RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

I love all this talk that is generally directed toward a player that looks to financially assist himself when he plays local level football.. It's not just Aaron James that cops this nonsence, it is every player at a local level that ever gets paid what people consider "overs" for his services.

In every day life, we look to improve ourselves within the workplace, be that for a better environment, better pay or in some lucky cases, both.. Why would the choice of a local club be any different. If a player like Aaron James can make good money playing football at a club that CHOOSES to pay the money required to recruit a player of his calibre, and make no mistake about it, Aaron James is a proven and well credentialled player in the local leagues, his record for goal scoring speaks for itself, then that is the choice of the club. It is like the talk of Moorcroft, in my opinion Romsey couldn't have made a better move in recruiting Gary, he along with Ash McNaughton and Shannon Green were major players in the shift in Romsey's season, ending in a Grand Final berth. These players assisted in the accelerated improvement in the young players, especially Cam Dawson. Kilmore would hope for the same reaction from its young players when a player of James' ilk steps through the door, add Matt Robertson to the mix and Kilmore all of a sudden look a much stronger prospect.

You can sit back behind the computer and bag out a guy who assists his living by making money from football, but the clubs are the sole driver that create his market value, if they are willing to offer the money, then he will absolutely have to look at taking it, anyone who says they wouldn't are kidding themselves, they may take a little less out of loyalty, but at the end of the day, football is an expensive passion, especially if an injury takes you out of your day to day working life, any person capable of earning any level of compensation out of playing would be crazy not to consider it and if a club is willing to pay you a large amount of cash to do so, you have every right to accept any of those offers..

Sit back and have a think of your own day to day life, if you can honestly say that you have knocked back a substantial amount of money EVERY time it is offered to you, whether it be in work or in football, then you can throw your stones, mind you, if this is what you have done, then you probably wont be on here, you would be struggling to have the funds to even own your computer.
WELL SAID ITS, The guy's who get on here bagging clubs for having a go at improving the playing list of their club by offering $$ to players who are above the local standard of players, are living in the past! Commitee's work very hard to raise money so their club can compete in finals, thats what Romsey did this year and at quarter time it looked like they were going to pull it off! the committee did their bit, the team just ran out of legs. If James plays at Kilmore, he will kick over the ton, all they need will be a midfield to feed him.

I love all this talk that is generally directed toward a player that looks to financially assist himself when he plays local level football.. It's not just Aaron James that cops this nonsence, it is every player at a local level that ever gets paid what people consider "overs" for his services.

In every day life, we look to improve ourselves within the workplace, be that for a better environment, better pay or in some lucky cases, both.. Why would the choice of a local club be any different. If a player like Aaron James can make good money playing football at a club that CHOOSES to pay the money required to recruit a player of his calibre, and make no mistake about it, Aaron James is a proven and well credentialled player in the local leagues, his record for goal scoring speaks for itself, then that is the choice of the club. It is like the talk of Moorcroft, in my opinion Romsey couldn't have made a better move in recruiting Gary, he along with Ash McNaughton and Shannon Green were major players in the shift in Romsey's season, ending in a Grand Final berth. These players assisted in the accelerated improvement in the young players, especially Cam Dawson. Kilmore would hope for the same reaction from its young players when a player of James' ilk steps through the door, add Matt Robertson to the mix and Kilmore all of a sudden look a much stronger prospect.

You can sit back behind the computer and bag out a guy who assists his living by making money from football, but the clubs are the sole driver that create his market value, if they are willing to offer the money, then he will absolutely have to look at taking it, anyone who says they wouldn't are kidding themselves, they may take a little less out of loyalty, but at the end of the day, football is an expensive passion, especially if an injury takes you out of your day to day working life, any person capable of earning any level of compensation out of playing would be crazy not to consider it and if a club is willing to pay you a large amount of cash to do so, you have every right to accept any of those offers..

Sit back and have a think of your own day to day life, if you can honestly say that you have knocked back a substantial amount of money EVERY time it is offered to you, whether it be in work or in football, then you can throw your stones, mind you, if this is what you have done, then you probably wont be on here, you would be struggling to have the funds to even own your computer.

Could not agree with you more Itsmyshow.

I think you'll find that those who sit behind the keyboard and attack big $$$ players are just dirty that they were never offered anything more than a pie and coke to kick the footy around and it's typical of the Tall Poppy syndrome which unfortunately exists in this country.

A player is only worth what a club is willing to pay for them. If a club offers big money then obviously that is what the player is worth.

As I've said here before, anyone can have an opinion and they are entitled to that opinion and at the end of the day, opinions are never wrong!!

Why shouldnt that walker bloke look for a premiership? I Aree wif you. You wouldnt find a bloke who has been more loyal. All the best to him at his new destination I say. :thumbsu:

Granted the bloke has been to a few clubs but he has played the last 3 years years there and also helped the Rams a lot by coaching the kids to 2 flags. Other than the success with the kids he's had none there on the field himself. He deserves a run with a better club, and as you said mate, best of luck to him.

Well said:thumbsu:

Could not agree with you more Itsmyshow.

I think you'll find that those who sit behind the keyboard and attack big $$$ players are just dirty that they were never offered anything more than a pie and coke to kick the footy around and it's typical of the Tall Poppy syndrome which unfortunately exists in this country.

A player is only worth what a club is willing to pay for them. If a club offers big money then obviously that is what the player is worth.

As I've said here before, anyone can have an opinion and they are entitled to that opinion and at the end of the day, opinions are never wrong!!

Bottom line is you gotta spend money to make money. With money comes success and with success comes money.

You need as many sponsors as you can get so you can get as many players as possible that will help bring your club success. This in turn brings in money thru the gate, bar, canteen and other functions.

You also need to be wise about who you're willing to pay and how much you're gonna pay them. A gun forward like James aint gonna do you much good if there's no one that can supply good forward delivery to him.

Everyone wants to get paid for whatever they can in this life, but some of us would prefer bottom dollar so our clubs can spend the money on getting more than just one player and a better shot at success.

No one man is gonna win a Grand Final for you on his own.

Just my opinion.

I know James's 130 goals at North Bendigo will be sadly missed if he leaves. The bloke can play so give him a break. Yes, Tall Poppy Syndrome is alive and well. You blokes dont know what your missing. Top bloke that can play the game quite well. EVERY side in country football would gladly put up the dosh for him, if not, you are just lieing to yourselves.

Bottom line is you gotta spend money to make money. With money comes success and with success comes money.

You need as many sponsors as you can get so you can get as many players as possible that will help bring your club success. This in turn brings in money thru the gate, bar, canteen and other functions.

You also need to be wise about who you're willing to pay and how much you're gonna pay them. A gun forward like James aint gonna do you much good if there's no one that can supply good forward delivery to him.

Everyone wants to get paid for whatever they can in this life, but some of us would prefer bottom dollar so our clubs can spend the money on getting more than just one player and a better shot at success.

No one man is gonna win a Grand Final for you on his own.

Just my opinion.

Its all very well to say that blokes will play for bottom dollar, but they are the wanks that start the yapping about the ones who get paid? Iv had my fair share of clubs and this has happened at every club i'v been to. Its a no win situation. People need to grow some balls and man up and just say it to the blokes or the committee, or shut up. Its simple.:mad:

I'm simply saying you need to spend money to make money but you can't spend it all on one man cause one man can't beat 18 men on his own.

I'm also saying that not everyone is in it for $$$. Most people are but a rare few would rather see it spent on bringing more quality players to their club, in order for the club (and player) to win a flag. Hmmm...money/flag........money/flag......reckon I'd be choosing the Flag champ

I'm simply saying you need to spend money to make money but you can't spend it all on one man cause one man can't beat 18 men on his own.

I'm also saying that not everyone is in it for $$$. Most people are but a rare few would rather see it spent on bringing more quality players to their club, in order for the club (and player) to win a flag. Hmmm...money/flag........money/flag......reckon I'd be choosing the Flag champ

Couldn't agree more, spending all available money on the one player is a very risky venture, but that is a decision that the club needs to make and only a decision that the club can make.. What is frustrating about posts like the one's put on here by The Seer is that all of the blame seems to lay at the feet of the individual that is considered good enough to earn the money.. It's a ridiculous statement, the decision is held solely by the club that decides to recruit the individual, they and their competitors are the single driver for the amount of money that is on offer, the player can put a figure on his head, but if the clubs refuse to pay it then he is obviously not worth that money, but if clubs jump at that offer and even increase it, then that players worth to those clubs is the decision of those clubs. There is absolutely no reason to pot a player that is getting paid any amount of money, they might ask for it, but the club has to make the call on paying it...

You may also choose the flag champ, but in the end, money would talk, and if you are indeed good enough to be offered the money, you would likely take it, the reason that some take a little less is that the club is thier home club, they have reason too, but deciding to take 50 a game instead of 100 is nothing like choosing between 500 or 800.. No matter who you are...

Couldn't agree more, spending all available money on the one player is a very risky venture, but that is a decision that the club needs to make and only a decision that the club can make.. What is frustrating about posts like the one's put on here by The Seer is that all of the blame seems to lay at the feet of the individual that is considered good enough to earn the money.. It's a ridiculous statement, the decision is held solely by the club that decides to recruit the individual, they and their competitors are the single driver for the amount of money that is on offer, the player can put a figure on his head, but if the clubs refuse to pay it then he is obviously not worth that money, but if clubs jump at that offer and even increase it, then that players worth to those clubs is the decision of those clubs. There is absolutely no reason to pot a player that is getting paid any amount of money, they might ask for it, but the club has to make the call on paying it...

You may also choose the flag champ, but in the end, money would talk, and if you are indeed good enough to be offered the money, you would likely take it, the reason that some take a little less is that the club is thier home club, they have reason too, but deciding to take 50 a game instead of 100 is nothing like choosing between 500 or 800.. No matter who you are...

Firstly, I take no issue with your first comments, well said in fact.

Secondly, what if I was to tell you I was offered $400 a game to go to an EDFL club but turned it down to stay in the RDFL. Not at the same club but one I've never played at but am sure will play finals in 2010. What if I also told you that they offered me $$$ and I said "I just want my membership and playing gear. I'd rather you use the money to recruit another quality player and get us closer to the flag".

So in the end money didn't talk and I'm not playing cause it's my "home club". I chose the premiership.

Then again, perhaps $400 isn't close enough to $500-$800 for you! :D

Secondly, what if I was to tell you I was offered $400 a game to go to an EDFL club but turned it down to stay in the RDFL. Not at the same club but one I've never played at but am sure will play finals in 2010. What if I also told you that they offered me $$$ and I said "I just want my membership and playing gear. I'd rather you use the money to recruit another quality player and get us closer to the flag".

So in the end money didn't talk and I'm not playing cause it's my "home club". I chose the premiership.

It must have been round 6 or 7, Fitzy informed me that Tom Waters turned down more money to go to another club, as he wanted to play in a premiership, not a bad decision after all!

So....anyone got any real gossip?
If anyone knows of a gun midfielder, please pass me his details!

Im sure that there are some that do this, I know of one in fact, that may possibly be you.. Sometimes you get to a point where you have made a decent enough living out of football already and that one last premiership before you bow out is enough incentive.. I have no doubt at all... But that is only after a long career of compensation for the game that you love, especially when someone has gone through several years and wear and tear and frustration through injury.. You need to look at the compensation.. But toward the end of your career, you want to take home that premiership one more time so you can retire on a high note, its just about a football rule for senior players, go out on that high...

So I wont argue your point, it does happen, but there are usually, if not always, factors as to why.. If you were 22 and offered that amount (even though if you are who I think you are you earnt that just for training :p) you would jump at the money, long career ahead...

It must have been round 6 or 7, Fitzy informed me that Tom Waters turned down more money to go to another club, as he wanted to play in a premiership, not a bad decision after all!

Not sure how much truth there is in that rumour.

Im sure that there are some that do this, I know of one in fact, that may possibly be you.. Sometimes you get to a point where you have made a decent enough living out of football already and that one last premiership before you bow out is enough incentive.. I have no doubt at all... But that is only after a long career of compensation for the game that you love, especially when someone has gone through several years and wear and tear and frustration through injury.. You need to look at the compensation.. But toward the end of your career, you want to take home that premiership one more time so you can retire on a high note, its just about a football rule for senior players, go out on that high...

So I wont argue your point, it does happen, but there are usually, if not always, factors as to why.. If you were 22 and offered that amount (even though if you are who I think you are you earnt that just for training :p) you would jump at the money, long career ahead...

When your 22 you take whatever $ you can get. At my age and with just about everything from footy but a premiership, I'm happy to have the $ spent on other players that will help my club (and me of course) close in on that flag in 2010.

I reckon at the end of the day, any $ you ever get from playing local footy doesn't really make that much of a difference in your life (unless you're a James or Moorcroft on the big bucks). I'd trade every cent I ever got for one premiership.

Jesus $400 just for training, who do ya think I am lol. Would be nice though :D

When your 22 you take whatever $ you can get. At my age and with just about everything from footy but a premiership, I'm happy to have the $ spent on other players that will help my club (and me of course) close in on that flag in 2010.

I reckon at the end of the day, any $ you ever get from playing local footy doesn't really make that much of a difference in your life (unless you're a James or Moorcroft on the big bucks). I'd trade every cent I ever got for one premiership.

Jesus $400 just for training, who do ya think I am lol. Would be nice though :D

Agreed.....when I first started playing senior footy it was all about how much you thought you were worth and how much you were getting compared to the next bloke. I played in my first of 3 flags at 21 and since then, the $$$ have been secondary to the lure of another flag.

I've now got 40-odd teammates who are mates for life because we played in flags together. $400-800 a game doesn't buy you that in later life!!

110% truth in this rumour. Lions were very keen on the young Tom.

Sunbury were keen on Tom until he asked for $800 a game as a developing 2nd ruckman. Both Sunbury and Crazyburn laughed and wished him all the best. His decision to stay was as much about him not getting the money he thought he was entitled to than wanting to win a premiership with some mates.

This is closer to the story that I heard..

I'd say he would have definitely been Sunbury's number one ruckman after the Lions' skipper and lead ruck was dropped later in the year after a mediocre season at best. The RDFL has reasonable ruck stocks throughout most clubs and Waters has successfully withstood them all. Sometimes he was beaten, but never without a fight.

This probably already has been confirmed but just read in our local rag that Moorcroft and Green will be playing for Romsey next year...