QAFA (A) 2016 Season

The irony is strong.

QAFA B gets shouted down when suggesting their top sides would beat bottom QAFA A sides (which they would easily)

QAFA A thinks their best sides would beat bottom QFA sides, which is is also true. But in the backslapping of this thread, nobody shouts it down and then even suggests they would challenge the better QFA sides. Which is delusional.

I personally think the top side in QAFA A (the Suns) would test more than just the bottom three of QFA South

My opinion only of course , but the Suns are a scary looking outfit. And they should go through undefeated and win the flag.

Good we all have opinions and open discussions about our league is something we are all passionate about at club land.

At the end of the day clubs will more than likely get there say in where they fit, then it is up to them if they can play in that competition or not.

Not sure who finished bottom in QAFA South last year but I don't think it was Coomera? So clubs need to be honest with themselves as to where there list is at when making a descision. Coomera would not have been relegated under the new proposed system so what stops a club falling in a heap no matter where they finish.

Clubs can improve and fall away dramatically no matter what level they play at. I welcome the promote/relegate idea but there also had to be done honesty from clubs to swallow some pride and drop back if they feel their list has deteriated from previous season? Thoughts?

dissapointing year for coomera especially after making big in roads last year winning 6games, losing 25+ players in off season doesn't help as we seen same thing with Beenleigh after 2013, wether the club goes down or not next year who knows but still some very quality players running around at Coomera, got no doubt the Coomera side this year would still be top 3 in qafa a along with cooly and Alex hills, the difference in standard is huge

I personally think the top side in QAFA A (the Suns) would test more than just the bottom three of QFA South

My opinion only of course , but the Suns are a scary looking outfit. And they should go through undefeated and win the flag.

Give me a spell. Coorparoo ressies would be a Premiership chance in QAFA A. Their seniors would go undefeated with 400+ %.

The gap is enormous. In fact, the gap in QFA south from top to bottom is enormous, let alone the next level down!

Agree the Suns, Pirates and Kedron would probably give the likes of Cooly and Coomera a touch up though.

Give me a spell. Coorparoo ressies would be a Premiership chance in QAFA A. Their seniors would go undefeated with 400+ %.

The gap is enormous. In fact, the gap in QFA south from top to bottom is enormous, let alone the next level down!

Agree the Suns, Pirates and Kedron would probably give the likes of Cooly and Coomera a touch up though.
Your statement about Coorparoo is obvious, of course they would dominate QAFA A. The difference between divisions from top to bottom IMO is players commitment to training and preparation and most importantly good coaching.

If they merge QFA North and QFA South, there is a chance Robina could be in QAFA A and imo nobody would get near them. Coorparoo are also well behind the best 3 QFA North sides imo.

Regardless, in the past I've always felt the best teams in the division immediately below could beat the worst teams in the division immediately above and thats from the top down.

Though this year, I reckon the bottom QAFL sides have improved and put a gap between them and the best QFA sides.

Also, not sure any QAFA A sides would beat a QFA North team, but they could beat the bottom few QFA South sides, just as the top QAFA B sides would beat the bottom half of the QAFA A comp.

Watched alex v robina sat .. ill put this to bed as a current player and coach in one of the "top 3" qafa a . Robina would beat us by 10 goals . And alex would be a good game. Bigger bodys faster and ball movement from a bottom 4 clash was intense it actually was a pretty good game . Guys like bo Davies and jack bacon would absolutely make anyone look silly . Its fair to say this debate will never be settled unless we somehow organised a robina v pirates game at seasons end ;-)

I said the Suns would test more than just the bottom three in QFA south. i never said they'd beat them, there's a difference

And I also didn't mention anyone beating Coorparoo

Would all this talk coming out of meetings involving the Aflq and clubs just be a smoke screen. Could the talk of comp mergers be the plan to increase license fees reduce clubs by force merger and allow the blue print for the all mighty females competition to gain more exposure.

Let's be honest if any of the QAFA A teams went up they would struggle to win many games and 2) most likely forfeit the ressies games on the long trip to Maroochydore.

Good we all have opinions and open discussions about our league is something we are all passionate about at club land.

At the end of the day clubs will more than likely get there say in where they fit, then it is up to them if they can play in that competition or not.

Not sure who finished bottom in QAFA South last year but I don't think it was Coomera? So clubs need to be honest with themselves as to where there list is at when making a descision. Coomera would not have been relegated under the new proposed system so what stops a club falling in a heap no matter where they finish.

Clubs can improve and fall away dramatically no matter what level they play at. I welcome the promote/relegate idea but there also had to be done honesty from clubs to swallow some pride and drop back if they feel their list has deteriated from previous season? Thoughts?

And that is the struggle that AFLQ administrators have with clubs I would argue Blocker - clubs embellish their situation to avoid playing in a certain comp and to ensure they stay in another - and then cry poor when things get too tough ie why cant the powers help us??? Everybody rates themselves higher when they are winning - certain blokes look unreal against much lesser blokes. Robina would towel up everyone with their current list IF in QAFA (A) I imagine but this is the reason why I think relegation/promotion should occur. Robina win a premiership in 2017 (happy days, club is flush, good environment, blokes want to stay, blokes want to play for them) and go into the comp above on a real positive note in 2018. There is alot of upside to promotion/relegation - allows clubs to get house in order imo. And if they didnt and the Suns did then I'm sure they too go up with a good mindset that they will be competitive in the next division.

I agree with np - very very doubtful anyone in QAFA would knock over Robina despite how well they think they are going... :)

Your statement about Coorparoo is obvious, of course they would dominate QAFA A. The difference between divisions from top to bottom IMO is players commitment to training and preparation and most importantly good coaching.

Yeah not sure good coaching is the confine of higher divisions Karmaking - I know Gympie (lowest division!) would have one of the better coaches going around for example and I know there is some disquiet about coaches at QAFL level...

Watched alex v robina sat .. ill put this to bed as a current player and coach in one of the "top 3" qafa a . Robina would beat us by 10 goals . And alex would be a good game. Bigger bodys faster and ball movement from a bottom 4 clash was intense it actually was a pretty good game . Guys like bo Davies and jack bacon would absolutely make anyone look silly . Its fair to say this debate will never be settled unless we somehow organised a robina v pirates game at seasons end ;-)

Yep - well said NP - people like saying that the difference is that blokes are more committed to training at the higher levels - well if you went up a division you better find 35 blokes who are committed to train if that is the case!! Ability gets you only so far and especially if you run out of puff after the 1st quarter

And that is the struggle that AFLQ administrators have with clubs I would argue Blocker - clubs embellish their situation to avoid playing in a certain comp and to ensure they stay in another - and then cry poor when things get too tough ie why cant the powers help us??? Everybody rates themselves higher when they are winning - certain blokes look unreal against much lesser blokes. Robina would towel up everyone with their current list IF in QAFA (A) I imagine but this is the reason why I think relegation/promotion should occur. Robina win a premiership in 2017 (happy days, club is flush, good environment, blokes want to stay, blokes want to play for them) and go into the comp above on a real positive note in 2018. There is alot of upside to promotion/relegation - allows clubs to get house in order imo. And if they didnt and the Suns did then I'm sure they too go up with a good mindset that they will be competitive in the next division.

I agree with np - very very doubtful anyone in QAFA would knock over Robina despite how well they think they are going... :)

I don't disagree with your comments smy but I never mentioned To ins going anywhere . I agree they would easily beat the top 3 QAFA A teams and have been more than competative in their comp.

I was more talking about Coomera, Cooly and Alex Hills who have all had some hidings this year.

In saying that I know each of those clubs would be more than capable of
re-grouping and winning a flag in a lower comp then going back up for another crack.

I think Moreton may be the same as looking at their results in the North it would be debatable if they shouldn't drop down for a year also.

But it is hard to line up where sit as bottom rung in North compared to the South as to where they would sit?

So maybe there may have to be some form of grading for the right to play in 2017 in certain comps until it is all set up then the promote/ relegate starts.

Good thing is we need change as results this year show it is not healthy for certain clubs in varying comps either winning or losing by big margins.

Most players would prefer to travel further to play competative game of footy then play local and win by 200 surely?

I don't disagree with your comments smy but I never mentioned To ins going anywhere . I agree they would easily beat the top 3 QAFA A teams and have been more than competative in their comp.

I was more talking about Coomera, Cooly and Alex Hills who have all had some hidings this year.

In saying that I know each of those clubs would be more than capable of
re-grouping and winning a flag in a lower comp then going back up for another crack.

I think Moreton may be the same as looking at their results in the North it would be debatable if they shouldn't drop down for a year also.

But it is hard to line up where sit as bottom rung in North compared to the South as to where they would sit?

So maybe there may have to be some form of grading for the right to play in 2017 in certain comps until it is all set up then the promote/ relegate starts.

Good thing is we need change as results this year show it is not healthy for certain clubs in varying comps either winning or losing by big margins.

Most players would prefer to travel further to play competative game of footy then play local and win by 200 surely?

That was supposed to be Robina going anywhere? Furking spell check!

Haha. I understood who u meant. Not sure grading will help, can be problematic in itself because injuries then depth play a role. At the end of the day there will be calls made. You might be right that Moreton go out and Robina in. But Moreton have been competitive this year and have a superb venue and major growth area albeit very big RL population. I am still of the opinion that they could be the smokey to go into the qafl at some point so won't really matter. Maybe the div 2 is 14 teams, not 12. This occurred in the old pineapple cup days one year.

Moreton have had gradual improvement year on year, there is no way AFLQ will push them down a division after they have improved as much as they have. Even if they volunteered to go down, I'm not sure they would let them. Great facilities, gradual improvement and an experienced and respected coach.

They are in a tough comp this year, with only 6 teams, 4 of which are powerhouse sides - so they have to just keep backing up week after week with no respite. I reckon they would be mid table in the south comp. It would be tough coming up against Maroochy, Mayne, Noosa and Caloundra 3 times a year!

but if you look back only 2 years they finished 0-18 with a % of 16, when there were a few lesser sides back then to give them a break - the improvement is a credit to the club, players and coaches.

A total restructure of all comps is comming. Hopefully they will get rid of the whole north south bullshit.
A Friday nite comp only and maybe a one team Saturday comp for those who just can't field ressies.
A division one and two with qafl comp to top it off.
If you have more teams in each division so be it.
If you have to travel for a game such is life.
You don't have to play everyone twice.
It's the luck of the draw but you still need to win against good sides to get a flag.
Moreton will not come back any divisions. Too much money and effort has gone into that area to go backwards now.
Qafl is where they are heading in time.
We will all sit back and go shit they got it right or what the hell are they thinking.
As far as the women's comp I said it last year that afl will push this Barrow as hard and fast as the can.
If you look at it from a business point of view. If you were told your missing out on 50% of the market share you would act quickly as well.
We could all be wrong and they let it run as is again.

The year before the last re-structure, a lot of people on here and at clubland voiced their concerns over the travel factor and the associated difficulties of getting full numbers to the away games that required an hour or more of travel. This was part of the reason why the nth/Sth divisions were introduced. Hope the same people who voiced these concerns back then won't be saying the same after the next re-structure.

You can't please everyone mate. Look at Mayne they have to travel nearly every week.

A total restructure of all comps is comming. Hopefully they will get rid of the whole north south bullshit.
A Friday nite comp only and maybe a one team Saturday comp for those who just can't field ressies.
A division one and two with qafl comp to top it off.
If you have more teams in each division so be it.
If you have to travel for a game such is life.
You don't have to play everyone twice.
It's the luck of the draw but you still need to win against good sides to get a flag.
Moreton will not come back any divisions. Too much money and effort has gone into that area to go backwards now.
Qafl is where they are heading in time.
We will all sit back and go shit they got it right or what the hell are they thinking.
As far as the women's comp I said it last year that afl will push this Barrow as hard and fast as the can.
If you look at it from a business point of view. If you were told your missing out on 50% of the market share you would act quickly as well.
We could all be wrong and they let it run as is again.

Think you are right on all aspects except for the last sentence..

Like most things in business TT I think you have to be careful who you listen to as well. Be selective.

I think we can 100% guarantee that the structure will be different in 2017.
I personally don't think that women's footy will be as big as they think.
But they are certainly going to give it every opportunity to make it work.

QAFA (A) 2016 Season