• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2007

corno, i believe is a man of his word and he has told me he will be at kilmore next year. and thats good enough for me, he enjoys playing at kilmore and enjoys drinkin with the fellas even more.

TBR MN or any one else. Did the "press release" come out on Sunbury. Speaking to people at the game and they were saying it was still just rumour. People seem to think the rumour is very strong however nobody else has confirmed that it is a done deal.

corno, i believe is a man of his word and he has told me he will be at kilmore next year. and thats good enough for me, he enjoys playing at kilmore and enjoys drinkin with the fellas even more.

I agree, I think it will be hard to get him back at wallan, if we stay in the NFL next year there will be no chance off him coming back if we make the move to the RDFL, I have no doubt we will be doing everything for him to come back.

hi matt i think you are spot on although i do think that they are still a very dangerous side think it will be a ripper when they play the roos. what do you think of the roos list cause you have some good insight and i just dont think they get the credit they deserve give a one to ten and i think that you will find that they can match it with anyone. go roos

I dont know about that, i reckon there is a chance he will return next yr though he seems to be playing some real good footy with the blues

matt nicholls may be able to answer this, has the league or the president approached wallan to come back and if not do u think he will approach our club in the near future?

I think you will find that AFL Victoria will not allow leagues to approach clubs to enter their competition. It may not be a policy but would be frowned apon.
Once a club approaches the league, the league will then have the right to sell itself. but, then you do still have the other issues, members votes, league transfer, AFL victoria appeals, etc. But i believe with Wallan originally being a RDFL club, they would be allowed the transfer IMO.

TBR MN or any one else. Did the "press release" come out on Sunbury. Speaking to people at the game and they were saying it was still just rumour. People seem to think the rumour is very strong however nobody else has confirmed that it is a done deal.

As Posted on Ballarat thread last week.

Sunbury steps closer to move

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

As Posted on Ballarat thread last week.

Sunbury steps closer to move

THE SUNBURY Lions Football Club has moved one step closer to leaving the RegionalOne Ballarat Football League.
Sunbury president Greg Allen confirmed the club would have formal discussions with the Essendon and District Football League about possibly joining the suburban league, after the EDFL agreed on Monday to meet with the
club on a yet to be determined date.
But Allen insisted a possible shift to the EDFL was just one item being considered by Sunbury's future directions committee that was established in 2005, and leaving the BFL was no certainty to happen.
"In 2005 the club established the future directions committee to discuss the club's future, and as part of that review we needed to have discussions with the Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club, the Ballarat Football League and
the EDFL. We had to make an application in order to have formal discussions with the EDFL and we've done that," he said.
Allen, who is also a member of the five-man future directions committee, said the meeting was primarily to provide the club's members with the information to help make a decision about its future.
He said that once the information was obtained the issue would go to a vote of the membership at 2007 annual general meeting.
"From day one the BFL has been aware of this and aware of the existence of the committee," Allen said.
"I won't hide from the fact that the amount of travel is an extremely difficult thing for the club. But we have a situation where the EDFL wants new clubs to enter through B-Grade whereas the Sunbury Football Club has a strong
preference to enter through A-Grade."
The Sunbury Lions Junior Football Club is currently in the Riddell District Junior Football League. If Sunbury joined the EDFL, its junior affiliate would also join, allowing the two to be in the same competition for the first
time since 1997. Allen said Sunbury would meet with the junior football club on July 24 to discuss closer ties and a possible move to the EDFL.
But Ballarat Football League chairman David Smith said he was confident Sunbury would see the sense in staying with the BFL.
"It is a bit early to talk about the future of the Ballarat Football League without Sunbury," he said. "I'm quite convinced the Sunbury Football Club will realise they are in a good position being in the league."

yeah thanks mate but had already seen that and as it says they would meet yesterday and wondering if we had heard how that went. It seems TBR has some close contacts and I thought either he or our resident journo could enlighten us as to the outcome of the meeting.

I dont know about that, i reckon there is a chance he will return next yr though he seems to be playing some real good footy with the blues

matt nicholls may be able to answer this, has the league or the president approached wallan to come back and if not do u think he will approach our club in the near future?

As we near August lads it's getting mighty late to be initiating talks. If this was to happen for 2008 one woulda thought steps would been put in place some time ago by the WFC as I dont think it would be good form for the RDFL to make first contact outa respect to the NFL.

Seasons Greetings folks, Mike is back after a short layoff and here with all of your RDFL inside news.

News out of a strong source, just as Mike predicted, it is believed that my friends at Melton and Melton South are more than interested in a possible return to a 2 division RDFL. Even preparing for talks to be held with the RDFL about a move. Would a move such as this pave the way for Darley and Bacchus Marsh to join them? Where has the Sunbury move the the EDFL gone since its announcement? I believe that Sunbury may be looking at the possibility of a return, and will also be looking at other strong clubs in the area that may have moved on to return with them. Could we still see the "RDFL Super League" come 2009???

Some interesting opportunities coming up for the RDFL and its existing clubs. The sky is the limit if this could possibly be pushed through.

ROUND 14

ROCKBANK VS ROMSEY

no nonsence required here.romsey just travelling beautifully at the minute.
although rocbank will give 100 percent,romsey will give their bums a good old uncles smacking.burlak will kick 12.RESULT ROMSEY 120points

LANCEFIELD VS MACEDON

a galent macedon will give the tigers a tough challenge early.but only early.a rapidly improving tiger outfit will dismantle the cats after half time.
the collins vs christianson match up will be worth the admission alone
RESULT TIGERS 38points

CENTRALS VS RIDDELL

expect centrals to play 10 men behind the play to negate the powerfull bomber brigade.in what will be a very physical encounter,the experience of riddell will be far too much for centrals(and class)beleville vs wheelahan will be the match up of the day.RESULT RIDDELL 58points

KANGAROOS VS KILMORE

a must win game for the blues to keep in check with september action.
although with the kangas nearly at full strength i think this might be just beyond the blues.the kangas should be too strong at home.
the m.mcinerney vs m.robertson match up will be the highlight.
RESULT KANGAS 30points

DIGGERS VS WOODEND

the burras are steaming towards finals in recent weeks.this will be the real
test to see exactly how well they are actually travelling.for the burras to win they must restrict the flow to the hawk forwards.in a shootout the hawks will win easy.if the burra shuts down the hawks midfield they are in with a huge chance.d.sipthorpe vs s.simms is the most anticipated match up here. RESULT HAWKS 18points

uncle out

I have two close source's in regards to the Sunbury Lions matter!

First of all, one being the main sponsor of the EDFL and the EDFL umpires association! They have been made aware and told what the developments for their league are in 2008 and what changes are taking place!

The other is an organisation, that Sunbury are trying to connect links to in able to help fund there entry into the EDFL B grade, and also help purchase some players......

There are several high authority people who have children playing in the juniors at the Lions! Consisting of pollies and councel reps, they're vote is at the minute stronger than the the minority! However in saying that, they're will be further developments into their junior program!

PRESS RELEASE FROM THE LIONS

A joint meeting of representatives from the Sunbury Football Club (SFC) and the Sunbury Junior Football Club (SJFC) was held on Tuesday 24th July 2007 to discuss future affiliations between our two clubs.

It was agreed by both clubs that the progression of junior players through to senior ranks was a concern and both parties expressed a desire to establish a junior pathways programme in order to develop future senior players from within the local junior community. As part of this programme the affiliation of the two clubs is considered paramount and the SFC presented possible options for future affiliations of both bodies with the Ballarat Football League (BFL) or alternatively with the Essendon District Football League (EDFL).

The SJFC, whilst not dismissive of these options, also tabled the possible option of the SFC returning to the Riddell District Football League (RDFL). Whilst the SJFC will carefully consider the options presented by the SFC the SJFC noted that their relationship with the RDFL was quite strong and suggested that the SFC should approach the RDFL to investigate any future plans that may accommodate not only the individual requirements of each club but also the primary desire of each club to form an affiliation in support of the future pathways programme.

It was agreed at this meeting that the SFC will approach the RDFL to discuss any possible opportunities that may exist to accoomodate the future requirements of the two clubs and the leagues capability to support the future pathways direction for both clubs.

This decision does not impact on the current discussions with the EDFL and BFL and has been undertaken in order to provide the members of both clubs with clear and concise information in relation to the options available and assist them in the final decision making process.

All correspondence in relation to this matter should be directed to Greg Allen, Presdient SFC or John Hansen, President SJFC.

With so many games of interest..

Melton Central Vs Riddell
Centrals performance against top sides so far this year has been strong, yet performances against lower ranked sides has been disappointing. This week Centrals will look to push the one top ranked side that has given them a spanking this year. At Maccy Park, will Centrals use the tactic that has served them so well so far this year by pushing numbers behind the ball. Only time will tell.
The Bombers are still just travelling along beautifully. Taking out all comers with efficient ease, they still have Mick Allen to return to the lineup and are looking the goods at this stage of the year. The Bombers will find the tight spaces of Maccy Park a little tougher than earlier in the year but should still comfortably win this one.
Riddell by 55pts

Rockbank Vs Romsey
The Rams are still working hard to set themselves up for next year and beyond. With the youngsters like Krul, Welfare and Dylan Nicholson to build around things are looking up for the Rams. I was extremely impressed with young Nicholson last week, looks a likely type, gets plenty of the ball and uses it well. Just another ray of hope in this young Rams outfit.
Romsey are starting to wind up their year. Burlak has hit form, Dawson is finding plenty of it in the middle, while Matty McClellan has dominated recently. The Redbacks will be too strong but the Rams will give them a game early.
Romsey by 74pts

Lancefield Vs Macedon FC
The Tigers have dropped off the radar a bit since their draw with Kilmore and will look to put a win on the board this week. They need their big guns to fire though if they are to reverse the result of early this year. Conway, Choate and Collins all need to have an impact.
The Cats have once again been hit hard by injuries, but out of it all Aaron Christianson has stood up again, the Cats captain has again given all of the Macedon supporters something to cheer about, as has young forward Al Collins. This should be a tight, hard fought game.
Lancefield by 28pts

Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Kilmore
The Roos will celebrate their past players day this weekend and will hope to celebrate in style, while the Roos form has been patchy over recent weeks, players returning to the lineup will ensure a strengthened side taking on Kilmore.
The Blues will be desperate for a win. Last weeks loss to the Burra has put them well and truly behind the 8 ball for the finals and only a win here will suffice. The Blues will be looking to get plenty from skipper Matt Robertson as well as gun forward Cornish if they are going to be a chance here.
Roos to win

Match of the Round
Diggers Rest Vs Woodend/Hesket
The Burra are hitting their straps at the right time and have now put themselves in a strong position in the race for 5th spot. A great win against Kilmore at Kilmore last week will have the confidence up going in against the Hawks. Last time around the Burra were in front in the last quarter before a late Hawk spurt had them beaten. They will be looking to almost guarantee themselves a spot with a win here.
The Hawks have been in good form themselves, last week they had a comfortable win over Centrals even though the game had to be moved due to ground condition. Daniel Sipthorp has started to hit form and with Rick Dowling in super form and Luke Barker kicking 5 last week and finding his feet the Burra are in for a tough time to stop the Hawk juggernaut.
Woodend/Hesket by 32pts

PRESS RELEASE FROM THE LIONS

A joint meeting of representatives from the Sunbury Football Club (SFC) and the Sunbury Junior Football Club (SJFC) was held on Tuesday 24th July 2007 to discuss future affiliations between our two clubs.

It was agreed by both clubs that the progression of junior players through to senior ranks was a concern and both parties expressed a desire to establish a junior pathways programme in order to develop future senior players from within the local junior community. As part of this programme the affiliation of the two clubs is considered paramount and the SFC presented possible options for future affiliations of both bodies with the Ballarat Football League (BFL) or alternatively with the Essendon District Football League (EDFL).

The SJFC, whilst not dismissive of these options, also tabled the possible option of the SFC returning to the Riddell District Football League (RDFL). Whilst the SJFC will carefully consider the options presented by the SFC the SJFC noted that their relationship with the RDFL was quite strong and suggested that the SFC should approach the RDFL to investigate any future plans that may accommodate not only the individual requirements of each club but also the primary desire of each club to form an affiliation in support of the future pathways programme.

It was agreed at this meeting that the SFC will approach the RDFL to discuss any possible opportunities that may exist to accoomodate the future requirements of the two clubs and the leagues capability to support the future pathways direction for both clubs.

This decision does not impact on the current discussions with the EDFL and BFL and has been undertaken in order to provide the members of both clubs with clear and concise information in relation to the options available and assist them in the final decision making process.

All correspondence in relation to this matter should be directed to Greg Allen, Presdient SFC or John Hansen, President SJFC.

And you heard it first from one Mike Lyon. :cool:

I'm confident I can break this whole two-division idea out in the open. Get people talking.

Been working on it for a few weeks now, the Sunbury Lions only made it more interesting!

What the?? Mike suggested it 2 weeks ago, which got people talking????

So what your talking about Mike is the following??

Sunbury Lions
Melton
Melton South
Bacchus Marsh

All returning to the league and going into a division one, that would likely include

Riddell
Woodend/Hesket

Then hope other clubs such as

Gisbourne
Kyneton
Wallan

Join as division 1 sides.

Leaving

Sunbury Kangaroos
Romsey
Lancefield
Kilmore
Diggers Rest
Melton Centrals
Rockbank
Macedon FC

In 2nd division and hope that sides such as

Trentham
Gladstone Park

Rejoin making a 10 team division 2 and a 9 team division 1???

Unlce Touchy has put in his tips, IMS also. Harry's been very quiet this week, just soaking it all in. It seems a lot has gone on with all of the Kilmore / Wallan Robbo talk, Sunbury Lions movements etc... Please give Harry a chance to sit, reflect and transcribe this weeks "Harry's Happenings". ETA 30 mins....
Stay Tuned:thumbsu:

Your thoughts are similar to mine IMS, but I'm going to keep a low profile on BigFooty about this until I have finished my work and it is published. I have been speaking to clubs about this for much of the year, and now just putting it into words and getting it into the public arena.

Um... Thats almost like going to the races and spruiking "I was gonna back that" after a horse has won... :D