Review R12: Port v Bulldogs review

A useful lesson for anyone who thinks we're only one big name trade from lasting success

Their ability to dispose of the footy under pressure is enviable. Our goal kicking and midfield lost it. Didn't help that our match-ups in defense often conceded height and weight.

What a waste of a golden draw.

Let's look at the positives. It's a close loss but come on. Look how inexperienced this team is with a backman playing as ruck. It's a loss and will hurt but we didn't roll over. If we have that sort effort and continue to get games into Austin, Howard and DBJ then 2017 is looking good. I'm gutted but for the first time this year after a loss I'm not angry.

9 points up at three quarter time with a momentum boasting goal on the siren. Response? Three goals to the Bulldogs in 5 minutes. Answer.

Very angry. We played well, but dumb at times. The one that got away. Add it to the other two. Should be 8-4, are 6-6.

We couldn't rally to keep our season alive. Big questions need to be asked of this club.

Lot of impressive personal bits of play but our complete inability to make quick decisions, particularly looking forward when holding the ball down back, absolutely kills us every week.

Pittard supreme, and Wines and Dixon monsters all day. Feel sorry that other passengers couldn't show that same hunger for the contest, namely O'Shea

Yeah. I reckon we'd need to target all of Ryder, Schulz, White and Hombsch from other clubs to be a threat.
Oh sorry do no other teams get injuries?

3 points in it but they were far more composed going forward. Their goals came easier ...

I don't think we can play finals now so I hope Austin stays in for the rest of the year because he is the future and was very good today !

Boaky has to kick that goal. Run around on your left mate ... Farqqqq

We'll lose next week, back it in

-P Stewart: Takes one courageous mark a game and that's it; shit kicking, shit defending, slow. Thing is we can't replace him with anyone
- Krakouer: Everyone trying to praise him for his job on Stringer, what happened in the last quarter? Yes polly was on him for about 2 mins but he was better than that stretch. 25% kicking efficiency at half time disgusting
-Hartlett: I've praised you all year even when everyone wanted your vice captain stripped. You're my favourite player, But shit you were insipid today. Wingard and yourself 2v1 vs stringer in the forward pocket you don't bother putting the sheppard on stringer even though you clearly see him to let wingard tap it on to himself and handball over to you. Instead you back out hoping for the easy receive. I can't even...
- We needed someone coming off the back square to stop or pressure the flow. We only did it in the last 5

Positives:
-Austin continues to improve. 7 marks, 2nd for 1%s with 7 and held their resting ruck well (Campbell/rough) when they went forward. Even though the commentators said he was on redpath
- Ollie wines tries he's heart out and is just an absoloutle beast. Stood up in tackles just a fighter can't fault him
-Ebert marking well

Review R12: Port v Bulldogs review