Review Rd 1, 2019: Freo destroy the Roos

Seriously though, where the hell did that come from!?

The most optimistic of us would've predicted we might get a decent 2-3 goal win if everything clicked and North were off the pace, but definitely not a 13 goal thumping coupled with our highest score in 5 years.

We absolutely have to continue to back it up from here, but this shows that the squad is capable of playing some pretty damn good football.

Just to anyone with a residual "same old game plan" sentiment. Not having a go. I think it's clear that there are a few differences, playing on, quick ball use, hardly switching the ball backwards, running on to the next position and next position beyond the current play - e.g. forward thinking, amongst others.

I think though, the big free open scoring that they've been hoohaaing about with the rule changes, has been more to do with the umpiring decisions being fast (and sometimes pre-emptive). A few of our marks (just as an example), were paid before the player had control of the ball, so instead of team mates slowing up to confirm a presumed mark - e..g do I need to hang around coz it might have been touched or whatever, players hear the whistle and don't slow down a gear to set up for the next play. Contrast the first 3/4 to the last quarter, sure the players were shagged, but so were the umps and they weren't so quick on the whistle and it brought the game tempo down.

Credit to North for playing the game out, once you realise that it's beyond a miracle and a loss is beyond doubt, it is hard to give it your all - and they kept at it until the final siren.

I'm stoked with the result, though will no doubt be sobered up a bit if we play with key injuries against a quality team that isn't so affected (North were hamstrung by injuries as we were).

Well I've had enough...

Ross won't change - defensive and keeps playing his favourites.
We recruit crabs like Lobb, Conca and Colyer who are nothing but depth.
Our culture is sh1t.
Guys like Tucker and Tabs don't develop.
And Dardy will never be any good no matter what forward structure we have.

How am I doing? ;)

What's the saying? One swallow doesn't make a summer?

Whatever it is, 1 win won't make our season but hopefully we can continue in this direction and show some consistency moving forward.

The list needs to stay healthy, we need to not have those heavy defeats as per previous years and hopefully we can enjoy our footy again.

Surely you can allow yourself to get a little bit excited mate? it's not like we won't be getting players back either

Oh yeah, don’t worry, I’m stoked. The side looks more balanced than I can remember, our area of weakness, the midfield, held together, all our debutants kicked goals, nobody who came in under an injury cloud got worse, and we played attacking footy. It’s all you could ask for.

It helped that North had no backline. Don’t think that will happen every week.
Sure they have injuries there. However look at it this way, with those injuries we SHOULD have taken advantage and we did, it's very rare that we do in such situations.
Would you rather have Blakely and Hogan into your side or S. Thompson and M. Daw?

I though Goldstein played well but (if we can keep them on the park) the Darcy/Lobb combo is going to be huge for us I reckon this year.

Tucker brings a lot better kicking to the midfield and I reckon that was his best game to date. Brayshaw brings the grunt and I think will be even better when he just gets his head right with his skills.

I thought Taberner did some really good things when the game was on the line; particularly tackling and pressure acts. Still dropped some sitters, but took pressure off McCarthy to have the game he had.

Pearce, Hamling, Ryan and Wilson looked nothing like their preseason form suggested - are we sure they weren't just experimenting with options in those games?

Cerra was quiet, but maybe we are just holding him in reserve for later in the season? We don't need everyone firing yet I suppose...

Sorry don't like the thread title

No need to be smug.

The boys were terrific. Well done Freo

Agreed and changed.

Apologies to any North supporters that picked up on that we’ve sure been where you are a few times in recent years...

Review Rd 1, 2019: Freo destroy the Roos