Rate my team Part III

Backs: Broughton, Hodge, Hurn, Malceski, Suban, Hunt, Waters. Reserve: Ladson, Smith (WCE).

Mids: Hayes, Pavlich, Cooney, Armitage, Ziebell, Martin. Reserve: Trengove (Melb), Barlow (Freo)

Rucks: Jolly, Ryder. Reserve: Hille, Warnock (Carl)

Fwds: Riewoldt (St K), Syliva, Franklin, Kennedy (WCE), Ballantyne, Dangerfield, Walker (Ade). Reserve: Davis (Ade), Taylor (Rich)

Tippett is close to a lock for me. Im thinking he will avg 80 and be a keeper. I think natural imrpovment could easily gain a 7 point increase in average. Tippett also has the ability to lay tackles in games and can also play further up the ground, in which the crows may rely on him to do this a bit more with sellar (injured), Maric (struggling with injury). If your starting him your wanting him as a keeper. Also there arnt many other options. Personally i wouldnt be confident in upgrading to any/many of the other premium rucks. They all have problems. Tippett doesnt have problems.

If Adelaide have another successful year, he will avg just about 80. I think he will end up as the 3rd highest scoring ruck for this year.

Agreed.......I just changed pretty much my entire team to get Tippet in.....

Team currently looking like having about 13-15 keepers.....any thoughts....Presti on the bench I know......but at least I can be confident he'll play if I need a consistent back up (obviously if he stays injury free)...

Backs
Enright, Shaw R, Hodge, Shaw H, Ladson, Hunt, Waters..Presti, Maguire

Mids
Bartel, Boyd, Mitchell, Mackay, Martin, Barlow......Banner, Shuey

Rucks
Clark, Tippet.......Warnock, Skipper

Forwards
Riewoldt, ROK, Gia, Franklin, Gray, Polkinghorne, Dangerfield....Rockliff, Gumby

Any thoughts on my side?

Enright, Hodge, Shaw, Harbrow, Krakouer, Ladson, Hunt MAGUIRE, DAVIS

Bartel, Goddard, Selwood, Ziebell, Trengove, Martin BARLOW, JKT

Sandilands, Hille WARNOCK, SKIPPER

Riewoldt, Pavlich, Higgins, Giansiracusa, Gray, Hall, Dangerfield

GUMBLETON, PODSIADLY

Team currently looking like having about 13-15 keepers.....any thoughts....Presti on the bench I know......but at least I can be confident he'll play if I need a consistent back up (obviously if he stays injury free)...

Backs
Enright, Shaw R, Hodge, Shaw H, Ladson, Hunt, Waters..Presti, Maguire

Mids
Bartel, Boyd, Mitchell, Mackay, Martin, Barlow......Banner, Shuey

Rucks
Clark, Tippet.......Warnock, Skipper

Forwards
Riewoldt, ROK, Gia, Franklin, Gray, Polkinghorne, Dangerfield....Rockliff, Gumby

Correct me if im wrong but do you have alot of cash left over?
Dont get Presti... just dont.
Having Ladson, Hunt and Waters in the backline concerns me. All injury prone, I wouldnt feel confident taking that many risks. I would downgrade One of Roo, ROK, Gia or Buddy to help fund your backline. I think you have to pick players with more safety in their teams best 22 with less question marks above them. Not to sure about Polkinghorne think there are better options around that price. Apart from that not a bad team just a few things to change around.

Now my turn :)

Backs: Enright, Hodge, Shaw, Harbrow, Stevens, Dempsey, Hunt (Waters, Silvagni)

Mids: Bartel, Boyd, J Selwood, Robinson, Trengove, Martin (Barlow, Banner)

Rucks: Clark, Tippett (Roughead, Prato)

Forwards: Riewoldt, Pavlich, Giansiracusa, Gray, Hall, Dangerfield, Campbell (Rockliff, Hitchcock)

Bank: $2,400

Correct me if im wrong but do you have alot of cash left over?
Dont get Presti... just dont.
Having Ladson, Hunt and Waters in the backline concerns me. All injury prone, I wouldnt feel confident taking that many risks. I would downgrade One of Roo, ROK, Gia or Buddy to help fund your backline. I think you have to pick players with more safety in their teams best 22 with less question marks above them. Not to sure about Polkinghorne think there are better options around that price. Apart from that not a bad team just a few things to change around.

Now my turn :)

Backs: Enright, Hodge, Shaw, Harbrow, Stevens, Dempsey, Hunt (Waters, Silvagni)

Mids: Bartel, Boyd, J Selwood, Robinson, Trengove, Martin (Barlow, Banner)

Rucks: Clark, Tippett (Roughead, Prato)

Forwards: Riewoldt, Pavlich, Giansiracusa, Gray, Hall, Dangerfield, Campbell (Rockliff, Hitchcock)

Bank: $2,400
good backs, i like your mid pricers
you might be relying a little too much on them though
dempsey waters and hunt are injury prone
silvagni is good cover though

great mids, cant fault that at all

rucks are good although im not a fan of tippet, but seems to be one of the few rucks with no question marks so very safe choice

you have the right premiums for your backs and your forwards which is a good start

might want to upgrade a forward though as the rookies are light on this year, i do thik rockcliffe will play but his spot is far from cememnted in the lions 22 and hitchcock could be thompson all over again so id be careful there
if you downgrade one prremium mid to someone like shiels then you can make an upgrade or two
otherwise you could downgrade robinson but he is a pretty good unique pick i think

overall a very good team mate
just think you need to squeeze in one more keeper
although harbrow or stevens may become keepers
stevens will be great if he plays that andy otten role

Any thoughts on my side?

Enright, Hodge, Shaw, Harbrow, Krakouer, Ladson, Hunt MAGUIRE, DAVIS

Bartel, Goddard, Selwood, Ziebell, Trengove, Martin BARLOW, JKT

Sandilands, Hille WARNOCK, SKIPPER

Riewoldt, Pavlich, Higgins, Giansiracusa, Gray, Hall, Dangerfield

GUMBLETON, PODSIADLY

I think Silvagni would be a better option than Davis if he is elevated from the rookie list. (Most likely) Not sure on Gumbleton maybe better off with Rockliff/Hitchcock?

My team:

Backs:
Goddard, Enright, Hodge, H Shaw, Malceski, Hunt, Waters (Trengove, Silvagni)
Mids:
Bartel, Mitchell, Anthony, Ball, Martin, Barlow (Banner, Shuey)
Rucks:
Sandilands, Hille (Warnock, Skipper)
Forwards:
Riewoldt, O'Keefe, Pavlich, Giansiracusa, Franklin, Gray, Rockliff (Hitchcock, Podsiadly)

good backs, i like your mid pricers
you might be relying a little too much on them though
dempsey waters and hunt are injury prone
silvagni is good cover though

great mids, cant fault that at all

rucks are good although im not a fan of tippet, but seems to be one of the few rucks with no question marks so very safe choice

you have the right premiums for your backs and your forwards which is a good start

might want to upgrade a forward though as the rookies are light on this year, i do thik rockcliffe will play but his spot is far from cememnted in the lions 22 and hitchcock could be thompson all over again so id be careful there
if you downgrade one prremium mid to someone like shiels then you can make an upgrade or two
otherwise you could downgrade robinson but he is a pretty good unique pick i think

overall a very good team mate
just think you need to squeeze in one more keeper
although harbrow or stevens may become keepers
stevens will be great if he plays that andy otten role

Thanks mate.. I'm not too sold on Hitchcock at the moment, but I am also finding it incredibly hard to pick a premium forward that is not going to drop in price. I originally had Buddy in there in replace of Hall but the way both their teams to be shaping I would be banking Hall to outscore him.

I think having Waters on the bench isnt to much of a risk where injury is concerned and Dempsey did manage to put 20 games together last year which is a good sign. Coming off a good preseason too.

By backing my mid pricers I feel I'm doing something different (not copying the structure of most BigFooty teams) which could give me an edge if it pays off. I actually haven't relied so heavily on my unique picks in past years/ put much research into them, so am finding it hard to know if I am onto something. Each year's an improvement I guess so by backing this team I guess I'll know whether to back my own judgement in years to come. See how we go hey :)

For xsmilekid

Backs:
Goddard, Enright, Hodge, H Shaw, Malceski, Hunt, Waters (Trengove, Silvagni)
Mids:
Bartel, Mitchell, Anthony, Ball, Martin, Barlow (Banner, Shuey)
Rucks:
Sandilands, Hille (Warnock, Skipper)
Forwards:
Riewoldt, O'Keefe, Pavlich, Giansiracusa, Franklin, Gray, Rockliff (Hitchcock, Podsiadly)

I'm a bit worried with backs. Mal and Waters have former injury concerns and i'm not sold that Mal will be in best 22 with Kennelly, Shaw and Mattner in the squad unless there's mid rotation as such. Maybe swap trengove for goose as he's almost guaranteed time on the park during the season

Mids are looking good however more value for anthony and ball in the likes of cross, watson, boak, etc etc especially for Anthony

Having Hille as starter also bit iffy, big man coming back from a knee is always a bit risky however by all reports he's doing fine and my be a bargain

Forwards are fine though could be better value than o'keefe as he'll probably cop the first tag in mids

okay so this is what else ive come up with as a solution. hoping cyril is ready for round 1.

some changes are:

BACK- goddard and fisher in for gilbert and enright
MID - swan(or Gaz) and morabito in for vince and boyd. now starting 2 mid rookies instead of one.
FWD - Cyril and Gia in for Franklin and Rohan.
Spent an extra ~35k

starting 2 rookies in mid now instead of 1 and 2 in fwd now instead of 3

further thoughts guys?

Sorry to give u bad news but starting 2 fwd rookies and 1 back rookie is just ridiculous. I would be looking to eliminate all of them from your team, i'd rather starting 4 in the mids then that.

Sooo heres my advice. Downgrade a back, i'd be looking at Gilbee, Chornes or Fisher. To someone like kennelly, selwood, malceski all look set to improve, or just anyone around that range u like. Upgrade your back rookie, i hate to suggest specific players to change to but you'd probably be looking at hunt for your money.

I'd change Morabito down to a cheaper bench player who might get games, plenty of em out there like Barlow, Banner, Bastanic, Shuey, Jetta and some more.

If your keen on starting rookies do it in your mids, downgrade Mastern or even one of your guns to a rookie and get rid of your forward rookies. But you might be able to get away with only starting the 2, try it out and see if u need the money.

Goddard, Enright, Grimes, Carrazzo, Lake, Dempsey, Malceski, (A.Smith, P. Davis)

Bartel (c) Ball (v/c) Masten, Martin, Barlow, Banner (Jetta, Shuey)

M.Clarke, Naitanui (Warnock, McCauley)

Riewoldt, Didak, S.Johnson, Pavlick, Westhoff, Hall, Ballantyne (Rockliff, D.Stewart).

Ive gone with 3 rookies starting in midfield which is a risk im willing to take, as it allows me to pick more solid backmen on the field, as there doesnt seem to be many good rookies on the bench available. Ive also gone for some no name 4th ruckman at 77k as the last 2 years i havent used 2 cashcow ruckman. 20k left over.

Thoughts?

Goddard, Enright, Grimes, Carrazzo, Lake, Dempsey, Malceski, (A.Smith, P. Davis)

Bartel (c) Ball (v/c) Masten, Martin, Barlow, Banner (Jetta, Shuey)

M.Clarke, Naitanui (Warnock, McCauley)

Riewoldt, Didak, S.Johnson, Pavlick, Westhoff, Hall, Ballantyne (Rockliff, D.Stewart).

Ive gone with 3 rookies starting in midfield which is a risk im willing to take, as it allows me to pick more solid backmen on the field, as there doesnt seem to be many good rookies on the bench available. Ive also gone for some no name 4th ruckman at 77k as the last 2 years i havent used 2 cashcow ruckman. 20k left over.

Thoughts?
Solid team.
I would have to question some of your premiums. Im not sold on Didak, Johnson, Carrazzo and Lake. I assume at that price you are classing Lake a keeper. I think you can expect Didak and Johnson to drop in price before they go up and there are question marks still over Carrazzo's role. Half forward? Possibly play some form of forward tag role against the likes of Shaw? Kennelly type players?

I think if you are going to go with 3 Mid rookies starting you have to also have some big name premiums in there too. Your team would mean upgrading probably 4 cash cows to the top 4 scoring mids you would hope. I think that is a bit of a stretch considering they are priced higher and you still have to upgrade the other parts of your team.

Am interested to hear what you think of Dempsey, and what you made of my response in the other thread. Also Davis wont play, wasted pick. Your better off putting Silvagni/ Maguire in there. I dont know much about Smith but there doesnt seem to be much talk about him. Good unique pick in Grimes.

Im not personally sold on Natanui while Cox is still the number one ruckman, and I agree with you letting the 4th ruck spot go.

Hope that helps some :)

For xsmilekid

I'm a bit worried with backs. Mal and Waters have former injury concerns and i'm not sold that Mal will be in best 22 with Kennelly, Shaw and Mattner in the squad unless there's mid rotation as such. Maybe swap trengove for goose as he's almost guaranteed time on the park during the season

Mids are looking good however more value for anthony and ball in the likes of cross, watson, boak, etc etc especially for Anthony

Having Hille as starter also bit iffy, big man coming back from a knee is always a bit risky however by all reports he's doing fine and my be a bargain

Forwards are fine though could be better value than o'keefe as he'll probably cop the first tag in mids

Thanks, i swapped anthony for cross. im planning on keeping ball (collingwood supporter). whos a better alternative for o keefe?

Hope that helps some :)
cheers for that feedback. ill review those premiums you mentioned.
NickNat im sold on. He has a bigger tank this year, and put on a heap of muscle, and if he isnt winning the ball himself he is usually tackling other players. I was tossing up between he and Hille and Nicknat seems to have less risk and a lot more upside.
Trying to figure out how to fit Maguire into the team. Might downgrade Pavlich to Tippett.

I honestly dont know much about dempsey. After playing nearly every game last year and having a promising game in the NAB, im hoping he can at least hold his ground or perhaps even improve.

Backs: Carrazzo, Kelly, Hodge, H.Shaw, Ladson, Hunt, Waters, Farmer, P.Davis
Midfielders: Bartel, Hayes, J.Selwood, Cooney, Ball, Martin, Barlow, Schuey
Rucks: Kruezer, Natanui, Warnock, Skipper
Forwards: Riewoldt, Goodes, B.Harvey, R.Murphy, Hall, Ziebell, Rockliff, Gumbleton, Posiadlly

Not sure if I've gone too top heavy through the Midfield, may swap one of my solid mids for Trengove/Banner/Bastinac to put a bit of extra value in my forward line, possible upgrade of Gumbleton to a Dangerfield.

Also toying with the idea of taking a risk in the Ruck and downgrading Kruezer in the Ruck to an Ottens and upgrading Ziebell to J.Waite but that would be a risk in bringing in two suspect players for 2 who I'm pretty sure will go up in value fairly early in the season.

Cant be to sure phil davis or famer will play, better off gettng players such as trengove, sheppard orsilvagni.

Thoughts on this team

backs: Goddard, Hodge, Shaw, Harbrow, Malceski, Ladson, Waters (Maquire,trengove)

Mids: Swan, J.Selwood, Mitchell, Watson, Ball, Schuey (Barlow, Banner)

Rucks: Tippet, Hille (Warnock, Skipper)

Forwards: Reiwoldt, Pavlich, Franklin, Giansiracuse, Gray, Dangerfield, Rockliff (Hitchcock, Podsiadly)

I know I have taken a risk not having trengrove,scully or martin in mids but IMO schuey, barlow and banner are all just as capable as them

I hate to break it to you but option 2 doesn't fit in the salary cap. I tried it. Loser!

Thanks for trying it, and yes you are correct......option2 should be Gram not Goddard. Good pick up and cheers for your positive sentiments???

I'm just wondering why a big footy vet would bother to try a newbies option 2 dream team??? Whose really the loser here OOOZE!!!

Backs: Broughton, Hodge, Hurn, Malceski, Suban, Hunt, Waters. Reserve: Ladson, Smith (WCE).

Mids: Hayes, Pavlich, Cooney, Armitage, Ziebell, Martin. Reserve: Trengove (Melb), Barlow (Freo)

Rucks: Jolly, Ryder. Reserve: Hille, Warnock (Carl)

Fwds: Riewoldt (St K), Syliva, Franklin, Kennedy (WCE), Ballantyne, Dangerfield, Walker (Ade). Reserve: Davis (Ade), Taylor (Rich)
Bump.

i reckon need to upgrade some of the backs.

downgrade hille to lobbe maybe? downgrade armitage to mitch banner perhaps?

my team:

DEF: Goddard, Carrazzo, Grimes, Hodge, Kenelly, Ladson, J Hunt (Maguire, P Davis)

MID: Ablett, Gibbs, Selwood, Masten, Trengove, Martin (Banner, Barlow)

RUCK: Tippett, Kreuzer (Warnock, Lobbe)

FWD: N Riewoldt, Franklin, J Brown, Giansiricusa, Gray, Dangerfield, Talia (Podsiadly, Dennis-Lane)

I was going to downgrade Masten to Morabito or Cunnington, but is 5 rookie mids too many do you reckon? want to upgrade Talia to Ziebell

any advice would be greatly appreciated

Boys i need a theory have no idea what i am doing

Goddard, Cornes, Carrazzo, Hodge, Mackie, Kennelly, Ladson

Thompson, Cornes, Watson Dalziell, Martin, Barlow

Hille, Ottens

Riewoldt, O'Keefe, Pavlich, Giansiracusa, Brennan, Hall, Dangerfield.

$95,000 grand in the bank

BACKS: C Enright, P Duffield, S Gilbert, N Bock, J Adcock, G Johncock, A Raines
BENCHIES: B Waters, P Davis

CENTRES: J Selwood, L Ball, B Dalzeil, C Jones, T Scully, D Martin
BENCHIES: M Banner, J Kayler-Thompson

RUCKS: D Brogan, N Natainui
BENCHIES: R Warnock, J Roughead (WB)

FORWARDS: N Reiwoldt, S Higgins, M LeCras, R Gray, T Hawkins, P Dangerfield, T Walker
BENCHIES: A Wonnamirri, T Rockliff

I reckon I have a few too many young guys in the Midfield. Guess im hoping these will be like 2009s Rich / Otten and play well...

Not enough keepers. 8/9 at best so you won't have enough trades to get your team where it needs to be come finals time.

Too much money sitting on the bench. Downgrade to rookies and upgrade some mid-pricers.

This is my team so far.

livlion.jpg

What do u think about it?