RDFL Thread 2009

'Its Rockbank' isnt a reason you muppet, so tell me why our ground couldnt host a final?.. Its much better than the centrals ground mate and they hosted finals last year!

Mate, you gotta be kidding, It is a disgrace and should not be passed fit to play on, It is nothing but a supersized sand pit, with large patches of uneven grass. Unfortunatley it is not rockbanks fault but Melton councils for neglecting one of the best surfaces 3 or 4 years ago. It is the worst ground i have played on in a while. IMO, Centrals ground was in better nick round 1, but very hard.

You are right though, Nicholls is a muppet for making that statement.

Wallan suffered a couple of terrible injuries on the weekend I'm told. One of the guys (Matt Gibson) I have known for the best part of 15 years, and a nicer bloke you wont find IMO. The other named mentioned may have been Blake Whiteway but perhaps Iceman or one of the Wallan lads can clarify. Either way no one likes seeing players get hurt, especially long term as has been the case with some promimant players already in 2009 - best wishes for smoothe recoveries to both lads :thumbsu:

You're right about Gibbo, great bloke. What actually happened to him?

Matt you no 3/5ths of nothing about grounds in the RDFL im sorry but your opinion does not count in these matters or anything else to do with this league why should these clubs get all the finals and other clubs miss out on the money i agree Lancefield GF always if other clubs put there names up for a final they should be given a chance

Just because a ground has a final does not mean that club has to host it.

Finals should be on the best grounds, to much time and $$$ is put into teams making finals for them to be played on sub standard arenas.
My opinion only.

Just because a ground has a final does not mean that club has to host it.

Finals should be on the best grounds, to much time and $$$ is put into teams making finals for them to be played on sub standard arenas.
My opinion only.

Agree half full :thumbsu: but don't the gate takings from all finals get pooled and then all clubs get a dividend at seasons end? Thats what goes on with a lot of comps in the bush so that those with a lesser standard facility still get something at seasons end even if they rarely get a final. A lot of comps also rotate them to ensure everyone gets a go, again with gate takings and all monies from GF split and going back to the clubs.

All gate takings go to the league, nothing is divided to the clubs. The host clubs take all monies from canteen, Bar, bbq, raffles, etc. A rotation of the hosting or splitting different facets of the day, have been brought up in the past but not all clubs were in favour. Fortunate for some unfortunate for others.

Does anyone have any idea what sort of money Lancefield would make on grand Final day ?

Having the GF at your own ground every year is a massive win.
It doesnt seem fair to me - i would have thought opposition clubs would be after a slice of the pie by now

Does anyone have any idea what sort of money Lancefield would make on grand Final day ?

Having the GF at your own ground every year is a massive win.
It doesnt seem fair to me - i would have thought opposition clubs would be after a slice of the pie by now

Trust me they are!!!

Gday Doona, yeh Matty has broken his leg which is a season ending injury, he got out of hospital yesturday and is in good spirits,, (very hard to keep a good man down) Blake has also injured his knee which may also be season ending. We will catch up for a cold one in a couple of weeks, my shout! P.S, A couple of season ending injuries @ Crazyburn, under 18's coach and 2nd's coach out cold but senior coach doing real well!

Yeh I text Gibbo yesty, very positive fella lets hope he plays on in 2010 as he still has plenty to offer - I actually thought I saw Gav at Telstra Dome last Wednesday but when I went for a chat he'd slipped off. Yeh a coldie sounds good next Saturday arvo :thumbsu:

Yeah thats a real shame about gibbo and wheels. Lets hope gibbo has a good recovery and comes back to play and captain wallan next year. Wouldn't meet a harder competitor or nicer guy.

Geez, threads gone quiet.

Tips for this week?
Riddell by 52 over Diggers
Sunbury by 44 over Centrals
Woodsmen to scrape in by 9 against Macedon
Wallan by 39 over Kilmore
Lancefield by 24 over Rockbank
Romsey by 60 over Broadford

Omni’s 2009 RDFL Mid-Season Team Form - Top 50.

Rank...Player…..Club……..Score.

1……Ben Sonogan*……Riddell……..30.8
2……Darren Goowin…..Macedon……..24.8
3……Tim Dettmann.…..Macedon……...24.8
4……Leigh Erwin……...Lancefield……23.2
5……Jamie Cuffe………Sunbury………23.1
6……Ryan Connellan*...Romsey….…...23.1
7……Jay Downing……..Woodend……..23.1
8……Jason Allen…....…Riddell………..20.9
9……Cameron McCabe..Riddell…….....20.9
10…..Simon Whittle…....Riddell….……20.9

11…..Luke Fleming.……Riddell……….19.8
12…..Andrew McArthur..Macedon……..19.2
13…..Ben Talbot………..Lancefield.……19.2
14…..Aaron Blade*...…..Macedon………19.2
15…..Stephen Ruane.…….Diggers……....18.9
16…..Leigh McInerney*…Sunbury…..…..16.1
17…..Jay Shewan….……Lancefield.........16.0
18…..Luke Carroll.….…...Romsey..…….15.4
19…..Kris Marsh……..….Diggers.……...15.4
20…..Guy Donovan.……. Woodend.……14.7
21…..Jay Wilton*…….…..Macedon……..14.4
22…..Xavier Codd…..…..Riddell….……..14.3
23…..Mark McInerney…..Sunbury……….14.0
24…..Adam Walsh……….Sunbury………14.0
25…..Robert Zahra……….Sunbury..……..13.3
26…..Jay Ellis………........Riddell………..13.2
27…..Adam Boswell……..Lancefield.……12.8
28…..Shaun Sims…………Diggers……….12.6
29…..Robbie Ellis….……..Sunbury…….....12.6
30…..Andrew McNaughton..Romsey………12.6
31…..Ben Shippard………...Woodend……..12.6
32…..Ryan Leitch………....Riddell….……..12.1
33…..Cam Cassin….………Riddell……......12.1
34…..Tom Waters*……...…Lancefield….…12.0
35…..Brad Sluggert…..……Diggers……….11.9
36…..Myles Dorman*…..…Lancefield……..11.2
37…..John Ryan…..…..…...Diggers………...11.2
38…..James Hardwick……..Woodend……....11.2
39…..Ben John……….……Lancefield………11.2
40…..Jarrod Arnold…..……Woodend………..11.2
41…..Scott Nettleton...……..Diggers…………11.2
42…..Matt Knox..…...……..Woodend.………..11.2
43…..Nick Ash……….…….Riddell….……….11.0
44…..Kane Bullen*……..…Melton..………….9.9
45…..Justin Belliville..……..Riddell….………..9.9
46…..Lachlan Testro…….....Riddell…..……….9.9
47…..Leigh Coles…….…….Riddell……..…….9.9
48…..Matt Stacy……………Woodend..……….9.8
49…..Clinton Wheatley….….Romsey...………..9.8
50…..Shane Marchewka…….Diggers……….....9.8

David House.…………Lancefield..………9.6
Dave Keenan………….Sunbury………….9.1
Tom Butterworth…..…Broadford..…….....8.7
David Fowler…………Wallan……………7.5
Paul Tracey/Ben Palmer…Rockbank……..2.4

* Made Omni’s Eye Catchers list of 2008.

Geez, threads gone quiet.

Tips for this week?
Riddell by 52 over Diggers
Sunbury by 44 over Centrals
Woodsmen to scrape in by 9 against Macedon
Wallan by 39 over Kilmore
Lancefield by 24 over Rockbank
Romsey by 60 over Broadford

Riddell by 80 over Diggers
Sunbury over Centrals
Macedon to beat Woodend by 18 points
Wallan by 2 goals
Lancefield to smash Rockbank by 80+
Romsey by 36 over Broadford

Romsey easy over Broadford today. Gaaarrrrry kicked six.
What happened in the u/18s at Rockbank?

Lancefield beat Rockbank by about 3 goals in what can only be described as feral conditions.

The under 18's were called off mid way through the 2nd quarter after Rockbank had 3 players sent off and were left with too few to field a side.

Also, Diggers bounced back with a win over Riddell and Woodend beat Macedon.

Lancefield beat Rockbank by about 3 goals in what can only be described as feral conditions.

The under 18's were called off mid way through the 2nd quarter after Rockbank had 3 players sent off and were left with too few to field a side.

I think you will find that is not actually the rule, the rule states you must have a minimum of 13 or 14 players to start a game not to continue the game.

A team must have a minimum of 14 players on the ground at any stage of the game... there was a similar incident involving Rockbank hosting Woodend/hesket in the U18's last year where Rockbank started with about 16 and just before 3 quarter time had their 3rd player yellow carded in a short period of time to bring their total to 13.. the game was consequently called off at 3 quarter time.. Woodend were given the 4 points without percentage as the score was about 130 to 18 at the time... it's a shame that it's happened again almost 12 months later... :(

Wallan beat Kilmore by bout 40 points.

Romsey easy over Broadford today.

Apparently Diggers beat Riddell by 9pts .I didnt see the snr game .Worst wind I have seen @ plumpton Road Reserve in 20 odd years.

Sunbury beat Centrals by 58 points in what was beautiful conditions.
I thought they predicted wind and rain?

Surely a gee-up blues12 ;) Lancefield a few weeks ago was horrible, Woodend last week cold and then today at Romsey was close to the coldest and wettest Ive ever felt at the footy, even in the days of the old CGFL up at Thornton, Alexandra or Yea . . . . . bloody blizzard. When Mr. McCartney and co. visited us about this time last year to paint the positive picture of the RDFL they cheekily forget to mention how chilly it gets thru June/July :D

On the other side of things, I reckon if Romsey can get their best available 22 up & about they're as good a shot as any come September - Green (B.O.G.)must be polling well even tho the Redbacks dont always list him in the best, Connellan fit & firing, and Im rapt to see Luke Carroll injury free and playing good footy after two plagued years up in the Heathcote DFL :thumbsu:

straight from the laws of the game .pdf file

5.1 NUMBER OF PLAYERS IN TEAM​
Unless the number is varied under Law 5.2, a Team must consist of
between 14 and 18 Players, who may be on the Playing Surface at any
one time, and no more than 4 Interchange Players. The Controlling
Body shall determine the actual number of Players which may play​
for each Team in the competitions conducted by the Controlling Body.