Autopsy Rd 10 v Saints. Not good enough when it counted.

Which players do you think had a good game in Round 10 vs the Saints?

I agree, poor decision making and execution

Ever think to yourself that the poor decision making and execution is a result of the structure and gameplan.

Put a bunch of young kids on the field with a game plan that puts them under pressure more times than not and their skills and decision making will suffer.

When players look up and don’t have a couple of clear options and are then forced to decide on the fly where to kick or handball to, they waste valuable seconds and end up putting themselves under pressure which then affects their disposal.

How many time today alone did we see Carlton players end up resorting to long kicks down the boundary line out of defence or Carlton players not having enough support around them forcing them to blindly kick it foward, a shit load of times.

That’s all structure and game plan, players have no idea how to zone up in defence nor do they have any idea where to run to spread and provide a clear option for the ball carrier.
It’s like a whole pack of chooks running around the field with no one knowing where the ball carrier will deliver it because there’s no decent systematic method of moving the ball that the players can rely on for their running patterns

Well if your happy with that type of effort against a very mediocre opponent whichever way you dress it up good luck to you .
The coach just like any coach must wear some responsibility for poor performances .

Okay that seems fair

But why only mention the coach?

As I have asked others, what do you see as the issues and what would you do?

You might be right.

But if i were to drop one for Lang next week it would be Dow.

I agree. I'm not concerned about Dow long term (unless we never manage to find a competent midfield coach), but his poor tackling and decision making is an issue currently.

He keeps selling teammates into trouble with bad handpasses, although many players do this, such as Cuningham and Fisher. Cuningham should never handball, either sidestep players or hit a target by foot.

Just a bit sick of losing.

I didn’t even watch today. I knew what was gonna happen. I had a lovely day shopping with my mum and the toddler instead. Even when the toddler pushed over a table and smashed 3 glasses in the middle of a restaurant, still had a better day than I would have otherwise.

Ever think to yourself that the poor decision making and execution is a result of the structure and gameplan.

Put a bunch of young kids on the field with a game plan that puts them under pressure more times than not and their skills and decision making will suffer.

When players look up and don’t have a couple of clear options and are then forced to decide on the fly where to kick or handball to, they waste valuable seconds and end up putting themselves under pressure which then affects their disposal.

How many time today alone did we see Carlton players end up resorting to long kicks down the boundary line out of defence or Carlton players not having enough support around them forcing them to blindly kick it foward, a **** load of times.

That’s all structure and game plan, players have no idea how to zone up in defence nor do they have any idea where to run to spread and provide a clear option for the ball carrier.
It’s like a whole pack of chooks running around the field with no one knowing where the ball carrier will deliver it because there’s no decent systematic method of moving the ball that the players can rely on for their running patterns

So what would you do?

Defenders of him constantly talk up his ball has. The only reason his stats ever look good is because of the amount of sideways kicks he does.

Rarely takes risks because he can’t and messes up.
always takes risks....

I reckon we can all agree on this. But we don't all agree on the why.
Ideas?

you have players in the reserves and delisted or traded in that range

you can't do that plus point to it as a reason
unless you think that you are not building a list with that in mind until you're losing games
Whatever the reason, that's the age profile we're playing with at the moment. Young players are prone to inconsistency during games and week-to-week.

The club went for broke and this is the situation we find ourselves in. Not sure how much of a say Bolton had, certainly a lot of the "blame" must lie with SOS. The mature age we have traded for have been disappointing for the most part.

3 tall forwards not used as a target all day, no spread from the contest, our mids just getting in each other’s way in close, to lose the footy to st kilda who just continually spread much better than us. St Kilda dominated attack, we are lucky they didn’t convert better, it could have easily been a 5 or 6 goal loss.

Not usually annoyed after a loss over the last year but this one has shitted me no end. Run, spread, and structures should be a non negotiable at this level.

Whatever the reason, that's the age profile we're playing with at the moment. Young players are prone to inconsistency during games and week-to-week.

The club went for broke and this is the situation we find ourselves in. Not sure how much of a say Bolton had, certainly a lot of the "blame" must lie with SOS. The mature age we have traded for have been disappointing for the most part.

we should be playing on at all costs, going straight down the middle and getting it in quick to our highly talented forward line. win, lose or draw.

going down the wings is doing him or us no favours

Where's the turnaround going to come from?

It's not going to come from the NBs. Kennedy gets elevated after showing mediocre form in the VFL and then stinks it up in the seniors. Apart from Lang and a couple of players returning from injuries I can't see any short term improvements to our best 22.

It's fair to say that the other teams have worked Carlton out. They know the key to beating us is to close down our play makers and not allow them to get to the outside. When they succeed our system inevitably falls to pieces. Bolton refuses to accept that his system has flaws. He blames the players for not being able to maintain it for 4 quarters. Well after 9 rounds and 8 losses if the system can't be implement for 4 quarters then it's probably is not a very good system.

Bolton has 14 rounds to prove that he's more than just a teacher. What we desperately need now is a coach.

Autopsy Rd 10 v Saints. Not good enough when it counted.