RDFL Thread 2007

No doubt Romsey will be trying to lure former guns back to the side and retain this year's playing list. If I were the recruiting manager down there I would be trying to get three players: a quick midfielder, an in-and-under midfielder, and another goalkicker ().
smaller forward though

I reckon Dave Cornish would go pretty damn well in Romseys forward line next season !

smaller forward though[/font]

I reckon Dave Cornish would go pretty damn well in Romseys forward line next season !
hey mate i see you have a wanna be fan i wonder who that might be. how is the young fella after mongrel gave him a litte tap on the nuts last week.?:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Congratulations to Woodend in the seniors, Riddell in the reserves and Romsey in the under 18s. 3 good wins today to see them all go into next weeks grand final.
Well done to Woodend, played a great game of football today plenty of run and want, got them through today. Good Luck next week fellas.

Congratulations to Woodend in the seniors, Riddell in the reserves and Romsey in the under 18s. 3 good wins today to see them all go into next weeks grand final.
Well done to Woodend, played a great game of football today plenty of run and want, got them through today. Good Luck next week fellas.

Thanks Blues, once again another great game between these two clubs. Sunbury is to be congratulated on another great season, and will no doubt be in the mix again next year. Hopefully we'll get the support of Sunbury and other clubs when we take on Riddell next week!

Yer well done yesterday woody, your boys did really well to turn things around, how did Ng pull up after he bumped into that elbow ?

Good days footy yesterday.After watching 1st Qtr I thought that Woodend may struggle as Roos were very quick.Darko did a good job early.
Half way thru 3rd qtr u would have thought that Roos were full of running .They lapsed 4 5mins to allow Hawks the 4gl lead.Good year 4 Roos ,still not finished.
If Cuffe plays next year he could nearly win medal again.
What about Hawk Ressies 1Loss all year massive percentage ,out in straight sets.
As 4 the u/18s game Burras started Brilliantly ,Redbacks came back hard in second half.Good to see both sides shake hands after game.C u all nxt week.

Great day of footy yesterday. Well done to MFC on a well ran day. 3 good games of football. Romsey u/18's looked gone until the pendulum swung and they ran over top of Diggers. Riddell 2's were impressive and i think that will be a cracker of a GF. Woodend 1's equally as impressive (thanks for the $2.80 Matt) and i reckon they just might run a fresh riddell off their legs (1 match in 4 weeks not always ideal) whereas woodend have played 3 tough games in same time.
I thought Sippy was the difference all day, every time Sunbury mounted a challenge he seemed to be involved in another woodend goal. Surpised the roos didnt put 20 or 6 onto him earlier as he was far too good for Helmers & Niki in the forward line. 20 was brilliant all day, comprehensively beat Digger and might have been the answer to sippy.
2 Mcinerneys won plenty of the ball again but despite a period in the 3rd quarter they didnt really hurt the hawks like they normally would.
I thought Cuffey would have had a greater impact on the game but it wasnt until the last quarter he demonstrated how good he still is with a heap of marks and inside 50 entrys.
Felt sorry for Bonnici, he was tagged brilliantly by Johnno most of the day (on ball) then Tacca did a number on him up forward.
Finally, i was very impressed by Salpietro again. Showed some real touches of magic and in last quarter went into midfield and won some really important possessions.
Great game though, played in good spirit and dare i say it i thought the umpiring was actually quite good.

A few people jumped on the Hawkas at $2.80 so well done and the money will reach you shortly.

Congrats to Woodend-Hesket and Sunbury Kangaroos on stellar seasons, but I'm afraid the preliminary final was basically the grand finale for both sides in my opinion. Although the Hawks are the only side to have beaten Riddell this year, they will not seriously challenge the Bombers next Sunday unless something goes horribly wrong down at Riddells Creek.

These were the game notes I took through the game (apologies for any innacuracies and my abbreviations).

FIRST QTR

First score SK spilt behind.
Guy Donovan WH first goal.
Steve Boyd quick reply.
Darko goal from FK.
Darko goal from FK - WH 12pt lead.
Nick Hannett goal - WH 18pt lead.
Sipthorp, mark, goal - Hawks by 24pts.
Dummy snap goal - WH by 18pts.
Steve James soccer goal from down field FK - WH by 12pts.

Giddings told his players to run the ball, pressure the SK ball carriers, stop Bonnici and take their chances.

SECOND QTR

Leigh McInerney to Ploog, great hit and mark, Bloog shot drops short, James takes terrific mark and goals. WH - by 5pts.
Dummy freak aerial snap gaol out of air - Scores level.
Sipthorp goal - WH by 5pts.
Pete Manser goal - Hawks by 11 points.
Goal kicked by unknown player but siren had actually gone before kick - Hawks up by 17 points at half time.

Sunbury Kangaroos dominated the quarter for no result. Bonnici extremely quiet and getting well beaten by Johnstone and the WH midfield. McInerney's on song.

THIRD QTR

Dummy snags goal - WH up by 12 pts.
Mark McInerney goals - WH up by 6pts.
Brendan Fennell goals - Hawks up by 12pts.
Steve James goals - SK down by 6pts.
Dummy scores goal - Scores level.
Adam Johnstone kicks a captains goal - Hawks take 6pt lead.
Salpietro goals - Hawks by 12pts.
Smart pass from Salpy to step dad Darko who goals - WH by 18pts.
Podbury misses crucial goal but takes WH to a handy 19pt lead.
Ball on WH's HFflank, Sippy gets soft 50 metre penalty from SK bloke not throwing ball back correctly. No need to call it and Sippy goals with ease to put Hawks up by 25pts on the siren.

Dixon asks his players if they have the hunger for a grand final. Pleaded for discipline and told his players to earn, fight and work for the victory.

FINAL QTR

SK look to be a chance when Ploog takes strong mark and delivers precisely to James who goals - Hawks by 19pts.
Ciunik misses to give Hawks 20pt lead.
Salpy misses - Hawks by 21pts.
Cuffe scores a point - WH up by 20pts.
Nick Hannett goals - Hawks by 26 pts (GAME OVER).
Bonnici kicks a poster - Hawks by 25 pts.
SIREN a couple of minutes later.

Jubilation by the Hawks supporters. End of the road for Sunbury Kangaroos.

MY COMMENTS

Woodend were set up by three players. Daniel Sipthorp was best on ground for mine. He was there when the Hawks needed someone and used the ball expertly. Ciunik's class went a long way and Salpietro's second half was amazing. Guy Donovan was brilliant in the midfield and Fennell was also exceptional. While losing most of the hitouts Jimmy Forrest was excellent in the ruck.

Sunbury Kangaroos were propelled by skipper Niki (Dummy) and the McInerney brothers. Both James and Cuffe were good, especially in the air, but didn't dominate as much as they perhaps could of. Matt Welsh was superb. Ellis did a terrific job on Barker, who IMO is not a big game player.

Bonnici and Barker were Sunbury Kangaroos' and Woodend-Hesket's worst players respectively.

All in all a good game and well done to Romsey's Under 18s and Riddells' reserves. Congrats to Mongrel on a stellar career and good luck in your coaching aspirations. Condolances to Dixon and his crew at Sunbury. Another improved year and not far off the mark.

Prospective odds for this week's grand finals. Full details at www.centralsport.org

PREMIERSHIP
Seniors: Riddell $1.25 v Woodend-Hesket $2.60 (DRAW $15)
Reserves: Sunbury Kangaroos $1.20 v Riddell $2.90 (DRAW $15)
Under 18: Woodend-Hesket $1.25 v Romsey $2.60 (DRAW $15)
FIRST GOAL KICKED - SENIORS
Mick Allen $4.00
Heath Wadden $5.50
Leigh Harrison $5.50
James Petran $7.00
Dean Besanko $7.00
Nathan Allen $10
Aaron Blade $10
Any unlisted Riddell player $5.00
Darko Dabrovsak $5.00
Daniel Sipthorp $6.00
Daniel Salpietro $6.50
Paul Podbury $7.00
Luke Barker $7.00
Dale Ciunik $8.50
Sam Bowen $10
Any unlisted Woodend-Hesket player $5.00
BEST ON GROUND MEDAL - SENIORS
Justin Belleville $5.00
Jason Allen $5.50
Mick Allen $6.50
Aaron Blade $6.50
Nathan Allen $7.00
Dean Besanko $9.50
Leigh Coles $10
Any unlisted Riddell player $5.00
Daniel Sipthorp $5.00
Dale Ciunik $5.50
Adam Johnstone $6.00
Daniel Salpietro $6.50
Paul Podbury $7.50
Brendan Fennell $9.00
Guy Donovan $10
Any unlisted Woodend-Hesket player $5.00
FIRST SCORE - SENIORS
Riddell goal $3.00
Riddell behind $2.50
Woodend-Hesket goal $3.50
Woodend-Hesket behind $3.00
QUARTER BY QUARTER - SENIORS
Rid/Rid/Rid/Rid $2.50
WH/Rid/Rid/Rid $3.00
WH/WH/Rid/Rid $4.50
WH/WH/WH/Rid $8.50
WH/WH/WH/WH $7.50
Rid/Rid/Rid/WH $15.00
Rid/Rid/WH/WH $12.00
Rid/WH/WH/WH $10.00
Rid/WH/Rid/WH $8.50
Rid/WH/WH/Rid $7.50
Rid/WH/Rid/Rid $7.00
WH/Rid/WH/Rid $10.00
WH/Rid/Rid/WH $15.00
Any unlisted combination $5.50
MARGIN BETTING - SENIORS
Riddell to win by 0-5 points $6.00
Riddell to win by 6-10 points $6.00
Riddell to win by 11-15 points $6.00
Riddell to win by 16-20 points $5.50
Riddell to win by 21-25 points $5.50
Riddell to win by 26-30 points $5.50
Riddell to win by 31-35 points $4.50
Riddell to win by 35-40 points $4.50
Riddell to win by 41 points or over $3.50
WH to win by 0-5 points $6.50
WH to win by 6-10 points $6.50
WH to win by 11-15 points $7.50
WH to win by 16-20 points $8.50
WH to win by 21-25 points $8.50
WH to win by 26-30 points $12.50
WH to win by 35-40 points $15.00
WH to win by 41 points or over $31

A few people jumped on the Hawkas at $2.80 so well done and the money will reach you shortly.

Matty i feel sorry for those that wanted to shout the bar after their win, i guess they'll have to just wait for it. or was it a big collect and you had to do a runner due to not having the funds on you.

Get a hold of yourself matt you could be in for a big loss. Offering $2.90 for riddell 2s and $1.20 for the roos. Dont under estimate the bombers there, we saw what happened last year when people dont rate the side that finished 5th.

Sorry mate but I had to fly as soon as the siren went. Also, no ATM at Tony Clarke Reserve. Had to be in Dandenong by 6.30pm. Don't worry, I pay all bets, no one should have anything bad to say about my system thus far. Only three of 11 punters were there on the day also. Most either get direct debit, rebet with their credit or take cash the following weekend.

As for Riddell's reserves, I rate them don't worry about that. It's just Sunbury Kangaroos were so awesome the week before I just can't see them losing. Even though I think they lose a couple of players from that side.

Bonnici and Barker were Sunbury Kangaroos' and Woodend-Hesket's worst players respectively.

Sometimes you fair dinkum have no idea Nicholls...

Thanks IMS. I reckon he would have got around eight or nine possies for the day. Missed a goal and never looked like getting on top in the midfield. Perhaps I missed some brilliance, but can any non-Sunbury/Woodend people provide their views? I thought he was woeful in a big game that required him to step up.

Two undisciplined incidents from the Kangaroos cost them dearly.
With about 20 seconds left in the 2nd quater Kangaroos player gives away a silly free kick when they had the ball, Woodend take it down and goal right on the siren.

Again with about 20 seconds left in the 3rd quater Woodend get a free kick and the Kangaroos player drops the ball, giving away a 50m penalty, and Woodend goal on the siren again.

A 4 goal margin at 3/4 time could so easily have been 2 goals.

Thanks IMS. I reckon he would have got around eight or nine possies for the day. Missed a goal and never looked like getting on top in the midfield. Perhaps I missed some brilliance, but can any non-Sunbury/Woodend people provide their views? I thought he was woeful in a big game that required him to step up.

I think that your views that are required for a big game are woeful.. There were several who were worse than Bonnici.. His influence was nullified, I have no debate there, but to say he was worst on ground is a tall poppy comment, maybe you should look past the end of your nose when watching games of football, then you may get some respect for your comments.... :thumbsdown::mad:

i'm sorry but I have to agree with nicholls on this one. bonnici was terrible all game, got plenty of physical attention mind you, but didn't really fire a shot. perhaps he should have been thrown into the forward line for a quarter as i believe he has played a fair bit of footy as a forward pocket.

There were plenty of players that didn't contribute their best on Saturday IMS, but most of the players you would expect to do something at least did something. Barker and Bonnici were the only two key players to not contribute on the day. As for bagging my comments, I can cop that. But when my opinions are parallel to many spectators, two opposition coaches and at two Sunbury Kangaroos players I think I'm not too far off the mark.

congratulations to woodend.a well deserved victory

Well done to the Roos as well, heading in the right direction over the last couple of years good to see. Yuor supporters are very passionate i'll say that.The twos should have a fair side now or going with the dsde that won by 10goals in the semi are many eligible.How did the old body pull up, the game was fairly quick, going around again or maybe coaching or assisting next year old fella??

extremely disappointed with the result ballsy.and yes it was a quick game.but im reasonably happy with my game,but devastated we fell short.
full credit to the hawks.should be an entertaining grand final

extremely disappointed with the result ballsy.and yes it was a quick game.but im reasonably happy with my game,but devastated we fell short.
full credit to the hawks.should be an entertaining grand final

Do you reckon you have another year in you or not ? Body holding up

Not many senior players qualify this year, i think it will be a very good and fair reserves game.