Preview 2024 Rd 10 Carlton v Sydney Friday 17th May 7:40PM AEST @ SCG

Team is in …

IN:
Jack Carroll, Orazio Fantasia, Caleb Marchbank, Zac Williams
OUT: Adam Cerra (hamstring), Matthew Cottrell (foot), Jack Martin (calf), Lachie Cowan

Round 10 team v Sydney
Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringAlex Cincotta
Half-backs:Caleb MarchbankMitch McGovernNic Newman
Centreline:Zac WilliamsPatrick CrippsBlake Acres
Half-forwards:Ollie HollandsTom De KoningElijah Hollands
Forwards:Harry McKayCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetSam WalshMatthew Kennedy
Interchange:Jordan BoydJack CarrollOrazio Fantasia
Corey DurdinGeorge Hewett
Emergencies:Lachlan CowanJaxon BinnsLewis Young

Not the same volume as us but Mills, Parker and McCartin are significant outs.
I would argue that out of the three, McCartin is the only one who would significantly strengthen their team.
I do rate Callum Mills, however Swannies have a plethora of quality mids. His loss, is covered quite well.
Parker is fit, yet not selected. If Adams was to get injured, he would be an ideal replacement.

If he doesn't watch the VFL and you do, can you give him the answers from your perspective?

Good to see that he can accumulate possessions in VFL - what does he do with all that ball? How is his tackling against bigger blokes ? Is he a better choice than Acres or O Holands in a wing? Who do you see him replacing and why?

Answer these questions and you dont need to be told anything from anyone.

To ODN's point above I don't watch VFL so your perspective would be appreciated.

Edit: Ok don't worry about it just saw your post back to ODN.

I hope Cincotta doesn't make way for Williams if his form doesn't improve, when Saad returns.
Reward the players doing their role.
It's hard to fit them all in, Cow will have to wait for the next inevitable injury.

I think with the way our defence is developing the way it is this is the perfect chance to use Williams elsewhere. Cincotta, Kemp, Boyd all need to stay. Cowan will get better and we haven't seen Wilson yet. Williams has a lot of ability and at his best is A grade.

Can we get some quality out of him using him at HF, Mid or Wing? I can see him taking the Docherty role (which we are missing) and working well with E.Hollands

I think with the way our defence is developing the way it is this is the perfect chance to use Williams elsewhere. Cincotta, Kemp, Boyd all need to stay. Cowan will get better and we haven't seen Wilson yet. Williams has a lot of ability and at his best is A grade.

Can we get some quality out of him using him at HF, Mid or Wing? I can see him taking the Docherty role (which we are missing) and working well with E.Hollands
Williams in the Doc role would be perfect - whether he has the endurance/running power to do it with the injuries is the question.

:thumbsu::clapping:

Friday Night Lights with a roast & 27 beers, this is gunna be a ripper!!

As others have said, we match up pretty well with this lot.

Their back 6 is missing a couple & hopefully we can expose them.

If we can get it into our 50 & keep it in there, we’re a real show.

If it starts coming out quick on the turnover, we’re in strife.

Pressure, pressure, pressure.

Baggers by 95.😎👍

To ODN's point above I don't watch VFL so your perspective would be appreciated.

Edit: Ok don't worry about it just saw your post back to ODN.
Oh I dont have a view on Binns at all mate - I literally responded to you what I was thinking would be the way to answer the question - given it is unlikely that teh CLub will ever say anything specific about a player's KPI's to the general public.

Onhere I have noticed a lot of people calling for his inclusion base don his disposal numbers / possessions.....all good but it always boils down to who does he replace and why?

It seems he is on the list as a wingman - so going by the Voss 'next man up' and like for like replacement preferences - he will need to replace one of Acres or Ollie Hollands to get a wing slot - or as a rotation be better value than one of the two mids on the bench.

Injury aside- I cant see him replacing Acres who is one of our better and more reliable performers week to week - so Olliw Hollands is next- - hence my questions - is his disposal better and is his one on one tackling better - assuming he can run as well as Ollie.

I'm guessing that the MC dont see him as being ready just like they dont see Moir as being ready - the latter is more interest to me as far as development goes- because we need a Martin replacement with factor X.

Is Parker really an out though? He's healthy AFAIK

He is an out, but Horse can't just drop any of the midfielders who have been performing at a high level. It would send the wrong message.

Once injury or a bad performance occurs, Parker is almost certain to be selected.

BIG, BIG GAME........

Still five bloody hours to go and I have done my chores, at a loose end and pretty toey. (too early for a drink?)

For some reason I have a feeling Sam is going to have a blinder and inspire us to victory.

I am not a BT fan but would be stoked if he gave us say 3 Orrazzzziooo calls after his 3 goals tonight.......

One can dream :thumbsu:
I haven't got a vomit reaction, so I had to give you an angry one. I didn't want to, but BT makes my skin crawl. So, as all my exes would say... it's not you, it's me.

Yep, I go to a fair few VFL games, and still of the opinion that Binns doesn't have AFL qualities right now. Not wanting to pot the kid cos he's a real goer, but that's the way I see it.

He racks up plenty of possessions, but isn't particularly damaging in his disposal. He runs all day, but doesn't have leg speed - which is something you would hope, especially from a outside player with a smaller frame. He's also not real great overhead from what I've seen, so you'd be reluctant to kick it to him in a one on one - although the opposition might. Which is why Acres is such a brilliant asset - and why we miss Doc so much who also filled that role.

Either way, he'll get his chance no doubt - he's contracted for another couple of years - but right now, there are others clearly ahead of him.

Thanks for the assessment, appreciate it.

Post was about why mckay and curnow have kicked a total of 2 goals in the last 2 games against Swans.

I agree with your unrelated point though, we have done well to navigate the injuries and still have the record we do.
No my reply is directly related to your post.

Making the point that irrespective of Charles and Harry having lean times recently & v Swans - we’ve still managed to handle ourselves this year so far and when last we played the Swans.

We are not as H&C-centric as many here and media would have you believe.

Very respectable club and supporters are generally quite good from my experience
There hasn't been an opposition club I have respected more than the Swans in my time following footy. JPK/Buddy some of my all time favourites and I think Longmire has been the best coach in the comp for a while. Classy organisation