• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFL 2023 Season

17 year olds?

So they would be dropping out of the Lions academy, or not in it, if they are heading down south before their draft year.
Yes Briztoon all flicked from the lions academy so heading down south to try out on other VFL lists.Not all walk up Senior players yet but potentially all! One,Jesh Morgan won the colts league medal this year.

So who’s the high profile AFL player Palmy are in negotiations with?
Croad back is a good get plus some other handy recruits it seems.
Once again the GC clubs are loading up except Surfers as per usual .
Maybe Southport should enter a reserves team in the QAFL under the banner of Surfers Paradise to keep Surfers financially sustainable?
Then all Southport players whom don’t get a game are at one club opposed to being spread out which can upset teams structures
Wouldn’t be worrying about surfers I’ve heard they are in the best financial shape they have been for years . Totally debt free and spending the full salary cap..

I’ve been told that They have been talking to players but have been beaten at the 11th hour by another Gold Coast rival club who’s spending big . “As usual” Skinny Lappin has already got them into amazing shape . It will be very interesting to see how they line up as they’ve lost a few but apparently picking up a few from vic and from Southport. Not sure about their coaches though . 2 assistants have been senior coaches in 2022 Chenhall and Boxer . Odewahn have no idea who he is. Alex Mitchel good playing assistant plenty of experience at the top level. Jaso. Lowe good fella apparently and great footy brain . Reserves coach M Kranz ?? No idea who he is

I was told by a Southport player on the drink that one of their mates went to Broady for a $100k a year 2 year apprenticeship with the coach ?? WTF 😳 how do they get away with that .
Admittedly they have picked up a few at Broady so they will be very strong and well coached. There was rumours O’brien was stepping aside for Hill but that’s not true . Not sure about their young players who will no doubt be passed over for these new recruits again

Labrador are going well and I think Clint Watts will take a long term view of their growth but will need to try and keep some of the experienced players to guide their quality youth. They have been very quiet which is an ominous warning that things are changing . I havent seen anything much about their coaching staff to be honest .

Palmy, have recruited well according to FB . Questions still remain about their coaching appointments. Millane still a very unknown quantity, Trewarn has a polo from every club at the Gold Coast . Mitchell coaching their development side ? I heard he applied for every role in the QAFL and this was the last one left . Did he have a win while coaching at tweed?? “No credibility”And then Millane’s brother on the senior coaching staff. He hasn’t coached for years .

As for the comment about a Southport reserves for Surfers that’s just ridiculous.

Any help on the assistant coaching appointments for the GC clubs would be insightful.

Who’s got the intel for the brisbane club and their coaches ?

Whats the deal with the COLTS system

What’s going to happen when all the u/19 lists of 30 are settled ? There will be so many young players looking for clubs.

I read the AFLQ changes/restrictions and it seems that QAFL clubs will be trying to name as many young players as they can in the u/17.5 comp and play the best ones in the u/19s so they can essentially have more than 30 players in their list to pick from. This could be a smart way to get around the list of 30 restriction

But you would have to feel bad for the loyal home grown players who will get pushed out because of “academy players and top level youth players from QAFA” that come in .

If AFLQ think that youth players will stay in the QAFA just because they threaten them with a point penalty then they are kidding themselves.

I’ve have heard clubs are recruiting very hard and even offering senior football games just to get these top u/17 players to their club. Again at the expense of their own home grown talent . And most of these players they are talking to will get torn apart in QAFL seniors. There are exceptions to this but those exceptions would already be at QAFL and playing senior footy if they were really that good .

The reality is that if you’re a true top tier youth player aged between 15 & 17 and you’re not playing seniors or in the mix for seniors then you’re not top tier player .

Wouldn’t be worrying about surfers I’ve heard they are in the best financial shape they have been for years . Totally debt free and spending the full salary cap..

I’ve been told that They have been talking to players but have been beaten at the 11th hour by another Gold Coast rival club who’s spending big . “As usual” Skinny Lappin has already got them into amazing shape . It will be very interesting to see how they line up as they’ve lost a few but apparently picking up a few from vic and from Southport. Not sure about their coaches though . 2 assistants have been senior coaches in 2022 Chenhall and Boxer . Odewahn have no idea who he is. Alex Mitchel good playing assistant plenty of experience at the top level. Jaso. Lowe good fella apparently and great footy brain . Reserves coach M Kranz ?? No idea who he is

I was told by a Southport player on the drink that one of their mates went to Broady for a $100k a year 2 year apprenticeship with the coach ?? WTF 😳 how do they get away with that .
Admittedly they have picked up a few at Broady so they will be very strong and well coached. There was rumours O’brien was stepping aside for Hill but that’s not true . Not sure about their young players who will no doubt be passed over for these new recruits again

Labrador are going well and I think Clint Watts will take a long term view of their growth but will need to try and keep some of the experienced players to guide their quality youth. They have been very quiet which is an ominous warning that things are changing . I havent seen anything much about their coaching staff to be honest .

Palmy, have recruited well according to FB . Questions still remain about their coaching appointments. Millane still a very unknown quantity, Trewarn has a polo from every club at the Gold Coast . Mitchell coaching their development side ? I heard he applied for every role in the QAFL and this was the last one left . Did he have a win while coaching at tweed?? “No credibility”And then Millane’s brother on the senior coaching staff. He hasn’t coached for years .

As for the comment about a Southport reserves for Surfers that’s just ridiculous.

Any help on the assistant coaching appointments for the GC clubs would be insightful.

Who’s got the intel for the brisbane club and their coaches ?
Good intel Doublefistit. $100k external "apprenticeship" is of course above the club's annual salary cap. That is massive if true. I'll be interested in Stuyd's response.

For Brisbane clubs if you're asking who is a contender I'd suggest just keep an eye on Aspley & Redlands, for 2023 anyway. They have mature age players that will match it with the recruits on the Gold Coast if they get their best side(s) on the ground. They have also retained talented coaches in Webster & Carse who know the game and importantly where the QAFL environment is now.

Good intel Doublefistit. $100k external "apprenticeship" is of course above the club's annual salary cap. That is massive if true. I'll be interested in Stuyd's response.

For Brisbane clubs if you're asking who is a contender I'd suggest just keep an eye on Aspley & Redlands, for 2023 anyway. They have mature age players that will match it with the recruits on the Gold Coast if they get their best side(s) on the ground. They have also retained talented coaches in Webster & Carse who know the game and importantly where the QAFL environment is now.
Think you’ll find those sort of employment based payments are pretty common these days outa! A Grade amateurs in Melbourne been doing it for years and tbh it’s makes bloody good sense.
And yes reckon both Aspley and Redlands will be thereabouts again.Have experienced types who have played in better standards and with each other for a long time.
Good to hear that Surfers are up and about.I’d imagine Matty Lappin would be pretty cagey and well connected.
Should be a great comp once again!

Clubs have helped guys into jobs or encouraged members to use the plumber that plays footy at the club for as long as there has been footy played. So they should.

Contrary to the belief of many Broady is not a big money club- no pokies to fund footy. No paid footy managers and all coaches are volunteers. Player payments well below the cap. Very much reliant on helping guys into work, location advantage and a recent good W/L record.

As for other clubs, Aspley remain the team to beat, well run and financially strong club. Perkins a good operator. Retained pretty much the premiership team and added a couple of guns. Clear favourites.

Agree that palmy and Redland also look strong, definitely reckon Palmy in particular are contenders as I think they bat deeper than Redland who in my opinion have probably the best “top 6” in the comp but bottom 6 not quite there which will get them at the business end I reckon.

Lab have lost a few and don’t play finals for mine, and I’m sure surfers will be more competitive but can’t see them playing finals either.

The Sunny coast clubs have done really well since coming in and both have a good chance to play finals next year.

As for the other Brisbane clubs, Morningside got themselves into a hole last year but they’ve always been strong and I can see them bouncing back quickly.

Sherwood and Mt Gravatt are good honest clubs but not quite the lists to play finals at this stage. Grange are active recruiters but struggle to produce for whatever reason and I don’t see that changing

Clubs have helped guys into jobs or encouraged members to use the plumber that plays footy at the club for as long as there has been footy played. So they should.

Contrary to the belief of many Broady is not a big money club- no pokies to fund footy. No paid footy managers and all coaches are volunteers. Player payments well below the cap. Very much reliant on helping guys into work, location advantage and a recent good W/L record.

As for other clubs, Aspley remain the team to beat, well run and financially strong club. Perkins a good operator. Retained pretty much the premiership team and added a couple of guns. Clear favourites.

Agree that palmy and Redland also look strong, definitely reckon Palmy in particular are contenders as I think they bat deeper than Redland who in my opinion have probably the best “top 6” in the comp but bottom 6 not quite there which will get them at the business end I reckon.

Lab have lost a few and don’t play finals for mine, and I’m sure surfers will be more competitive but can’t see them playing finals either.

The Sunny coast clubs have done really well since coming in and both have a good chance to play finals next year.

As for the other Brisbane clubs, Morningside got themselves into a hole last year but they’ve always been strong and I can see them bouncing back quickly.

Sherwood and Mt Gravatt are good honest clubs but not quite the lists to play finals at this stage. Grange are active recruiters but struggle to produce for whatever reason and I don’t see that changing

BS.....know for a fact a recent former ruckman getting 1k a game & plenty around the $500 a game mark hence why the coaching staff is voluntary .......but keep telling yourself otherwise .
Smart clubs will never get caught exploiting the salary cap & if you’ve got it spend it, footy a club’s agenda should be success not profit

You don’t reckon that’s what QFA clubs try to do Lagging?

Provide environment and culture and coaching.

All of that occurs.
I can understand why the age groups in junior ranks has jumped up to 17.5.It should keep boys/girls in the game longer especially whilst finishing secondary school.However I do not understand why only QAFL clubs are the only ones with colts? Is it successful in other parts of the country? What have they gone off?
Clubs will certainly not want to lose their colts justifying why Friday night comps and even talk of one team Saturday comps are gaining momentum

Unfortunately I think the movement of one team comps to Friday nights and the demise of community colts is due to the lack of umpires.

A large majority of umpires can officiate multiple senior games over the course of a weekend if they are not held on the same day.

Then they back up and look after 2, 3, 4 games on a Sunday at youth level.

BS.....know for a fact a recent former ruckman getting 1k a game & plenty around the $500 a game mark hence why the coaching staff is voluntary .......but keep telling yourself otherwise .
Smart clubs will never get caught exploiting the salary cap & if you’ve got it spend it, footy a club’s agenda should be success not profit
Ablett... wow what ruckman were Broady paying a grand a game ? We have not had a top notch ruck for a long time .

omg ,, not worth commenting on ,,

Not saying it’s true , just what I was told by a Southport Player . It could be total bullshit and even if it’s true I would think that’s a smart way to attract players . All clubs use their networks to get players jobs etc , so well done to Broady .

There’s no doubting they have a very good administration and some great people at their club.

I hope the comp becomes more evenly competitive . It will always come down to who has the healthiest list of course.

I think all clubs at full strength can be very competitive and then we may see some really good quality QAFL footy .

What are thoughts on kids who miss out on a game at QAFL level (1s, 2s, colts)...should players be sent back to community clubs but not necessarily 'home'.

Ie. Kedron lose 6 colts aged kids to Wilston Grange who would otherwise move into their senior program. They all get a game but WG have 6 juniors miss weekly...should they be sent to Kedron (mandatory) to return the 'favour', ensuring everyone gets a game YET community clubs are not left short having lost juniors (families) thinking they need to move to continue their footballing journey?
are they colt aged boys who coming across to play simply colts at WG rather than seniors at Kedron? Madness of the case imo

Think you’ll find those sort of employment based payments are pretty common these days outa! A Grade amateurs in Melbourne been doing it for years and tbh it’s makes bloody good sense.
And yes reckon both Aspley and Redlands will be thereabouts again.Have experienced types who have played in better standards and with each other for a long time.
Good to hear that Surfers are up and about.I’d imagine Matty Lappin would be pretty cagey and well connected.
Should be a great comp once again!
Redlands need to improve a bit to get up level with Broadbeach and Aspley based on current lists and recruiting.

Dangers may be Palmy, Labrador, Noosa and Maroochydore for mine.

Why don't you provide an attractive option for them to play in your QFA ressies team?
I just can’t see what all the fuss is about with no qfa colts. Many clubs were combinations of various clubs so not a side coming thru from junior ranks. The 6 kids leaving Kedron to play qafl colts (assuming good enough to play at that level) might be better served playing qfa. Horses for courses I suppose.
Btw FF know quite a few young kids who played 17.5 comp in 2022 pretty keen to play Friday nights with either nth shore or Caloundra. It’s not a terrible option for a young kid not aspiring and not wanting their whole Saturday taken up.

Not entirely sure why kids that don't make academy, and im talking sunny coast, are leaving to try their hand in stronger competitions. Their is a reason generally he/she didn't make it and that's because a part, or more, of their game, isn't up to the next level. The Sunny Coast level 3 academy and I presume the other region's have dramatically reduced their initial intake, (14 i think) a much better option imo from the past of around 40-45 eliminating, dare I say it, the dead wood immediately allowing for better quality training. If you can't make your regions top 14, I think it would be in your best interest to 1. ask why, get some feedback and 2. get back to your QAFL club and go to work., then see how it works out for you,. I get the impression their is some real quality coaching in the qafl ranks to help players im this situation. The notion of heading to Victoria or wherever on the basis you couldn't make it here just doesn't make sense to me.

QAFL 2023 Season