QAFL 2016

Don't agree they smashed the Magpie midfield this year.

1 point loss, 2 point win and 22 point win.

First 2 games were bloody even, and I would argue that the Magpies midfield were their only good performers in the 22 point qualifying final loss, when they gave up 5 goals from turnovers in their defensive 50 trying to switch the ball in perfect conditions!

I would argue that its not opposition midfields over shadowing the Labrador midfield, its the key players they have outside the midfield.

Who won, or will win the Labrador B&F? A midfielder or someone else?

If Jesse Derrick were at Labrador, he would start in their midfield. Maybe because he is a better midfielder, or maybe because some of the Labrador midfielders are more versatile. There are guys in the Magpies midfield however, who are probably suited to playing elsewhere on the ground at this level, but they ran heaps of numbers through the middle. Plenty of guys at both the Magpies and Mt Gravatt for example, who look to be more like natural flankers - but played midfield because thats where the best players go.

Funnily enough, I actually reckon Grange and Sandgate have exceptional midfields, but they are rubbish everywhere else on the park.

Labrador are a nice evenly balanced team. If Mills went to another club, they would probably be dumb enough to run him through the middle because they foolishly think the best players always have to be in the middle.

I think it's more about the cohesion as a collective for midfields rather than which Induviduals are in there.

Derrick and Woolley aren't even natural midfielders having grown up playing down back/wing.

As for the umpires voting. You don't know what your going to get. Palmys game vs UQ this year Jarryd Douglas kicked 9 and had about 25 marks and didn't get a look in. The Grogan is by far a midfielders medal.

Any news on players leaving or b n fs yet from clubs ?

Now more importantly AFL 9S Buffs are running there comp again this year .Starts 21 october at 6 pm .Rego is $800 .
Book your team online afl9s.com.au
There will be prize money for the winning team .The more teams the more the prize money .I would say prize money is starting point is $400 .
Only runs for 8 weeks good to keep some you boys or girls together and bond in some new players .

Now that UQ are gone it will be interesting to see how the the extra NEAFL players fall to Brisbane clubs. Not a great outcome as it'll create more inconsistency among clubs who are forced to accommodate them. Very hard to get a team marching to the same beat of the drum when you don't know who's playing each week, let alone playing someone not aware of the game plan.

What have much of an impact, UQ only had about 6-7 top ups for the whole year.

Back to back Premierships on the back of three GF's in a row would give most teams a position of respect, I am not sure why not, but Labrador's IP should be sought after and embraced.

Fellow posters ,,, have you visited the QAFL website in the past week ,,, they have selected the top 50 players in the comp this year announcing ten players from 50 downwards each day ..... I thought they did a pretty good job until today where they announced their top 10 ...
Have no issues with 9th to 2nd, but their choice as the best player in the comp for 2016 is Daniel Green from Surfers,
With all respect to Greeny ,, whom did have a great season ,, I must say .. wow,,, thats a big call !!

I would have thought habberfeld and pope. would have had most of the coaches in the comp attention when they faced surfers. The had ferron from uq in the top 50 he only played 3 games

Don't worry Steve Brittain at 4 and he would be lucky to have played more than 3 games and is Matt Trewhalla's best mate. Despite that when playing is one of the best. Its harmless fun Damo and interesting reading, gets people talking.

Ferron played some good footy at the hornets the last 2 years

It's no secret Brits is s weapon. But the poll is based on influence and it's hard to influence your team when you are injured every year for a fair chunk of it.

I like it was mentioned it's good viewing but wouldn't read to much into it. I reckon if the players got to vote it would have a bit more bearing.

QAFL 2016