Ratten gone?

Agree. It's the last remnants of the old school Carlton arrogance.

They need an injection of younger progressive thinkers that embrace the notion of complete rebuilds from the ground up.

The days of short cut premierships are over.

What a cliche ridden load of bullshit ?

We won three wooden spoons and turned over our entire coaching staff and virtually every player bar Scotland, Waite and Carrazzo.

Clearly at this point it hasn't been successful but apart from digging up and replanting the grass at Visy, what else should we have rebuilt ?

I get it - Carlton recruit Judd its taking a 'premiership shortcut'. North recruit Boak and it's 'progressive thinking' ?? :rolleyes:

I think a lot of pressure was placed on him to deliver optimal results once Judd was drafted.

They went short on their rebuild.

It's not going to happen for the current best 22.
They never really sorted out their forward line since Fev was sacked.

It just seems logical to now bring in MM and Cloke and fix both issues over the off-season.

He's a dead man walking, and you only had to see his face in the coaches box tonight to know he knows it.

As my mate said as we watched the game tonight 'ask not for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee....'

I feel for Ratten, as I do all coaches. It's their livelihood but I suppose it's an elite business and there are only 18 senior gigs going around.

I hope we don't see him walked on Monday, with one game left just see it through, then put a proper contingency plan in place to recruit in time for trade week & the draft.

A loss to an expansion club that ends your season is the last thing you want when you've been the subject of as much speculation as Brett Ratten.

10, 13, 11, 14.5 and 11 (from 21) wins in his 5 seasons at the helm. The finals losses in 2009, 2010 and 2011 hurt him.

I'm not convinced someone new coming in will transform Carlton into a 15-16+ win side without personnel changes, but I'd be surprised to see Ratten given another chance a la Mick Malthouse circa 2007/8ish.

A loss to an expansion club that ends your season is the last thing you want when you've been the subject of as much speculation as Brett Ratten.

10, 13, 11, 14.5 and 11 (from 21) wins in his 5 seasons at the helm. The finals losses in 2009, 2010 and 2011 hurt him.

I'm not convinced someone new coming in will transform Carlton into a 15-16+ win side without personnel changes, but I'd be surprised to see Ratten given another chance a la Mick Malthouse circa 2007/8ish.

Totally agree, but as we all know, it's easier to sack the coach than the players.

In this case, they'll move the coach on, get in a new one, who will then chop half the list ASAP.

Stick a fork in him..cooked.

Seriously nasty loss at the worst possible time....if the heirachy were even looking at a new appointment this is the sort of thing that steels a resolve and brings decisions forward.

Hard to imagine they could or would announce anything this week coming up, this close to finals and on a knife edge...if they miss 8th spot tho, or get flogged in an elim final, expect wingnut to get his silver watch within seconds.

Clearly at this point it hasn't been successful but apart from digging up and replanting the grass at Visy, what else should we have rebuilt ?
The most influential person who has overseen the football dept from the time of cheating the cap, the spoons, the Pagan/Mitchell fiasco, the Fev fiasco . . . . and ultimately the sacking of Ratts.

"Sticks" should be called Teflon . . . because nothing seems to stick with him.

They might look across town at Essendon.

Knights just had to go because everyone knew Hird was the man. Hirdy came in, Essendon went top 4.........and Carlton and Essendon are this week neighbouring on the ladder outside the finals with the Essendon fans again on strike if their turnout on Friday is anything to go by. Deja Vu

We are developing a "sack the coach" mentality that in fact does not solve everything and often doesn't solve anything.

Those players won't be winning anything no matter who is coaching because we know that over the past few years they have been goodish without being real top 4 contenders......bit like essendon.

Ratten put the pressure on himself. Said they would be top 4 at the beginning of the year and then last week said they would be dangerous in the finals. Guy appears genuinely clueless when it comes to managing expectations.

spot on but it's more than just him, it's the culture of the club. One big win over Essendon and there were supporters on here saying they were monties to make the GF.

The best 22 is very good, they were unlucky not to reach the Prelim stage last year. But the modern game practically demands that the graph trends upwards every year. I agree with you in that there's not somebody out there who is obviously better suited to the job. Malthouse is getting on, Roos doesn't really want to coach. Williams or Eade, maybe. After that, you're taking a gamble. I actually think Carlton should stick with Ratten, and not just because quite a few of their supporters don't have faith in him. Geelong did it with Bomber. The list's not at a stage where they can afford to burn a year while a new coach beds down his gameplan.

The most influential person who has overseen the football dept from the time of cheating the cap, the spoons, the Pagan/Mitchell fiasco, the Fev fiasco . . . . and ultimately the sacking of Ratts.

We are the rest, %$# Carlton :p

We would but we are all out of Footy Show hosts - think Simon O'Donnell might be available ?

Why why do coaches put external pressure on themselves, saying top 4 or bust was a very stupid thing to say.
Pretty much my thoughts when they come out and make these statements. It's good to aim high but to say top 4 or nothing to the media is just silly.

I hope Matlhouse doesn't head over there as they will become a true power house then.

I feel sorry for him. They absolutely lost the plot in the middle of the year but really started to turn it around but when they did, they had too many injuries to survive. Put Jamison, Laidler and Henderson in that backline tonight and they dont lose.

Reckon with a fit list he is capable of coaching them to top 4 but he may not get the chance next year.

Only issue is BD, Gold Coast had their fair share of players missing as well.

I do think though coach's take way too much heat when it's clearly the players that imploded.

Well... yeah.

Typically it's the positive promises that come back to bite people on the bum. Knights is probably an example of the other.

Speaking of which, seconded on the topic of Knighter. Everyone on here has been raving about what an exemplary A+ coach he was and is, so Carlton should be all over him like a cheap suit.

Quality input, Brad Pitt. Nice of you to grace this humble forum.

Anytime buddy, anytime.

Ratten gone?