QAFA (A) 2016 Season

why is park ridge going up and Logan Staying down. Very weird I wonder is Logan asked to stay into div 3?

At least it gives clubs in this Div a break form playing at a crap kids school ground

As opposed to the goat track at Kedron?

Clubs were asked to nominate. Can only assume Suns asked to stay in that Div and must be expecting a string of retirements.

Good thing is, if they win it again they go straight up.

I think the new structure is fantastic in general and they have got it right in the top 3 grades. We are very frustrated that our comp was split into 2 though, don't think it needed to be done and nobody enjoys a 6 team comp.

We had 12 this year and 10th place had 5 wins including wins against finalists. The top 6 wasnt decided until the last weekend. That's a great comp.

Only 2 'non competitive' teams, but if they play at their 2016 level they will remain non competitive again despite the split. Given one of them was in the GF 3 years ago, i think it's unlikely they stay at that standard long term. Just a bad year.

As opposed to the goat track at Kedron?

Savage, but true - However they have a grant to redo the oval one lad reminded me about on sat'dy.

Winkipop, so you are a roosters man? Not long ago your oval had more sand than Fraser Island so you are in no position to talk.

Savage, but true - However they have a grant to redo the oval one lad reminded me about on sat'dy.

Winkipop, so you are a roosters man? Not long ago your oval had more sand than Fraser Island so you are in no position to talk.

Hey watto, the roosters grew grass, when is your oval going to grow another 20 metres

Clubs were asked to nominate. Can only assume Suns asked to stay in that Div and must be expecting a string of retirements.

Good thing is, if they win it again they go straight up.

I think the new structure is fantastic in general and they have got it right in the top 3 grades. We are very frustrated that our comp was split into 2 though, don't think it needed to be done and nobody enjoys a 6 team comp.

We had 12 this year and 10th place had 5 wins including wins against finalists. The top 6 wasnt decided until the last weekend. That's a great comp.

Only 2 'non competitive' teams, but if they play at their 2016 level they will remain non competitive again despite the split. Given one of them was in the GF 3 years ago, i think it's unlikely they stay at that standard long term. Just a bad year.

Agree with you for the most part Thommo, the bottom 2 teams really battled, Yeronga took another backwards step as opposed to Ipswich who grabbed a win and started playing good footy. On their day, Ferny Grove, Coop, Morningside and Mayne all could turn out a good team and give a contest. But Yeronga and Ipswich are definitely another division away from Zillmere and the likes. Maybe the 2 could have their own battler comp and all join in a circle like the chicks games and sing a song together.

Good news on that front the oval is beaing upgraded over the summer. Hopefully that should help and get some grass on it. It's in the worst shape I've seen it in years.
What happened to it mate? Never seen it like that either?

Hey watto, the roosters grew grass, when is your oval going to grow another 20 metres
On a serious note, I would be curious to know dimensions of Roosters ground v Pirates, wouldnt be much in it I dont reckon.

Hey Watto any footage from the rematch on the weekend?

Only footage I've seen is the Kedron boys limping off parky high oval with their tails between their legs after thinking they had game won before it started. 15 goal win against the Pirates in round 18 and they think they had the granny won a few weeks too early.

What happened to it mate? Never seen it like that either?
Too much touch footy played on it. They just chop it up when it's wet or in fact in the dry as well. We are all hoping to give them the chop as well. You might hate it but we have to train on it as well. That goes for the juniors also. Time to get it fixed but we are hoping for a couple more weeks first. Reckon you can help with that mate.

Only footage I've seen is the Kedron boys limping off parky high oval with their tails between their legs after thinking they had game won before it started. 15 goal win against the Pirates in round 16 and they think they had the granny won a few weeks too early.

Not that you may be aware but I suppose the revenue from field hire helps out a lot around the club? Having been in the President role I could understand that the lure of that could overshadow the potential damage.. It's a tough one...

Putting aside field quality and the new structure, what are peoples thoughts on the games on the weekend?

Didn't see any of the Pirates vs Swans, but kept an eye on the score and at one stage thought it was looking like straight sets. Good on the Pirates for putting them away, and well done to the Swans for at least partially bridging the game between the Top 3 and the rest, that looked like the grand canyon mid season!

Obviously SE Suns going to be tough to beat, but I saw enough from Kedron to think they can give them a red hot crack in a few weeks. Obviously need to start by putting some scoreboard pressure on and hitting the barn door once in a while - but also need to be patient with big George and if he's being held, don't react by putting him in the middle - just be patient as he is going to win the contests if hes in enough of them. Also gotta play someone behind the ball early to starve Mcintyre a bit, its not a negative tactic to put 2 loose and then attack from the back half. I know Kedrons old coach did it.

Game didn't reach any great heights, both teams below their best imo. I should have kept driving to Salk Oval :(

anyway, Suns red hot favs - but Kedron are good enough to beat them

Wow you really must hate kedron. You are always on here putting someone or some club down.
Be careful old mate when you show a lack of respect for people and clubs it could come back to haunt you.

Not that you may be aware but I suppose the revenue from field hire helps out a lot around the club? Having been in the President role I could understand that the lure of that could overshadow the potential damage.. It's a tough one...
Your right the money helps but I feel the damage beaing done is too great.
Working on finding a better way.

Agree with you for the most part Thommo, the bottom 2 teams really battled, Yeronga took another backwards step as opposed to Ipswich who grabbed a win and started playing good footy. On their day, Ferny Grove, Coop, Morningside and Mayne all could turn out a good team and give a contest. But Yeronga and Ipswich are definitely another division away from Zillmere and the likes. Maybe the 2 could have their own battler comp and all join in a circle like the chicks games and sing a song together.

Yeronga and Ipswich are going to be belted by 100 points every week regardless (except when they play each other)

Does it matter if its Mayne belting them by 100, or Zillmere by 120? All they've done is alter a great competition, so two teams get smashed by a little bit less some weeks.

why is park ridge going up and Logan Staying down. Very weird I wonder is Logan asked to stay into div 3?

At least it gives clubs in this Div a break form playing at a crap kids school ground

I think the issue with Suns was more to do with off field finances and structure. Think probably a smart decision by all involved at Suns that have just taken over the financial mess left by previous committee.

Obviously onfield Plugger and his coaching staff have done a fantastic job but no good committing to higher Div if you don't think you have your back of house in order.

Will be interesting to see if it has any impact on playing group heading into most important game of year.

Like everyone said they will go straight up if this year is any indication.

No matter what you think our home ground we see it as an advantage. Seniors didn't lose a game at home all year. Will hopefully be a culture shock for new Div 2 teams that haven't played there.

We similar to Beenleigh in going up as both club have good juniors and youth teams with some cracking kids. Will need to improve again to even be competitive but we are looking forward to the challenge.

don't know, only go there once a year but it has to be at least 20 metres longer.

It is less than 10 metres between length of Moorooka and Pirates grounds. Pirates 147 metres and Moorooka 155 metres.

Only know that as it was checked 3 years ago when we made application to come into competition.

I think the issue with Suns was more to do with off field finances and structure. Think probably a smart decision by all involved at Suns that have just taken over the financial mess left by previous committee.

Obviously onfield Plugger and his coaching staff have done a fantastic job but no good committing to higher Div if you don't think you have your back of house in order.

Not trying to be a smart ass, but I don't understand this.

What difference is there between Division 2 and Division 3 when it comes to back of house requirements and professionalism?

The two competitions are essentially exactly the same, only difference is the standard of footy. The only jump in professionalism and having to have your house is order is when you go from Div 1 to QAFL, or from Div 4/5 into Saturday footy (which would just be a numbers game)

Too much touch footy played on it. They just chop it up when it's wet or in fact in the dry as well. We are all hoping to give them the chop as well. You might hate it but we have to train on it as well. That goes for the juniors also. Time to get it fixed but we are hoping for a couple more weeks first. Reckon you can help with that mate.
Makes sense. Alot of traffic concentrated in one area every time will do that.

Frustrating

QAFA (A) 2016 Season