RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Re: RDFL Thread 2009

Lancefield were smashed by the Redbacks 7 goals,great crowd to see Moorcroft take the best 2 marks you will ever see.Dawson unstoppable, the beer will be a lot sweeter tonight in Romsey town[/quot

Im sure beer will taste very sweet, Romsey put in a great four quarter effort but Lancefield undoubtedly had an ordinary day, The game really turned when Dorman was knocked senseless after a mark in the second quarter. Cam Dawsons game was awesome, Jay Shewan from Lancefield great too. Both teams great chance to hold up the silverware late in September

OMNI’s FINAL LADDER PREDICTION for 09.

RIDDELL…………………………56
LANCEFIELD……………………52*
MACEDON………………………52*
ROMSEY…………………………52*
WOODEND………………………40**
DIGGERS………………………...40**

SUNBURY……………………….40**
WALLAN………………………...32
KILMORE………………………..24
BROADFORD……………………20
MELTON…………………………16
ROCKBANK………………………8

Percentage to play a huge part in final placings.

When do the finals venues become known fella's? Is it true club's wishing to throw their hands up to possibly be a host have to pay a sum of money if they get it? Do all finals get played where football & netball are at the one reserve?

I see the old team of the year noms are being circulated, Ive said it before but i think its a fantastic concept that the RDFL does :thumbsu:. That's one thing that we never saw in our time in the HDFL, nice to recognise players IMO as regular interleague games for them has fallen by the wayside.

The premiership race is still a dogs breakfast, it's refreshing to be nearing finals and it being so wide open, so while it's difficult to pick a flag fave is it too early to throw up league medal tips.

It's hard having not seen you blokes before, McCabe from Riddell was very good against us, Cuffe (Kangas) obvioulsy has had a very consistant season and the new bloke Green from Romsey can seriously play . . . . . even if they leave him out of the best at times to keep him off the radar ;)

Hey Doona, saw your boys had another win yesterday, 2 in a row...a run that will finish on Saturday!!!

With the finals you have apply (I don't think you bid or out bid another side for the right to host them), but they do cost the club (more for each as the finals progress).

Roughly speaking, you pay the league for the right to host one, and also the league takes the gate receipts. The value to the clubs are the bar/canteen type profits. With teams in our locations, imagine paying out to host one, and then getting it on say Fathers day, featuring teams from further away. That would probably hamper your bar/canteen takings.

Hey Doona, saw your boys had another win yesterday, 2 in a row...a run that will finish on Saturday!!!

With the finals you have apply (I don't think you bid or out bid another side for the right to host them), but they do cost the club (more for each as the finals progress).

Roughly speaking, you pay the league for the right to host one, and also the league takes the gate receipts. The value to the clubs are the bar/canteen type profits. With teams in our locations, imagine paying out to host one, and then getting it on say Fathers day, featuring teams from further away. That would probably hamper your bar/canteen takings.

Ha ha ever the optimist mate - I spose as the incoming president you have to display your confidence out aloud even if you know it's wrong ;) Cant work out why you'd have to pay to host if the league gets the gate anyway :confused: Also is it true you have to cover or remove any club sponsorship signs that conflict with league contributors? What other stipulations are there?

Gee not sure about covering the Sponsors logo's, maybe some of the more seasoned RDFL lads can shed some light on this.

saddam-hussein.jpg

+

adolf_hitler_portrait.jpg

=

n1001394510_30090533_2099.jpg

Gee not sure about covering the Sponsors logo's, maybe some of the more seasoned RDFL lads can shed some light on this.
The league don't cover sponsors signs, they do put some of their sponsors signs up (only on GF day, I think) which is fair enough.
IMO only 4 teams can win the GF, Riddell, Lancefield, Romsey and Macedon. Cracking game of football at Lancefield on the weekend with Romsey winning for one reason only, they came switched on to play and to secure a finals spot and Lancefield thought, "won by 15 goals last time they can't of improved that much" well they have. Great to see league so close, all final ladder positions will be decided in final round and not before.

I was told today that Lancefield had a few missing last weekend . Who do they have coming back in the next couple of weeks ? What about other sides in the finals race, are they at full strength?

We had a couple out, but that certainly is no excuse. Romsey came out and wanted it more all over the ground, and were the better side on the day.

as doona mentioned before when do the finals venues get announced ?
surely they wont be pulling a double header at maccy park again like last year ?
macedon or lancefield would be my two picks to host the big dance either one would be great although im leaning towards macedon some where different would be great, and its a great ground

No double header this year and thank god for that! although the wind swept macpherson park has put in for the first week. On its day, the ground can be magnificent! It was an absolute nightmare to run the double header and the 1 v 2 fixture was a complete waste of time. There was more interest in the Macedon v Diggers game (?) than the Riddell v Woodend game. And the second ground that hosted the reserves had more atmosphere! Anyway, the bfl team were a headache to work with!

well glad to hear theres no double header going on this year was worth the experiment but failed big time i would say.
hopefully woodend dont get a final after the disgracefull condition there ground was in last year for the final they got.
finals are the best of the best playing each other for a chaance to hold up the cup , they should be played on the best possible playing surfaces.
who wants to go watch two teams fighting for a spot in the grand final slug it out on a disease ridden muddy clogmire ?
boycott woodend i say, after there behaivour at romseys final

I see me old mate Daff got himself another three goals for Wallan on Saturday. How many shots did he have at them coz I seen him sneak off for a few shots on Thursday during training and he appeared to spray em around a bit ;)

what was wrong with the double header last year?[/quote

it was in melton thats what was wrong with it

yep, great call that one dirk!

the advertising wasnt great, other clubs didn't support the concept as much and i wasn't a huge fan either. riddell and woodend played a dead rubber, cant get excited about that much. the rest of the day was good.

yep, great call that one dirk!

the advertising wasnt great, other clubs didn't support the concept as much and i wasn't a huge fan either. riddell and woodend played a dead rubber, cant get excited about that much. the rest of the day was good.
very hard to follow both games at the same time plus floating across to the netball. don't believe macedon will get a grand final until they can do something with the parking at ,and around the ground.they need to get onto the owners of the block of land behind the mount end goals and see about using that for parking for the day as well.the outdoor ,legal sized netball court is up and running ,so that excuse is gone. but im sure if its pissing down with rain during the day ,they'll quite happily want to move it back into the stadium,onto that illegal netball court

I see me old mate Daff got himself another three goals for Wallan on Saturday. How many shots did he have at them coz I seen him sneak off for a few shots on Thursday during training and he appeared to spray em around a bit ;)
Gday Doona, sorry to hear you giving the coaching away and i hope this finds you well, apologies for not sticking around for a beer the other week as i will explain face to face. Yes, Daff in good form but missed some on the wend he would normally drill, should have kicked 6 or 7 but did spend some time on the ball, can play ruck you know! Hope to see you round the traps friend.

The negativity of some never ceases to amaze me...
Both with Scott and Sharpey before him, people would rather critisize the job they are doing rather than look at where the league has come over those years. 6 or so years ago, the RDFL, was on the brink, everyone had conceded that the league was going to dissolve, apart from a select few, some hard working people at clubs and since then 2 hard working General Managers. We are blessed as a league to have guys like Neill Sharpe, Scott McCartney and Steve Turner, who every day need to ensure that the competition is run to the guidelines set out by the board, yet we have some that will call these guys dictators when things dont go thier way. I know one such person on here that received glowing references when they were applying for a position interstate, was also given free reign to write for RDFL publications to further promote his work. Yet the minute he is gone, everyone that ever did help is now part of an evil dictatorship that is destroying the fabric of the competition. I think we all need to remember where this league was some 6 or so years ago and look at the position that we have now been driven to, a competition that we are all proud to be a part of, a competition that grows and strengthens every year. Its time for some of us to remember where we come from and develop that loyalty to our league that we have all been proud to be part of for many years now.

Everything that is posted on here now seems to be of a negative nature.. It is rare that someone posts on here with a positive event any more. When there is so many positives in the most evenly contested season ever... With our negative mindsets, I am sure to cop a barrage about this, I am happy to.. Our league has to go back a long way to find when it was in better shape and I think that the people in charge need to be congratulated, not ridiculed.

I had some civil battles with both Neil and Scott about issues regarding the league. There is no doubt the RDFL has gone forward in leaps and bounds since we had a full-time general manager. My only issue and I know a lot of the clubs feel the same way, is that the current GM is a little similar to Andrew Demetriou - doesn't like to acknowledge problems with the league and has a "my way or highway" attitude. Sometimes it works because he is a paid professional who knows how to run a football competition, but sometimes he is flatly wrong. I certainly enjoyed my time writing for RDFL publications etc. but if anyone thinks I was doing it for my own self-promotion, they are mistaken. I did it because it was something I thought benefited the league and I was also supposed to be paid for doing it.

IMS, 12 months ago, everyone on this thread was quite jovial and enjoyed some friendly banter, as well as talking about the most important thing - football. But when you take away the banter, it takes away the fun. If I want to talk footy I just ring up HFF or OMNI or a couple of players. I know there are others who are the same. Yes, there was a lot of bullshit on here, but a lot of the stuff which was getting removed was harmless. I'm not blaming you because I know it comes with the territory, but you have control over all the other footy threads and you don't clean them up. So you could easily turn a blind eye to ours.

The negativity of some never ceases to amaze me...
Both with Scott and Sharpey before him, people would rather critisize the job they are doing rather than look at where the league has come over those years. 6 or so years ago, the RDFL, was on the brink, everyone had conceded that the league was going to dissolve, apart from a select few, some hard working people at clubs and since then 2 hard working General Managers. We are blessed as a league to have guys like Neill Sharpe, Scott McCartney and Steve Turner, who every day need to ensure that the competition is run to the guidelines set out by the board, yet we have some that will call these guys dictators when things dont go thier way. I know one such person on here that received glowing references when they were applying for a position interstate, was also given free reign to write for RDFL publications to further promote his work. Yet the minute he is gone, everyone that ever did help is now part of an evil dictatorship that is destroying the fabric of the competition. I think we all need to remember where this league was some 6 or so years ago and look at the position that we have now been driven to, a competition that we are all proud to be a part of, a competition that grows and strengthens every year. Its time for some of us to remember where we come from and develop that loyalty to our league that we have all been proud to be part of for many years now.

Everything that is posted on here now seems to be of a negative nature.. It is rare that someone posts on here with a positive event any more. When there is so many positives in the most evenly contested season ever... With our negative mindsets, I am sure to cop a barrage about this, I am happy to.. Our league has to go back a long way to find when it was in better shape and I think that the people in charge need to be congratulated, not ridiculed.

Here, here IMS. Dont often agree with your take on things but you are spot on this time. Ive watched quite a bit of football around the league this year and think it is bloody fantastic we have such an even competition and generally good behaviour and comraderie at games. The blokes ib charge must take some credit for this along with the hierarchy's at most clubs. The only couple of issues that still irk me are the way in which grounds are allocated for finals and the way in which the league handled the 'players involved in melee off the ground' in last years final b/w hawks and riddell. Still cant come to terms with fact that players received no penalty for leaving arena to get involved in a fight regardless of the circumstances. Lets not go back there though, sorry to digress. The league is flying. Who is going to win the flag? My tip: Riddell.