

I reckon that means we are stuffed at the end of Q1, and don't have much in the tank at the start of Q2, so therefore we fall behind. We then go in at half time have a rest, get pumped up fight back and are just in the lead or just behind at the end of Q3. In Q4 we are out of gas again and get run over.

I'll dig up some stats to prove my theory.

I have certainly noticed that our mid-field group are coming off early in the first qtr quite stuffed but I think this is a direct result of playing against elite opponents. We are chasing most of he time instead of creating the play. This was most notable with Boak who came off doubled over several times...

I don't believe this is a fitness thing but more so a quality thing.

Matty doesn't do himself with any favours with comments like this

link

link

There's nothing wrong with being positive about what you are trying to do and keeping belief up, but that statement is insulting to supporters. One bad quarter in the last 40? Sorry no that is just not the case.

Classic Choco.

An Essendon supporting mate of mine keeps telling me Primus is our Matthew Knights.

Someone to play the kids and be tactically inept until the kids are ready, then we bring in the real coach.

I do wish he'd play the kids a bit more than he does tbh. For a developing side, we're not particularly young week to week. We need to move on a few older duds and play kids in their place.

I refer to Exhibit A: 12th and loving it. We played more exciting and more successful footy when the season was over and we played the kids. Get Moore, O'Shea, Banner and Redden out there and give them important jobs. Pittard and Wingard as soon as they're fit.

Assuming we will lose to Freo losses following that against North and GC would pretty much stamp Mattys papers. Knowing his job is gone he should do good by the club and tank for the priority pick (which we would receive with another 3-4 win season). Picks 1 & 3 or 4 in a super draft sure sounds tempting.

My guess is we could probably win 6 and still get a priority pick because it is now looked at over a number of years and we also don't have enough improvement left in the current squad to become a top 8 side.

No priority pick = a very bleak future for the Club.

Seeing the crows demolish Geelong at home after sacking their coach last year and NOT promoting from within is making me feel ****ing pig sick.

The crows might crash and burn in September but he's done a great job injecting something new into that footy club.

Seeing the crows demolish Geelong at home after sacking their coach last year and NOT promoting from within is making me feel ****ing pig sick.

The crows might crash and burn in September but he's done a great job injecting something new into that footy club.
Craig was a shit gameday coach but the Crows list is extremely fit, balanced and can adapt to different game plans.

Choco didn't do the new coach any favours.

Craig was a shit gameday coach but the Crows list is extremely fit, balanced and can adapt to different game plans.

Choco didn't do the new coach any favours.

He didn't indeed. He also provided our new coach with his coaching education.

I'm not saying Primus can't turn it around, I actually believed we have improved, but we're still not good enough.

Hopefully Rehn, Edwards and Gotsch provide enough fresh ideas.

Seeing the crows demolish Geelong at home after sacking their coach last year and NOT promoting from within is making me feel ****ing pig sick. .....
If we hadn't "promoted from within" Chris Scott would be our coach. That is the same Chris Scott that, with most of the team that won the GF last year, today lost to the Cows by 50 points. A couple of weeks ago Matthew Primus with most of the team that just escaped the wooden spoon last year on percentage lost to the Cows by 19 points. Clearly Chris Scott is the better coach. :rolleyes:

Really? REALLY?

Chris Scott won a premiership in his first year as coach and you think that's cancelled out by the fact that we lost to the Crows at a neutral ground by less than what they lost to the Crows by away from home with Bartel and Scarlett as late withdrawals? That's Bay 13 logic at its absolute finest.

Geelong won a premiership. Chris Scott was fortunate to be in the driver's seat and at least capable enough to steer truly. The team were super hungry to prove a point with Ablett and Thompson defecting.

Really? REALLY?

Chris Scott won a premiership in his first year as coach and you think that's cancelled out by the fact that we lost to the Crows at a neutral ground by less than what they lost to the Crows by away from home with Bartel and Scarlett as late withdrawals? That's Bay 13 logic at its absolute finest.
No, its called perspective. :)

If we hadn't "promoted from within" Chris Scott would be our coach. That is the same Chris Scott that, with most of the team that won the GF last year, today lost to the Cows by 50 points. A couple of weeks ago Matthew Primus with most of the team that just escaped the wooden spoon last year on percentage lost to the Cows by 19 points. Clearly Chris Scott is the better coach. :rolleyes:

Serious, not sure if.

- Bartel, Scarlett, Ling, Ottens, Varcoe, Wojcinski, Stokes

But in his defence, Primus didn't have these guys playing either.

Serious, not sure if.

- Bartel, Scarlett, Ling, Ottens, Varcoe, Wojcinski, Stokes

But in his defence, Primus didn't have these guys playing either.
No, not completely serious Yoda.

If the Geelong supporters reacted the same as Port supporters there'd be some journo running a "sack Scott" campaign in Monday's Geelong Advertiser.

Other than a poor performance against Richmond (who are currently leading Sydney) we are better than last season yet people have jumped on the sack Primus band wagon despite many of those same posters arguing against Rucci's claim that we have not improved at all from last season.

BTW 15 of 22 is "most" in my book.

I think we are about to see how good a coach Scott really is as the old guys from Geelong are starting to simply fall off a cliff, they want to play how they did before but they just look way too slow to do it.