RDFL Season 2015

You are correct . My mail is Leigh Brennan and Mitch gaunt both off to st.albans.
My mail is Rupertswood can expect to roll into 2016 without several key players, a big forward and key midfielder ( may have been joint captains several years ago ? )
a

You are correct . My mail is Leigh Brennan and Mitch gaunt both off to st.albans.

a
Massive loss for our club. Not just for what they bring to the team on the field. The bigger loss is what they bring to our club off the field. They have both been great ambassadors for our club for many years now with their leadership and example they set for the young blokes. They will both be sorely missed. :(:(:(

I was told by a strong source Taylor Hine as well as Sean hethrington were a fair chance to return to rupo.

Pretty sure Hethrington is staying at Willy again. Believe Hine is looking at his options. In this comp he could play as a bigger midfielder or as a key back depending on the match up, but if used off back could be dangerous and really another running mid off half back. It's only been rumoured on here, but do agree 1200 is above market value and in this comp is a lot of coin, But guessing around $800 is close to the mark but you need to use him wisely.. After all he did spend 4-5 years on an AFL list..

Massive loss for our club. Not just for what they bring to the team on the field. The bigger loss is what they bring to our club off the field. They have both been great ambassadors for our club for many years now with their leadership and example they set for the young blokes. They will both be sorely missed. :(:(:(
Any idea what the reasons were for them leaving? From talking to Rupo players over the years the club appears to lack a playing culture among the group. The kind you only get from having a big chunk of senior players that have stuck together for a long time. Brennan and Gaunt seemed to be the exact type of players Rupo need to stay to build that culture. You need the senior players to nurture the young talent. Any truth that Sunbury Lions are aggressively pursuing a few of the Rupo young guns too?

Gisborne as a town needs to spawn a second club. Keep the bulldogs in a strong comp, BFL, EDFL etc and have Gisborne newbies in RDFL. This works in other places, such as Colac, which has a team in the GFL and two teams in the CDFNL.

If Gisborne join as they are, it really takes a lot of incentive away from other teams. Currently any team can be premiers if they put in the hard work over a period of time. If Gisborne join, it will be a matter of whether Gisborne decide to turn up or not in deciding that year's premiers.

Gisborne are miles off the strong club they were in the past. If u are talking strictly about the senior club i don't think it would be a bad idea for them to return to the rdfl. Yes they will be a power club but they would NOT be a walk up start to win the premiership which im sure would make them sick in the stomach. However the reality is the rdfl is rapidly improving and the top rdfl clubs would currently spend double what gisborne spends on players. Id see it as a great start to building towards a 2 division comp

If you were concerned they might be to strong that's what the points system is for. Give them less points if they want to come across..

I was told on the points system they had the lowest total in their comp. Around 35 I have been told.

That's my point mate, cap them at 35 maybe so they can't recruit to many "extra" players to come across a stronger side. How would Gisbourne of 2015 go in the RDFL?? So my point is to cap them at a level they will be competitive with if they did decide to come across to the RDFL. Anyway just my thoughts!!

Cheers

Any idea what the reasons were for them leaving? From talking to Rupo players over the years the club appears to lack a playing culture among the group. The kind you only get from having a big chunk of senior players that have stuck together for a long time. Brennan and Gaunt seemed to be the exact type of players Rupo need to stay to build that culture. You need the senior players to nurture the young talent. Any truth that Sunbury Lions are aggressively pursuing a few of the Rupo young guns too?
Leigh's brother Ben plays for st.albans so wanted to play more footy with him before he finishes up. Both blokes have been super loyal over the years and its a credit to them both.

That's my point mate, cap them at 35 maybe so they can't recruit to many "extra" players to come across a stronger side. How would Gisbourne of 2015 go in the RDFL?? So my point is to cap them at a level they will be competitive with if they did decide to come across to the RDFL. Anyway just my thoughts!!

Cheers
I was told on the points system they had the lowest total in their comp. Around 35 I have been told.
Look at us all embracing the points system one big family :straining::straining::straining::rainbow:

Pretty sure Hethrington is staying at Willy again. Believe Hine is looking at his options. In this comp he could play as a bigger midfielder or as a key back depending on the match up, but if used off back could be dangerous and really another running mid off half back. It's only been rumoured on here, but do agree 1200 is above market value and in this comp is a lot of coin, But guessing around $800 is close to the mark but you need to use him wisely.. After all he did spend 4-5 years on an AFL list..

Hine has signed at Diggers. Done deal!

And more fool him that he can't comprehend the situation for what it is. Had a job on a platter worth more than what his last years AFL contract was worth with the major sponsor and with a long family friend and threw it away to play with Diggers. Nothing against Diggers Rest here at all. Word has it he struggled to understand a 70k job plus 700 a game was not as good an offer compared to the offer of 1200 a week for 16 games weeks. Mind you still had the nerve to ask for the job even though he was committing to Diggers. Go work that one out lads

Does he already have a job? If so there's the issue I guess. Big difference between 700 and 1200. If true 1200 is a lot of coin. How many players in the RDFL would be on more than 1000. I would assume not many surely.
I'm an advocate for players asking for money "but" try and keep close to your market value, as by asking for big dollars it leads to big expectations which you need to play to, as well as being "fully" committed and helping out where needed..

Leigh's brother Ben plays for st.albans so wanted to play more footy with him before he finishes up. Both blokes have been super loyal over the years and its a credit to them both.
Bitter pill for Rupo to swallow having so many ex Rupo players only 15 minutes away in Stalbans. Credit to Stalbans for creating a culture that's attractive to them really. They changed coach in the off season with Marcus Barclay moving on. If they were ever going to come back in their prime you would think this was the year.

Agree with this Mongrel. They would not be a walk up start at this stage but if they pulled their finger out they would soon become difficult to beat.

You a fan of the two division comp? Coming from comps where promotion relegation has always been in I don't like it. Too often clubs lose all their players when they go up a division. Hard for players, volunteers and sponsors. Not always the case but does happen alot.

Bitter pill for Rupo to swallow having so many ex Rupo players only 15 minutes away in Stalbans. Credit to Stalbans for creating a culture that's attractive to them really. They changed coach in the off season with Marcus Barclay moving on. If they were ever going to come back in their prime you would think this was the year.
I wouldn't suggest it's the St Albans culture that they are going for. Rupo will never get close to the money St Albans can offer but yes a very bitter pill to swallow. I for one am devastated.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Does he already have a job? If so there's the issue I guess. Big difference between 700 and 1200. If true 1200 is a lot of coin. How many players in the RDFL would be on more than 1000. I would assume not many surely.
I'm an advocate for players asking for money "but" try and keep close to your market value, as by asking for big dollars it leads to big expectations which you need to play to, as well as being "fully" committed and helping out where needed..
If you believe what you're told there is lots on more than 1200. That's probably the reason you don't believe anything posted on bigfooty. It's all gossip.

Guess they may as well grab the $$$$ now as the winds are about to change from 2017 season and points kicking in as for are there players on over 1 k a game I'm sure there is and also sure there are many over 700 mark is it warranted I reckon 25. % yes 75 % no way feel for the local product who are always shafted and probably last paid

What's going to change? Yes the point system will be a concern for some of the top clubs BUT a salary cap will never work! The Amo's have never paid players $$$ have they? & if you offer a player 20k under the table, your not going to say anything & the player is definitely not going to say anything! It has never worked. I rang a player last year with the intensions of recruiting him, he had been paid $14k up front and that was in the Amo's. The best run clubs will be successful & nothing will change going forward. Players are always going to leave clubs for more $$, that's footy! playing for the jumper is very rare these days & they are the heart & soul of the team.

Spot on Slyone. I get sick of hearing about we have to go backward to when everyone played for the club and got paid less and player movement was not as rampant. Well guess what, the clubs are just as much to blame as the players. Someone has to demand it, and someone has to agree to pay it, supply and demand. A club must determine what it stands for and then go with it. Anyway point is that era is gone, the 60's were diff to the 70's. were diff to the 80's were diff to the 90's which are diff to now, player motivations and more importantly lives have changed. 15 years ago there were not as many guys having to work weekends, not as many guys in as much debt as they are now so the money and more importantly time to play football became an issue and consideration for guys as to where they would play. 15 years ago players believed to play in the Ballarat or Bendigo Leagues was an achievement, they know better now, as Mongrel said, half the teams in the RDFL are actually better teams and better clubs than those in the Ballarat and Bendigo so guys choose to play at these clubs. Players have become much smarter and with all this made life tougher for clubs to compete with each other. Forget points, forget salary caps which is a joke, they have been introduced before, the fact is AFL VIC want the good players out of the district comps and in the major leagues and will do anything they can to manipulate that way. The RDFL found its point of difference over the last decade, so did the central highlands, and guess what, it got too big, too successful, it became too embarrassing that all the players wanted to play there, that all the crowds wanted to watch there, so here come the rules and regs to angle it back again, it is now up to the RDFL clubs to find another way, another system that in the future stands the test of time and ensures the sustainability of the league. I guarantee you it won't be with the same clubs that are in it today!

Great post.

The way it's been designed will really test our league. Every competition in our area has been designated a premier competition except ours. They have higher points and higher salary caps plus they don't cop the added point if they recruit from our league. I dare say that's why Stalbans snapped up the Rupo boys.

This can only lead to the standard of this comp declining. Either the powers that be are completely out of touch with footy in the area or its a deliberate attempt to shift the balance of power back towards those big town clubs. Darley aside there is no doubt a few of the top RDFL clubs had gone past the other traditional former RDFL powers in recent years. Gisborne, Sunbury, both Melton teams had fallen behind and maybe this is an attempt to balance it back the other way.

It looks like I wrote all that information below my original post. But I didn't. That was Innovativefwd.

And as previously stated, don't always believe what you hear or read on these threads. That said, what I have heard is that he was already working for the company before he decided to come back and play local footy. So the job wasn't offered to him as a part of a deal.

Deals like this can be quiet tricky for clubs but more for the player who might be looking to establish a career in said profession. It's always a fine line. What happens if the player is not a good fit for the club but a great worker for the company. Are they let go because they no longer play for that club. Should football ability have anything to do with workplace skills. Unfortunately this trend seems to fall the way of football ability of workplace skills.

What's going to change? Yes the point system will be a concern for some of the top clubs BUT a salary cap will never work! The Amo's have never paid players $$$ have they? & if you offer a player 20k under the table, your not going to say anything & the player is definitely not going to say anything! It has never worked. I rang a player last year with the intensions of recruiting him, he had been paid $14k up front and that was in the Amo's. The best run clubs will be successful & nothing will change going forward. Players are always going to leave clubs for more $$, that's footy! playing for the jumper is very rare these days & they are the heart & soul of the team.
Understand your point
but if you have looked deeply into this and why the ato are heavily involved be aware at who's at your club who signs and dispensation given to those that shreak if screwed over by clubs from what's been said afl vic and ato won't be made the fool out of this ...
Think clubs should communicate with those that run leagues and get the correct feed back or they may end up with more than egg on there face..
Remember clubs are not for profit and those at the top are liable
Also players contracts from what was sent out of read correctly have to go through the league I stand corrected ....