RDFL Thread 2008

Interesting round again. Diggers with an excellent win which puts them back into the mix and jose leading the way. Rockbank winless but are the definate improvers only going down by smaller margins this year. i take my hat off to riddell as they are just an awesome outfit after looking like they won comfortably again. One thing from that game is apparently lancefield had tags going on everywhere. This does and has proven not to be an answer for anybody. Collins is doing a great job but they need to win the footy first and then they don't need to worry about tags full stop.

Mick Lacy and Ryan Connellan - as ruck/forwards, Lacy and Connellan are the best in the competition at getting the job done on a weekly basis. They give their sides confidence to kick to a contested area because they know these two blokes have terrific dukes and can kick the ball a mile. Although Connellan is more of a "thump" ruckman, the Redbacks still win a lot of clearances through his good work. The Hawks look a much better team with Lacy in it, and if Matt Stacey ever returns, I think they'll be a genuine threat to the Bombers.

Surely now you can add J. Jose's name to this little duet when referring to dominant ruckman. The start to the season he has had id be very interetsed to know his odds for the medal. As i never back odds on favourites like james /Young from Riddell , Robertson from Kilmore or IMS From the kangaroos.

Mick Lacy and Ryan Connellan - as ruck/forwards, Lacy and Connellan are the best in the competition at getting the job done on a weekly basis. They give their sides confidence to kick to a contested area because they know these two blokes have terrific dukes and can kick the ball a mile. Although Connellan is more of a "thump" ruckman, the Redbacks still win a lot of clearances through his good work. The Hawks look a much better team with Lacy in it, and if Matt Stacey ever returns, I think they'll be a genuine threat to the Bombers.

Surely now you can add J. Jose's name to this little duet when referring to dominant ruckman. The start to the season he has had id be very interetsed to know his odds for the medal. As i never back odds on favourites like james /Young from Riddell , Robertson from Kilmore or IMS From the kangaroos.

always the odds on favourite to be first on the dance floor

Morning lads, not sure who got me but geez I was on fire before I went off injured. Spent first qtr on pine and had a handful of kicks and a handful in the first half of the second term before one of the Burras slung me into the turf quote]

Matt - You provided some of the senior players with some of the best entertainment we have seen for a while. The Diggers reserves coach even had a stats telly on you. I believe it was 1 kick, 1 free against, 1 free for and 1 forward tumble turn roll before you went off. Get yourself right mate we wanna see you at diggers for the return game.

Um I had three kicks, one handball, two frees for and one free against. In half a quarter. Those numbers are a career high for me :p

I'm trying to wind up my PickleBet service to be honest fellas. Too much risk involved. Might revive it Bowen Medal night and RDFL grand final day.
But you're right about Jeremy Jose. I've always rated him as a ruckman at the stoppages, but he is one of those players that doesn't quite capture my imagination. Around the ground he does reasonably well, but he doesn't have that dominating impact like Connellan and Lacy have. In fairness, he doesn't have an experienced backup at this stage, so there is more pressure on him, but he's definitely in the top 5 rucks in this comp. We're blessed to have a plethora of talented talls in this comp. I'll see Jeremy first hand this Saturday so that will be interesting. That's if Speersy drives me :cool:

Wouldn't read too much into those reported stats. The Diggers reserves coach can hardly write his own name let along count stats.

I think he was able to pencil your name down in Centrals reserves grand final pal! Where did he "write" your name?? I'm sure he could write all the players who were in that grand final and where they lined up. Pretty positive you couldn't!

Blueboy,

This is getting beyond a joke, everybody has had a kick in the pants before, its how you deal with it that shows your character..By carrying on like this, I'm thinking your character is more in question than the person who made the decision you are upset about...

G'day boys. Can anyone from the the Kangas tell me if your ground is in a suitable condition to be played on this week? I know you will probably say yes anyway but an honest answer would be appreciated.

It looks great from a distance but to be honest if we were to play on it there would be nothing left of it at the end of the day, let alone see the year out. If you stand on it with runners and twist your foot you will rip the grass out with the roots, imagine what boots would do.
It would still be minumum 2 weeks away.

Who is going to the Under 18 match tonight? Should be a ripper!

I'm tipping the RDFL side to win reasonably comfortably. I reckon its the best crop of kids we've had since 2004.

Unfortunately we've got training tonight, hey but hey im out so im going to head down. ill agree with you matt, the rdfl boys are alot stronger. im looking forward to seeing T. Gleeson dominate tonight's proceedings, he's my tip for the B&F this year. Obviously diggers see potential in this bloke, giving him the captaincy this year. He played a handfull of senior games last year and by watching him play, im spewing we haven't got him!! I cant wait to see the rdfl boys smash the overrated boys from ballarat!! Good luck fellas:thumbsu:

I'm really looking forward to seeing Myles Dorman and Matty Johnstone at the feet of Dylan Walker around the goals. Ben Pronk has only played senior footy and should be a class above most of his teammates and rivals too. Big Stuey Clark should be awesome in helping the RDFL boys get first hands on the pill too.

Official news. This weeks game that was to be held at Sunbury Kangaroos groung V Riddell has now been moved to Riddells ground with the Kanga's running the day.

i'll be going matt but i think it'll be a lot closer than you think. the bfl boys have got about 10 tac cup players i heard.

Official news. This weeks game that was to be held at Sunbury Kangaroos groung V Riddell has now been moved to Riddells ground with the Kanga's running the day.

That's good news for all concerned. The words "disgrace" and "carpark" were bandied about by the Romsey players who were forced to play there in round two.