ScoresIn all honestly our slow fat old blokes in the ressies were just a bit better then yours today .was a good game . FYI our ones would spank our two's !
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
ScoresIn all honestly our slow fat old blokes in the ressies were just a bit better then yours today .was a good game . FYI our ones would spank our two's !
Redcliffe v Kedron ressies result??
Scores up now, Redcliffe 10.6.66 to Kedron 6.5.41Scores
Hopefully not speaking out of school but I think the whole footy will convert back to Div 1(being QAFL) Div 2 (Best sides in QAFA North & South) Div 3 (will more than likely be Pirates, Suns, Kedron, Coomera, Cooly, Alex Hills, Moreton and maybe Aspley? DIv 4 (will be QAFA A teams left plus any clubs pushing up with 2 teams) Div 5 Friday night footy.
Before everyone jumps down my throat it is my opinion and maybe not all actual facts. Some clubs may see their position a little different.
Didn't dominate at fullback again today mate?Out of interest have redcliffe considered switching their entire seniors and ressies teams ? Must make for a sorry site when theirs seniors lose the intra club.
Hey smy, when the reshuffle happens at the end of the year, how do you think it will pan out ? I've noticed that the most common opinion is that the best of qfa nth & Sth will form one division whilst the bottom qfa nth & Sth sides and most qafa a sides would form the other division. Imo the first option would work and work well but the second one wouldn't. I think you'd find that the bottom qfa sides would be miles better than any qafa side as they currently stand ( and yes, that includes the surfers Suns from Logan ). What are your thoughts ?
Bond Uni are now second on the table in QFA South, Alex Hills, Coolly and Coomera are miles of the pace this year, have not doubts the top 3 in division below would comfortably deal with them.Hey smy, when the reshuffle happens at the end of the year, how do you think it will pan out ? I've noticed that the most common opinion is that the best of qfa nth & Sth will form one division whilst the bottom qfa nth & Sth sides and most qafa a sides would form the other division. Imo the first option would work and work well but the second one wouldn't. I think you'd find that the bottom qfa sides would be miles better than any qafa side as they currently stand ( and yes, that includes the surfers Suns from Logan ). What are your thoughts ?
Got to give them credit, climbing comps so quickly, and successfully.Bond Uni are now second on the table in QFA South, Alex Hills, Coolly and Coomera are miles of the pace this year
QAFA A has dramatically improved in past two years mainly due to large numbers of players dropping down from the top level into QAFA A. I think Bond have proved the gap between divisions is not as great as it once was with their efforts this year, they only added a couple of players to their list this year. Pirates, Kedron, Suns all have a good spread of top end talent now and are in a strong position to follow Bonds path.Hey smy, when the reshuffle happens at the end of the year, how do you think it will pan out ? I've noticed that the most common opinion is that the best of qfa nth & Sth will form one division whilst the bottom qfa nth & Sth sides and most qafa a sides would form the other division. Imo the first option would work and work well but the second one wouldn't. I think you'd find that the bottom qfa sides would be miles better than any qafa side as they currently stand ( and yes, that includes the surfers Suns from Logan ). What are your thoughts ?
Hey smy, when the reshuffle happens at the end of the year, how do you think it will pan out ? I've noticed that the most common opinion is that the best of qfa nth & Sth will form one division whilst the bottom qfa nth & Sth sides and most qafa a sides would form the other division. Imo the first option would work and work well but the second one wouldn't. I think you'd find that the bottom qfa sides would be miles better than any qafa side as they currently stand ( and yes, that includes the surfers Suns from Logan ). What are your thoughts ?
QAFA A has dramatically improved in past two years mainly due to large numbers of players dropping down from the top level into QAFA A. I think Bond have proved the gap between divisions is not as great as it once was with their efforts this year, they only added a couple of players to their list this year. Pirates, Kedron, Suns all have a good spread of top end talent now and are in a strong position to follow Bonds path.
Bond Uni are now second on the table in QFA South, Alex Hills, Coolly and Coomera are miles of the pace this year, have not doubts the top 3 in division below would comfortably deal with them.
Reckon you have got it pretty spot on but think you'll find that Robina would demolish every side in your new qafa a comp, at least for the first season or two ( depending on whether they bring in relegation/promotion ). That being said, your solution looks to be the fairest and most competitive way forward.If it was up to me TT then I would be going the best 12 clubs from nth/sth - all 6 nth teams + the top 6 sth teams. Play everyone twice in your "conference" and once the other conf giving 16 games - final 6 to allow for the fact that you don't play everyone twice. Would mean 3 games per year that you travel over and above what you do now - think this is in the realms of doable for 99% of blokes including 2's players. The rest of the clubs in the sth I would filter into the QAFA (A) comp and make a 15 team comp with again not everyone playing each other twice but by geography you play those closest (rival games) twice and everyone else once to make an 18 game season. Most of the current QAFA (A) comp is south based anyway.
I agree Bond shows that sides can compete up but in reality there is a vast difference in standard - Bond always were going to be a quality side with the backing of the University - there aren't many clubs that have that as a carrot to attract players or even retain..... Most clubs ebb and flow a bit and its actually more about what happens when they are down then up imo bc you can go out of business very quickly when things go sour. Clubs like Coomera need to go back a standard to reset themselves and like it or not, on field success is nearly the only way you can attract players no matter what standard of footy you are playing at.
I actually do not think the QAFL set up will remain - reckon there could be Moreton Bay coming in that will allow for players from the sunshine coast and Nth Bris to play - maybe Sandgate will come back in due course to replace. Certainly the Hawks facilities are an issue for that standard of footy.
Re losing young players Blocker - will always occur I think unless you are playing at QAFL level - I still think the solution is promotion/relegation system. This at least gives a carrot for coaches/committees to aim at. Only occurs between QAFA (A) and QAFL (div 2)
Well done to buzz and his boys at moorooka in their come from behind win against a recognised finals aspirant. A telling loss for Wynnum
Moorooka where desperate to win the game, I noticed a few of the Roosters players even bought their Kitchen Sinks with them!!! That's how desperate a few of these Roosters players where. The young Vikings need to learn to toughen up! Maybe the result would have been different for the Vikings. A win is a win I guess! But a proud win? It wasn't!
How is it not a proud win for the roosters? Coming from 34 points down 10 mins into the 3rd quarter and and getting a win!!
Why wasn't it a proud win?Moorooka where desperate to win the game, I noticed a few of the Roosters players even bought their Kitchen Sinks with them!!! That's how desperate a few of these Roosters players where. The young Vikings need to learn to toughen up! Maybe the result would have been different for the Vikings. A win is a win I guess! But a proud win? It wasn't!
Reckon you have got it pretty spot on but think you'll find that Robina would demolish every side in your new qafa a comp, at least for the first season or two ( depending on whether they bring in relegation/promotion ). That being said, your solution looks to be the fairest and most competitive way forward.
They should be very wary of deciding which QFA clubs go to QAFA A based on only 2016 results.
Robina for example were a dominant side who lost one H&A game only 2 seasons back.
No question the Top 3 in QAFA A would account for the likes of Alex Hills, Cooly and Coomera though. (In my view)