AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What’s the thoughts on the draw released on Friday? Yeronga have 3 big games straight up and will show we’re they are at after dropping down from division 1.
Is this the same bloke who coached Springwood a few years backYes Mr Opbroek sure talks some BS doesn’t he
Carrara will get the points in the opening round, Coomera won’t play finals next yearFixture has been released
Round 1 is
Bond Uni v Alex Hills
Robina v Cooly
Coomera v Carrara
Viccy Point v Kenmore
Yeronga v Beenleigh,
Good Rd1 i think especially for the 2 new teams in the comp,
Yeronga taking on last seasons grand finalists should be very interesting, will give a good indication on how competitive the devils will be in the Div 2 comp,
Carrara @ Coomera will be an interesting game too. Coomera making finals last season will give Carrara a bit of a challenge in their first game in the Div 2 competition.
Who have Alex Hills picked up?If they haven't recruited, which apparently they haven't - Yeronga will be bottom half again in Div 2. They were horrendous in Div 1 last year, wouldn't have played Div 2 finals.
Alex Hills and Kenmore the big moves based on who has turned up at both clubs.
If they haven't recruited, which apparently they haven't - Yeronga will be bottom half again in Div 2. They were horrendous in Div 1 last year, wouldn't have played Div 2 finals.
Alex Hills and Kenmore the big moves based on who has turned up at both clubs.
Who have Alex Hills picked up?
That’s good to hear I would like see the Bombers achieve some successQuite a few Morningside blokes, both seniors and ressies from what I hear.
I know at least 2 or 3 are definitely playing at Alex Hills that played senior footy for the Siders in 2018.
Bond University had a percentage of 27.8% in their 1 win season in the Div 1 while Yeronga had a percentage of 36.3% in their 1 win season. I dont think people realize the massive jump between Div 2 and Div 1. Aspley were winning most games by 100 points in the Div 2 and didnt even make finals in the Div 1. I think Yeronga will be more competitive next season than what most people on here will believe.
Billy Lambert going there, but who else?
Might be a silly question but what is the connection to drop 2 divisions?
Last I heard about it was there was going to be compulsory access for community football groups as well (similar to Yeronga where they and others get access to the AFL facility on the bottom floor).
I know there was talk about community umpiring being relocated out that direction but that not happen now. I think the AFLQUA and the umpiring department are happy where community umpires train (reckon I'm allowed to say it given I am no longer in SE Queensland).
Yeronga not even going to have enough for a crack at div 2? That’s disappointing!
What does everyone think about the new rules?
Not a massive fan of the water carriers not been aloud on the ground at all during play!! Hard enough to get 1 water carrier but now they have to run out in a break in play then run off before play starts again is bullshit!!
Yeronga not even going to have enough for a crack at div 2? That’s disappointing!
What does everyone think about the new rules?
Not a massive fan of the water carriers not been aloud on the ground at all during play!! Hard enough to get 1 water carrier but now they have to run out in a break in play then run off before play starts again is bullshit!!
Heard AFLQ have been given the lease to Moorooka's Ground now? Apparently BCCgave AFLQ the nod over the club. So you can bet the umpires will start taking a stronger presence at that premises? Pretty hard pill for the new hard working Chooks Committee to swallow.
Also emergency meeting at Yeronga tonight. Might be seeing another former Div 1 Club slide back to Friday Night Footy only. Apparently numbers have been very average. I know Pirates through out a joint venture idea for both Clubs to stay in Div 1 but Yeronga Committe knocked back offer.