Kings Army

Suspended
Mar 15, 2006
Re: RDFL Thread 2009

How big was the Riddell loss? I would not have thought many at Rockback would have thought they could beat Riddell. And in a week of upsets Broadford knocking off Sunbury was another shock result. Sunbury may find it hard to play finals now but end of the day they have to beat teams like Broadford to get in.

Not entirely sure why everyone is surprised by Rockbanks win. So far this year they've been more competitive against the top sides going down by narrow margins to Lancefield twice, Macedon once, Riddell once
and then beating Riddell this week.

There can certainly be no excuses from Riddell this week, they can't claim to have been missing any "stars".

Jason Maumill did a stellar job on Meacham who only kicked 1 all day.

Walker, Taylor and Newitt provided plenty of run as well as tackling pressure.

It was a good all round effort from the Rams who fought hard all day so how about giving credit where credits due this time around.

Then again it seems that no one gives a rats ass about a GOOD news story that comes out of Rockbank.

Not entirely sure why everyone is surprised by Rockbanks win. So far this year they've been more competitive against the top sides going down by narrow margins to Lancefield twice, Macedon once, Riddell once

There can certainly be no excuses from Riddell this week, they can't claim to have been missing any "stars".

It was a good all round effort from the Rams who fought hard all day so how about giving credit where credits due this time around.

Then again it seems that no one gives a rats ass about a GOOD news story that comes out of Rockbank.

Biggest upset of the last couple of years?? Well done to the rams, they definitely needed the win considering the bad news they have had for the past few weeks!
Throws the gate wide open now for the teams in the finals mix thats for sure.
Anyone from Riddell care to comment on the game, what went wrong?
well done to Broadford as well, tough year for them, but will definitely make them stronger. All the best to doona as well!:thumbsu:

All the best Doona in your recovery, and a quick thankyou to our guys who even in the disappointment of the result gave Doona the respect he deserved in his last game. Hope to see you about the place mate, it has been a pleasure having you as part of the league... :thumbsu:

• Banned

Riddell has hardly lost a game in the last few years - Rockbank had won 1 game so far this year leading in. It is as big an upset as Melbourne beating Geelong.

You have a us against the world mentality - people at your club have made some terrible decisions and therefore you won't be looked at in a good light. Lets hope this is the start of turning things around for the Rams.

Good luck also to Tim Power who was hit by a car Sat.

Yeah it seems it was a weekend of upsets. Also a big upset in wallan beating the more fancied macedon. Good to see a very close competition. It should be a great finals series. Any of the top 6 can win it!

Biggest upset of the last couple of years?? Well done to the rams, they definitely needed the win considering the bad news they have had for the past few weeks!
Throws the gate wide open now for the teams in the finals mix thats for sure.
Anyone from Riddell care to comment on the game, what went wrong?
well done to Broadford as well, tough year for them, but will definitely make them stronger. All the best to doona as well!:thumbsu:
Why so quiet over riddell way all of a sudden?:p

Who knows?? Maybe they're on their footy trip early. Figure celebrate now and then come back and play finals in a few weeks time and do it all over again???:p
that figures, some say the best in the comp at the game, some say best in the comp at blowing smoke up their own ass:thumbsdown:, the first to tell everyone how gr8 they are but the last to post about possible outs, injuries or the reasons why they went down to the bottom side, we as fans of the league like to hear these things as we cant see every game at the same time. have fun lovin urself

Hey, take your cheap shots whilst you can pal. :cool:
You dont win 11 straight without being able to play a little bit.
Posts like yours may just give the Bombers the impetus to return to the kind of form which has made em the benchmark of the competition.
Romsey eh ???
As if Riddell have ever needed any amo' to get up for a clash with the Redbacks !

Should make for an interesting clash in 2 weeks time me thinks. ;)

I dont even follow riddell, but you sound like a tosser on here!!

Stick to your in's, outs and injuries knob!! Makes for better reading!!

Location says it all i suppose!!:) Biggest front runners going round!!

Hey, take your cheap shots whilst you can pal. :cool:
You dont win 11 straight without being able to play a little bit.
Posts like yours may just give the Bombers the impetus to return to the kind of form which has made em the benchmark of the competition.
Romsey eh ???
As if Riddell have ever needed any amo' to get up for a clash with the Redbacks !

Should make for an interesting clash in 2 weeks time me thinks. ;)

are riddell still sponsered by top of the town ?

Dunno pal,.... hope so,...... I could do with a concession ! :p

do they take pensioners in there do they ?

blue pills provided ?

some interesting results from the weekend quite a few upsets makes for a very tight finish to the year

diggers should be beat wallan, but be a great game- 20 points
centrals can beat broadford- 2 goals
rockbank big chance for 2 in a row over kilmore- 2 goals
match of round lancefield v romesy- lancefield too classy 3 goals
riddell will get a confidence regaining win over woodend- 5 goals
and macedon too strong for sunbury you'd think- 4 goals
fair???

My tips for the weekend

Diggers to beat Wallan, they did a good job at home aganst macedon last week but diggers got a good record at home and they shold win by about 4 goals

Broadford to beat Melton same sort of thing with home ground advntage but aswell they played really well against sunbury and are probably going to win by 5 goals

Rockbank to beat Kilmore a bit of an upset but hopefully the rams can follow up their best win of the last few years with an upset at kilmore. kilmore also good at home so maybe a close game 5 points rockbank.

Match of the round Lancefield vs Romsey. Ill pick romsey in a bit of an upset cause lancefield are probably premership favorites now. But romsey have the ability to beat them i think. romsey by 18 point. Moorcroft to kick 7. Ruffell 4.

Sunbury in another upset at Macedon the cats struggled to beat wallan last week and same with sunbury getting beat by broadford. both teams out of form ill say sunbury by 12 points.

Woodsy to keep Riddels losses coming after they probably pretty embarrased after last saturday but woodsy are starting to build up and can beat their old rival at home by 10 points.

Just having a look at the sportsbet website guys i see the other country and metro legues have a betting market - why doesnt rdfl have one? i reckon lanny would be fav at the moment but not sure what price!

My tips for the weekend

Diggers to beat Wallan, they did a good job at home aganst macedon last week but diggers got a good record at home and they shold win by about 4 goals

Broadford to beat Melton same sort of thing with home ground advntage but aswell they played really well against sunbury and are probably going to win by 5 goals

Rockbank to beat Kilmore a bit of an upset but hopefully the rams can follow up their best win of the last few years with an upset at kilmore. kilmore also good at home so maybe a close game 5 points rockbank.

Match of the round Lancefield vs Romsey. Ill pick romsey in a bit of an upset cause lancefield are probably premership favorites now. But romsey have the ability to beat them i think. romsey by 18 point. Moorcroft to kick 7. Ruffell 4.

Sunbury in another upset at Macedon the cats struggled to beat wallan last week and same with sunbury getting beat by broadford. both teams out of form ill say sunbury by 12 points.

Woodsy to keep Riddels losses coming after they probably pretty embarrased after last saturday but woodsy are starting to build up and can beat their old rival at home by 10 points.

Just having a look at the sportsbet website guys i see the other country and metro legues have a betting market - why doesnt rdfl have one? i reckon lanny would be fav at the moment but not sure what price!

hard to see riddell losing four on the trot but stranger things have happened i suppose , macedon wont loose at home i wouldnt have thought and lancefield will roll romsey with ease , lancefield by far the benchmark at the moment playing great footy and hard to see them not going very deep into finals , could rockbank win two on the trot ?
if so when was the last time this occured ?

Diggers have shown that they are always in the game, no matter what the score is, and at home should be too strong for an improving and dangerous Wallan.

Broadford have been competetive in most games this year, yet have 3 wins to their name. Centrals have been ok in patches, however inconsistent, and Broadford at home should notch their 2nd on the trot.

Rockbank travel to Kilmore, now believing they CAN match it with anyone. Kilmore are another side who have been very inconsistent, but have shown they can match it with anyone on their day. Should be an entertaining contest, Kilmore should be too good at home, just.

Riddell host Woodend. It couldn't happen........could it?! Belief is such an important tool in football, and Riddell's belief has been somewhat dented in the past 3 weeks. They no longer have an aura of invincibility about them, they know it, and their opponents know it. HOWEVER, IMO they are still the best side in the competition, and should bounce back to form this week, beating Woodend, and maybe ending the Hawks finals chances.

Sunbury travel to Macedon in the return bout of what was the battle of the undefeated in round 4. Different circumstances this time, but just as huge, with both sides in the group of 5 chasing the last 4 spots in the finals, and both sides coming off losses against sides in the bottom half of the ladder. Should be a cracker, I think Macedon at home.....just

In the biggest local derby for a few years Lancefield to beat Romsey, but this is gonna be huge.

anyone with their tips for this round

I'm glad you asked. Here are my tips.

Diggers at home should be too strong. Diggers Rest - 22 points (Also congrates to Simsy on becoming a dad last week as well)

Good to see the hard work that Broadford put in all year paid off last week by beating a top 6 team. I am tipping them to have two in a row and go out of 2008 with some confidence by winning a few at the end of the year. Broadford - 26 points

I'm going the rams as well. Gees it would have been a good night in Rockbank last Saturday night. I hope this is the beginning of more positives for the club. Rockbank - 18 points

Apparently this is the biggest rivalry in the RDFL, so it should be a good game. The Tigers are hitting there straps at the right time of the year and Romsey I must say were lucky last week. Yes they nearly blew Diggers out of the water in the first half, but you can't take your foot off the pedal against any of the top teams because they will continue to come at you. That said I think this is going to be a great game of footy. Lets hope there is a good old fashioned shoot out at either end. Lancefield - 12 points

Sunbury and Macedon is a tough one. If you cast your memory back Sunbury only got up in a very close game last time on there own dung hill. I'm going to tip Macedon on home ground advantage. Macedon - 15 points

Can the Woodsmen add to the Bombers dramas? 3 weeks ago they were morals to finish on top of the ladder. A loss here and there double chance would be under threat having to play Romsey next week. Woodend are on the wrong side of the ladder and really do need a win here to stay in touch with the 6. I'm going to back them in to throw this season even further wide open. Woodend - 24 points.

Wallan to beat Diggers Rest by 24 pts to make it 4 on the trot for wallan
Broadford to beat Melton Central by 6 goals
Kilmore to beat Rockbank by 50 pts
Woodend/Hesket to beat Riddell by 3 goals to make it 4 losses in a row to riddell
Macedon to beat Sunbury by 5 goals
Lancefield to beat Romsey by 3 goals

Quiet, i dont recall Riddell bein loud or anything like that ever, think there actions on feild speak for themselves. A few losses wont hurt em.

Totally agree - but still that would not stopped you from having a smile like a cheshire cat when you heard the weekends result.

hard to see riddell losing four on the trot but stranger things have happened i suppose , macedon wont loose at home i wouldnt have thought and lancefield will roll romsey with ease , lancefield by far the benchmark at the moment playing great footy and hard to see them not going very deep into finals , could rockbank win two on the trot ?
if so when was the last time this occured ?

Lancefield were smashed by the Redbacks 7 goals,great crowd to see Moorcroft take the best 2 marks you will ever see.Dawson unstoppable, the beer will be a lot sweeter tonight in Romsey town

been around this league now for about 15yrs and have never seen a bloke take two of the great grabs taken today