QAFL 2020

O&M was never going to work. A competition that literally straddles a state border, when one of those states is out of control with new cases.

Shame, as its a great competition. One of the best country leagues around
Yes some very strong teams in both the o and m and gv comps.I reckon also that the Riverina and farrer leagues situated just north of Albury around Wagga will be bursting with talent.A lot of the farming boys travel to play in the o and m and I reckon they’ll head back home and play now! Agree with posts where it’s a shame for the country towns and leagues along and around the Murray not going ahead as Covid is virtually non existent there.

It’s hard to really judge without knowing the whole story but you can’t help but think some leagues/clubs put things in the too hard basket. The leagues that run may end up with huge following and some great players looking for a game

:drunk:
Im surprised it hasnt been mentioned before.. Luke Hodge turned up as "a training player" for Morningside last Thursday night. One would think that may attract young star players (Backmen?) looking for some tutelage from a legend?

I presume "a training player" means Luke is playing. He certainly was there and kitted in training singlet etc..

A stronger QAFL is a huge bonus for footy in QLD IMO. Sure its harder for kids to crack the top side. But it will sort them out and bring a few back to earth..

Ironic that Leigh Mathews (patron) and Luke Hodge have both Chosen Morningside, in the suburb of Hawthorne..

Agrre! Very surprised this hasn't been publicised more on here. One of the most influential players in the last 30 yrs imo, not like we are talking about a bloke that played 20-30 afl games and returning to his roots. Ide say one of the biggest signings in my time following QLD footy if he does play and i mean more than just a one off. I thought he could have gone 1 more yr at the lions such was his form and influence. Great get by Morningside and well done to their hierarchy and im not surprised as he seems like a ripping bloke who just loves the game and would relish on the opportunity to pass on his knowledge and wouldn't be surprised if he was holding up an end of the bar at the after match!

:drunk:

Agrre! Very surprised this hasn't been publicised more on here. One of the most influential players in the last 30 yrs imo, not like we are talking about a bloke that played 20-30 afl games and returning to his roots. Ide say one of the biggest signings in my time following QLD footy if he does play and i mean more than just a one off. I thought he could have gone 1 more yr at the lions such was his form and influence. Great get by Morningside and well done to their hierarchy and im not surprised as he seems like a ripping bloke who just loves the game and would relish on the opportunity to pass on his knowledge and wouldn't be surprised if he was holding up an end of the bar at the after match!

He is very good mates with coach Clint Watts . Their sons play junior footy together

Payne to Morningside as well. Good get for a club telling every level of government they have no funds :p

I would suspect Hodge would be playing for nothing considering his kids are Juniors, he wouldn't get what he was worth, and the club is indeed short of a quid. As for 'Payne'. I have no idea of who he is... Perhaps he is playing for basic match payments, perhaps also he is playing for the love of the game?

Absolutely no noubt Hodgey is playing for nothing. He is the biggest star to ever play in the QAFL imo and its fantastic. His son has played at the Panthers for several years and was very good for Met East last year and obviously has some good genes!

Payne is a 4 time NEAFL MVP player and 2 time Grogan medallist, so a fairly handy acquisition who doesn't just play for a can of coke and potato gems. Played at Aspley and Southport, originally from Victoria. Also a fantastic acquisition, but I question the value given he would be on decent match payments, is now about 35ish and is simply taking the spot of a young kid for 8 weeks before heading home to Aspley.

I just find it strange we're all being asked to pitch in, then we sign a big money player.

I would suspect Hodge would be playing for nothing considering his kids are Juniors, he wouldn't get what he was worth, and the club is indeed short of a quid. As for 'Payne'. I have no idea of who he is... Perhaps he is playing for basic match payments, perhaps also he is playing for the love of the game?
Matty Payne
total Gun and ball magnet
Grogan medal

Matty Payne
total Gun and ball magnet
Grogan medal

There will be a lot of interest in the 1st game at home for the Panthers Vs Labrador. Should be a good crowd. We will be going, and haven't been to a seniors game since 2016. One senses there is a lot of excitement around the Panthers lately.

by the start of the season on july 11th , i expect there will be no limits to crowd attendence at aflq games ... i mean as we speak this weekends afl games are allowing 10000 at the gabba and 6500 at metricon ,,, so good news for aflq clubs

The 100 number is a guideline and if you read the roadmap there is an asterisk that says number is subject to change for businesses with COVID-safe plans. Like the 60 we have on the track at the moment, i thinkyou'll find crowds will be unlimted provided strict distancing measures are in place.

never know, Grange might get to 9 or 10 weeks this year with Boston and Baxter. From a footy perspective, they are very good pickups that will compliment some fo the young talent they have.

Boston happy to go to the only club prepared to pay. Hope their existing squad members still get their matchies

Or just a wild guess, maybe he sees greater value than match payments in linking up with said biggest star to ever play in the QAFL
Payne was in touch with both Sunny coast clubs about playing, both wanted a commitment beyond this year. To both clubs credit, despite his obvious talent, they weren't interested when it wasn't forthcoming .

Broady $1.05 to win it. Loaded up on heaps of talent and super coach Steve Daniel down there helping out, can’t possibly lose.

Yes, very interesting that Clay Cameron landed there. Was a Mount Gravatt Junior, email went out to QAFL clubs about NEAFL player policies and season cancellation and from what I hear, before the Vultures could pick up the phone - Cameron was already signed at Broady!

Not sure if there is any common threads between Broady and Redland ;)

Broady $1.05 to win it. Loaded up on heaps of talent and super coach Steve Daniel down there helping out, can’t possibly lose.
Agree BlackDog - Broady have certainly gone hard - Clay Cameron a great get. Not sure $1.05 but favourites for sure.
Surprised you didn't get "Super Coach" back to Labrador to help out? Might indicate Lab are no chance?

Agree BlackDog - Broady have certainly gone hard - Clay Cameron a great get. Not sure $1.05 but favourites for sure.
Surprised you didn't get "Super Coach" back to Labrador to help out? Might indicate Lab are no chance?

I believe he’d already committed by the time Lab knew the NEAFL coaches were available and called.
Might indicate that, not sure unless you ask him.

QAFL 2020