RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Is this the same one that played at Kilmore and won a flag there in 94 as well? Was an absolute freak of a player back then.

That is him indeed broman - the man dubbed the "Bush Ablett" is back at Harley Hammond Reserve. After he left Kilmore, he played in our last senior flag (1996), won the HDFL's Cheatley Medal the same year and during his stay became one of our club's (and the town's) legends :thumbsu:

good luck to him in 2010!
Freak of a man to play alongside. One of the funniest things I saw was him wearing a boxers helmet due to a fractured cheekbone or nose back in 95.

good luck to him in 2010!
Freak of a man to play alongside. One of the funniest things I saw was him wearing a boxers helmet due to a fractured cheekbone or nose back in 95.

Funniest thing i ever saw was on our lounge room floor he fell asleep blind drunk and pissed himself! He denied it! He was a freak of a player, he was still playing NTFL seniors in Tassie when he was 39 (back then they were pushing div1) and doing ok. Champ of a bloke, Broady are lucky.:thumbsu:

According to the Bendigo FL thread - Brian Ruffell, Lee Erwin, Ben Richmond, Ash McNaughton, Mark Darby, Tom Lyon all heading to Kyneton

I may drop in to sunbury tonight and see if all there new recruits are out on the park. Will Dean hemlers be a playing coach?

Not too sure about Erwin and Ruffell leaving Lanny. Id be suprised definately.

Any word on Woodsy? has been pretty quiet up my way and i havent heard much.

According to the Bendigo FL thread - Brian Ruffell, Lee Erwin, Ben Richmond, Ash McNaughton, Mark Darby, Tom Lyon all heading to Kyneton

Absolute rubbish doona , the only one leaving is ruffell he has signed on as assistant coach down at poowong in the ellibank league

Your still either making things up or guessing - either way your wrong again. Pat Carriss the Sunbury number 1 ruckman and skipper was NEVER dropped in 2009 - he was injured against Melton South and missed the 2nd half of the year.

Sutherland who is not the skipper but the back up ruckman was dropped and now heading back to the RDFL. Interesting to see how how he goes against Tom. If Sutherland wins lets hope Tom puts up another good fight. :rolleyes:

He should have been. He was woefull at best and all to often, just down right embarrassing. Whoever appointed that mouth, who finished up being universally hated by his team mates by seasons end has a lot to answer for, and probably accounts for the sides mediocre showing in 09. He was over weight, slow, couldnt jump and had the thought proccess of an average two's player. At least Sutherland showed some ticker, and his game against Lakers up there was an insperation........ He WILL get better, statue Carriss WILL NOT !

They should have paid Waters what ever he wanted...(they did with hungry hopeless Houlihan) he is an athletic type Ruckman that you need to be competitive up there to be even in with a chance.

He should have been. He was woefull at best and all to often, just down right embarrassing. Whoever appointed that mouth, who finished up being universally hated by his team mates by seasons end has a lot to answer for, and probably accounts for the sides mediocre showing in 09. He was over weight, slow, couldnt jump and had the thought proccess of an average two's player. At least Sutherland showed some ticker, and his game against Lakers up there was an insperation........ He WILL get better, statue Carriss WILL NOT !

They should have paid Waters what ever he wanted...(they did with hungry hopeless Houlihan) he is an athletic type Ruckman that you need to be competitive up there to be even in with a chance.

Never write of a champion - interleague ruckman and a twice named as the BalFL ruckman of the year. 2009 was a frustrating year for Sunbury after having to import players after Libba's poor effort of running the club. Carriss was not helped with the B grade players around him and is already up and running. 2010 will be big for him at the Lions.

Quite right KA. Cariss is a champion and often deceives everyone with his slow, moping style but he can play. Injuries have been his biggest problem but I believe he won the Sunbury B&F in 07 as well, so watch out if he gets fit and can stay on the park in 2010.

I agree with you 100% with you on the fact that it comes down to the club to pay players.

What get's up my goat is when club's pay all this money and then go into reccess , or change the clubs name.

But other Comp's around have dropped in standard.

So if one player for examaple is on $400 a game , thats alot of hotdogs to sell.

I thought ?

This is my opinion only.

that the rdfl is a

"A" grade comp ?

F--K ME you are getting very loose with the term champion. Reserve it for players that deserve it.

It all starts with your ruckman mate. that is why Edwards is so good, and he will tell you that. He has a very very good big man athletically leaping high in the air at the contest tapping the ball down to his advantage.

Ok if the Lions are going to take the huge risk again on this bloke, and it is. Lets just say he can lose the 25 kilos he needs to, either by lipo' or what ever. How is he going to solve his big mouth and slow brain issues ???? Anyway he has almost certainly lost all respect now from his team mates after the shit he pulled on the footy trip !
If you ask me he didnt get hit hard enough !
Long season ahead in 2010 for Lions if they keep that jerk.

It all starts with your ruckman mate. that is why Edwards is so good, and he will tell you that. He has a very very good big man athletically leaping high in the air at the contest tapping the ball down to his advantage.

Ok if the Lions are going to take the huge risk again on this bloke, and it is. Lets just say he can lose the 25 kilos he needs to, either by lipo' or what ever. How is he going to solve his big mouth and slow brain issues ???? Anyway he has almost certainly lost all respect now from his team mates after the shit he pulled on the footy trip !
If you ask me he didnt get hit hard enough !
Long season ahead in 2010 for Lions if they keep that jerk.

He is a gun - not a great 2009 but at 25 I have no doubt he will get back to one of the premier ruck man in the comp. B&F 2 just 2 years ago and team of the year. But you keep going with your weak attack on him the damage is done - expect a call shortly. Lets see how he goes with some A grade midfielders next year. I am sure you will apoligise if he becomes a gun again!!

Kris Preston (presto), to miss 2010 with a knee reconstruction, would of been a handy utility for the cats in 2010.
Was to start pre-season with the bendigo bombers.

All the best in rehab Kris

He is a gun - not a great 2009 but at 25 I have no doubt he will get back to one of the premier ruck man in the comp. B&F 2 just 2 years ago and team of the year. But you keep going with your weak attack on him the damage is done - expect a call shortly. Lets see how he goes with some A grade midfielders next year. I am sure you will apoligise if he becomes a gun again!!

And I will bounce your post when he has more of the same and drags the team down with him again.
Technique, skill and talent isnt just going to magicly come to him in the off season mate !

And I will bounce your post when he has more of the same and drags the team down with him again.
Technique, skill and talent isnt just going to magicly come to him in the off season mate !

He won a B&F, played in the interleague and was named in the BalFL team of the year. Yeah your a good judge of technique, skill and talent. He could also be a preimership captain in less than 12 months. All at 25 - sorry that all adds up to being a GUN!