- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
- Other Teams
- GWS; CCMariners; NQCowboys; Ravens
Date - Saturday, August 16
Time – 7.40pm AEST
Venue - MCG
Weather - 16° Partly cloudy
Television – Live across Australia on Fox Footy and also live in Queensland on 7mate
Preview by @____
This is it. This is our biggest and most important game of the season against our biggest rivals at the “home of footy”. Let’s be honest here, when the fixture comes out the very first thing I look for is when and where we play the scum. The very first thing I said to myself when I realised we were playing the scum at the MCG was that I was going to make the trip down for this. The flights down to Melbourne for this weekend have been booked since last year.
OUR OPPONENTS
Let’s be honest with ourselves here, no matter how much the AFL pumps up the so called Q-Clash “rivalry” or how many peptides in the Dons take, there is no team in the AFL that is more despicable in this comp than the Centrelink scum. As much as the AFL tries to pretend the Suns are our biggest rivals, there will be much more Lions fans at the MCG this Saturday than there was in the away Q-Clash at Carrara earlier this year. Yes our large supporter base in Melbourne helps, but every second fellow Lions supporter I know personally and I have talked to are making the trip down for this game and Melbourne CBD will be maroon, blue and gold on Saturday. Let’s face it, how can we adopt the Suns as our most hated rivals when such a despicable team exists in this comp?
There are so many reasons why they are the scum. Firstly, the fact that they have a supporter base that are generally racist, feral, jobless and an incredible bunch of sore losers who still have an extreme case of rectum soreness over 2002 and 2003 (although oddly enough their supporter base on BigFooty generally seem alright). At least Essendon* supporters can acknowledge that we beat them fair and square in 2001. Then there is the fact that there’s quite a lot of them up here and anywhere you go, so you actually have to put up with them (unlike the Suns supporters who are in another city and there are not as many of them yet). There is also the fact that they always have most ridiculous fixture concessions year in and year out (such as endless games at the MCG, always getting "away" games against Geelong at their own ground instead of having to travel to Kardinia Park like everyone else or never getting two trips to Perth) and the most favourable treatment from the AFL, yet they complain about our so called “unfair” academy (even though any team in the AFL could draft players out of our academy) or our “unfair” salary cap during our premiership years (even though we operated under the same salary cap rules as everyone else – if it’s so god damn unfair why didn’t they just get more non-Victorians on their list). And then there’s Eddie, Buckley, Joffa, Judas K and so on. I could go on and on about how much I despise the scum, but it would go on for several pages. The very fact that Foot Locker encourages our fans to pose in front of a black and white striped cardboard cut-out at home games just pisses me right off.
THE COACHES
Our coach Justin Leppitsch has won three premierships. The scum’s coach Nafan has won stuff all. Nuff said.
THE LIONS
With the less than desirable start to the season, I had two wishes for this season. The first one was to avoid the wooden spoon, which looks to be accomplished (although a win against the scum on the weekend would pretty much confirm that we avoid it). The other was to beat the scum this weekend. Regardless of ladder position a win over the scum is always sweet, but especially considering their finals hopes are on the line, stopping that despicable lot from playing September footy would be even sweeter.
The less said about last week’s game against the Crows, the better. But deep down inside I was thinking that I am glad that it was this week and that we couldn’t possibly be any worst when we play the scum this weekend. With such a young and inexperienced side, three wins in a row was always going to be a big ask let alone four. Hopefully it was the loss we needed to have because I couldn’t think of anything that is worst than putting a similar performance against the scum.
THE VENUE
The MCG: where we beat the scum twice at their own home ground in those Grand Finals all those years ago.
It is obviously not a venue we get to play a lot at these days, however we did play there earlier this year when we played Richmond in Round 16. Pretty dull and forgettable game that was so (never before had I ever wanted to sleep watching my own team), so the less said about that, the better (and I’d rather forget the embarrassment of having Tyrone Vickery kicking four goals against us – the only thing that is more embarrassing than losing by over 100 points at home).
Unfortunately we haven’t won at the MCG since Round 1, 2012, but there would be no better game to break that duck than against the scum.
PREDICTION/CONCLUSION
As long as we beat the scum, I’m happy (although a repeat of the last time we beat the scum at the MCG in Round 19. 2007 would be nice). I couldn’t think of anything worse that making the trip down to see us lose to our most hated team and hearing that theme song after the game, yet besides another premiership I couldn't think of anything better than beating that feral lot in their own ground and seeing the disappointment of their fans and shots on the big screen of Joffa and Eddie being miserable. It has been four long years since we last got to celebrate beating them and that has now been four years too long.
Time – 7.40pm AEST
Venue - MCG
Weather - 16° Partly cloudy
Television – Live across Australia on Fox Footy and also live in Queensland on 7mate
Preview by @____
This is it. This is our biggest and most important game of the season against our biggest rivals at the “home of footy”. Let’s be honest here, when the fixture comes out the very first thing I look for is when and where we play the scum. The very first thing I said to myself when I realised we were playing the scum at the MCG was that I was going to make the trip down for this. The flights down to Melbourne for this weekend have been booked since last year.
OUR OPPONENTS
Let’s be honest with ourselves here, no matter how much the AFL pumps up the so called Q-Clash “rivalry” or how many peptides in the Dons take, there is no team in the AFL that is more despicable in this comp than the Centrelink scum. As much as the AFL tries to pretend the Suns are our biggest rivals, there will be much more Lions fans at the MCG this Saturday than there was in the away Q-Clash at Carrara earlier this year. Yes our large supporter base in Melbourne helps, but every second fellow Lions supporter I know personally and I have talked to are making the trip down for this game and Melbourne CBD will be maroon, blue and gold on Saturday. Let’s face it, how can we adopt the Suns as our most hated rivals when such a despicable team exists in this comp?
There are so many reasons why they are the scum. Firstly, the fact that they have a supporter base that are generally racist, feral, jobless and an incredible bunch of sore losers who still have an extreme case of rectum soreness over 2002 and 2003 (although oddly enough their supporter base on BigFooty generally seem alright). At least Essendon* supporters can acknowledge that we beat them fair and square in 2001. Then there is the fact that there’s quite a lot of them up here and anywhere you go, so you actually have to put up with them (unlike the Suns supporters who are in another city and there are not as many of them yet). There is also the fact that they always have most ridiculous fixture concessions year in and year out (such as endless games at the MCG, always getting "away" games against Geelong at their own ground instead of having to travel to Kardinia Park like everyone else or never getting two trips to Perth) and the most favourable treatment from the AFL, yet they complain about our so called “unfair” academy (even though any team in the AFL could draft players out of our academy) or our “unfair” salary cap during our premiership years (even though we operated under the same salary cap rules as everyone else – if it’s so god damn unfair why didn’t they just get more non-Victorians on their list). And then there’s Eddie, Buckley, Joffa, Judas K and so on. I could go on and on about how much I despise the scum, but it would go on for several pages. The very fact that Foot Locker encourages our fans to pose in front of a black and white striped cardboard cut-out at home games just pisses me right off.
THE COACHES
Our coach Justin Leppitsch has won three premierships. The scum’s coach Nafan has won stuff all. Nuff said.
THE LIONS
With the less than desirable start to the season, I had two wishes for this season. The first one was to avoid the wooden spoon, which looks to be accomplished (although a win against the scum on the weekend would pretty much confirm that we avoid it). The other was to beat the scum this weekend. Regardless of ladder position a win over the scum is always sweet, but especially considering their finals hopes are on the line, stopping that despicable lot from playing September footy would be even sweeter.
The less said about last week’s game against the Crows, the better. But deep down inside I was thinking that I am glad that it was this week and that we couldn’t possibly be any worst when we play the scum this weekend. With such a young and inexperienced side, three wins in a row was always going to be a big ask let alone four. Hopefully it was the loss we needed to have because I couldn’t think of anything that is worst than putting a similar performance against the scum.
THE VENUE
The MCG: where we beat the scum twice at their own home ground in those Grand Finals all those years ago.
It is obviously not a venue we get to play a lot at these days, however we did play there earlier this year when we played Richmond in Round 16. Pretty dull and forgettable game that was so (never before had I ever wanted to sleep watching my own team), so the less said about that, the better (and I’d rather forget the embarrassment of having Tyrone Vickery kicking four goals against us – the only thing that is more embarrassing than losing by over 100 points at home).
Unfortunately we haven’t won at the MCG since Round 1, 2012, but there would be no better game to break that duck than against the scum.
PREDICTION/CONCLUSION
As long as we beat the scum, I’m happy (although a repeat of the last time we beat the scum at the MCG in Round 19. 2007 would be nice). I couldn’t think of anything worse that making the trip down to see us lose to our most hated team and hearing that theme song after the game, yet besides another premiership I couldn't think of anything better than beating that feral lot in their own ground and seeing the disappointment of their fans and shots on the big screen of Joffa and Eddie being miserable. It has been four long years since we last got to celebrate beating them and that has now been four years too long.