• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion

[QUOTE="Solatium, post: 44408788, member: 81700
Second report this season by the same umpire. Coincidence or conspiracy?
Could be a lively tribunal hearing tonight if the Riddell delegate does his job properly.[/QUOTE]
Have seen this first hand umpires actually telling player pre game hope there won't be any issues that's pre empting if I've ever seen it that's individual players

I also have a different take on it and I was bout 5 meters away from it. He was trying to take a body on the way through and didnt connect at all. Riddell were not happy as there was nothing in it.
Young Nolan found not guilty assisted by some open and honest evidence from the Rupo player involved.
Strike out coincidence and confirm conspiracy.
The defence rests your honour.

[QUOTE="Solatium, post: 44408788, member: 81700
Second report this season by the same umpire. Coincidence or conspiracy?
Could be a lively tribunal hearing tonight if the Riddell delegate does his job properly.
Have seen this first hand umpires actually telling player pre game hope there won't be any issues that's pre empting if I've ever seen it that's individual players[/QUOTE]

If blokes are serial offender's then the umpires should be paying closer attention to them. Blokes need to learn that u cant go around belting blokes week after week or season after season and think it is ok.

I would like to be clear and point out that the above is a general comment. I do not know the actual player u guys are referring to and am not saying he is a serial offender. Just speaking generally

What happened to Mongrels post at 1:30 this morning. Must have been deleted. Lol

It was some of Mongrels best work. I was lucky enough to read it. However maybe a good decision to take it down. Lol

Fair outcome from the sounds of it. Few beers coming the rupo players way I would've thought next time they play each other.. If he's been reported twice already then hopefully he pulls his head in and learns from it
Pretty sure Matty Leonard won't need to bring his wallet next time he visits Arnold's Creek!
Once again some open and honest evidence at the tribunal has delivered the best outcome!

There was nothing wrong with what I posted. If defending James Nolan is a crime then I'm glad I deleted it. Perhaps it was because I got sent all your inbox messages with Keston about the wheels falling off at broadford????????

Hey Mongrel, I'm not sure I criticised your post...I have no idea who Nolan is. Actually never heard of the guy before.

Neither have I ever said anything about the wheels falling off at Broadford. It's maybe the opposite..
Good luck....???

Seriously when you sit back away from the club scene and take a good look at some of the crap posted up here it shows the jealousy and childminded attitudes of SOME , this is a footy forum seriously these cant be men posting on here it's not my dicks bigger than yours forum.
Get back to some positive stuff such as how good is it to see wallan and lancefield finding there way and some of the great talent that's hit the rdfl some of the the kids coming through two great finds at broadford (cop pinger valinskis )tell us a bit about them and at Romsey (Jedwab and Patterson ) Lancefield ( Wooster )etc and the great efforts by many volunteers
Has any one got anything positive to say on this site compared to some others it's a joke
Wonder why there is so much bashing by some it's local footy not WAR

Have seen this first hand umpires actually telling player pre game hope there won't be any issues that's pre empting if I've ever seen it that's individual players[/

I would like to be clear and point out that the above is a general comment. I do not know the actual player u guys are referring to and am not saying he is a serial offender. Just speaking generally

Umpires should take the field with no thoughts and adudecate the game and incidents as they happen with no prior thought

why are they playing blokes like Dawson in the ones ? The old saying goes . If u can't stand the heat stay out of the kitchen . Just worry about winning games broadford
Yaya..... You seem to have a BROADFORD fetish. I surmise that this is the case because you constantly bang on about them, their coaching staff and their players.
Do you eat grapes very often young man?
You know the type, they come in special flavours for your type of person. SOUR.
May I suggest that you come out from behind your keyboard and visit Harley Hammond reserve this week, to watch BROADFORD take on your team, ROMSEY. Please, come down and the first beer shall be on me. We can discuss adult things like stats, running patterns, structures, cars, women, world politics, economics..... Sorry??? Oh they are topics out of your realm of intelligence are they.
I apologise.
Still come down anyway, some of our juniors might be running around, you could have a kick, can of coke & maybe, just maybe, they might teach you some respect and manners.
Have a nice day.

How sad is that post. I think broadford are a great club , there just not a good team at the moment. So grow up and get a life.

Keston not once I said I'm from romsey. I live in Melton and are sharing my views . U are a laughing stock in this page

Last edited by a moderator:
Something different aye:
Who can list top performers thus far..
Or rapid improvers...
Or the blokes that can't handle the grog at your club...
Inter league is around the corner, potential line ups?...
My point is I'm tired of reading keyboard warrior bullshit, blokes attacking other clubs etc. Time to move on boys.

Something different aye:
Or rapid improvers...
My point is I'm tired of reading keyboard warrior bullshit, blokes attacking other clubs etc. Time to move on boys.

Here here danger :thumbsu:

Something different aye:
Or rapid improvers...
Agree but it won't happen

Looking forward to our game on Saturday. I don't know when the last time Wallan won 4 in a row, but that's what they'll be gunning for against Lancefield. Should be a very good game with the weather looking like it'll hold up. AM junior going up against his best mate should be fun. Won't be much in it and could go either way. Us by 10

Riddell by 20
Sunbury by 68
Romsey by 6
Macedon by 124
Diggers by 44

Something different aye:
Or rapid improvers...
I will have a crack at changing the subject.

Big improves Lancefield and Wallan. Big game this week winner will be a big chance of finals footy.
I am surprised how well Rupo and sunbury are going, all the talk before the season was they have lost heaps of players, and will struggle this year. However both are going very well. Rupo been very close in all games as have sunbury. Both young sides, wet winter may take toll on young bodies but they r doing better than many expected at this stage.
Broadford the biggest surprise to me at this stage, got a gun coach in, lots of experienced players on their list and they r yet to win a game. To make finals they will need to win 10 out of the next 12. Tough ask with their draw.
Romsey can't see them making it, new committee building for the future.
Riddell always there abouts can never right them off, on the third line of betting behind...
Diggers the ones to beat. (If they don't beat themselves)
And
Macedon keep,winning but not as impressive as I thought they would be.
Woodend and Melton some good performances but lack depth.
Woodend in particular doing the right thing working hard to get locals back to the club which MUST be the way to go.

Something different aye:
Or rapid improvers...

The season so far has been an eye opener for me. I never knew what to expect other than what people had said to me. Thankfully I'm pretty open minded and preferred to make up my own mind.

Firstly, there's no doubt the standard is a bit below what I've seen over the last few years, but there's a very different feel about the venues too. Really enjoyed Rockbank last week and there was a very good vibe despite the footy results not going their way.

I must admit I do not like the short 1/4ers. I know it seems trivial, but for 10 bucks I feel a bit short changed.

After 4 games obviously Wallan has improved, Melton were good and Woodend too for 3 1/4ers of a game, and Rockbank only looked beaten over the last 10 minutes of the game last week.

Interleague? Don't know enough of the players.

Enjoying the season so far and hopefully can meet up with a few posters during the year as our sides meet.

Big improves Lancefield and Wallan. Big game this week winner will be a big chance of finals footy.
I am surprised how well Rupo and sunbury are going, all the talk before the season was they have lost heaps of players, and will struggle this year. However both are going very well. Rupo been very close in all games as have sunbury. Both young sides, wet winter may take toll on young bodies but they r doing better than many expected at this stage.
Broadford the biggest surprise to me at this stage, got a gun coach in, lots of experienced players on their list and they r yet to win a game. To make finals they will need to win 10 out of the next 12. Tough ask with their draw.
Riddell always there abouts can never right them off, on the third line of betting behind...
And
Woodend in particular doing the right thing working hard to get locals back to the club which MUST be the way to go.

I have seen Riddell, Diggers, Sunbury Kangaroos, Lancefield play this season. The best side Romsey have played so far is Sunbury, very easily. Romsey's 2014/2015 senior side in my opinion would give Riddell, Diggers and Lancefield a touch up. They don't appear to have improved to much, same old same old. As I said to a Diggers supporter last week, you must be pleased that Romsey are having a year off, why he replied, It gives Diggers a chance not to be bridesmaids again this year.

?????????????????????
What

And
Nice post. Agree with everyone that there are too many pot shots on here. New accounts turning up just to attack a handful of clubs.

My take on the season so far

Macedon/Diggers- both 4-0 but just going really and just doing enough. Macedon have an excellent draw and have started well and I think have a couple of players to add to the mix. Really need Fitzpatrick up and running and out of injury. Diggers such an even side with good depth and as always will be right up there. Importantly both teams have been sneaking a few kids in too. Toby Sims at Macedon is one to watch.

Sunbury- 3-1 and a surprise packet for mine. Probably should have seen it coming. Well coached and did well to keep most of their players. Solid back 6 with Wallace, Gregory, Leonard and Baumgartner. Importantly they have a nice point of difference to some sides with good leg speed through their small brigade. Not relying on anyone in particular and seem to be buying in. Will be extremely hard to beat at home which makes them almost a top 4 certainty from here. Had they not been stripped of 4 points you could probably mark it down now.

Riddell- 2-2 Hard side to read at this stage. Have blown a couple of sides off the park and been beaten by two of the better sides. Missed Brayden Allen on the weekend who is in their top 2 most important players and the best ruck in the comp. Seemed to recruit heavily this off season bringing in Nelson, Said and Treweek from Sunbury, two former team of the year defenders from Gisborne and a league medalist from Gisborne in the Walsh brothers and Sonogon. Finished top last season so you would expect 2-2 to be disappointing for them but could be 4-0. Did start slowly last year as well though. Have a string of games against lower teams now to get their game together.

Rupo- 2-2 but could be 4-0 with a bit of luck really. Went down in the last few minutes to Sunbury off a 5 day break and were the better side for 3 qtrs against Macedon. Copped some criticism from people including me about their recruiting but Burlak kicked 4 on the weekend and Sullivan has complimented their other mids nicely. Chambers injury free is huge for Rupo as he gives them top end quality. Egan a very underrated full back who will shut down most key forwards.

Broadford- Have been smashed by injuries. Once they hit some of the lower sides will start to string some wins together. Smith, Wearne, Holland, Mihocek, Svarc, Viani, Picione have all missed games so far which is hard to cover. Personally I think they will still make the 6 and are more than capable of beating some sides once they get there. Still building fitness too which is an important factor for them.

Wallan- Recruited fairly heavily and some have been very handy pick ups. Think they probably recruited too many fringe EDFL types who won't cut it against the top 6 teams. Some of them are probably not up to the standard against the better sides. Watch out for Stewart one of the few Craigieburn players they recruited who has the potential to be a top liner. On the improve in general and a chance to sneak into the 6. Will beat most of the bottom sides because they have a genuine key forward in Rexhepi.

Lancefield- Going to be around the 6th-8th position. Have some top line talent in Kent which helps and they have lots of honest triers. Might be the best chance of taking a top team down out of the bottom sides.

The rest are probably making up the numbers in terms of top 6 chances but an important year for some to build and move forward. Centrals and Woodend have definitely improved their lists. Woodend were really impressive on the weekend just didn't really know how to win. Shocking miss by Hepburn could have almost sealed the game. Rebuilding year for Rockbank and Romsey at this stage.

Nice post. Agree with everyone that there are too many pot shots on here. New accounts turning up just to attack a handful of clubs.

My take on the season so far

Macedon/Diggers- both 4-0 but just going really and just doing enough. Macedon have an excellent draw and have started well and I think have a couple of players to add to the mix. Really need Fitzpatrick up and running and out of injury. Diggers such an even side with good depth and as always will be right up there. Importantly both teams have been sneaking a few kids in too. Toby Sims at Macedon is one to watch.

Sunbury- 3-1 and a surprise packet for mine. Probably should have seen it coming. Well coached and did well to keep most of their players. Solid back 6 with Wallace, Gregory, Leonard and Baumgartner. Importantly they have a nice point of difference to some sides with good leg speed through their small brigade. Not relying on anyone in particular and seem to be buying in. Will be extremely hard to beat at home which makes them almost a top 4 certainty from here. Had they not been stripped of 4 points you could probably mark it down now.

Riddell- 2-2 Hard side to read at this stage. Have blown a couple of sides off the park and been beaten by two of the better sides. Missed Brayden Allen on the weekend who is in their top 2 most important players and the best ruck in the comp. Seemed to recruit heavily this off season bringing in Nelson, Said and Treweek from Sunbury, two former team of the year defenders from Gisborne and a league medalist from Gisborne in the Walsh brothers and Sonogon. Finished top last season so you would expect 2-2 to be disappointing for them but could be 4-0. Did start slowly last year as well though. Have a string of games against lower teams now to get their game together.

Rupo- 2-2 but could be 4-0 with a bit of luck really. Went down in the last few minutes to Sunbury off a 5 day break and were the better side for 3 qtrs against Macedon. Copped some criticism from people including me about their recruiting but Burlak kicked 4 on the weekend and Sullivan has complimented their other mids nicely. Chambers injury free is huge for Rupo as he gives them top end quality. Egan a very underrated full back who will shut down most key forwards.

Broadford- Have been smashed by injuries. Once they hit some of the lower sides will start to string some wins together. Smith, Wearne, Holland, Mihocek, Svarc, Viani, Picione have all missed games so far which is hard to cover. Personally I think they will still make the 6 and are more than capable of beating some sides once they get there. Still building fitness too which is an important factor for them.

Wallan- Recruited fairly heavily and some have been very handy pick ups. Think they probably recruited too many fringe EDFL types who won't cut it against the top 6 teams. Some of them are probably not up to the standard against the better sides. Watch out for Stewart one of the few Craigieburn players they recruited who has the potential to be a top liner. On the improve in general and a chance to sneak into the 6. Will beat most of the bottom sides because they have a genuine key forward in Rexhepi.

Lancefield- Going to be around the 6th-8th position. Have some top line talent in Kent which helps and they have lots of honest triers. Might be the best chance of taking a top team down out of the bottom sides.

The rest are probably making up the numbers in terms of top 6 chances but an important year for some to build and move forward. Centrals and Woodend have definitely improved their lists. Woodend were really impressive on the weekend just didn't really know how to win. Shocking miss by Hepburn could have almost sealed the game. Rebuilding year for Rockbank and Romsey at this stage.

Lancefield and Wallan play each other twice and will fight it out for 6th momentum plays a big part and whoever wins this week will have a great start with some tough games ahead.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion