Autopsy Rd 10 v Saints. Not good enough when it counted.

Which players do you think had a good game in Round 10 vs the Saints?

Ok, I'm gonna cop it for this, but i just cannot see Weitering being anymore than a depth player for us. He needs to be traded whilst he still has some currency. When in front, he is a good reader of the play and intercept mark.
However, he is just so slow, gets caught behind 20m away from the play way too often. When he manages to stay with his man, he scraggles and holds on way too much and is penalised nearly every time. Casboult did better in one game than he has done all year.

Our whole entire defensive structure went out the window because the Saints literally marched the ball forward without any opposition at all.

Which is a recurrent theme, at the start of one the 4 quarters we always seem to look like we have completely stopped and our structure goes right out the window allowing opposition players space and freedom of movement.

Funny that a lot of times those happens is when the coaching panel switches to our zone defence after we have played well man on man up until that point.

It’s clear the team has no idea how to play the zone defence and we get sliced up like a pack of oranges every time we switch to it

Not speeches no. Its about demanding from the individual and knowing what buttons to press.
Sure but true confidence comes from knowing what to expect out on the field. If time and time we get the ball look up and have no idea where to go then confidence will quickly drain, pressure goes up and more mistakes happen.

It’s hard for us to know 100% if the players just aren’t implementing the game plan or the coach hasn’t instilled it in them well enough or it’s just a poor plan but considering Bolton’s strength is supposed to be his man management skills then you’d hope he has covered the getting players up for the contest part.

Sometimes when I watch Carlton play, it feels like 5 players on the field know the gameplan. Then everyone else tries to learn it on the fly.

It's my only explanation.

I'm worried for Bolton. He can't control the skills, but eventually he'll have to go. A painful inevitability.

Poor skills from a collection of talented players though is often due to a poor structure/gameplan.

If players are confused about what to do, they are rushed/panicked and that leads to poor skills.

You see in well drilled teams like Geelong, even average players suddenly look good. This is because they are coached well and know exactly what their role is, where they should be positioned, what to do once they get the ball etc. This makes them look more talented than they really are.

Im not one to pot players normally but if charlie isnt playing vfl next week the match committee should all be sacked.

Charlie was one of our best in the first half. Came out full of passion and vigour.

Lots of **** calls have been made by recruiters. Lots more have been made by supporters, grass roots footy players and their Dads too, but you don't get to hear about those, and they can also improve their ledger in hindsight.

Sure lots of bad calls have been made. But we're talking about our list. Which given it's position has made far more mistakes than anyone else over a long period of time.

Those other people aren't getting paid good money either.

When the professionals make bad calls, there's far more of a consequence.

Because fans are speculating, the club have a mandate to make those calls. Speculate on here as though it is gospel and it turns discussions to ****. Some acknowledgement that it is your opinion, not a cold hard fact would be helpful.

The club and coaches also have mandates to improve as well. That's not happening.

I dont think so. I say its one issue.
They dont have the serious full on appetite for the contest at this point in time.
Why I dont know but this game was not about youth or inexperience or skills or umpires or coaching setups. Its something else. An intangible if you like.
I say its all between the ears.
Yes every single bit of it.

1000 percent. Mate of mine has a kid who runs a mean 400. There’s two versions of him. The one who ‘tries’. And the one who ‘runs angry’. When the second one turns up he wins.

Not sure why but our guys just refuse to embrace that. Which stuns me.

I got balled out a couple of weeks ago for questioning our forward line structure (told Teague lauded for his success at Adelaide and that considering our fewer I50's we are doing well) but the only time it looked half decent today was when Charlie played well outside the 50 leaving just Harry and McG with more room
They don't get enough entries to impact though. Another dozen entries a game minimum and the opportunitiespresent results. They are under pressure to score because they are starved of opportunity. That's game plan, flair and endeavour.

Dow must be the most sidesteppable (not a real word) player in the AFL. He starts running in a straight line, and if any aspect of the play deviates from his original trajectory, he is absolutely out of the contest and unable to recover.

It's not an ideal trait when the ball is an oval shape.
Looks good when comes out of stoppages and the square but around the ground lacks severely especially when kicking for goal.

I don't troll

Again I will ask, what were the structural changes Richardson made to make us get spanked by 13 points?

He didn't do anything. The structures were in place for the entirety of the game. Momentum changed with about 5 minutes to go in the first quarter when we should have been 3-4 goals ahead and every time we had an opportunity to grasp it back we undid our good work ourselves.

Arguably the biggest moment was Plowman's error at the stroke of half time which gifted them the lead and they carried the momentum into the start of the second half.

Our whole entire defensive structure went out the window because the Saints literally marched the ball forward without any opposition at all.

Which is a recurrent theme, at the start of one the 4 quarters we always seem to look like we have completely stopped and our structure goes right out the window allowing opposition players space and freedom of movement.

Funny that a lot of times those happens is when the coaching panel switches to our zone defence after we have played well man on man up until that point.

It’s clear the team has no idea how to play the zone defence and we get sliced up like a pack of oranges every time we switch to it
When I was a lad (a long time ago) we were told to stick like shit to a blanket to our man whilst the opposition had the ball, and to break free and spread to provide an option when our team had the ball. I have not seen us play man on man at all this year. 0 accountability.

So many coach killer moments today, and maybe it’s him, but these blokes have to have confidence in each other.

Surely inside 50s you go fast for the one on one, not the perfect drop punt into a pack of 10.

I know i'm repeating myself and apologies to anyone who've read all my posts but seriously...we go wide to the boundary in way too many of our F50 entries, putting very little pressure on the oppositions defence.

It's easy to spoil out of bounds from there and even if we get a kick at goal, it's a tough one which results in behinds more than goals anyway.

If there's no clear lead on I feel with our marking power up forward we really should be hitting the hotspot 20m directly in front of goal far more often than we do. I can see Charlie/McKay/McGovern either getting a mark, a free kick from panicked defenders, or at least cause a front and centre spillage for the likes of Cunners & Gibbons where with a bit of luck it's an easy goal on offer...sometimes just a toe poke from the goal square.

We didn't do that nearly enough today.

I don't troll

Again I will ask, what were the structural changes Richardson made to make us get spanked by 13 points?

I reckon we can wrap up this little duel. He is clearly not intending to engage any further so we are going around and around and not getting the benefit of an interesting discussion.

Dow must be the most sidesteppable (not a real word) player in the AFL. He starts running in a straight line, and if any aspect of the play deviates from his original trajectory, he is absolutely out of the contest and unable to recover.

It's not an ideal trait when the ball is an oval shape.

he looks gassed out in a lot of 2,3, repeat stoppages. looks like he blows energy chasing contest's at times

I know i'm repeating myself and apologies to anyone who've read all my posts but seriously...we go wide to the boundary in way too many of our F50 entries, putting very little pressure on the oppositions defence..

Agree. Reminds me of Malthouse's boundary game plan. It's got to be demotivating to play that style consistently which allows you little to no ability to back yourself in.

Autopsy Rd 10 v Saints. Not good enough when it counted.